Disc Golf Center
Hughesville, PA 
Lime Bluff Recreation Area Share
Uploaded By: kitfor Hole #5
3 / 326ft.   3 / 430ft.   3 / 326ft.   3 / 430ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket

Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Fun Wide Open Course

5+    7/15/2015   7/15/2015
Review By: Horsman
Played: 100  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 9.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Plenty of Parking
- Nice concrete Teepads
- The course has a lot of longer holes out there so if you are a player that likes a longer course or throwing a lot of hyzers, then this is the course for you.
- Some holes have a few different pin locations that I can see making the course more or less difficult.
- SOme holes have short teepads for those who do not have the arm to play from the longs.
- Has some pretty cool features to make a wide open course a bit more fun. Rock wall on 17 in front of the basket. Lots of what look like artificial mounds on a lot of the holes making the straight shot a lot harder. Elevated teepads. Hanging basket. String line OB. Mandos. They definitely put some thought into how to make an open course more challenging.
- Some of the pins are prtty close to the water, so the risk reward factor here is pretty high on a few holes. They did a good job with these holes in my opinion.
Cons: - The directions were a bit tricky to use. My GPS took me about 2 miles from the course. I had to drive around for a while until I finally randomly came upon the course.
- If you dont like throwing Hyzer after Hyzer after Hyzer then I can see you getting bored here but it still has a bit aof distance to make up for it.
- For Pennslyvania, I would of thought there would be more mountains and hills on this course but it is very flat. Call it good or bad, its different.
- A few holes have some parallel fairways which can make for some dangerous shots, but everytime I have been here there hasnt been enough people on the course for this to even matter but I can see it being an issue if the course was full.
- There were a lot of people out enjoying the park for non disc golf related things so be mindful of them while they are on the course.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I really enjoy the course. It is my style of course where I can let my arm open up and play aggressively. You get rewarded for good shots and beat down with the bad. Id suggest this course to anyone. I find it a lot of fun to play.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Give it some time.

1    6/25/2015   7/7/2015
Review By: The0ldMan
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 0.5 Years
Pros: Nicely maintained by local volunteers.
A variety of pin locations at several holes.
Some interesting obstacles at a few of the later holes.
The elevated tee is fun to drive off of.
Great for beginners.
Cons: The trees are too young to add any real variety to the holes. As they mature though, I think the course will really improve with some doglegs and such developing as the trees cover more of the wide open field that's there now.

The elevated tee could use some better stairs.

Holes 11-15 seem a little tightly packed and without the trees to block errant throws, it could be dangerous on a crowed day.
Other Thoughts: I went on father's day with my whole family and we were the only players when we arrived around noon. One other guy showed up while we were explaining rules and such. His name was Gene and he was actually one of the people responsible for getting this course made. He had a lot of stories about the process of building your own course, and the history of some of the bizarre obstacles scattered around the later holes. He was better than all of us but it was fun to watch someone who could actually throw 300+ foot drives. Had a great time and I will definitely return when I go to visit my parents at their cabin in Sullivan County. Once the trees are big enough to add some challenge, this could turn into a really fun course.

Fun but flat

2-4    8/9/2014   8/17/2014
Review By: Rkilker
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 15.4 Years
Pros: Great use of available space. Very nice tee pads and a well maintained park. There is also a nice play area for children so it's a nice place to take the whole family. I also like the interesting use if dirt mounts to add some obstacles and "terrain" on this otherwise flat park.
Cons: There is essentially no elevation changes. The front 9 does not loop back to the parking lot so once you start you are mostly committed to playing 18 which is only a problem for me when I bring my young son and he can only handle 9 at a time.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed playing here. There are many opportunities to send a full drive down range and young trees provide more obstacles than they would seem to given their size. The people who maintain the course do an excellent job. The whole park is very clean and nicely landscaped.

If it's on your way, then play

1    5/13/2014   5/29/2014
Review By: DiscLoser
Played: 25  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 2.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Interesting structures used to shape shots: mounded hills, stone walls, wood structures, wishing wells on top of hills.
Two tee positions per hole.
Cons: Flat, flat, flat.
High grass makes discs hard to find.
Navigation can be a bit confusing with how tight the layout is.
Other Thoughts: They did a great job with a flat piece of land; the mounds and hand-made obstacles give it a folk-art disc golf feel. Not a destination course, but for North Central PA residents it is...

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

1    10/16/2013   10/16/2013
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 113  Reviewed: 109  Exp: 7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a decent course on a flat plot of land. There are some man-made mounds which make a nice addition to the flat park.
The course was well maintained and had nice sized trapezoid tee pads. The tee signs give all the info you need. Navigation was easy with no map.

