Bowling Green, KY
SKYCTC DGC Share
Uploaded By: weeman Hole #9 (Taken 1/2011)
4 / 450ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Basket to Fairway



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Rough

1    4/23/2011   11/23/2013
Review By: Horsman
Played: 66  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 7.9 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Wow, this coarse is hard (yes thats a good thing)

- This coarse has a great mix of long bomber holes, long tunnel shots, long placement shots, pretty much every shot you can think of except for a short easy par 3.

- A little bit more OB than the normal coarse and it makes you play asafer shot a lot of the times so that you stay inbounds, it allows you to play really agressive and either have some amazing shots or get screwed

- The rough shouldnt even be called rough. It should be called fort knox because once you get in it you are not getting out easy if at all.

- This coarse will definately test all of your skills and if you are not on your A game you will struggle

- Par 62, I usually have a hard time agreeing with anything above a par 54 but this coarse is one of the ones that is right on with par being set at 62.
Cons: - The walk through campus is kinda annoying but its really not too bad because you get to see some of the college.
Other Thoughts: - A lot of my pros for this coarse can be looked at as cons but I enjoy a really tough that tests you physicially and mentally and this course easily does that

- The Bowling Green area has so many great courses and this is definitely one of them. If you are spending a day in Bowling Green I would definitely stop and play this one.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Challenging Course

1    4/13/2013   4/17/2013
Review By: wake911
Played: 44  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 12.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Difficult course
-variety of hyzer/anhyzer holes
-clear lines on every hole, while still quite tight
-"local" paths (huge anny or huge hyzer) on some holes
Cons: -thorns
-thorns
-thorns
-some holes were boring short drive, short upshot, putt, too much of a designated landing area
-seems like 4,5,6 were added to make it 18, pretty boring and a long way from the rest of the course.
Other Thoughts: I found this course to be fun. I did get some thorn damage from some errant throws, but really the fairways are big enough to not deal with the thorns. In practice, i did fine, but during tourney, made many bad shots into the rough.
i felt it was a fair course, if you try to do too much, on the holes you'll pay for it in extra shots, and scrapes. Playing smart (mids and putters), will lead to much better scoring.
I want to make a trip to BG again, and this course will definitely be on my play list. Just wear long pants!!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

poor design

5+    1/27/2013   1/28/2013
Review By: go18under
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 19 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: New Baskets/Teepads/Signage are nice.Very cool wooded area with elevation. Very challenging.....a 52-53 score is 1000 rated. It's different than all other BG courses.....long, wooded tunnel shots, and multiple 1st shot placement holes. Hole 16 is my favorite...a 340' straight tunnel shot.You must play conservative to score well.....which leads to the big cons.
Cons: From the scores I've seen, this course is not designed well enough to separate good and bad play. Lots of "tweener" holes....you make a great drive, and still have a 50ft putt. A player with an average drive is a 100ft away....we both get 3's. Too many holes like that.....scores end up being 52-53 for pros with ratings 100 pts higher than average ams that shoot 58-59. Not enough reward for good play....trees in the middle fairways....thorn bushes everywhere at eye level...WATCH OUT! Stumps in the middle of the fairway. Really muddy....bad flow...hole 4 tee pad is way too short, and you almost hit the tee sign with your hand when you drive. Watch out for snakes, ticks, and footing. Trees and branches just piled up on each side of fairways....Soooo disappointing....Bad design that was half ass done.
Other Thoughts: If an experienced designer like David Greenwell or Dr Voakes could properly adjust the course, this could be gold level with some work.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Hope you have good eyes

1    12/30/2012   12/31/2012
Review By: DG addict24
Played: 22  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 2.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/26/2013
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Some of the holes were cool and the course was very difficult. Good mix of open and wooded holes. Requires all the shots, s curves, hyzers, annys/forehands, and even overheads could come into use. Some cool pin placements. Good tee pads and signs, and good baskets as this course is pretty new.
Cons: The flow is terrible. Now I see the tips on how to get to hole 7 from reading other reviews, but it shouldn't have to be like that. We never found it. We walked all the way around the college and never found it. I would say you need a next tee sign, but looking at the map it seems like it would need multiple next tee signs to guide you all the way over to hole 7. The woods are very dense and there are still a lot of "extras" laying in the woods. We played crazy safe in fear of losing a disc. With all the blind shots there were if we had a disc go in the woods where we couldn't see it, we wouldn't have ever found it. We were lucky to find the ones we did see go in the woods. I understand the course is new but it doesn't seem like it's improved at all. And if it has I'd hate to see what it looked like before. It was also very muddy but I'll give it a break on this one because it's new.
Other Thoughts: I''m not sure how long I'll wait before coming back but it's gonna be a long time. Hopefully I'll find hole 7 then and the woods will be slightly cleared out. If that is the case I will change my review. But for now it just seems like a bad course to play at for all the reasons in the cons.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 The name of the course says it all

