Hughesville, PA 
Lime Bluff Recreation Area Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #1
3 / 284ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Fun but flat

2-4    8/9/2014   8/17/2014
Review By: Rkilker
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 14.2 Years
Pros: Great use of available space. Very nice tee pads and a well maintained park. There is also a nice play area for children so it's a nice place to take the whole family. I also like the interesting use if dirt mounts to add some obstacles and "terrain" on this otherwise flat park.
Cons: There is essentially no elevation changes. The front 9 does not loop back to the parking lot so once you start you are mostly committed to playing 18 which is only a problem for me when I bring my young son and he can only handle 9 at a time.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed playing here. There are many opportunities to send a full drive down range and young trees provide more obstacles than they would seem to given their size. The people who maintain the course do an excellent job. The whole park is very clean and nicely landscaped.

 

5+    11/25/2011   11/26/2011
Review By: xcrunner134life
Played: 71  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good length
Very open course with a few challenging holes that play along the woods/brush.
Most of the holes have posts with signs and hooks to hang your bag. These are new and all the holes should have these posts soon.
Because of how open the course is, it is very easy to get around for first time players.
Cons: When it's a windy day, Lime Bluff becomes extremely difficult. Don't expect to do well when windy. Also, if it's rained, the course becomes a swamp. Water doesn't drain well at all.
Hole 9 doesn't meet back with the parking lot.
Other Thoughts: Overall, there aren't too many courses in the area, so Lime Bluff is an excellent course. Good distance course for big arms. Because it's open, it makes it also a good course for beginners too. They won't get the best scores and will probably be frustrated.
There are a lot of flaws in the course that can't be fixed. The course becomes a complete swamp when it rains (to the point of not worth playing unless you're playing with a group). I drive 30-45 mins to play this when I visit my in-laws because it's the closest to their home. It is worth playing if you're in the area and you want some practice playing in the wind.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Place!

1    8/19/2011   8/20/2011
Review By: laderjr
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Open Flat field
Easy to Navigate
Long Shots
Skill Shots
This course is a new favorite of mine for the fact that it IS wide open. There is a lot of room for error here for the beginner. As long as the Soy Beans on the left side of 3 don't get you and the water at the back of 5 and 6, players can make the whole course without losing a single disc.
Cons: Windy - this course is in an open field on top of a mountain, it seems to me that the breeze that blows there constantly will have some affect on your game. other than that I was VERY happy with this one.
Other Thoughts: Bring a lot of water and possibly an umbrella for portable shade. There are trees but the shade is VERY scarce on this course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    9/25/2010   9/26/2010
Review By: Hammy
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The distance veneration is good the course is well maintained and the traffic is low.
Cons: Its 100% flat and the only water is the very small pond. All woods is to the right of the Tee which could put some players at a disadvantage

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 This course will blow you away! Literally!

5+    8/29/2009   8/30/2009
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 5.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - A pond that acts as a water hazard. It's so much fun throwing over it!
- A disc return box by the kiosk.
- Good signage and navigability from tee to tee.
- One of the nicest sets of concrete teepads I've ever played on.
- Parking lot is close to first tee with bathrooms nearby.
- Course is well-maintained by a great bunch of local disc golfers.
- While wind may be a con for some, I think it helps make the mundane/flat nature of the course a little more fun and challenging. A strong gust will really carry your disc and may make an otherwise ordinary par 3 a little more interesting. I recommend bringing an overstable disc to handle the headwinds if you come here.
- Nice use of OB and other objects/structures/dirt mounds to break up the flatness of the course.
Cons: - Very flat and open! Just one elevation change and one or two more wooded holes and this could easily be a 3.5-4.0 course.
- The rough is just brutal and will eat and digest your discs. This is especially true around the pond and along #9,10, and a couple of others.
- Don't even think about coming here if it just rained; this place turns into a swampy nightmare. It's not uncommon for parts of the course to be under 3-5" of water.
Other Thoughts: Clearly, some people in the greater Williamsport area really care about disc golf. While the course is admittedly flat and shares characteristics with a hurricane (wet and windy), it's the little things about the course that really make it special. You'll especially notice this on #17 and 18.

As a student at Lock Haven University, this is the closest 18 hole course to my school. Over time, this course has grown on me and I hardly mind the 45 minute commute to play here. When the trees grow here in a decade or two, this place is going to be fantastic!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Looking to the future!

1    10/20/2008   10/22/2008
Review By: Brida
Played: 10  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 10/23/2008
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course is well maintained with two bathroom stalls. Pins have a sign right on them to tell you the direction of next hole and all tees are labeled very well. On the long throws they have markers so you can see how far you can throw. They even provide scorecards and maps. The obstacles are unique but very fun in the lack of natural ones.
Cons: This course is very windy since it is so flat. The course relys to much on big throws and the par for these holes will be tough for new players to match. Also, there are secondary tees ,but no distance marking for them or secondary pars for them.
Other Thoughts: Over all the course looks like it will be great once the trees and greenery come in and it might help with the wind. The walls and gates they have up are cool and the first time I have seen man made obstacles. Keep an eye on this course as the years go by.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Lime Bluff

7/30/2007   8/8/2007
Review By: Amorybulldog
Played: 65  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 17.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pretty easy course to navigate. Pretty much open. Interesting things on the course, mini windmill a nice touch. Elevated basket on #2 pretty cool. Pretty well maintained. Roughs are true roughs. You can lose track of your disc pretty quick in it.
Cons: Right now this course is a bit on the boring side due to its flatness(See below).
Other Thoughts: If the trees/shrubs that have been planted grow up to their potential this course could turn from an ugly duckling into a swan. I noticed a lot of plantings and if they are what I think they are the course will have a ton of obstacles in about 5-10 years. It will be something to be seen then. Worth the trip.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Flat

3/8/2007   6/8/2007
Review By: innovaetor
Played: 45  Reviewed: 22
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great work on design considering the flatness. Raised putts, water, and man made obsatcles keep it interseting. Well marked and maintained.
Cons: Flat, flat , flat. It is hard to make things new and exciting in an open field.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.