Other Pros:
- bag hooks
- kiosk with scorecards and a place to write your ace
- pond in play on 2 holes
- some holes with multiple tees
- some holes with multiple baskets
- rock wall guarding 17's basket
- practice basket
Cons: This is a very hilly area but the park is completely flat except for those man-made mounds. The throws all seemed straight with very few obstacles.

Other Cons:
- tall grass in the rough
- after #16 you cross #4 fairway
Other Thoughts: The buildings near the parking were under construction while I was there. It didn't effect the disc golf and there were porta-potties to use.

I thought the designer did a nice job with the land provided.
The course was a nice stop to break up a long trip but it's not a destination course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun but unforgiving

5+    8/10/2013   9/16/2013
Review By: vicious
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.4 Years
Pros: Long holes
Very open
Good for every throw
Great signs with diagrams and bag hooks
Concrete tees are excellent
Elevated tee pad for holes 13 and 15 is great
Cons: The pond is a great target for a bomb from either tee that faces it
The brush is hard to navigate through and finding a disc can be rough or impossible
Holes could have more variety instead of just throwing as far as you can
Other Thoughts: This course is a ton of fun especially on a great day. The first half of the course is a lot of fun, but by the time you get around to holes 11-16 you may be beat after looking for your discs in the shrubbery.

 Almond Joy

1    6/20/2012   6/21/2012
Review By: swatso
Played: 412  Reviewed: 356  Exp: 7.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Tee areas: All holes, except #13, have tall tee posts, containing a map of the hole, and bag hooks. 10' long, rough concrete, trapezoidal tee pads near the tee posts. Many holes also had alternate (shorter) tee locations, 3'x6' rubber mats. Benches every few holes.

While I'm generally wary of playing a course sans map, this course was a cinch to navigate. All baskets but 15-17 had a "next tee" arrow atop them.

Practice basket.

Number-18 is nicely appointed - a mound of red mulch at the midpoint, with '18' "written" on its side using small white stones, with another mound guarding the basket, and an American flag far in the background.

Mostly need to just throw straight, although a few right-turns are needed.
Other Thoughts:
The course plays in the flat, open space, located at the back of a public park, and is bounded by hedgerows and farm fields. Obstacles are few and far between on this course, so the length (average ~350'), and the seemingly omnipresent wind, will provide the greatest challenges. Other challenges include:
- About the holes border fields/hedgerows, so too much turn/fade could cause problems
- About 1/3rd of the baskets are located behind man-made mounds of grass/mulch (or a stone wall, as in the case of #17)
- Holes 13 and 15 have alternate hanging baskets. Holes 5 and 11 also had alternate baskets
- A lot of small trees and bushes have been planted where 8-16 reside, but they are many years away from affecting flight paths

Course has lots of nice touches, but there's only so much one can do with a flat, open field.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    11/25/2011   11/26/2011
Review By: xcrunner134life
Played: 75  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good length
Very open course with a few challenging holes that play along the woods/brush.
Most of the holes have posts with signs and hooks to hang your bag. These are new and all the holes should have these posts soon.
Because of how open the course is, it is very easy to get around for first time players.
Cons: When it's a windy day, Lime Bluff becomes extremely difficult. Don't expect to do well when windy. Also, if it's rained, the course becomes a swamp. Water doesn't drain well at all.
Hole 9 doesn't meet back with the parking lot.
Other Thoughts: Overall, there aren't too many courses in the area, so Lime Bluff is an excellent course. Good distance course for big arms. Because it's open, it makes it also a good course for beginners too. They won't get the best scores and will probably be frustrated.
There are a lot of flaws in the course that can't be fixed. The course becomes a complete swamp when it rains (to the point of not worth playing unless you're playing with a group). I drive 30-45 mins to play this when I visit my in-laws because it's the closest to their home. It is worth playing if you're in the area and you want some practice playing in the wind.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Place!

1    8/19/2011   8/20/2011
Review By: laderjr
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Open Flat field
Easy to Navigate
Long Shots
Skill Shots
This course is a new favorite of mine for the fact that it IS wide open. There is a lot of room for error here for the beginner. As long as the Soy Beans on the left side of 3 don't get you and the water at the back of 5 and 6, players can make the whole course without losing a single disc.
Cons: Windy - this course is in an open field on top of a mountain, it seems to me that the breeze that blows there constantly will have some affect on your game. other than that I was VERY happy with this one.
Other Thoughts: Bring a lot of water and possibly an umbrella for portable shade. There are trees but the shade is VERY scarce on this course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    5/5/2011   5/24/2011
Review By: tmc3442
Played: 36  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: not many obstacles
easy to navigate
cool basket locations (some raised,some hanging,some have fence around to force skill shots)
not easy to lose disc
not much traffic
Cons: when it rains its a swamp and i mean bad
plain flat open field
beginers course
Other Thoughts: it was ok to play once. nothing special but should play if in the area. good course to have a chance at ace cause most baskets are reachable in one throw.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.