Union, SC 
River Chase DGC Share
Uploaded By: BennettUA Hole #12 (Taken 11/2010)
4 / 450ft.   4 / 495ft.   4 / 650ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee: Basket is on the right of the cart path.



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 bombs away

1    11/20/2011   12/2/2011
Review By: hogleggbob
Played: 96  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 6.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: over-all a fun course, that lets you break out the drivers and let em rip. I was here for thr ball-n-cains event as well, and it was a blast to have golf carts while playing a round of disc golf. the course for the most part is a ball golf course, so there is plenty of space and distance to throw your max D drivers fom every tee. because it so open , the wind will come into play often. the layout was good ,but you could easily have 2 -18 hole courses with the amount of land they have .
Cons: nope...follow the paths for tee locations. all tees are from cart path.the baskets are not like any thing ive seen, putt hard at these baskets
Other Thoughts: this was a great course to go and check out, with the golf cart and layout, it was well worth the drive from charlotte. i also played my first official round of ball golf here. as far as ball golf goes the course was rough, but if you like disc golf on a open course with a golf cart and pretty much anything you want to take along with you* then this was pretty cool .

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 River Chase

1    11/21/2011   11/21/2011
Review By: bsstarnesj
Played: 22  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: played in the ball golf/disc golf challenge and thought this was an excellent course. very long but it was cool to see the disc golf course incorpated into the ball golf course. baskets were alot better than expected. my team only had one spit out!
Cons: kind of in the middle of nowwhere and long transitions to the next hole.
Other Thoughts: good hospitality and service

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Air it out!

1    11/21/2011   11/21/2011
Review By: 1978
Played: 167  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 6.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice wide open fairways, you tee off cart paths so the tees are as long as you want them to be. 18 holes of disc golf, there is some trouble. There are a few water carries and precarious pin locations next to creeks or ponds. Some baskets are close to greens or sand traps that are out of bounds. This adds to the difficulty on a relatively open course. For the Carolina's a nice wide bomber course is a breath of fresh air. I thought the unique (to this area) style baskets were pretty cool and a neat touch. Throwing a bag and cooler on a cart is fun and reminds a lot of us of our roots playing ball golf. The staff was extremely friendly. Constantly trying to learn, taking pictures, and asking how they can expand awareness of the sport. They work really hard to make it and have some great ambition to bring Disc Golf to the area. One of the course managers collects discs from the ponds and saves them for you. If you lose one, let him know where. Snack bar, restrooms, and a lounge a hole 1 and 10 is great. While the coure is wide open...the baskets are still tucked away in neat hiding spots that can protect them from incoming shots. There is a low risk of lost discs on this course, and that is a plus.
Cons: Not really any signage, and the score cards could use a map. A few of the tee pad locations were on uneven ground. If you do not throw long, you can find this course a little boring. Pay to play is tough for disc golfers to swallow. If the course is busy, I am unsure how the golfers and discers play together. I think the course could have been layed out on the front or back 9 instead of the over the whole 18. Maybe you could have 2 18 hole courses that way. The baskets are a little stingy, more than any I have played. Good luck with a fairway ace or a long throw-in.
Other Thoughts: We played a "ball and chain" event here. 1 round disc, 1 ball, random doubles. It was a blast and definitely a unique experience that I hope to do again. It is worth noting again how nice the staff was and how interested they are to expand DG in the area. I uploaded their green fees for them here.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 And Now for Something Completely Different....

1    11/28/2010   11/29/2010
Review By: DavidSauls
Played: 115  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 19.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Obviously, the course amenities. Having all the amenities of a golf course (clubhouse, snack bar, deck overlooking the back 9) and especially the golf carts (a necessity on a course of this length). Add to that the aesthetics---it's a beautiful and peaceful place, with some tremendous hills and thus tremendous views.

It's a boomer course---mostly wide open, mostly 700'+ holes and several 1000'+ holes. Not a whole lot of shot shaping, not a lot of trouble except for really bad shots. Terrific place for rollers. A number of big downhill drives.

