Bowling Green, KY 
SKYCTC DGC Share
Uploaded By: weeman Hole #13 (Taken 1/2011)
3 / 210ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Approach



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 

2-4    4/9/2011   4/12/2011
Review By: tamahawk
Played: 50  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 8.1 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Bowling Green Technical course provides a challenging, but fair, par62 layout with a good balance between what the other courses in this area have to offer. Here is how the course breaks down…

Course Essentials:
-Baskets: Single Position Innova DISCatcher baskets, brand new.
-Tee Pads: Single position concrete pads on all holes, adequate size and good grip.
-Signs: Tee signs in place on all holes. The signs indicate hole layout, length, and par.

Course Design & Layout:
-Fairways: Mix of semi-open and semi-technical fairways. Fairways are defined and easy to navigate.
-Elevation: Minimal elevations are present throughout the course.
-Length: 6,310ft total (351avg/hole): 5@<300ft, 6@300-350ft, 1@350-400ft, 5@400-450ft, 1@500+

Course Description:
The course layout is comprised of two 9-hole loops that each return to the main parking area. Flow throughout the course is smooth and uninterrupted with the exception of the long walk between Holes 5&6. Holes 3-6 play through open fields with a few scattered trees to work around, while holes 1, 2, and 7-18 play through thick woods that surround the campus.

I agree completely with bjreagh on the length and shape of the fairways through the wooded section of the course, this is what really makes BG Tech different from the rest of the courses in the area. With the narrow, tree-lined fairways, you really have to work the disc to keep it in the short grass and out of the thick rough. There is good variety throughout the course that includes throwing from an open tee into the woods through a gap (and vice versa), gentle right/left fairways, sharp doglegs (hyzer/anhyzer), and placement/strategy type holes. There are no drastic elevations, mostly minimum changes as you navigate the course, but the elevations are used effectively in course design to provide additional variety in the layout and aesthetics.

BG Tech will provide ample challenge for all levels of play. I am an intermediate level player who throws around 300ft-325ft, and I think this course sets up perfectly for this level of play (890-920 rated or so). Hitting these narrow fairways is critical because the rough is thick, especially with the cleared trees and brush off to the sides, miss your line and you'll have to work to save par, there are no gimmies or easy outs through the wooded section of the course. The ability to control your disc and shape your lines is important for scoring low, there are no wide open grip and rip type holes on the course.

Navigation: The course is pretty straight-forward and easy to follow. The biggest issue is getting from Hole 5 to Hole 6. You are basically going to go left from #5's basket down the main road of the campus and follow it to the end, you'll see the sign and tee for #6. For the most part, then next tee is visible from the previous basket, otherwise you'll see a worn path and/or signs leading you in the right direction.

Maintenance: A lot of work has gone into getting the course in shape for the recent grand opening. The grass in the newer areas of the course is coming in nicely, fairways are clear, and all the tees/signs in place. Still some excess brush off the fairways from where they've been cleared, but all in all, the course is in good shape.
Cons: -There is a parking lot to the right of several holes (3,6,14,15) where it is possible to throw into the parking area, especially hole 15. The tee here is set up as to almost force a hyzer shot (RHBH) over the edge of the parking lot on the right side, a little grip-lock or accidental turnover shot could put you in the parking area.

-The lower areas of the course do not appear to drain very well, so I would expect some pretty sloppy conditions around these areas (basket on 10/16, tee on 11)

-A couple of areas where a stray drive could end up landing on/near an adjacent tee/basket. This is not real likely, but I think it's possible, so just wanted to mention it. I think the tee for #11 is in range from the #10 tee, and the #10 tee is in range from the #18 tee. My drive faded out on #18 and ended up pretty close to #10 tee. Also, the basket for #13 is definitely in range from the #7 tee. Again, it would take a shot that is quite a bit off-line in any of these situations, but I think it is worth mentioning.

