Hughesville, PA 
Lime Bluff Recreation Area Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #9
3 / 338ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Fun Wide Open Course

5+    7/15/2015   7/15/2015
Review By: Horsman
Played: 100  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 9.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Plenty of Parking
- Nice concrete Teepads
- The course has a lot of longer holes out there so if you are a player that likes a longer course or throwing a lot of hyzers, then this is the course for you.
- Some holes have a few different pin locations that I can see making the course more or less difficult.
- SOme holes have short teepads for those who do not have the arm to play from the longs.
- Has some pretty cool features to make a wide open course a bit more fun. Rock wall on 17 in front of the basket. Lots of what look like artificial mounds on a lot of the holes making the straight shot a lot harder. Elevated teepads. Hanging basket. String line OB. Mandos. They definitely put some thought into how to make an open course more challenging.
- Some of the pins are prtty close to the water, so the risk reward factor here is pretty high on a few holes. They did a good job with these holes in my opinion.
Cons: - The directions were a bit tricky to use. My GPS took me about 2 miles from the course. I had to drive around for a while until I finally randomly came upon the course.
- If you dont like throwing Hyzer after Hyzer after Hyzer then I can see you getting bored here but it still has a bit aof distance to make up for it.
- For Pennslyvania, I would of thought there would be more mountains and hills on this course but it is very flat. Call it good or bad, its different.
- A few holes have some parallel fairways which can make for some dangerous shots, but everytime I have been here there hasnt been enough people on the course for this to even matter but I can see it being an issue if the course was full.
- There were a lot of people out enjoying the park for non disc golf related things so be mindful of them while they are on the course.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I really enjoy the course. It is my style of course where I can let my arm open up and play aggressively. You get rewarded for good shots and beat down with the bad. Id suggest this course to anyone. I find it a lot of fun to play.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fun but unforgiving

5+    8/10/2013   9/16/2013
Review By: vicious
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.2 Years
Pros: Long holes
Very open
Good for every throw
Great signs with diagrams and bag hooks
Concrete tees are excellent
Elevated tee pad for holes 13 and 15 is great
Cons: The pond is a great target for a bomb from either tee that faces it
The brush is hard to navigate through and finding a disc can be rough or impossible
Holes could have more variety instead of just throwing as far as you can
Other Thoughts: This course is a ton of fun especially on a great day. The first half of the course is a lot of fun, but by the time you get around to holes 11-16 you may be beat after looking for your discs in the shrubbery.

 Novelty course with excellent potential!

1    4/13/2009   4/13/2009
Review By: prerube
Played: 229  Reviewed: 209  Exp: 8.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun course, that will grow to be great. 18 holes with cement tee pads. Several holes had multiple tees. 2 holes had multiple baskets. Holes 5 & 7 used a small pond of water to it's fullest potential. Hole 17 has an interesting wall and another hole had raised lattice fencing as barriers. Course has excellent signage and it is easy to navigate. There is little chance of disc loss (except the small pond) also a disc return slot on the back of the sign for discs found on the course.
There is a porto-potty in the parking lot if you need it.
Cons: the course has a novelty mini-golf feel to it with a lot of novelty junk (like windsocks) used as obsticles, but as the trees grow these items wont be needed. No elevation changes.
Other Thoughts: Most of the trees are saplings and 44 more are being planted at the end of April. After a few years of growth this course will be unrecognizable and grow to one of the best courses around.
Course enterance is between a McDonalds and a Mia's Drive in Resturant for food or hot cocoa after the game.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/1/2007   7/21/2008
Review By: caiman
Played: 56  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 11.4 Years
This review was updated on 2/8/2009
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A well-marked course that's easy to navigate, and lots of fun, especially for recreational players. The course is in a former cornfield, which doesn't leave a whole lot to the imagination, but the course designers made the holes as interesting as they could have. Two holes straddle a pond, and there are several man-made obstacles such as mounds, many of which are located directly in front of the baskets. Freshly-planted trees line many fairways, so I'd be interested to see what the course looks like in 10 or 20 years. Some holes have OB, marked accordingly on the tee signs.
Cons: Advanced players will likely get pretty bored pretty quickly, since many holes look and feel the same. Retreiving errant throws may prove difficult if they end up in the adjacent farmland, or deep in the surrounding woods.
Other Thoughts: Less than 90 minutes away from State College, this course is an excellent choice for Penn Staters who have grown weary of Circleville and Valley View. But it's probably not worth the trip from Harrisburg or Philadelphia, as there are better courses to choose from in those areas.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.