5+    4/1/2012   7/15/2012
Review By: discgolfer72
Played: 45  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 21.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/18/2012
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great technical course that requires you to hit your lines. Almost every hole demands accuracy off the tee pad although there are 4-6 mainly wide open holes. If you do have an errant shot (and you will), it will be a great benefit to have a variety of shots to help get you out of trouble. (Rollers, flicks, toma's, thumbers.) Most of the shule is thick if you get off the fairway, so it's pretty easy to turn a 3 into a 5 if you're not careful.
Cons: It's still a little rough, but is getting much better as it sees more play and more maintenance. If it's the first time you're playing it, after hole six, take a left hand turn, walk through the campus and parking lot and hole 7's tee pad is next to the chain link fence on the far side of the campus.
Other Thoughts: One of my favorite courses out there. It's not easy, but it's a great course for sure. If you're an amateur player & can get to course par or under, I think you can play most the courses out there....i.e. play it and it will improve your game.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Bowling Green Technical College DGC

1    4/1/2012   5/30/2012
Review By: craigd
Played: 90  Reviewed: 87  Exp: 5.7 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Bowling Green Technical College features a tough par 62 course that'll surely satisfy the appetites of those who enjoy a challenge. It winds its way through a fairly thick wooded area with tight lines and plenty of places to get into trouble. The course puts a premium on placement shots and careful approaches to score well. A few relatively open holes offer relief from the woods while attempting to give some variety to the course. A couple of these allow you to air out your drives too. Overall, given the amount of time you'll spend in the woods, a surprising array of shot types will be used. You'll notice a good amount of hole types/shapes. Doglegs, sweeping shots, punch out's, punch in's, they're all here. Oh, and bring your utility discs too. Chances are you'll find yourself in some predicaments where you'll have to improvise when you get off the fairways.

The course is fairly easy to navigate with only a couple of trouble spots and a long walk between two of the holes. The "two loops of nine" design is nice and brings you right back to the parking lot on 9 and 18. An informational kiosk and map welcomes you to the course. Tee signs, concrete tees, and DisCatcher baskets compliment the course and are all in great shape.
Cons: The course is still being broken-in and has some cleaning up to do, especially outside the fairways. Add to that the long walk in the sun between 6 and 7 and that's the only big issues as far as I'm concerned. With that said, I'm sure there are those personal qualms people are likely to find on a course like this.
Other Thoughts: I thought this was a very fun and challenging course. I think it adds to a great disc golf city's variety of courses. It's an original for sure. If you are having an off day, be ready for the course to draw the back of its hand and slap you around a bit. If you're playing well you'll feel like you've accomplished something at the end of the round. This makes a great course for tournaments or casual competition with friends. On the other hand, this is not a course that would be ideal to introduce new players.

Even with all the classic courses in Bowling Green, this is definitely a course worth playing while you're in the area. Enjoy!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Tough technical course

1    3/23/2012   4/24/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course provides a different feel to the other courses in the area, with long technical holes that aren't really found on the surrounding courses. All but a handful of holes play through dense woods with very thick underbrush. You definitely pay for missing your line here, many spots will require pitching back out to the fairway if you get very far off. There are a few ace runs mixed in, with a few longer holes as well. There are a couple nice multi-shot holes where you have to hit a landing zone to set up a second shot.