Greens are fairly safe. A few on holes, none particularly close to O.B., nor with trees to squeeze putts around.

Not a bad hole on the course.

Multiple tees and, because you're driving a cart, it's no extra effort to pass the long tee a couple of hundred feet and play the short tee.
Cons: Since it's on a golf course, you'll be sharing it with ball golfers. Just opened, so we'll see how well that plays out.

A lot of open space---on a windless day you could play the course with 3 discs.

Odd baskets with heavy single chains---don't catch particularly well.

Currently the tees are all on the asphalt cart path, which in some places is not particularly smooth. (This is subject to change)
Other Thoughts: Very hard to rate this course because it's so different from anything else I've played. It'll be a 5-disc course for people with big arms who crave amenities....a 2-disc course for lovers of technical shots and risk/reward holes.

Since it is brand new and subject to a lot of tweaking, hard to say exactly how it'll end up. In a few months it could be significantly different than the course I played yesterday and am reviewing today.

Get a cart. Not only is the course long, but some transitions from basket to next tee are hundreds of feet.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, Challenging Course

1    11/27/2010   11/29/2010
Review By: Sadjo
Played: 101  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 34.4 Years
This review was updated on 12/12/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The best thing about this course is being situated on a ball golf course with carts as an option.

The course offers plenty of distance with a couple of chances to grip and rip while also allowing for some touch shots into basket locations protected by OB greens and bunkers or trees and water.

Great use of the trees, water, bunkers and greens as obstacles. The greens and bunkers play OB so when facing that approach shot on some holes, you'll need to be careful of the green in front of the basket, the bunker beside the basket and the hill to the right of the basket.

There's a couple of holes that make you feel like you're playing a tight wooded course but this is more of an open course.

I really enjoyed being able to see several other holes at a time and to play right along with ball golfers.
Cons: The biggest con is you tee from the cart path...which limited the potential hole designs. In some cases if the tee was moved forward or backward 10 feet or so, you would have a more even location to throw.

Dr. Fred baskets...have no nubs, which allows discs to fly quite a bit past the basket when normal baskets would have allowed the disc to fall in or out of the basket. If the baskets had nubs, your score could be 3-4 throws less.

The baskets are single chain and seem to be just a bit heavier than DGA or Innova baskets. The heavier chains means you have to hit them harder to get into the basket.
Other Thoughts: Having been involved in this project and being friends with the owners of the course, I believe that we'll see improvements over time. Those improves would include moving some basket locations (2, 4, 10, 16, 17) and adding Fly Pads or something similar.

This would be a great place to host an event...with a club house that sells food & beer for spectators and allows several places to sit and watch multiple holes at a time.

My rating will increase as the course gets tweaked.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great 'destination' discing

1    11/28/2010   11/29/2010
Review By: TheOtherBill
Played: 112  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The design is excellent. Many downhill drives without having as many go uphill increases the 'fun-factor', as does driving along in cart with a cooler and your buddies. It's really unlike any other course for that alone and worth checking out.
This will be an incredible facility to host tournaments with the patio of the 19th hole overlooking most of the course, great spectator areas along the course itself and plenty of opportunities to throw amazing shots. Basket placement was very good, I would only move a couple and those only by a dozen feet at most.
Cons: The baskets are terrible. I throw a mega-soft putter designed to grab chain, fold and fall into basket but had a least two dead-center putts kick straight back out and fall to the ground. Also had two other right-side spit-outs that wouldn't have been misses on any other basket. I have a hard time believing these are PDGA legal. Its unfortunate but they would definitely prevent me from playing a tournament on this course, for casual rounds it doesn't matter-- if you don't mind being robbed of perfectly placed putts every few holes.
Other Thoughts: Once the baskets get changed, the rating will go up.
The length can be either a pro or a con...it was an advantage to have the long, wide fairways forgive an errant throw or two, but by the 10,000-foot mark my arm was starting to give and still had 3 more holes to play. All in all, a course you have to play at least once 'cause there isn't anything else like it in the southeast.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 What a riot!

