Bowling Green, KY 
Preston Miller Park Share
Uploaded By: AdamE Hole #8 (Taken 11/2011)
3 / 180ft.   3 / 180ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Short and SWEET

1    3/31/2012   4/9/2012
Review By: asjzn6
Played: 110  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 9.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I thought this course had great amenities. Bridges, tee signs, nicely mowed park. Easy to get to.
Cons: Not too many cons on this course, it is short and does allow for good scoring so not too many GOLF shots here. Although in the woods you have to hit your lines and get on the green to keep up with the competition
Other Thoughts: This course was fun, great for scoring. Very scenic paths through the woods let you feel like a walk in the park

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good wooded course

5+    11/22/2011   1/6/2012
Review By: brettricewku
Played: 62  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good course and uses the space well. Many tight lines to hit in the woods as well as some open holes that you can put some ace runs on. Fairly short so beginner friendly. You get to work on your techincal shots.
Cons: Not long or too challenging. Most drives come from your mids and putters on this course. One hole is 400+ feet which does not flow well with the rest of the course.
Other Thoughts: A fun course to play and provides to a change of pace from the new bomber courses. A good course and if you live in BG one you need to check out. If you are coming from out of town and can only play a select few, I would leave this one out.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Short and Narrow

1    4/10/2010   12/7/2010
Review By: tistoude
Played: 166  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 6.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Preston Miller is a nice disc golf course located in a very good sized park that has a lot of other activities in it. The course plays mostly through heavy woods with occasional holes located in the open. The open holes are nicely spread amongst all of the wooded holes and provide a nice variety.

This course has nice sized concrete tee pads and tee signs that give all of the important information. Near tee #1 there is a pavilion, a nice message board with course map and practice basket. These seem pretty standard for the BG area but are still appreciated as some of those little extra touches that make a course better. Even the buckets on the tee posts for garbage are better than having nothing at all.

The design of this course offers quite a bit of variety on shot type. There is a great mix of BH, FH and straight holes with a few blind shots thrown in. The course really does not favor any specific type. The elevation changes on this course are by no means dramatic but they are used to good effect. Without the elevation this course would be numbingly boring. The wooded holes, while pretty short, have very narrow, defined fairways that really force you to hit your lines or get buried in the shule.

With the length (short) and narrow fairways this course makes an excellent intermediate level course. For anyone else it is a good place to work on midrange/putter shots.
Cons: Very short. The wooded holes are all right around 200 feet so you could really play them all with just a putter.

Lack of obstacles on the open holes. Even though it is nice to get a break from the wooded holes it would be nice to see a couple more obstacles on the open holes to force at least a minimum of shot shaping. Holes 1 and 2 have nothing at all between the tee and basket.

Walking trail. The walking path comes very close to the course on a couple of holes. The day that I played Preston Miller there was a 10K or something on the path so it was a little distracting and worrying.

Lack of Challenge. This course is really easy to go pretty far below par on. If you are an Advanced or Open player you will probably get bored on this course. On the flip side beginners may find the narrow wooded holes frustrating.
Other Thoughts: I liked playing Preston Miller but it is not one of the better BG courses. I can definitely see myself playing it again though. I have always been partial to wooded courses and it was a nice fast play that helps me focus on my short game. I appreciate all of the variety available in Bowling Green,

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 I don't know Preston, but I like him!

1    2/4/2010   2/6/2010
Review By: harr0140
Played: 737  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.8 Years
12 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 1) Nice turf in the open holes and the wooded holes have a fair amount of leaves to cover the bare soil. Also there are areas that are covered in a creeping euonymous which is an evergreen. It actually makes the course look better because in the winter it gets a nice dark purple color to it. It wont stand up to too much traffic, but all in all the ground on this course is in pretty good shape, both in wooded areas and in the open turfed areas.

2) Brand New DGA baskets with the # plates. The plates are always facing the tee too which is often overlooked when baskets get installed.

3) Nice sized concrete teepads. This course could get away without concrete if it needed to because most of the holes are short and fairly level areas, but it is still nice to play on concrete in my opinion.

4) There is a shelter and a sign with a nice diagram of the course at the beginning of the course. There also is a practice basket right by the main sign. Plenty of parking available in the gravel lot across from Tee #1.

5) Tee signs are the same setup as Lovers Lane and what would appear to be the same as other courses in the Bowlng Green area. The signs have Hole #, par, and distance and a general layout. The diagram coul be better but it does give enough information for a first timer.

6) As I mentioned before the Creeping Euonymous is a cool feature of this course because it creates a nice effect and looks like a carpet. It also it beginning to creep up some of the trees in the woods. This is just a cool thing, it doesnt make the course better, but I can appreciate something like this as a horticulturist and this is my review so it gets entered here!!

