Bowling Green, KY
Preston Miller Park Share
Uploaded By: AdamH Hole #9 (Taken 11/2011)
3 / 224ft.   3 / 224ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Fun pitch and putt course

5+    8/4/2010   8/9/2010
Review By: weeman
Played: 218  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 10.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course has high quality tee pads, good signs similar to others in the Bowling Green area, and a nice course map you can view before starting. Also there's a nice pavilion area where you can relax before or after a round with restrooms and a water fountain available. The course has good baskets in good condition and good walking paths from one basket to the next tee pad for the holes in the woods. The wooded holes require being very accurate with your drives or look at just laying up. None of the wooded holes are long enough that if you go off the fairway, you're going to be fighting for a three. That can also be a con, depending on your point of view. The open holes add a nice mix to the open holes and can allow for some different shots to reach the basket.
Cons: The wooded holes do not provide much of a fairway and will probably deter less skilled players from playing here. Errant shots will be punished though the rough isn't thick enough to leave you searching endlessly. Wooded fairways do not allow for multiple routes to the basket. Most of the wooded holes are approximately the same length. The creek along the course can add plenty of bugs so be prepared. Also, poison ivy can be an issue so be warned.
Other Thoughts: Not much to this course in my opinion. I use this course to practice my mid range shots and really focus on putting. During nice weather this course gets moderate use but not really with any big backups. Also other areas of the park get used quite regularly which may affect some holes.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun putter course

1    5/11/2009   7/27/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a heavily wooded park with some open field areas. Most of the course plays in the woods, with tight lines and heavy punishment if you miss the fairways. A few holes play into and out of the edge of the woods, and a few more are pretty open. Though short, the wooded holes challenge you to hit your line, and play pretty balanced for right or left handed players. The open holes are scattered throughout the course and are nice breaks to help keep the course from getting too repetitive.

There are nice concrete tees that are plenty large enough for the length of the holes. The signs are basic, but informative with distance and layout of the hole. There is the typical Bowling Green course map by the parking lot, which helps with a couple navigation issues on the course.
Cons: The wooded holes are all around the same length, and don't do a great job of taking advantage of the available elevation so they all end up feeling pretty similar. The first couple holes really just feel like filler, the rest of the open holes are pretty interesting but these two have no obstacles at all. There are a couple spots where navigation is a little rough if you didn't pay attention to the course map. The walking path comes into play on a couple holes, making for some potential safety issues and some waiting for a clear shot.
Other Thoughts: This is a course you can play with just a putter, and have a pretty good time doing it. There isn't enough variety or challenge to make it a must play course, but it's fun nonetheless. Beginners will find the length approachable, but the woods might be a little tight and punishing for newer players. More experienced players won't find the course all that challenging, and it can be a little repetitive, but it's a good course to work on your short game in the woods.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


2-4    5/22/2010   5/24/2010
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 228  Reviewed: 224  Exp: 17.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/10/2013
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Preston Miller has 18 holes, all with concrete tees, good baskets, and the very nice signs typical of all the Bowling Green courses. Along with providing the basics of signs, tees, and baskets are all the standard amenities that make a course complete: a large course map at kiosk, nice restrooms and a picnic pavilion that are close to hole 1/18, ample parking, and a practice basket.

The course design offers a good mix of 2/3 technical, wooded style and about 1/3 open field. I do appreciate how the open holes are mixed in with the wooded holes providing for some variety as you play the course. (Holes #1 and #2 are open, then into the woods for several, back out for a couple more open, back to woods again for several more, and then #18 is open.)

