Bowling Green, KY 
Preston Miller Park Share
Uploaded By: AdamE Hole #10 (Taken 11/2011)
3 / 194ft.   3 / 194ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Approach



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Fun Short Course

5+    7/14/2015   7/14/2015
Review By: Horsman
Played: 100  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 9.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Easy to get to
- Strating and ending holes will bring you right back to the parking lot.
- Full bathrooms for men and women that are very clean, and a nice large covered area make it a nice place to spend a few hours at and just enjoy the course.
- Close to multiple places for food, beverage and fuel.
- There is a giant field next to the course so if you are looking to get in some practice before or after your round, you are in the right place.
- For the course being one of the shortest courses in all of Bowling Green, it can still kick your butt. If you are not hitting your lines that day you can easily have a very bad round.
- The course has its fair share of elevation change and it is used perfectly. THe risk reward factor on a lot of the holes makes easy holes a fun challenge to play.
- Concrete Teepads
Cons: - No real distace shots out there, but you have the rest of Bowling Green for that.
- When you get out of the woods for a few shots it can be a bit difficult to find the next tee.
- Some of the holes have fairways, tees and baskets that are fairly close to each other. The risk of getting hit on an errant drive is present but its not the biggest issue.
- Teesigns are definitely outdated. An upgrade to them is 100% needed.
Other Thoughts: Fun challenging little course. On any given day you can shoot +10 or -10 and to me that makes it a lot of fun. You normally can just coast thru a short little course and not put much thought into it but here you need to still be on your game to shoot well.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Short and Sweet

1    1/20/2014   1/20/2014
Review By: dad_of_dg_junkies
Played: 40  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 3.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. It was my first time to Preston Miller Park and the facility itself is VERY impressive. It also got quite a bit of use while we played, and it didn't effect the disc golf at all!

2. The tee pads and baskets were in excellent shape on this course. Really enjoyed the tee pads on this course.

3. There is a pretty decent mix of open and wooded holes. The wooded holes have some sweeping turns or fades while other wooded holes require precise lines to be hit.

4. I did like the change in elevation that was used throughout the course. There are some big downhill holes that are pretty short. I also recall Hole 13 played much longer at 248 ft than Hole 14 that is 279 ft.

5. I actually liked that fact that the course switched from open to wooded a couple of times during the round.

6. As a guy who likes to let it rip a least once, hole 12 covered this criteria for me. That 370 ft played a long way.

7. The layout does a good job of using the natural barriers to add trouble to the holes. The creek did come into play a few times during the round.

8. Signs were decent and gave a rough estimate of the hole.

9. This would be an excellent course for the novice or junior player to get their start.
Cons: 1. The only real problem I had with this course was navigation on a hole or two. I remember having trouble finding 18 tee and one other hole. As I admitted earlier though, it was my first time to the park.
Other Thoughts: I had seen what the course was rated, and was a little worried about what the course would be like. I was VERY pleasantly surprised at the quality of the course. Sure that are some holes that don't have a lot of drama, but I enjoyed the break from some of the tight lines on the other holes. My playing partner and I both remarked about just how much fun and enjoyment we had during our round. We will play here again!!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Night Frolf!!

1    10/14/2013   10/15/2013
Review By: gmoney1984
Played: 123  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 2.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1. Good mix of open and wooded holes, Wooded holes outweigh open ones

2. Short wooded holes

3. chances to air it out on 3 or 4 holes

4. A few downhill tee shots

5. Great park that stays open late with many people still in the park either walking/jogging or playing basketball. It was like we were playing during the daytime. This is the spot to be to play at nighttime if you don't mind the woods after dark. Use a flashlight and you will be fine. The park is so well lit you can actually see some of the baskets from pretty far away.



Cons: 1. Hard to tell in the dark but I think the lines in the woods were not all that great we must have just got lucky a lot because we were getting a lot of pars and a few birdies

Other Thoughts: I would have probably only rated it a 3.0 if we would have played during the day but It's really easy to find your LED taped discs In the woods at night and is really fun to walk down the fairway to the basket and place a light or blinking LED on the basket and then you see it when you tee off. We did not lose one single disc and played the entire 18 in the dark. Surprisingly it wasn't that hard to navigate although we did get messed up a couple of times. You wouldn't think it would be so much fun to play in the middle of the woods at night but it was a blast! This was our 6th and final stop on our 111 hole day. it took two people 2:32 to play but during day I'd say 2 hours tops.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun little tight course

1    4/12/2013   4/12/2013
Review By: deadbody
Played: 115  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 11.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice signs and cement teepads. Good use of tight woods, elevation and water risk.
Cons: Short, only 1 hole over 300'. a few holes are very open with no real challenge to them other than wind.
Other Thoughts: Very enjoyable course. Tight lines and short holes means that you won't need more than a teebird and mids and putters, but was a very fun round.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Technical, short but sweet

2-4    3/9/2013   3/11/2013
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 225  Reviewed: 212  Exp: 4 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Preston Miller Park has a wonderful, short, fun, 18 hole disc golf course to go along with an amazing looking water park, soccer fields, jogging paths, sand volleyball, basketball, and shelters (with bathrooms), all in a nice looking neighborhood on the southwest side of Bowling Green, Kentucky. The city hosts one of (if not THE) biggest amateur disc golf tournaments every year, hosting 600-700 Am players, and Miller is one of the eight courses in town used for the tourney (out of about a dozen worthwhile courses within a half an hour's drive - making this one of the disc golf destination spots in the region).

