Bowling Green, KY 
Preston Miller Park Share
Uploaded By: AdamE Hole #14 (Taken 11/2011)
3 / 230ft.   3 / 279ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Basket



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Short and Sweet

1    1/20/2014   1/20/2014
Review By: dad_of_dg_junkies
Played: 31  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 2.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. It was my first time to Preston Miller Park and the facility itself is VERY impressive. It also got quite a bit of use while we played, and it didn't effect the disc golf at all!

2. The tee pads and baskets were in excellent shape on this course. Really enjoyed the tee pads on this course.

3. There is a pretty decent mix of open and wooded holes. The wooded holes have some sweeping turns or fades while other wooded holes require precise lines to be hit.

4. I did like the change in elevation that was used throughout the course. There are some big downhill holes that are pretty short. I also recall Hole 13 played much longer at 248 ft than Hole 14 that is 279 ft.

5. I actually liked that fact that the course switched from open to wooded a couple of times during the round.

6. As a guy who likes to let it rip a least once, hole 12 covered this criteria for me. That 370 ft played a long way.

7. The layout does a good job of using the natural barriers to add trouble to the holes. The creek did come into play a few times during the round.

8. Signs were decent and gave a rough estimate of the hole.

9. This would be an excellent course for the novice or junior player to get their start.
Cons: 1. The only real problem I had with this course was navigation on a hole or two. I remember having trouble finding 18 tee and one other hole. As I admitted earlier though, it was my first time to the park.
Other Thoughts: I had seen what the course was rated, and was a little worried about what the course would be like. I was VERY pleasantly surprised at the quality of the course. Sure that are some holes that don't have a lot of drama, but I enjoyed the break from some of the tight lines on the other holes. My playing partner and I both remarked about just how much fun and enjoyment we had during our round. We will play here again!!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Night Frolf!!

1    10/14/2013   10/15/2013
Review By: gmoney1984
Played: 99  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 1.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1. Good mix of open and wooded holes, Wooded holes outweigh open ones

2. Short wooded holes

3. chances to air it out on 3 or 4 holes

4. A few downhill tee shots

5. Great park that stays open late with many people still in the park either walking/jogging or playing basketball. It was like we were playing during the daytime. This is the spot to be to play at nighttime if you don't mind the woods after dark. Use a flashlight and you will be fine. The park is so well lit you can actually see some of the baskets from pretty far away.



Cons: 1. Hard to tell in the dark but I think the lines in the woods were not all that great we must have just got lucky a lot because we were getting a lot of pars and a few birdies

Other Thoughts: I would have probably only rated it a 3.0 if we would have played during the day but It's really easy to find your LED taped discs In the woods at night and is really fun to walk down the fairway to the basket and place a light or blinking LED on the basket and then you see it when you tee off. We did not lose one single disc and played the entire 18 in the dark. Surprisingly it wasn't that hard to navigate although we did get messed up a couple of times. You wouldn't think it would be so much fun to play in the middle of the woods at night but it was a blast! This was our 6th and final stop on our 111 hole day. it took two people 2:32 to play but during day I'd say 2 hours tops.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fun little tight course

1    4/12/2013   4/12/2013
Review By: deadbody
Played: 104  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 10.7 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice signs and cement teepads. Good use of tight woods, elevation and water risk.
Cons: Short, only 1 hole over 300'. a few holes are very open with no real challenge to them other than wind.
Other Thoughts: Very enjoyable course. Tight lines and short holes means that you won't need more than a teebird and mids and putters, but was a very fun round.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Technical, short but sweet

2-4    3/9/2013   3/11/2013
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 176  Reviewed: 158  Exp: 3.2 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Preston Miller Park has a wonderful, short, fun, 18 hole disc golf course to go along with an amazing looking water park, soccer fields, jogging paths, sand volleyball, basketball, and shelters (with bathrooms), all in a nice looking neighborhood on the southwest side of Bowling Green, Kentucky. The city hosts one of (if not THE) biggest amateur disc golf tournaments every year, hosting 600-700 Am players, and Miller is one of the eight courses in town used for the tourney (out of about a dozen worthwhile courses within a half an hour's drive - making this one of the disc golf destination spots in the region).

All the courses in BG seem to have quality concrete tee pads appropriately sized for the holes they serve, and I can't recall ever having to worry about my footing here. Decent signs (see pictures) usually have trash buckets (though you'll notice that occasionally folk forget how to use them). Fairways, paths, and the rest of the infrastructure have always seemed to be decently maintained.

The course starts at the back shelter house by the gravel parking lot, and has two or three fairly open shots under 280' that are defined mostly by the OB walkway. Then you start into the woods with a teasingly short anny (rhbh) across the ravine and over a cute little bridge. The flow is fairly intuitive in most places, and the shots in the woods range from 168 to 267 feet, encompassing left turns, right turns, and some fair but tight lines. A couple have the potential to get kicked down to the stream below, but the rough is seldom so thick as to irretrievably swallow up many discs. The nice thing about using the woods the way the designer did is that no other park activities really interfere with the disc golf.