The woods holes are relatively short by today's standards (all around 200'), but they do present well-defined but narrow fairways with a mix of straight, left, and right with a little elevation and many blind tee shots thrown in. The narrow fairways are lined with moderately thick rough to add some challenge. (In the summer keep an eye on where your disc lands, and a couple of holes may require spotters.) The open holes provide a nice contrast to the wooded holes (though most of them have very little in the way of obstacles or major length.)
Cons: The course does begin to become monotonous- even though there are both wooded and open holes, all the wooded holes seem to be the same length and all the open holes are have no obstacles. Navigation is pretty simple, but there are 2 places that could use a sign pointing to the next tee as you move in and out of the woods because the first couple of obvious paths you see take you to other holes. (Tip- After hole #12, cross the little bridge and follow the path right to find tee #13 which is hidden. Do not cross the big bridge on the walking trail.) And speaking of the walking trail, be aware of walkers/runners as the trail does come close to a few of the holes, which seems to be the case for many of the BG courses.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the weaker of the all the Bowling Green 18 hole courses, but it still has relevance and is a fun play. I would rate the course about 2.75 if I could, but I feel it is not quite worthy of a 3.0.

Because most of the holes are pretty short and the open holes are not super long either and have few obstacles this course may appeal more to the beginner-intermediate level player, however, there are still some fun and challenging holes to be enjoyed by all.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Short but dont be fooled

2-4    4/11/2010   4/13/2010
Review By: gkeberhart
Played: 36  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 5.6 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: very technical course. mostly placed in woods there are plenty of narrow shots that require a keen eye to see alternate routes. the tee pads are great and unlike most courses they actually point directly down the target line. there are a few open holes to help you get back on track if the woods are eating you up.
Cons: the underbrush is really thick, great for difficulty but horrible for trying to find a disc...even one that seems like it is in the fairway. the baskets are Mach 3s which I dont care for because I dont feel they catch very well and this is a must for this course because you will find yourself banging in some long putts to save a stroke or two.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun little course, which makes for a great time. I would strongly suggest making this one of your must play courses when you are in BG, especially if you are a fan of technical courses.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 It Was Ok

1    3/6/2010   3/7/2010
Review By: SharpshootersDiscGol
Played: 18  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.8 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A good mix of open and tight holes with accurate shots need to get through the tough dense woods. Tee pads at all holes and buckets to put trash in at most of the tee's.
If you have kids there is a huge park right across the walking path.
Cons: I guess a few of the local players or non players really like to beat this course up...tee signs were missing all over the place (was told they were stolen) and there is graffiti on almost all of the tee signs and on the posts...the trash bins on the course were five gallon buckets hanging from the tee sign posts and most were filled to the top and overflowing. It just dosen't seem to me that the local players really care to much about the upkeep of the course..
Other Thoughts: I wasn't really impressed with this course compared to the others in the area...it's a nice course to hit and get in but if not for the AM's coming up I would probally avoid this course...

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 I don't know Preston, but I like him!

1    2/4/2010   2/6/2010
Review By: harr0140
Played: 682  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.3 Years
12 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 1) Nice turf in the open holes and the wooded holes have a fair amount of leaves to cover the bare soil. Also there are areas that are covered in a creeping euonymous which is an evergreen. It actually makes the course look better because in the winter it gets a nice dark purple color to it. It wont stand up to too much traffic, but all in all the ground on this course is in pretty good shape, both in wooded areas and in the open turfed areas.

2) Brand New DGA baskets with the # plates. The plates are always facing the tee too which is often overlooked when baskets get installed.

3) Nice sized concrete teepads. This course could get away without concrete if it needed to because most of the holes are short and fairly level areas, but it is still nice to play on concrete in my opinion.

4) There is a shelter and a sign with a nice diagram of the course at the beginning of the course. There also is a practice basket right by the main sign. Plenty of parking available in the gravel lot across from Tee #1.

5) Tee signs are the same setup as Lovers Lane and what would appear to be the same as other courses in the Bowlng Green area. The signs have Hole #, par, and distance and a general layout. The diagram coul be better but it does give enough information for a first timer.

