Hughesville, PA 
Lime Bluff Recreation Area Share
Uploaded By: kitfor Hole #13
3 / 386ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Approach



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
If it's on your way, then play

1    5/13/2014   5/29/2014
Review By: lvdiscgolfloser
Played: 15  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Interesting structures used to shape shots: mounded hills, stone walls, wood structures, wishing wells on top of hills.
Two tee positions per hole.
Cons: Flat, flat, flat.
High grass makes discs hard to find.
Navigation can be a bit confusing with how tight the layout is.
Other Thoughts: They did a great job with a flat piece of land; the mounds and hand-made obstacles give it a folk-art disc golf feel. Not a destination course, but for North Central PA residents it is...

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    10/16/2013   10/16/2013
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 106  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 5.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a decent course on a flat plot of land. There are some man-made mounds which make a nice addition to the flat park.
The course was well maintained and had nice sized trapezoid tee pads. The tee signs give all the info you need. Navigation was easy with no map.

Other Pros:
- bag hooks
- kiosk with scorecards and a place to write your ace
- pond in play on 2 holes
- some holes with multiple tees
- some holes with multiple baskets
- rock wall guarding 17's basket
- practice basket
Cons: This is a very hilly area but the park is completely flat except for those man-made mounds. The throws all seemed straight with very few obstacles.

Other Cons:
- tall grass in the rough
- after #16 you cross #4 fairway
Other Thoughts: The buildings near the parking were under construction while I was there. It didn't effect the disc golf and there were porta-potties to use.

I thought the designer did a nice job with the land provided.
The course was a nice stop to break up a long trip but it's not a destination course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Hughesville

1    5/5/2011   5/24/2011
Review By: tmc3442
Played: 36  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: not many obstacles
easy to navigate
cool basket locations (some raised,some hanging,some have fence around to force skill shots)
not easy to lose disc
not much traffic
Cons: when it rains its a swamp and i mean bad
plain flat open field
beginers course
Other Thoughts: it was ok to play once. nothing special but should play if in the area. good course to have a chance at ace cause most baskets are reachable in one throw.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great use of a mediocre park

1    8/13/2008   10/1/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 752  Exp: 12.5 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a large area in a multi-use park, but doesn't conflict with any other park uses. There is no natural elevation, but many holes have man made obstacles like rock walls or earth mounds to add some interest. There is a small pond that adds a nice risk/reward element to one hole. There is a good variety of lengths here, from ace runs to holes that leave room to really rip a drive. The wind rips across the flat open space, and adds a nice challenge.

There are nice concrete tees for every hole that were in good shape and provided good footing even in the early morning dew. The signs were easy to read and made it very easy to navigate the course, with no places where it was difficult to find the basket or the next tee.

It's clear a ton of work has gone into this course to build/make the obstacles and keep it in great shape. The small trees will eventually help make this course more challenging and interesting, kudos to the locals who are working hard to improve the course.
Cons: The course is flat and wide open. There aren't really places where a specific line is called for, you can pretty much get to all the holes with any throw you prefer, with only wind as an obstacle. The design does a great job maximizing the potential of the space, but there's only so much you can do with a former corn field. When the trees grow up, this will be a much better course.

There had been a recent rain when I played, and a large portion of the course was quite swampy. Make sure you're prepared for lots of standing water and mud if you play when there has been precipitation in the last week or so.
Other Thoughts: This course is a great place for beginners to learn the game, and to learn how to play in the wind. There aren't many obstacles, but there is a mix of reachable holes and ones that newer players will have to throw multiple drives on. More experienced players will likely find the course a bit repetitive and boring.

The course is an ok place for a fairly quick and easy round. Don't drive way out of your way just to play here, but it's a fun stop if you're passing by.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 If you love wide open then you'll love this course

2-4    8/31/2009   9/1/2009
Review By: MercfromBuffalo
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is about as well designed as you can ask for. There is a good variety of short holes (about 250ft) and long holes (about 550ft).
Cons: This course is somewhat boring. It is placed in a town park that is flat and wide open. There is very little in the way of natural obsticles.
Other Thoughts: If you play after a severe rainstorm, brings boots. The course had some swampy patches and standing water. Also, try to play after the fields are mowed. When the weeds get up to a couple of inches, keep an eye on your disc. You can easily lose a disc in the fairway.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Dressing up a Plain Jane!

1    7/31/2009   8/8/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: All of the amenities are here. Nearby restaraunts. Port-a-Pottie, clean park, big concrete tees, good signs, well maintained course, and two tees per hole to appeal to winter/beginner play. There is some unique effort given to make the course more interesting. Often mounds are placed in front of the basket along with bushes, interesting stone wall, mini-golf like structures, as well as a pond to make shots more creative and skillfull. The wind is ever present and will influence your decision making. Decent length as well, requiring often 2 drives or a drive and long approach. I particularly enjoyed the elevated basket on hole #2. I got a call back on a prized star valkyrie...it was returned through the lost disc slot! Trees have been planted..perhaps in 10-20 years this course will have a new flavor? Great place to learn drivers and practice wind and drive game.
Cons: It is simply the most flat course I have ever played. Even with all of the effort to make the course better the canvas to work on is simply a flat cornfield. Not much else can be done I suppose. The wind can be an annoyance if your not an experienced wind player. Plenty of redundancy here. Often just long fairways running close to one another with obstacles near the basket. The mounds are cool but I would rather see a few more used to elevate the baskets or even to elevate the tees as a way to produce variety rather than just constantly peek-a-booing the basket behind a pile of dirt. After 9 holes I was bored and wondered why I drove all this way to play here.
Other Thoughts: I found the various structures and mounds very neat when I started my round....After playing 18 I walked past hole #1 and had a different opinion about the mound in front of the basket.....obviously after seeing the same gimmick over and over I got annoyed. This is an open course, not busy and despite being in a mountainous region is terribly flat. This makes it ideal to truly learn how far you can actually throw a drive off a concrete tee. I emptied my bag a few times in frustration trying to reach a basket at a length I swore I was able to reach. If your coming down from NY or Canada or on route 80 it's worth a stop. Maybe a good sidetrip if your ever at the nearby Little League World Series in Williamsport. Otherwise not worth a trip.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A Fun Stop

5/25/2007   6/7/2007
Review By: timg
Played: 239  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 12.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/30/2008
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well maintained with some unique elements and a few challenging holes.
Cons: Most holes play fairly short.
Other Thoughts: The course is completely flat and open. A very small pond comes into play on a couple of holes (and the banks are quite slick!) and there are a few other unique elements such as a stone wall that you can try to throw through to sink your putt on 18.

This course made for a fun stop on our disc golf road trip through PA. It is towards the middle of the state with no other disc golf courses within a reasonable distance. Would I drive out of my way again to play the course? Probably not. But if you're going to be in the area it's worth a stop.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.