7) Nice variety in shot shaping. There is generally only 1 line per hole (in the wooded areas) and these lines go both ways and sometimes allow for a straight line shot too. The more open holes allow for you to execute the shot however you want to because they are so open.

8) There is a real nice mix of foliage density here. The first two holes are wide open, then the third hole is open fairway all the way to the 30' circle. Then you enter the tight woods and you do not come out until hole #12. #13 is open but does have some trees in the fairway that you need to navigate. #14 shoots back through the open area with the basket tucked back into the woods again and is a tough little green area. Play #15, 16 and 17 in the woods again, and head back to the open for the closing hole! Very nice variety.

9) Elevation is gradual and rolling and is an asset to this course. There arent dramatic rises or falls but the rolling terrain is enough to make you think about the shot. It is simply the typical Kentucky landscape!

10) Somewhat beginner friendly because it is so short. This would be one of the better wooded courses to take a beginner to let them see just what wooded courses play like. A true beginner might not want to play here, but once they get the hang of their throwing technique, this course would be a good first step from a wide open course.

11) The river was dry when I played it in winter, but it would be nice to hear that water trickling down in summer. I do not know how often water is in this creek, but it is hardly in play unless you catch a really bad ricochet off a tree.
Cons: 1) Finding some of the baskets in summer might be tough and the tee sign diagram would not be enough to help you find them.

2) A little too much luck required to do well on this course because there are a couple holes with no defined fairway. Most of the wooded holes and clear and defined, but there are at least 2 or 3 holes that have no clear line.

3) Signs in the open are faded, if you look very closely you can still see where the distance stickers were, but they coul use some touchup work to make them more visible.

4) First two holes are very open and plain but at the same time this is a negative it does offer you the chance to get your arm lose before heading into the woods.

5) Grafitti on the new basket on #3. Number plate has been painted.

6) No benches on this course and the garbage is available with a 5 gallon pail, sure to lose som of the garbage that gets put into them because they are just hanging from the tee posts.

7) A little bit of a lack of variety of distance. SInce the course is so short already. The distance isnt a huge factor because many of the shots require midrange distance tee shots. Pick the most appropriate disc for the shot and worry about distance later.

8) Wooded holes have some area that have a little too much underbrush. There are also section of vines which can always be frustrating when thrown off the fairway. You are VERY likely to end up there from time to time because of how tight things are, so be prepared to throw around or over some underbrush.
Other Thoughts: I had a good time here and I am not so sure why it is rated as low as 2.5 discs. There is enough here to justify a 3 disc rating (and almost enough for a 3.5 (more like 3.25 IMO)at least. The only thing they could do to make this course better would be to expand some of the holes but the property would not allow for that. Regardless this is still a decent course and I would come here often if I lived in the area. For my Milwaukee Listeners this is a lot like a Valley View when you are used to playing Dretzka or Brown Deer. They both are fun but for different reasons. I like short courses as it gives you the chance to execute shots and make a lot of birdies if done correctly. I shot -8 on my first round ever. That isnt a real representation of this course however, because I think I really executed some great shots here to score that well. It wasn't luck I just really pulled off some great shots. I almost aced hole #15 which is one of the hardest holes on the course. It held an anny all the way to the basket and clinked off the front of the basket. I still made birdie but my score could have been 1 better if it was 6 inches higher.

12 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Preston Miller

2-4    6/27/2009   9/20/2009
Review By: craigd
Played: 92  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/13/2010
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a short although fun and challenging course in the Bowling Green area. Two open holes at the beginning lure you into the woods where you will find a generous helping of tightly wooded holes. Although not all of the wooded shots are overly tight the shule/underbrush are overgrown enough in the summer to make up for the lack of obstacles. Getting off the beaten path is something to avoid and adds to the challenge. It certainly punishes you if you make a bad shot. That is where the reward comes into play on this course. Make a good tee shot from the primarily short holes and you will be racking up twos. Hit a tree or your throw is off by a few degrees and it will cost you. Speaking of the short holes, you'll find them between 168' and 250' with just one stretching out at 370. The tight holes really do make up for themselves in spite of being too short. It also should be noted that there are a couple more fairly open holes sprinkled in towards the back as well,

The course does have some good amenities. Concrete tees, good signs, and decent baskets are all here. Ample parking and convenient bathrooms are here too.
Cons: Ls of folks will see the shortness as a con. The course, while offering a fair challenge is frustration at times. The main setback is the thick fairways that seem to eat your disc in a lot of cases. I can tolerate searching for a disc if I make a really bad shot. Here there are times where even a decent shot is punished by the thick weeds and thick undergrowth during the summer.



Other Thoughts: There is no reason why most people won't have a good time here. It really is a nice little eighteen hole course. It's different enough from the other Bowling Green courses to add to a nice variety of course types if you are coming to Bowling Green for a disc golf weekend. While I don't think it is worth a trip here just to play this course, try to fit it in when you are in town. Enjoy…

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.