I liked the variety of lines here, you will use just about all the shots and discs in your bag. A few holes offered overhands or rollers as the best chance for getting to the hole without forcing those shots exclusively. The course felt pretty balanced between right and left turning shots, with early and late turning fairways to mix things up. There are nice concrete tees throughout, and the signage has hole distance and layout. The course returns to the parking lot after 9, always a nice bonus.
Cons: The hole maps on the signs were inaccurate in many cases, showing a completely different fairway shape than what is actually there. That can get a little frustrating with lots of longer blind holes that you end up having to scout despite having seemingly high quality signs. There is a very long unmarked walk all the way across campus in the middle of the course, a small sign by basket 6 telling you where to go would make it a little easier on first time players. The parking lots come into play a few times, and I felt that mandos were a little over used throughout the course.

The biggest thing keeping me from bumping this course up a half disc is just the newness of the course. There is still a lot of cut down brush on the edges of the fairway, and the rough is quite gnarly even just off the fairway. With a little more traffic, recovery shots will be possible on narrowly missed drives, and the deeper rough will still provide harsh punishment for worse shots. I look forward to playing it after it breaks in and updating my review.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed the tests this course provides, especially in contrast to the other courses around. Advanced players will need to bring a solid set of shots, and accurate drives and upshots to score well here. Beginners will likely be frustrated by the tightness and length of the holes combined with the harsh punishment off the fairways.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 All shots required

2-4    3/31/2012   4/4/2012
Review By: asjzn6
Played: 105  Reviewed: 52  Exp: 8.6 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a pro course
Tee signs-excellent
tee pads-excellent
Course flow-average
Baskets-innova discatcher
Difficulty-Whoa
Definitely a pro level course do not bring your buddy here for the first round of golf
Cons: The shule on this course is unforgivable. During tournament play 5 of us spent more time than rules allow to find discs on a couple of holes. When there is a fence that says no one allowed beyond this point and an errand shot could easily land there then maybe not a safe spot to have a hole. Double mandos suck.
Other Thoughts: This course will blow your mind. Not so much a physical course but a mental course. Every shot has to be considered more than once, a simple mistake can easily add 2-3 strokes to your game.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good in the Beginning

5+    5/5/2011   1/6/2012
Review By: brettricewku
Played: 62  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.9 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Difficult and original. You definately want to be on your A game when you play here. You will most likely use all of the shots in your bag on this course. This course does not fall into the typical cookie cutter type course. Many trees but defined and logical routes to take. A solid par 64
Cons: The rough and sides need to be cleared out. They cut down trees and pushed them to the side. If your discs shoots off course you have to climb over trees to reterieve it. The walk from 5-6 I believe is very long and out of the way. Also holes 3-6 dont fit the overall scheme of the course.
Other Thoughts: The technical college put in some parking lots and there was heavy machinery on the course. Havent been back since but am eagerly awaiting its return to playing state. It was only open a few months before the parking lots were put it. Definately the hardest course in BG not counting Holler.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Wait a few years to play it

1    4/2/2011   4/13/2011
Review By: gkeberhart
Played: 36  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 5.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are plenty of pros for this course. The first of which is it has all concrete tees. Also this isn't a traditional par 54. Some things that I really liked about this course were the design of the holes that weren't straight ahead. On a majority of the hyzer shots, large portions of the trees from the tee blocked the pin so you couldn't see them. I really appreciated this because it made you rely on pure skill and planning to make the perfect shot. Something great I learned about this course that I didn't know until playing with a few locals are that there are some amazing alternate routes that can leaved you parked on a lot of holes that would normally be a long 2. HB really did his best with the land he was given; there are plenty of elevation changes, hyzer shots, anhyzer shots and OB.
Cons: Holes 3-6 were nice holes but in reality they didn't seem to fit the rest of the course; they are where you need to gain strokes though. The course isn't finished yet; it has only been in for about a month or so. The sub contractor that was used just cut down all the brush in the fairways and instead of removing it, they just pushed it to the edges of the fairway. This makes it incredibly hard to find and/or get to a disc that has gone off the fairway. The routes aren't beaten in yet so sometimes you may not know where to really throw it. On a few holes you can actually see a pin from another hole instead of yours and you might find yourself throwing to in on accident.
Other Thoughts: I really had to digest this course before I chose to write the review. It isn't in prime shape yet and I don't think it will be for at least 5 more years. I can see the greatness it will achieve, but it is far from that at this point. The fairways aren't very flat (loaded with small rocks and boulders) so there are several tripping hazards, but I think it will work its way into one of the top courses in Bowling Green.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.