Alpharetta, GA 
Wills Park Share
Uploaded By: Lewis Hole #14 (Taken 12/2010)
4 / 365ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Technical Wooded Course

1    2/17/2015   2/17/2015
Review By: SD86
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Wooded course. Great for practicing technical shots, shaped shots. There are a couple of holes open enough to drive for distance.

- Not a bad job to "shoehorn" the course into the park and make it decent and playable.

- Markers on the basket show the direction to the next hole, and the 10-meter rope is usually laid out in the direction of the next tee box.

- Course is in good condition. Concrete tees, baskets in good shape.

- There is a practice basket before reaching the first tee.

- There are restrooms near the practice basket and first tee, and also near the 3d tee box.

- Large trees offer a scenic view right in the middle of a busy park.
Cons: No. 11 - please build a bridge over the creek/ditch. Right now there are two boards, and I have vertigo and had trouble getting over it.

- played the course the day after it rained, so there was a lot of casual water and muddy spots to navigate.

- creek/ditch winds through the course, sometimes very close to the fairway. The ditch is deep, but there are few places to cross over if a disc goes to the other side.

- The tees are marked with signs, and there are some signs guiding one to the next tee box. But not nearly enough. If I had not been playing with people who'd played that course before, I might never have found the 17th tee box from the 16th basket. It is a long, long walk and not obvious.

- The 15th is tricky to find. Most other holes aren't too hard to find and navigate, but there can be tricky moments.

- May be just a little TOO much water in play on too many holes.

- Some places are very near other park activities (one tee box is 6 feet from a pavilion, for example). One really has to watch out for other park-goers.

- Location of the first tee is not well marked and not intuitive to find.
Other Thoughts: - One will only need mid-range and short-range/putter discs for this course. Definitely will get practice on shaping shots to avoid water and get around large trees.

- If it's one's first time, I recommend playing with someone who has played the course before, or one might have a very difficult and time-consuming time finding certain tee boxes.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Well maintained, but crowded

1    2/3/2015   2/3/2015
Review By: TennDG
Played: 13  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: *well-designed

*lots of amenities nearby

*easy to follow

*creek provides a unique feel.
Cons: *Multi-use - croweded even in the off-season

*Noisy

*short shots
Other Thoughts: Played through on a march afternoon from out of town - it was easy to follow and well-maintained, but it was super-duper busy in this park. Escpecially on the front 6 and back 6 holes, I constantly had to look out for joggers/other players. The middle holes seemed a bit more secluded. The creek that runs through the middle of the course gives it a neat signature feel and provides an interesting challenge on some of the holes.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Pretty park full of technical holes

1    5/10/2014   5/10/2014
Review By: Moose33
Played: 37  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 3.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very attractive multi use park that is well maintained.

Mostly follows the path of a small creek that you will have the opportunity to land in on a lot of the holes.

A couple of the holes have alternate teepads and the baskets all have an arrow in a ring around the bottom to let you know where the next teepad is.

It's a shorter playing course but very technical, I used a variety of shots that I don't always use and had a ton of escape shots, short Tommy's and forehands with a putter.

All the pads are concrete and the baskets are newish Disccatchers.

Overall a fun day stomping through muddy woods.
Cons: It's a very short course hole distance wise, you may not need anything but a putter and a mid to play it. I only used fairway drivers on a few holes.

It's a crowded multi use park with picknic tables many baseball fields(played there as a kid, good memories), tennis courts and a pool. So it can be super crowded and kids will sometimes pick up a disc on the front nine.

There is an unusually long walk between 16 and 17 and it's the one hole not marked well.
Other Thoughts: I has a good time, but since drive are the best part of my game, I would have liked to throw some.

It's a great place to fall in love with your midranges again though and practice all the awkward shots you usually try not to use on a more open course.

I flicked my putter so many times I have a lot more confidence in it now.

Also bring a towel, between the creek and the many rain puddles this time of year it will be wet.

Would have given it a 3.25 if I could.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice Park to play

1    3/12/2014   3/27/2014
Review By: moore1927
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This course is very visually pleasing, because it's located within a nice park. Although the park is crowded, most of the fairways, tees, and baskets are away from the main populated areas, so we didn't have any problems with people crossing over our playing field. There's a variety of holes, from open spaced to through woods.
Cons: A couple of holes are just... How do I say it other than this: We scratched our heads and asked "What were they thinking!?" To us, it seems illogical the placement of tees and holes in a couple of locations. One that went around a building through a tight spot with a deep stream right beside it, another through densely packed trees with very little of a "tunnel" or space to throw.
Other Thoughts: The course has a good feel. There's something nice and nostalgic for me to be a park with families around, kids playing baseball, and old ladies walking around. I just felt good while playing there.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Tough but fair course

2-4    2/5/2013   8/13/2013
Review By: captain_d
Played: 13  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 2.9 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: * Nice design and few nice shots.
* Concrete teepads and very good signage.
* Nice overall park and surrounding community.
* Well maintained.
Cons: * Course runs along a creek, so lots of shots can end up in the water. The creek also causes the course to become very muddy for several days after a rain.
* Bugs. SInce it runs along the creek, it lends itself to being a hotbed for a mosquito breeding ground (especially in the summer). Bring bug spray!
* Very crowded. Lots of people out here playing as well as dog-walkers, joggers, etc. by the course. You have to be careful not to hit someone.
* A lot of tight shots. You can't ever really tee off on any hole on the course.
Other Thoughts: A nice overall course. Nothing too special, but a good challenge if you are looking for one.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Short but good

