Arvada, CO 
Red Rocks Campus Share
Uploaded By: disc dunker Hole #7 (Taken 8/2012)
3 / 357ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
ok to play once

1    9/6/2014   9/10/2014
Review By: ihdisc
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 19.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Short easy course, can quickly play 9 or 18. Interesting views of the Arvada/Golden area. OBs make it more than a wide open course. Acceptable signage for holes. Two pin positions for most holes although I don't know how often they are moved.
Cons: Not very challenging, most holes are short, dirt teepads can be slippery. 1 building comes into play (on 8) for players who tend to shank it to the right (Although playing the parking lot/road on 8 as OB makes it one of the more fun holes)
Other Thoughts: I had heard about this course and finally played it. It is a good course for beginners but more experienced players may not enjoy it that much. Glad I ticked it off as I like to know what the local courses are like but probably won't make it back for quite a while.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good for a quickie

2-4    6/16/2013   6/17/2013
Review By: JoetoriousDGP
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
Pros: It's easily accessible and a quick course for after work. Not too challenging so a great course for beginners. Also very easy to find your way around with great signage. Play it twice or three times to make it worth your trip.
Cons: Most holes are short and there's only a couple trees for challenges.

Over the Hills...

2-4    5/27/2013   5/27/2013
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 122  Reviewed: 114  Exp: 5.6 Years
Pros: -Baskets are in good shape and each basket is numbered.
-Lots of elevation change. The course plays up and down a hillside, which means most of the holes either involve playing downhill or uphill. The elevation is one of this course few upsides.
-Couple of holes that are 330 ft plus but play longer because they are straight uphill..
-The tee-signs are in great shape and tell you pretty much everything you need to know about the hole.
-On windy days the wind will come into play and definitely makes the course slightly more challenging.
-Out of bounds concrete on a couple of the holes, makes them a little more challenging than they would be without it.
Cons: -This course is very wide open. Only hole 6 (which has a green electric box in the fairway) and hole 9 (which has a nicely placed tree) feature any obstacles at all. All of the other holes are pretty much either wide open downhill or wide open up hill shots.
-Since, the course is wide open, it offers very little challenge and starts to feel repetitive after a while.
-The course doesn't force you to do any line shaping really or force you to use any of special shots or anything.
-The tee-pads are not very good. Most of them are spray painted on the sidewalks, but the spray paint has faded badly, so it is hard to tell where the tee-box begins and ends. The ones that aren't on the sidewalk are just rutted out dirt patches.
-This course has a really weird flow, and the first time you play at times it will be hard to know which basket you are throwing at. One several tee-pads, most notably 3, 7, 8, 9, and it can be confusing as to which basket you are throwing at because the are all in the same area and you can't see the number on the basket from the tee-pad.
-Lots of the holes cross over and play over each other. Hole 9 throws almost straight over the basket for 8. So if the course is crowded you will want to watch for incoming discs.
-The area the course plays through does get a little overgrown, so you might spend some time looking for a disc or two.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a pretty boring course with no really memorable holes and very little challenge. If you like playing wide-open holes then this is the course for you. The only thing that makes this course slightly worth playing is the nice amount of elevation changes that it has. If you are in the area and want a round give it a try, but definitely don't go out of your way to play this course.

Creativity On Campus

2-4    8/25/2012   11/19/2012
Review By: markjfun
Played: 70  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 8.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Red Rocks Campus DGC in Arvada (not to be confused with the 12-hole Red Rocks Community College course in Lakewood) is a very creative and enjoyable 9-pin layout. The course designer really did their homework when choosing the placement of tee pads (utilizing the sidewalks and driveways where possible) and baskets (tucking them behind the corners of buildings and just below hill tops). What elevation exists across the small hills is used well here. Although the hole distances are pretty short, the great layout keeps you thinking about which type of throw to use each time. There are plenty of chances to throw that forehand, backhand, tomahawk or roller you've been practicing. If you're pretty new to the game, which is the case for many community college students who play the course for fun, the strategic pin placements will encourage you to learn new shots and control your power.

The tee signs serve as helpful guides for "freshmen" players and will give you a good indication of where the basket is sitting on a couple of the blind shots. The baskets are in good condition, and the grounds crew does a nice job of keeping the 3 dirt tee boxes level. The lawn is usually mowed and there is hardly any litter.
Cons: This is actually a pretty popular course due to its convenience, so you can potentially get stuck behind a foursome of oblivious students or even have to wait a few minutes to start your round during peak times (afternoons and evenings during the week). However, it's usually pretty empty on weekends. If you get aggressive with some of your shots in an effort to nail a birdie, some of the nearby buildings and general campus traffic can be intimidating. You'd hate to slam your disc into a window or hit a passing car or pedestrian just for a chance to lower your score.
Other Thoughts: Clever, fun courses like these are generating more and more interest in disc golf, and community colleges understand the value of having a recreational activity for their paying students right in their own backyard.