6) As I mentioned before the Creeping Euonymous is a cool feature of this course because it creates a nice effect and looks like a carpet. It also it beginning to creep up some of the trees in the woods. This is just a cool thing, it doesnt make the course better, but I can appreciate something like this as a horticulturist and this is my review so it gets entered here!!

7) Nice variety in shot shaping. There is generally only 1 line per hole (in the wooded areas) and these lines go both ways and sometimes allow for a straight line shot too. The more open holes allow for you to execute the shot however you want to because they are so open.

8) There is a real nice mix of foliage density here. The first two holes are wide open, then the third hole is open fairway all the way to the 30' circle. Then you enter the tight woods and you do not come out until hole #12. #13 is open but does have some trees in the fairway that you need to navigate. #14 shoots back through the open area with the basket tucked back into the woods again and is a tough little green area. Play #15, 16 and 17 in the woods again, and head back to the open for the closing hole! Very nice variety.

9) Elevation is gradual and rolling and is an asset to this course. There arent dramatic rises or falls but the rolling terrain is enough to make you think about the shot. It is simply the typical Kentucky landscape!

10) Somewhat beginner friendly because it is so short. This would be one of the better wooded courses to take a beginner to let them see just what wooded courses play like. A true beginner might not want to play here, but once they get the hang of their throwing technique, this course would be a good first step from a wide open course.

11) The river was dry when I played it in winter, but it would be nice to hear that water trickling down in summer. I do not know how often water is in this creek, but it is hardly in play unless you catch a really bad ricochet off a tree.
Cons: 1) Finding some of the baskets in summer might be tough and the tee sign diagram would not be enough to help you find them.

2) A little too much luck required to do well on this course because there are a couple holes with no defined fairway. Most of the wooded holes and clear and defined, but there are at least 2 or 3 holes that have no clear line.

3) Signs in the open are faded, if you look very closely you can still see where the distance stickers were, but they coul use some touchup work to make them more visible.

4) First two holes are very open and plain but at the same time this is a negative it does offer you the chance to get your arm lose before heading into the woods.

5) Grafitti on the new basket on #3. Number plate has been painted.

6) No benches on this course and the garbage is available with a 5 gallon pail, sure to lose som of the garbage that gets put into them because they are just hanging from the tee posts.

7) A little bit of a lack of variety of distance. SInce the course is so short already. The distance isnt a huge factor because many of the shots require midrange distance tee shots. Pick the most appropriate disc for the shot and worry about distance later.

8) Wooded holes have some area that have a little too much underbrush. There are also section of vines which can always be frustrating when thrown off the fairway. You are VERY likely to end up there from time to time because of how tight things are, so be prepared to throw around or over some underbrush.
Other Thoughts: I had a good time here and I am not so sure why it is rated as low as 2.5 discs. There is enough here to justify a 3 disc rating (and almost enough for a 3.5 (more like 3.25 IMO)at least. The only thing they could do to make this course better would be to expand some of the holes but the property would not allow for that. Regardless this is still a decent course and I would come here often if I lived in the area. For my Milwaukee Listeners this is a lot like a Valley View when you are used to playing Dretzka or Brown Deer. They both are fun but for different reasons. I like short courses as it gives you the chance to execute shots and make a lot of birdies if done correctly. I shot -8 on my first round ever. That isnt a real representation of this course however, because I think I really executed some great shots here to score that well. It wasn't luck I just really pulled off some great shots. I almost aced hole #15 which is one of the hardest holes on the course. It held an anny all the way to the basket and clinked off the front of the basket. I still made birdie but my score could have been 1 better if it was 6 inches higher.