-Multiple baskets visible in a couple areas, can possibly throw to wrong basket. This mostly applies to #15 where the basket for #2 is visible from the fairway on #15. If your tee shot doesn't go far enough down the fairway, it can be difficult to see the opening to #15 basket on the left side, but the #2 basket is visible and roughly the correct length to match the distance on the sign.

-No trash cans, water fountains, benches, or restrooms on the course as of now.
Other Thoughts: I mentioned earlier that I thought this course was a nice balance between the other courses in the area. There are shorter, more technical courses (Hobson/Preston), longer more open courses (Phil Moore/Franklin), and medium length courses that are somewhat technical, but still pretty open outside the suggested fairways (Kereiakes/Lover'sLane), then there is BG Tech. This course is a great length between Lovers Lane and Phil Moore with a technical aspect somewhere between Hobson and Kereiakes. This is a new course and still a little rough around the edges, but is on it's way to becoming one of the top courses in the area. The current average rating of this course is between a 3.5 and 4.0, which is a fair rating in my opinion. I think the layout is great, and the potential to be a 4.0 course is there, but it's not quite there yet. Definitely worth playing, so if you are coming to the area for some disc golf, put this one on your wish list!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Has great potential

1    2/19/2011   2/20/2011
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/14/2011
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: BGTC has 18 holes of challenging, but fair disc golf. 4 holes play across grassy campus fields with a couple of mature trees here and there to avoid. The other 14 holes play in some dense woods behind the campus. This is a new course but a lot of work has been done already to make this a good course. Many of the woods fairways had to be carved out of (bulldozed?) the woods. But what I really liked is the shape and length of the fairways is unique and many trees were left in the middle of the fairway in very strategic positions (I think I hit every one!) There is not mega-elevation here, but enough to add variety and challenge.

I really enjoyed how you have to play for 3's or 4's on several holes. Accurate and planned shot placement is a must, or you will find yourself in the rough losing strokes. There are not many birdie opportunities here, so scoring low should challenge most everybody.

The course has 18 new Discatcher baskets. It only has 17 concrete tees, but I know #1's tee will be put in eventually (it was actually smart to wait on it, so it wouldn't get destroyed by construction vehicles.) When finished and open, there will be a nice parking lot off campus (so you don't have to worry about finding a spot, getting a ticket, etc.). It will be on Morgantown Rd. (Hwy 231) right across from the Minit Mart. The course loops back to the parking lot after 9, so you could start one 1 or 10 once this lot is opened.
Cons: (I am reviewing the course as I played it in its current condition.)

Missing #1 tee (explained above.) No tee signs yet, but it is obvious they are coming, many have the frames already, and most others have the holes dug for the posts.

The course looks like it is under major construction (because it is!!!). It is muddy, trees and brush are not removed, just pushed aside. It is also winter, so the woods holes lack aesthetic qualities right now. Hopefully by the summer of 2012 it will look fantastic.

There is a fence between #2 and #3. You have to walk a long ways up #15's fairway to a gap in the fence- dangerous and out of the way. This will probably be fixed sometime, however.

There was a sweet looking pond by #8 that would have been awesome to have to throw over, but it does not even come close to coming into play. Oh well!!!

***Update, I have been told that #1 tee is in, so are the signs, and the fence is gone!!! Can't wait to get back and play it again.***
Other Thoughts: Though not finished, this course is still playable. Print out a map and you will have no problems navigation. This might just be the toughest course in Bowling Green (not counting Holler in the Hills).

Right now you can park in the gravel lot at the back of campus (which is just a few buildings and one main road through the middle) by hole #6 and 7 and start there or #14. We played on Saturday and parked near hole #3 and started there, but you could also start on #15 or 16 from here if you walk through the gap in the fence.