1    11/29/2010   11/29/2010
Review By: mwierda
Played: 34  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very nice design. Still getting the final touches. Carts ... how can you go wrong ... well putting a cart in the water.

Seriously. This is a fantastic course, and is only likely to get better. We were the first card out to play and had one of the owners with us so it made finding our way around much easier. The course is long as mentioned in the previous review. 3 holes are over 1000 ft! I think this course has the potential to put Winthrop Gold to shame. It is longer has more elevation and more variety.
Cons: Location and cost. I am all for pay to play courses especially when they are well maintained. As this course will be. The location isn't all that bad but it is out in the middle of no where ... that may be a pro actually ... less traffic.
Other Thoughts: I think this course is great and will only get better. I will return a play it when i can. I wish i had one down the road from my house.

Also i have posted the lengths that we had yesterday. These may change as the holes are still being finalized and some of the measurements seemed off yesterday.

There is water in play on many holes but i didn't include that in the hole data b/c i don't remember which holes.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/28/2010   11/29/2010
Review By: BennettUA
Played: 91  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 10.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: You're playing disc golf on a ball golf course! That alone makes it a fun outing!
The course was put together very quickly over the Thanksgiving weekend, but still, it was very well done.
Since it is a golf course, there is a lot of open space in comparison to a disc course. The pins were placed as close to obstacles as possible to make it more of a discing challenge. Pins are placed near trees, bushes, creeks, ponds, and on slopes. The designers did a great job here of using the trees and other obstacles on the course to play into the pin placement.
Bunkers and greens are OB - this also is a great idea, and adds more hazard and risk/reward shots for the disc golfer.
CARTS! So great to not have to walk such a long course, although it wouldn't be too taxing, it IS almost 13,000 feet! Besides, when else can you drive a cart to go disc golfing?!
Elevation and wind -- I think these are pros -- you have some tees that throw down over valleys, and you want to grip it and rip it, but you really have to consider the wind, and focus on a GOOD shot instead of a ALL I GOT shot.
The baskets are fine, I don't recall the name, but they are almost like PVC molding around where metal would be. The single chains are very soft, so they don't make the *CHING* noise as loudly, and require a firm putt into the center of the chains.
Multiple tees -- always a plus.
ROLLERS. If you like to throw rollers, or want to learn, this is a great course for it. Long, mowed golf fairways beg to have discs rolling on them.
Pro shop -- food, tv, people, bathrooms. And you pass by it on the turn, always a +.
Cons: Some will complain about the baskets, that the clean edges allow for lots of spit outs. The designer said it best -- "THAT'S A BAD SHOT!" Not a con in my book but it will be for others. They aren't as attractive to me as a Discatcher or Mach 5, but they do their job fine.
No tee pads, distance markers, next tee signs, etc, but this is a BRAND NEW COURSE. We were the third group to play it, and I'm sure these amenities will be added soon.
The water -- if you get into the drink, I wouldn't want to go after it. The edges of the ponds and creeks are very muddy. Just avoid the water(duh). They will also retrieve discs and call your number if it's on the disc, holding it for a month.
The course is a lot of "drive, drive again, approach, putt." No 90 degree doglegs or tunnel shots, and only one hole(11) has the feeling of a "true" disc golf hole. Don't come for the variety, come for the novelty!
Other Thoughts: I don't see this place ever being overcrowded with ball golf so much that you won't be able to throw disc golf. It's a small parking lot, a smaller, local course in a remote area. We certainly got some strange looks from some golfers! I'm sure they'll get used to it soon enough.
Special thanks to Reese, Adam, Mike, and the owners for making this possible. This is a great course that will make you get out your longest drivers, you will be throwing bombs all day and loving it!
PLEASE NOTE -- I reviewed this as a 3(Good) today, knowing that improvements will be made to this(literally)brand new course. Updates to follow.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.