If your score is not up to snuff after your first 9 holes, then retake the quiz! It's perfectly feasible to squeeze in two rounds in under an hour and still make it to your next class on time!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 morning off work

1    8/14/2012   8/15/2012
Review By: disc dunker
Played: 52  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: no crowds, easy to navigate, nice baskets, nice signs. I think for the limited space they had to work with they did a nice job.They incorporated the elevation changes and the few trees on the course into the design.
Cons: Throwing over a busy parking lot and school was not even in session. Yet another course full of stickers, dry dusty dirt and no shade. Bring lots of water even for a nine hole.
Other Thoughts: I like how close this course is to my house. I would not want to travel far to play here. I am curious to try this course at night. It looked like there were several of the baskets with street lights near them.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Saweeeet!

5+    7/5/2012   7/6/2012
Review By: wader
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Awesome mountain view's, good up and down hill shot's, signs at every hole, Couple of hidden shots, I also posted a map I made for the course.
Cons: Field grass, holes are a little bit confusing #7 #8 and #9, Short course,
Other Thoughts: This is a great Course, would great for a warm up before going to Birds Nest or Johnny Roberts, Sweet mountain views, mostly used a mid range for the course, heavy disc's for windy days. All in all this is a great course, but not good enough course for a longer drive.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun & Fast

5+    5/5/2012   5/9/2012
Review By: Streaker52
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Elevation changes make the course fun.
- Compact layout makes the course very easy to navigate.
- Great for beginners, working on your short game, and for quick games.
Cons: - Cannot see some baskets from the tee.
- Building (roof) on hole #6 is a disc magnet.
- Getting to the course is a little like traversing a maze.
Other Thoughts: I was not expecting much when I first played this course, but after I played it the first time I had to play it again! It's addictive and under populated. So, when other courses have lines at every tee, this course is just begging for someone to come and play. It's simple enough that new players won't be intimidated but intricate enough that veterans won't be disinterested. I highly recommend this course as an appetizer to either Johnny Roberts or Bird's Nest for those traveling from afar, but I wouldn't make the trip just to play this course. As for local players, get out and play this course! You won't regret it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 not bad

5+    6/16/2011   7/16/2011
Review By: inuse23
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Elevation changes
Great view of the mountains
Good variety of obstacles
Cons: It gets boring after awhile. I've played it dozens of times but I dont play it much anymore. It doesn't take long to play the whole thing because there's only 9 holes. I prefer 18 hole courses which is why I tend to avoid this one now. It's not a bad course at all though.
Other Thoughts: If you live in the area its great for some quick discing but I prefer to drive up to arvada's birds nest or johnny roberts course

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 pitch and putt

1    4/24/2011   4/24/2011
Review By: clipnfly
Played: 60  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 5.2 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great elevation course. Very nice baskets. excellent upshot and putt course. Hole #1 and hole #4 are nice downhill shots to work on placement for birdies. 5 is blind over the ridge which is GREAT the 2nd time you play it...'cuz you know where the basket is :) Entire course can be played with a single disc... bring a stable midrange and you are good to go... Discraft Buzz...Lat 64 Core are good choices...
Cons: No tee pads. No tee signs... I should have printed the course map... since I did not I just played to a basket that looked like a good challenge from the last basket I played... electrical box on 5 I think it is is a real pain...
Other Thoughts: ...with some signage and some simple tee markers this could be much better... as such it is still a nice round. the elevation is great for someone (like me) who typicaly plays in the land of the flat... putting up and down is great putting practce ad it is much different than level basket areas.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Elevation Campus course

2-4    2/28/2011   3/1/2011
Review By: Leroy
Played: 130  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 4.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/23/2011
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice baskets. Lots of elevation changes. Decent length on lots of holes. Holes #1 and #4 drop down. Holes #3, #7, and #9 go up the hill. Baskets #5 and #8 are hidden behind a ridge. Tee areas are somewhat provided for each hole, some are spray painted and some are pieces of wood buried in the dirt to mark a stopping point on the tee off. Tee signs at each hole with a nice map.
Cons: Wide open straight shooting disc golf. Cars might be in the way when playing hole #2.
Other Thoughts: This would be a good warm up course. Pretty basic but it has a reasonable flow to it. Play the pavement as if it was water and the challenge goes really far up. Baskets 2,6, and 8 hug the asphalt Download the course map to aid your journey. If you see what looks like a SWAT team it's just students at the college pointing fake guns for training purposes. Throwing really bad shots in front of the tinted windows of the community college makes you wonder how entertaining you are to the mysterious eyes behind the reflection.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.