All the courses in BG seem to have quality concrete tee pads appropriately sized for the holes they serve, and I can't recall ever having to worry about my footing here. Decent signs (see pictures) usually have trash buckets (though you'll notice that occasionally folk forget how to use them). Fairways, paths, and the rest of the infrastructure have always seemed to be decently maintained.

The course starts at the back shelter house by the gravel parking lot, and has two or three fairly open shots under 280' that are defined mostly by the OB walkway. Then you start into the woods with a teasingly short anny (rhbh) across the ravine and over a cute little bridge. The flow is fairly intuitive in most places, and the shots in the woods range from 168 to 267 feet, encompassing left turns, right turns, and some fair but tight lines. A couple have the potential to get kicked down to the stream below, but the rough is seldom so thick as to irretrievably swallow up many discs. The nice thing about using the woods the way the designer did is that no other park activities really interfere with the disc golf.

You emerge for three more 'open' shots (which could bring the notorious BG winds into play) on the 370' hole 12, play up in the open on 13, and back down to a tree guarded 14th basket. Then you face three really tight challenges before coming out again to an open #18 that takes you back to the start.

In all, Miller is one of the technical courses in town, and has to be considered 'short but sweet': an enjoyable round is to be had here for the recreational level (or in my case, the middle-aged) player who doesn't always want to pull out the big D. Skilled Open level players should routinely shoot in the mid 40's here, while Recs can accomplish a par 54 if they keep their focus and avoid making mistakes.
Cons: There are no benches on the course, but it's not an overly long walk. The tee signs are becoming a little dated, and hole lengths don't always correspond with the distances online. There are a couple of places where the path from one basket to the next tee is a little awkward (after holes 9, 11, 12, and 17), and could use 'next tee' signs.
Other Thoughts: Looking forward to making an annual trip here and lowering my score each time!

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Short and SWEET

1    3/31/2012   4/9/2012
Review By: asjzn6
Played: 118  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 10 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I thought this course had great amenities. Bridges, tee signs, nicely mowed park. Easy to get to.
Cons: Not too many cons on this course, it is short and does allow for good scoring so not too many GOLF shots here. Although in the woods you have to hit your lines and get on the green to keep up with the competition
Other Thoughts: This course was fun, great for scoring. Very scenic paths through the woods let you feel like a walk in the park

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Solid course

1    4/1/2012   4/4/2012
Review By: BraveThrower43
Played: 295  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 4.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course has a good mix of open and wooded holes and many of the open holes use OB or terrain to make them more difficult which I appreciate.

The wooded holes, for the most part, had clear fairways with attainable lines.

It is a shorter course that would be good for beginner players to learn how to play woods golf.

Nice tee-signs which goes for all the BG courses I played
Cons: No benches which seemed to be a Theme in BG

The rough was extremely rough to the point that the lost disc potential is very high.(maybe not as much in the winter)

Other Thoughts: This course really didn't stand out to me as having many flaws but it didn't really seem special either. It is a solid course with many ace runs and birdies to be had and would be good for a short or mid/putter round.

I would play it again if I was in the area but it is not a destination course that I would go out of my way to play.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good wooded course

5+    11/22/2011   1/6/2012
Review By: brettricewku
Played: 62  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good course and uses the space well. Many tight lines to hit in the woods as well as some open holes that you can put some ace runs on. Fairly short so beginner friendly. You get to work on your techincal shots.
Cons: Not long or too challenging. Most drives come from your mids and putters on this course. One hole is 400+ feet which does not flow well with the rest of the course.
Other Thoughts: A fun course to play and provides to a change of pace from the new bomber courses. A good course and if you live in BG one you need to check out. If you are coming from out of town and can only play a select few, I would leave this one out.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    11/13/2011   11/15/2011
Review By: AdamE
Played: 244  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 11.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Preston Miller is a short but fun little course that's about 2/3 wooded and 1/3 open. The course has concrete tees and tee signs. There's a practice basket and bulletin board with a course map by hole 1 and the parking lot. There are some nice elevation changes on some of the holes which add to the fun and challenge of the course. There's a great shot variety here and the course might favor LHBH players slightly over RHBH players which is great to see. The wooded holes are all pretty technical, hit your line and you should have a birdie putt, miss it and struggle for your three. The course starts and ends with open holes and has a few in the back nine also. The open holes provide a nice change of pace from the wooded holes.
Cons: The course has little variety when it comes to hole length. There's only one hole over 300 and the rest of the course is between 170ft and 260ft. This makes the wooded holes start to feel a bit repetitive but the shot variety mentioned above helps to combat this.

Navigation is an issue in a couple places, mostly when trying to find hole 13's tee which is hidden in the edge of the rough.

With the exception of hole 12, the open holes are basically wide open and bland.

The diagram on the tee signs isn't incredibly accurate or helpful on some of the holes.

A couple of the holes have too many trees in the fairway and thus rely too heavily on luck.
Other Thoughts: Overall this course isn't much of a challenge to more advanced players but that doesn't stop it from being a fun course. The abundance of short, technical shots will really help teach newer players to hit their lines and punish them until they do.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Tight and technical

1    4/2/2011   4/4/2011
Review By: sdervan
Played: 41  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 6.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great course for putter/mid practice
Well worn in with beautiful wooded shots.
great course for birdie practice.
close to town
a few holes have the high risk/high reward feel
Cons: only about 2 holes that requires a driver.
really short
if the water is up in creek and your disc goes in, kiss it goodbye.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.