Freedom, WI 
Irish Waters Golf Club Share
Uploaded By: jhgonzo Hole #8 (Taken 3/2011)
3 / 265ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Basket



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
glad i tried

2-4    3/21/2015   3/24/2015
Review By: smatthew854
Played: 10  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 14.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I should temper this entire review with the fact I played this course for a.tournament.
The course is well cared for, as to be expected of a ball course. It was fun but nothing great. There was.a challenge to the course, but mostly only in the distance.
There are a couple holes.with very nice technical shots avoiding the OB sand traps and ponds and trees. But most shots are simply long throws with nigh elevation challenge to offset the openness.
Cons: From my understanding the layout of this course changes every year as it is set up new each winter. Nice in some aspects annoying in others.
The course itself is long. Very long. By pdga standards of suggested rec par (850), it's far too long to be the 3s it's listed at for the holes. Most holes are much more clearly a par 4. But then again most rec level players don't play much in winter.
Again, There are a couple holes.with very nice technical shots avoiding the OB sand traps and ponds and trees. But most shots are simply long throws with nigh elevation challenge to offset the openness. It's for the most part a "throw as far as you can and try to hit a long put."
Other Thoughts: Glad I played it, will go back for future tournaments, but I'll not be making a trip in the winter at all. Not nearly fun enough to warrant the hour drive and the cold, to do no more than throw far.
Most holes.it was agreed upon in my group, would be better served 50 to 100 feet shorter but incorporating more of the trees.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Irish Waters Golf Course

2-4    3/23/2013   3/25/2013
Review By: SleekrBeekr
Played: 48  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 6.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 hole layout
Quality baskets
Free
Baskets up in the winter
Tee-pads are usually cleared
Decent mix of technical and longer, open holes
Split into two 9 hole layouts
Doesn't get too busy
Cons: No tee signs or course maps
Only up in the winter
When the pads aren't cleared, the rubber is pretty slick
Other Thoughts: This is a course that is only up in the winter as it plays on a ball golf course. Winter disc golf provides it's own challenges, but those that like it will enjoy this course.
Most of the holes are fairly short, with a few trees here and there and some nice use of the small hills. There are a couple longer holes, but nothing much more than 500 ft.
There aren't any tee-pad maps but the layout is fairly easy to follow. The tees are marked with a stick and flag and are pretty easy to see. Most of the pads are rubber with a few that play on the concrete path that runs through the course. When the rubber pads are cleared they're fine, but when they get some snow/water/ice on them, they get a bit slippery.
The baskets are high quality portable baskets, so re-design would very easy. Most of the pins are placed pretty well, with some behind/around trees and a few that sit on top of the small hills to add some elevation changes.
There are a few O.B. spots on the course with the parking lot, road, and the frozen ponds.
All in all, this is a fun little course to play in the winter. It's nice and open so it's hard to have to a lot of bad shots, but the trees and O.B. offer a nice little challenge. There is a pro shop/bar/grill on site, but it's closed most of the winter. It's a fun winter spot and it's cool to play on a ball golf course. The course has a decent replay value.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/26/2012   12/28/2012
Review By: AdamE
Played: 236  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 11.8 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Irish Waters golf course has a seasonal disc golf course and is free to play. There is a mix of concrete and grippy rubber mats for tee pads. The tees are marked with a tall, narrow white pole swith a flag attached on the top making the tees easy to locate with or without snow on the ground. Baskets are are in good shape and catch well.

The course is slightly on the long side but there is still a pretty good variety of hole distances ranging from 240 to 525 feet.

Even though the course is on a ball golf course, few of the holes are completely wide open. Most have one or two trees placed in strategic places to navigate and few have multiple obstacles forcing you to shape shots or hit a particular like to be rewarded with a birdie. Like I already mentioned, the course is mostly flat but there are a few hills with baskets on top of them to make challenging putting greens. You get to throw over a pond on hole 4, but there is a bail out area if you don't have the distance to make it over. Since this is a golf course there is no underbrush to worry about.
Cons: Navigating this course is relatively easy once you get started, but I got all turned around on hole 1 my first time here. Hole 1's tee pad is facing hole 3's basket. Hole 1's baskets is way off to the left of 1's tee. It would be nice if at least the baskets were numbered, but once you've played a round here and figure it out this isn't an issue.

The shot selection isn't very good here. Since the course is mostly open with a few trees here and there, there are options and multiple routes to the basket on many holes. Unfortunately only one hole (hole 16) kind of forces a turnover shot for RHBH players.

I consider about a third of the holes here to be tweener holes where you're never going to get a birdie but getting par is easy. I know this is just a personal preference of mine, but I really don't care for holes like this.

There are no tee signs, but this is a seasonal course so while it would be nice to have them it's completely understandable why they don't have any.

Hole 17 has surprise water if you hyzer too far left of the basket. Again, not an issue once you've played here once and know about it.

When I was here, the restaurant bar was closed and a sign on the door said they wouldn't reopen until February. This means I wasn't able to get a map from them and was disappointed I couldn't have lunch at their restaurant bar, but this isn't a big deal.
Other Thoughts: Overall I enjoyed this course and while many courses in this area close for the winter, it's awesome to have a course that's only open that time of year.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Long, Open, Get It While It's Around

5+    1/29/2012   6/14/2012
Review By: Ace D
Played: 33  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 15.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Land is extremely well maintained as it is a ball golf course in the summer. Black rubber tee pads are rolled out for the winter course. Club house is open for much of the winter and you can grab a pizza and a brew after playing. Long arms should find satisfaction with the abundance of long, open bomber holes. The presence of a ball golf course likely influences the disc golf course into its lengthy layout.
Cons: Wide open golf course makes for a very wide open disc golf course. Repeated long open holes can become tedious, especially for shorter arms. Not a very strategic course. If you enjoy elevation change, you will not find it here.
Other Thoughts: Winter 2011 had extremely deep snow and lost discs and knee/waist deep snow were common. Winter 2012 had very little snow, making course much more playable. There are two holes that go over water-- much preferable when it's frozen.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.