Hughesville, PA
Lime Bluff Recreation Area Share
Uploaded By: kitfor Hole #17
3 / 399ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Basket



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Dressing up a Plain Jane!

1    7/31/2009   8/8/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 11.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: All of the amenities are here. Nearby restaraunts. Port-a-Pottie, clean park, big concrete tees, good signs, well maintained course, and two tees per hole to appeal to winter/beginner play. There is some unique effort given to make the course more interesting. Often mounds are placed in front of the basket along with bushes, interesting stone wall, mini-golf like structures, as well as a pond to make shots more creative and skillfull. The wind is ever present and will influence your decision making. Decent length as well, requiring often 2 drives or a drive and long approach. I particularly enjoyed the elevated basket on hole #2. I got a call back on a prized star valkyrie...it was returned through the lost disc slot! Trees have been planted..perhaps in 10-20 years this course will have a new flavor? Great place to learn drivers and practice wind and drive game.
Cons: It is simply the most flat course I have ever played. Even with all of the effort to make the course better the canvas to work on is simply a flat cornfield. Not much else can be done I suppose. The wind can be an annoyance if your not an experienced wind player. Plenty of redundancy here. Often just long fairways running close to one another with obstacles near the basket. The mounds are cool but I would rather see a few more used to elevate the baskets or even to elevate the tees as a way to produce variety rather than just constantly peek-a-booing the basket behind a pile of dirt. After 9 holes I was bored and wondered why I drove all this way to play here.
Other Thoughts: I found the various structures and mounds very neat when I started my round....After playing 18 I walked past hole #1 and had a different opinion about the mound in front of the basket.....obviously after seeing the same gimmick over and over I got annoyed. This is an open course, not busy and despite being in a mountainous region is terribly flat. This makes it ideal to truly learn how far you can actually throw a drive off a concrete tee. I emptied my bag a few times in frustration trying to reach a basket at a length I swore I was able to reach. If your coming down from NY or Canada or on route 80 it's worth a stop. Maybe a good sidetrip if your ever at the nearby Little League World Series in Williamsport. Otherwise not worth a trip.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Novelty course with excellent potential!

1    4/13/2009   4/13/2009
Review By: prerube
Played: 200  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 6.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun course, that will grow to be great. 18 holes with cement tee pads. Several holes had multiple tees. 2 holes had multiple baskets. Holes 5 & 7 used a small pond of water to it's fullest potential. Hole 17 has an interesting wall and another hole had raised lattice fencing as barriers. Course has excellent signage and it is easy to navigate. There is little chance of disc loss (except the small pond) also a disc return slot on the back of the sign for discs found on the course.
There is a porto-potty in the parking lot if you need it.
Cons: the course has a novelty mini-golf feel to it with a lot of novelty junk (like windsocks) used as obsticles, but as the trees grow these items wont be needed. No elevation changes.
Other Thoughts: Most of the trees are saplings and 44 more are being planted at the end of April. After a few years of growth this course will be unrecognizable and grow to one of the best courses around.
Course enterance is between a McDonalds and a Mia's Drive in Resturant for food or hot cocoa after the game.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Looking to the future!

1    10/20/2008   10/22/2008
Review By: Brida
Played: 10  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 10/23/2008
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course is well maintained with two bathroom stalls. Pins have a sign right on them to tell you the direction of next hole and all tees are labeled very well. On the long throws they have markers so you can see how far you can throw. They even provide scorecards and maps. The obstacles are unique but very fun in the lack of natural ones.
Cons: This course is very windy since it is so flat. The course relys to much on big throws and the par for these holes will be tough for new players to match. Also, there are secondary tees ,but no distance marking for them or secondary pars for them.
Other Thoughts: Over all the course looks like it will be great once the trees and greenery come in and it might help with the wind. The walls and gates they have up are cool and the first time I have seen man made obstacles. Keep an eye on this course as the years go by.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/1/2007   7/21/2008
Review By: caiman
Played: 56  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 10.1 Years
This review was updated on 2/8/2009
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A well-marked course that's easy to navigate, and lots of fun, especially for recreational players. The course is in a former cornfield, which doesn't leave a whole lot to the imagination, but the course designers made the holes as interesting as they could have. Two holes straddle a pond, and there are several man-made obstacles such as mounds, many of which are located directly in front of the baskets. Freshly-planted trees line many fairways, so I'd be interested to see what the course looks like in 10 or 20 years. Some holes have OB, marked accordingly on the tee signs.
Cons: Advanced players will likely get pretty bored pretty quickly, since many holes look and feel the same. Retreiving errant throws may prove difficult if they end up in the adjacent farmland, or deep in the surrounding woods.
Other Thoughts: Less than 90 minutes away from State College, this course is an excellent choice for Penn Staters who have grown weary of Circleville and Valley View. But it's probably not worth the trip from Harrisburg or Philadelphia, as there are better courses to choose from in those areas.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Promising

11/4/2007   11/12/2007
Review By: Godard
Played: 49  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 6.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very few players, never a wait. Pond comes into play. Many mounds and other minor hazards.
Cons: A lot of wind. After hole 8, course seems to become redundant.
Other Thoughts: As a beginner, too many of the holes seemed to consist of "throw it as hard as I can, then do it again". And once the wind took my disc way off into the adjoining farm.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Lime Bluff

7/30/2007   8/8/2007
Review By: Amorybulldog
Played: 65  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 16.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pretty easy course to navigate. Pretty much open. Interesting things on the course, mini windmill a nice touch. Elevated basket on #2 pretty cool. Pretty well maintained. Roughs are true roughs. You can lose track of your disc pretty quick in it.
Cons: Right now this course is a bit on the boring side due to its flatness(See below).
Other Thoughts: If the trees/shrubs that have been planted grow up to their potential this course could turn from an ugly duckling into a swan. I noticed a lot of plantings and if they are what I think they are the course will have a ton of obstacles in about 5-10 years. It will be something to be seen then. Worth the trip.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Flat

3/8/2007   6/8/2007
Review By: innovaetor
Played: 45  Reviewed: 22
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great work on design considering the flatness. Raised putts, water, and man made obsatcles keep it interseting. Well marked and maintained.
Cons: Flat, flat , flat. It is hard to make things new and exciting in an open field.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A Fun Stop

5/25/2007   6/7/2007
Review By: timg
Played: 220  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 11.9 Years
This review was updated on 5/30/2008
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well maintained with some unique elements and a few challenging holes.
Cons: Most holes play fairly short.
Other Thoughts: The course is completely flat and open. A very small pond comes into play on a couple of holes (and the banks are quite slick!) and there are a few other unique elements such as a stone wall that you can try to throw through to sink your putt on 18.

This course made for a fun stop on our disc golf road trip through PA. It is towards the middle of the state with no other disc golf courses within a reasonable distance. Would I drive out of my way again to play the course? Probably not. But if you're going to be in the area it's worth a stop.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.