Flagstaff, AZ 
Ridge Line DGC Share
Uploaded By: jlogflagstaff Hole #5 (Taken 2/2011)
-- / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Meh

1    7/3/2012   7/3/2012
Review By: Sunday Mike
Played: 42  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 12.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/21/2012
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is nestled in a very scenic apartment complex just off the NAU Campus.
It has nice baskets. Each hole has two tees. If you lived in the complex it would be cool to have a course right there.
Cons: This course is very difficult to navigate. I never even found hole #2. Some of the baskets are just too darn close to parking structures or the apartments themselves. The tees are just wooden boxes w/ wood chips in them..be careful!
Hole #5 was just a pole, no basket.
Only 9 holes--even though I couldn't find one. :)
Other Thoughts: If I lived at this complex I would play it alot. Otherwise it just isn't worth it. The other 4 courses in Flagstaff are all so much better and are 18 holes. This course is not a destination. It would only be worth it if you were a course "collector" or you happened to live at the adjacent apartment complex.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 simple OK

1    12/15/2011   1/22/2012
Review By: scrowl92
Played: 10  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.9 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -nice area
-good quick course for practice
Cons: -awkward wood chip sandbox-like tee pads that are very small
-winds through the apartment complex, very easy to get a disc to land on someone's balcony
-being in an apartment complex, hitting a car window is high risk
-very difficult to navigate through
-
Other Thoughts: OK course overall, definitely should be redesigned

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 College Course Needs More Studying

1    7/29/2011   8/14/2011
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 5.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Close to NAU and right by I-40
- Technical holes with steep elevation changes. I suggest bringing good footwear due to the steepness and rocks
- Water hazard on hole #7, which is also the signature hole. Throws downhill across a pond to a basket. There are some tree hazards along the way.
- Dual tees, which are of ample size
Cons: - Short holes. No long throws over 300 feet. Hole #7 may be the longest. Sure, there's some technical challenge with all the evergreens, but I didn't find myself particularly vexed by the tree hazards.
- Course pays very close to the apartments, especially on holes #3 and #6. A strong arm and/or an errant hyzer could easily send a disc through the windows. And, to be honest, it's kind of weird playing in a residential development.
- No signage yet on the course, and even if there were signs, the course flow wouldn't be very intuitive due to the fact the holes are scattered and have no real pattern from beginning to end.
- Very rocky terrain and no path yet established. Makes finding the next hole even more difficult
Other Thoughts: I know that this course probably isn't 100% completed yet, but I've always subscribed to the idea that once it's on DGCR, it's fair game to review. With that being said, I tried to base my review mostly on the course layout and challenges rather than the tangible amenities that I'm sure will come later (signs, next tee markers, maps, etc.). All in all, this is a nice course for NAU students looking to play somewhere else besides the 18-hole course, although it does have limitations that need to be corrected:

1.) Tee markers or signs for each tee. I'm not even sure if I played off a few of the right tees, to be honest.
2.) Map of course (either on DGCR or at the first hole)
3.) Those invaluable "next tee" markets
4.) Making hole 9 go oer the water hazard.

I played this course instead of the 18 hole one because I was passing through Flagstaff on my road trip and didn't have time to play a full 18 holes (besides, the sun was setting quickly). I wish I would have been able to play both to compare/contrast these two courses. I'm gonna play it safe and assume that the other course is the better of the two NAU courses.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 quick and easy

1    7/24/2011   8/3/2011
Review By: lion
Played: 543  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 9.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Its nice that there is a course to play in this complex. The Innova baskets are nice and newish. Its cool there is 2 tee pads per hole.
Cons: The layout doesnt flow and overlaps in spots. There is no up keep on the grounds. The tee pads and boxs are falling apart. Some holes are to close to buildings and parking structures where it would be easy to lose a disc. Not enough trash cans or seating. Course was just put in with little thought. Hole one and hole 9 are a distance away. Hole 3 should be hole 1 and it would flow better.
Other Thoughts: There is some good land that could hold a nice 9 hole course here. The course needs to be restructured and moved. The land needs maintenance. Just put a few weekends of up keep and redesign thought into this and this course could be way better. Don't bother coming to this course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.