12 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Unique Short Technical DGC

5+    1/23/2010   1/24/2010
Review By: Joey
Played: 111  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 14.7 Years
This review was updated on 1/31/2010
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fun & Unique Setting
Well Maintained Fairways
Nice Baskets & Concrete Tees
Great Variety of Challenges
Good Course Flow
Cons: Can Be Frustrating
Possibility of Lost Discs
Snakes (some may consider this a pro)
Walking Track Near Some Fairways

Other Thoughts: If you like short, tight, technical courses, Preston Miller DGC is the course for you. Twelve of the baskets are located in heavily wooded areas and six baskets are mostly open. The course allows the recreational player a chance for birdie on nearly all holes with the exception of #12. For the intermediate player, there are opportunities for aces. However, these birdies and aces are not easily rewarded. An errant shot will be punished and will likely end up in the creek or in thick rough. Watch out for snakes in the rough. I've seen one near fairway #9. It's also possible to lose discs on this course. I've lost 2 and found 5. The rough may be thick, but the fairways are well defined and well maintained even during the summer.

I like this course because there is so much variety. Some of the drives require mid-range discs while others may require a putter. A player could use a different disc on each drive due to the diversity in distances, obstacles, elevation changes, wind direction, and fairway geometries. Play this course on a regular basis and your technical game will improve.

The open holes provide a challenge on windy days. Open fairways are arranged opposite of each other providing both headwind and tailwind challenges. Preston Miller DGC is not the course for trying out your new fastest driver. Only #12 provides a chance to stretch your arm. A one mile walking track circles the park. Watch out for walkers on fairways 1, 2, 13, and 18. The track can also scuff discs. For a scenic diversion, there is a spring that feeds the creek to the left of the bridge on fairway #4. In summary, if you don't get frustrated by the trees, you will have a great round at this unique disc golf course.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Rhymes & Slant Rhymes

2-4    4/7/2006   1/16/2010
Review By: ChrisWoj
Played: 107  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 9.1 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a good practice course. Everything is short and manageable distance wise for almost any player. You're going to get a lot of good work scrambling - and if you go there intending to get in a round of practice, using the tee shots to work on your short game you're going to get a lot of useful golf out of the experience. Additionally - they have added new teepads and baskets which brings the course from the 0.5 that it was to the 2.0 I'm giving it.
Cons: Rhymes & Slant Rhymes, the title of the review, refers to the fact that this course has some holes that are definitely spray and pray. Poke and hope. I hope you get what I mean. One reason I call it a good practice course is because precise shots like the ones required on this tiny course are what you'll see out of the schule on many longer courses. Additionally - the open holes on the course just don't provide any real challenge, distance-wise. They're short and open with minimal real purpose other than to fill out the course (I'm looking at you, hole 14).
Other Thoughts: This could have been a fantastically done 9 basket course, with 18 teepads playing through and around the woods. There's not a lot of variety in terms of distance, the open holes don't provide variety as much as they do filler - overall I didn't enjoy playing this course very much. On every other BG course I can remember some great or terrible shots, some cool holes that I enjoyed playing.

On this course I don't remember any holes as standing out above the rest, any cool shots. My only real memorable moment was missing a putt from about a foot and a half. That's unfortunate - the land has some potential. This is, sadly, the worst of the nine Bowling Green area courses I played.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Preston Miller

2-4    6/27/2009   9/20/2009
Review By: craigd
Played: 90  Reviewed: 87  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 4/13/2010
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a short although fun and challenging course in the Bowling Green area. Two open holes at the beginning lure you into the woods where you will find a generous helping of tightly wooded holes. Although not all of the wooded shots are overly tight the shule/underbrush are overgrown enough in the summer to make up for the lack of obstacles. Getting off the beaten path is something to avoid and adds to the challenge. It certainly punishes you if you make a bad shot. That is where the reward comes into play on this course. Make a good tee shot from the primarily short holes and you will be racking up twos. Hit a tree or your throw is off by a few degrees and it will cost you. Speaking of the short holes, you'll find them between 168' and 250' with just one stretching out at 370. The tight holes really do make up for themselves in spite of being too short. It also should be noted that there are a couple more fairly open holes sprinkled in towards the back as well,

The course does have some good amenities. Concrete tees, good signs, and decent baskets are all here. Ample parking and convenient bathrooms are here too.
Cons: Ls of folks will see the shortness as a con. The course, while offering a fair challenge is frustration at times. The main setback is the thick fairways that seem to eat your disc in a lot of cases. I can tolerate searching for a disc if I make a really bad shot. Here there are times where even a decent shot is punished by the thick weeds and thick undergrowth during the summer.