You emerge for three more 'open' shots (which could bring the notorious BG winds into play) on the 370' hole 12, play up in the open on 13, and back down to a tree guarded 14th basket. Then you face three really tight challenges before coming out again to an open #18 that takes you back to the start.

In all, Miller is one of the technical courses in town, and has to be considered 'short but sweet': an enjoyable round is to be had here for the recreational level (or in my case, the middle-aged) player who doesn't always want to pull out the big D. Skilled Open level players should routinely shoot in the mid 40's here, while Recs can accomplish a par 54 if they keep their focus and avoid making mistakes.
Cons: There are no benches on the course, but it's not an overly long walk. The tee signs are becoming a little dated, and hole lengths don't always correspond with the distances online. There are a couple of places where the path from one basket to the next tee is a little awkward (after holes 9, 11, 12, and 17), and could use 'next tee' signs.
Other Thoughts: Looking forward to making an annual trip here and lowering my score each time!

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Tight and technical

1    4/2/2011   4/4/2011
Review By: sdervan
Played: 41  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 5.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great course for putter/mid practice
Well worn in with beautiful wooded shots.
great course for birdie practice.
close to town
a few holes have the high risk/high reward feel
Cons: only about 2 holes that requires a driver.
really short
if the water is up in creek and your disc goes in, kiss it goodbye.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Short but dont be fooled

2-4    4/11/2010   4/13/2010
Review By: gkeberhart
Played: 36  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 6.2 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: very technical course. mostly placed in woods there are plenty of narrow shots that require a keen eye to see alternate routes. the tee pads are great and unlike most courses they actually point directly down the target line. there are a few open holes to help you get back on track if the woods are eating you up.
Cons: the underbrush is really thick, great for difficulty but horrible for trying to find a disc...even one that seems like it is in the fairway. the baskets are Mach 3s which I dont care for because I dont feel they catch very well and this is a must for this course because you will find yourself banging in some long putts to save a stroke or two.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun little course, which makes for a great time. I would strongly suggest making this one of your must play courses when you are in BG, especially if you are a fan of technical courses.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Unique Short Technical DGC

5+    1/23/2010   1/24/2010
Review By: Joey
Played: 113  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 15.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/31/2010
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fun & Unique Setting
Well Maintained Fairways
Nice Baskets & Concrete Tees
Great Variety of Challenges
Good Course Flow
Cons: Can Be Frustrating
Possibility of Lost Discs
Snakes (some may consider this a pro)
Walking Track Near Some Fairways

Other Thoughts: If you like short, tight, technical courses, Preston Miller DGC is the course for you. Twelve of the baskets are located in heavily wooded areas and six baskets are mostly open. The course allows the recreational player a chance for birdie on nearly all holes with the exception of #12. For the intermediate player, there are opportunities for aces. However, these birdies and aces are not easily rewarded. An errant shot will be punished and will likely end up in the creek or in thick rough. Watch out for snakes in the rough. I've seen one near fairway #9. It's also possible to lose discs on this course. I've lost 2 and found 5. The rough may be thick, but the fairways are well defined and well maintained even during the summer.

I like this course because there is so much variety. Some of the drives require mid-range discs while others may require a putter. A player could use a different disc on each drive due to the diversity in distances, obstacles, elevation changes, wind direction, and fairway geometries. Play this course on a regular basis and your technical game will improve.

The open holes provide a challenge on windy days. Open fairways are arranged opposite of each other providing both headwind and tailwind challenges. Preston Miller DGC is not the course for trying out your new fastest driver. Only #12 provides a chance to stretch your arm. A one mile walking track circles the park. Watch out for walkers on fairways 1, 2, 13, and 18. The track can also scuff discs. For a scenic diversion, there is a spring that feeds the creek to the left of the bridge on fairway #4. In summary, if you don't get frustrated by the trees, you will have a great round at this unique disc golf course.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Short and Sweet

1    2/4/2009   2/4/2009
Review By: bdamcat
Played: 24  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6.2 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I really like that this course is short and technical. If your forehand dominant like I am it forces you to use your backhand some. Really tight lines that you need to follow. The baskets were in excellent shape also.
Cons: None really. I see how you could really have a problem with losing disc in the creek that runs along the bottom of the course.
Other Thoughts: Unlike some I really liked this course because it's short and technical and you can really practice on your approach/putting game. And you can play this course as a "warm up" before hitting Lover's Lane.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

3/7/2008   3/7/2008
Review By: Russell Gore
Played: 61  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 21.5 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Neat course built on the side of a giant ravine. I played the day that the back 9 was being installed so I have yet to play the new 9 holes. Still one of the coolest 9 holes I have ever played.
Cons: I didnt get to play the new back 9

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.