5+    8/11/2013   8/11/2013
Review By: GSquare44
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.9 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well maintained. Concrete Tees. Easy to follow. Next Tee signs on Baskets. Ropes on all Baskets (showing 10 M circle)
Cons: Short. Always crowded. Very soggy and muddy. Lots of poison ivy and mosquitos.
Other Thoughts: There is a bit of a walk from 16 to 17 but the designers did the best they could. They have multiple Basket placements and change them up regularly. It's a nice confidence booster course.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great Little Course

1    7/7/2013   7/7/2013
Review By: St0rmbringer
Played: 43  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: While there are no holes longer than 400', and there are a couple very easy holes, every hole provides you with a chance to be a hero or a zero.
The course is well-maintained and the signage is EXCELLENT with one exception: going from #16 to #17.
This course would remind you of Timmons Park in Greenville, SC or Sugaw Creek in Charlotte.
Cons: Being next to the creek means conditions could be soggy after rains.
Some holes could stand to have some smaller trees knocked out. Especially #15--I only saw one workable line for that hole and a strong LHBH player would hate it.
Other Thoughts: This might not be a professional-level course but I'd be tickled to have this course as my home course. This course compares favorably to some of my favorite courses in the Charlotte area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Will's Thrills

1    6/30/2013   7/3/2013
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 239  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 11.9 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Will's Park in Alpharetta, GA is a fun course with low scoring possibilities throughout. The first hole is next to a pavilion with bathrooms and water fountains. Long and short concrete tees on some holes. Baskets are all in good shape. I liked the current layout, although I never played the old one.

I liked the level of playability here mostly. I finished with a 52, and as a good but far from great player, it is fun to go under par at a course that I have never played. Trees and creeks are the main obstacles, elevation changes are minimal. Not championship caliber, but should still be fun for many average players. Most holes require some shot shaping to get close to the pin. Mid range and putters can be thrown out of the box on several holes.
Cons: Many other people playing or walking the trails weaving through the park, so be careful. Signs indicate snakes in the water. BEWARE! The area has been getting a lot of rain, so muddy patches were scattered throughout. Dogs must remain on a leash. A couple of holes were kind of dinky (1, 17). Long walk after hole 17.
Other Thoughts: Will's park is not one of the best courses around Atlanta, but it is fun. I am glad I chose to give it a try. The layout is fast and easy to follow, and birdies are there for the taking. Similarities to Sugaw Creek in Charlotte.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Creeks and Trees

1    5/16/2013   5/16/2013
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 6.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 holes with good baskets, great tee pads and multiple basket positions to keep things a little mixed up. Signs at pads are adequate, and show lengths, basket positions and basic layout. Course is built in a nice park with lots of other activities nearby plus some nice restrooms. Everything is clean and well kept.

Mostly short technical course with some extremely tight gaps, and lots of trouble if you don't hit your lines. A creek or creeks wind through most of the course and add some OB risk to many of the holes. There are some really cool looking shots from the tee pads. Hit a tiny gap and you have ace or birdie opportunity Miss and you are toast.

There was a couple relatively open holes in the 300' range as a respite from all the tight lines.
Cons: Navigation is very tricky. Without a local guide I would have spent another 30 minutes wandering around.There is some backtracking plus a long walk from 16 to 17. Not great, but with a mixed use park these things happen. There are some small signs posted on trees to help so make sure you slow down and look for them.

A pedestrian bridge crosses the fairway on 18. We had to wait for some kids to cross. Keep your eyes open.

Not any length or holes for people that want to throw a few bombs. This is mostly a technical course and one-trick pony.

Wasn't thrilled with 13. You either follow the fairway and have no chance for a birdie on a 265' hole, or try to punch through a line of trees, and hope for the best. That fairway shape/design is pretty funky.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course with a lot of cool looking, tight shots off the pad. Most of the trees are large and create some nice challenging fairways without the pinball effect that smaller trees and typical pine forests give you. It is a fun place to make some mids and putters do their thing around trees and over the small creek. There is some under brush and thorns, but it is not so thick that is is a problem.

Hole lengths vary from 190' to 356' when I played. Hole 2 is a cool 380' design with creek to the left and brush to the left. It's tight, but fair and fun. 14 is also a cool home with the creek running up the middle of a tight fairway. Hit your shot and it is plenty fair. Miss and trouble awaits.

BEWARE!! The locals all warned me about Copperheads today, and they weren't kidding. We encountered 2 in our round. Keep your eyes open, and be alert. This review is mid May and the reptiles are active. Obviously this is less of a concern other times of the year.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Better have great aim or you could disable a child...

1    2/24/2013   3/2/2013
Review By: Alejandro01
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The location is great.
The targets and pads are kept very well.
The maps offered are accurate and easy to read.
Very scenic course for being in a city park.
You don't have to go searching for your next target, the layout is easy to follow.
Cons: You better have excellent accuracy of you might end up hitting a person or dog.
Even when you are away from trails, you might still get the wondering jogger run in your way. Just too many children and adult activities woven between the Ts.
Other Thoughts: When the weather is nice and the park is packed, its certainly not a great place for people who are trying to learn.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.