I agree with what the other reviewers said, but I feel that they're rating is based on potential, which is fine, but I am rating it based on how it is at this time. I will definitely be back as this will be added into my rotation when I visit BG.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent course if you've got the patience

5+    4/19/2011   1/27/2011
Review By: weeman
Played: 227  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 10.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/12/2011
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The Tech School course provides a stern challenge to score well on a course that is unlike any other in Bowling Green. The tee pads are all large and very grippy even when wet. The baskets are new Innova chastity belt baskets that catch well and are easy to spot through the woods (when the leaves are off the trees). All fairways on the wooded holes are very well defined and I would highly recommend staying in them. Any shot more than arms' length off the fairway will cost you at least a stroke. In addition, multiple holes have scattered random trees still standing in the fairway and on the edge of the green that will keep you honest. The layout has a variety of shot shaping and forces a variety of shots to stay in the fairways and reach the green. Length and accuracy are the keys to having any chance at a birdie. All of the par fours are birdie-able but not without well placed shots and a hint of luck in places. With the thickness of the rough, none of the par threes are gimme birdies and may even sneak up on you for a bogie if you're not careful. The open holes (3-6) are mostly open with one crusher hole. All are placed with strategic trees that can swat your disc down before reaching the green, and all have OB to punish truly errant shots.
Cons: My biggest gripe about this course is the trees/underbrush that were cut to clear the fairways have not, for the most part, been cleared off the course. They have only been pushed to the sides of the fairway, making the edge of the rough that much thicker and walking into it nearly impossible. The rough itself is not a con for me, just the extra dead debris thrown into it. As part of the navigation issues, the walk between holes 5 and 6 is monstrous. You walk all the way through campus from in the front lawn to behind the back of all the buildings. Just guessing the distance but this is at least a thousand extra feet you have to walk with no golf. Don't think they took this into consideration in design but the drainage ditch that comes off the school campus goes directly behind number 14s basket. From there the water splits streams before going into the woods and runs a step in front of number 15s tee and the other stream goes right behind number 11s basket. With a minimal amount of grass in the fairways, these areas are going to stay very muddy and erode out. The other drainage issue is on number 6. All of the water flow off the surrounding parking lots goes right to the middle of 6's fairway and in between 6's basket and 7's tee. The basket isn't surrounded but anything in front, left of and behind the basket is going to get wet.
Other Thoughts: I'm rating it based on how it played today. Being that the course is on a Technical College campus, it is still playable even during class hours. The current parking lots have a surplus of spots compared to student cars so that shouldn't be a problem. The Tech course is a championship caliber course that requires a solid complete round to score well. Errant shots are punished and good shots are rewarded with the chance to have another good shot. This course is not for newer players or players easily frustrated with thick rough.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Great New Course to BG

1    12/9/2010   1/13/2011
Review By: Topper_34_1
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Where to begin... This course is a great addition to the bowling green disc golf scene. There are many types of holes on this course but will really punish you if you can not throw RHBH. The are some holes that are long and flow through woods. There are also multiple holes that zig zag through the woods. This course will definately test every shot in your bag and will one day be one of the better courses in Bowling Green.
Cons: I played the course only a month after everything was put in so the course was very muddy. There was also big piles of limbs lining each fairway but as time goes along this problem should be taken care of. Also there is a long walk from hole 5 to hole 6.. but if thats the worst part about playing here im fine with that.
Other Thoughts: Can not wait till this course is officially opened and everyone gets to see how fun and challenging this course is and can be.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A Welcome Addition

2-4    1/3/2011   1/4/2011
Review By: sengenberger
Played: 25  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.1 Years
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This course is a well designed wooded course built on the community college campus. All of the holes flow well except for a few; the walk from hole 5 to hole 6 being a big break in the action. Most of the holes are good challenges that remind me why I fell in love with wooded courses to begin with. The fairways are tight and punishing, and also allow for some creativity. There are also quite a few sharp doglegs thrown into the mix.
Cons: The course is really really messy and muddy. But I guess that is due to it still being under construction. Watch your disc if it goes into the rough on the sides, because until it is cleaned up a little there is a good chance you will lose discs.
Other Thoughts: I played this while it was still being constructed. All the baskets are in place and numbered, and all teepads are in except on hole 1. There are no signs at the time of review either. This review will also be completed/more in depth when the course is completed and opened.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.