Other Thoughts: There is no reason why most people won't have a good time here. It really is a nice little eighteen hole course. It's different enough from the other Bowling Green courses to add to a nice variety of course types if you are coming to Bowling Green for a disc golf weekend. While I don't think it is worth a trip here just to play this course, try to fit it in when you are in town. Enjoy…

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    5/20/2008   5/20/2009
Review By: tamahawk
Played: 50  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/2/2010
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
ESSENTIALS:
-Baskets: Mach3 (single placement/hole), baskets in good shape.
-Tee Pads: Level concrete tees of adequate length (single tee/hole)
-Tee Signs: Basic signs on all 18 holes which show general layout and distance.

GENERAL COURSE DESIGN/LAYOUT:
-4083ft/226avg per hole.
-5 >199ft, 10: 200-250ft, 2: 250-300ft, 1: 300+ft
-12 technical holes/6 open holes, good mix throughout the course.
-Fairway Variety: Good mix of straight, right and left fairways.
-Elevation: Minimal throughout the course, but used effectively in course design.

Preston Miller Park is a short layout that provides a single 18-hole loop from start to finish and varies between wide open and technical style holes as progress through the course. The course flows reasonably well with no crossing fairways, but there are a couple of potential danger points on the course that will be discussed in the cons section. Course navigation is relatively simple, but could use markers in a few areas to help locate the next hole/tee. Fairways are clean and well-defined, but miss the fairways, and there is plenty of brush to deal with. The course gives away a lot of birdies when you can hit the narrow lines, but the technical holes are short enough that missing the lines still leaves a relatively simple up and down for par. There is a creek that runs through the lower section of the course which can come into play on a few holes.

COURSE MAINTENANCE & AMMENITIES:
The course seems to be well-maintained. There is some thick brush outside of the fairways, but not really a maintenance issue, more of a consequence for an errant drive. The trash receptacles were all pretty much over-flowing, and could stand to be checked/emptied more often, but otherwise the course was in good shape.

-Trash receptacles throughout the course (5Gal buckets)
-Restrooms/Pavilion
-Large course map near first tee
-Plenty of parking
Cons:
-Tee Markers: several areas on the course could use some additional markers to help guide you to the next tee/hole. A first timer at this course will most likely have difficulty finding a few of the tees.
-Danger area: The path from 9s basket to 10s tee requires you to enter 10s fairway and walk down to the tee. Use caution in this area to make sure no one is teeing off before approaching the tee.
-Pedestrian Traffic: There is a walking trail near a couple of the holes, no real danger here but always good to be aware of others who may be in the general area.
-Fairway Definition: Good on most all holes, but there are a couple of fairways that are super tight and seem to require a bit of luck to get the disc through the trees and to the basket.
-Similar holes: Although there is a good mix of open/technical holes, there is a run of 8 straight technical style holes (4-11) that are somewhat similar in style and can become somewhat monotonous.
-Open Holes: The open holes are truly open with basically no obstacles and they are all relatively short, not much challenge through these areas.
-Tee Sign: Hole 12 has 200ft marked on the sign, but the hole is actually around 375ft.
Other Thoughts: All in all, Preston Miller is a decent course that will provide ample challenge to the rec/intermediate players. More advanced players with good control will shoot some pretty low scores here. If you live in/near the area, this course provides a different type of challenge as compared to the other Bowling Green courses and is reasonably fun to play, but if you are traveling to Bowling Green to play DG, this one would not make the top of the list.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.