Alpharetta, GA 
Wills Park Share
Uploaded By: Lewis Hole #5 (Taken 12/2010)
3 / 295ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Short but good

5+    8/11/2013   8/11/2013
Review By: GSquare44
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well maintained. Concrete Tees. Easy to follow. Next Tee signs on Baskets. Ropes on all Baskets (showing 10 M circle)
Cons: Short. Always crowded. Very soggy and muddy. Lots of poison ivy and mosquitos.
Other Thoughts: There is a bit of a walk from 16 to 17 but the designers did the best they could. They have multiple Basket placements and change them up regularly. It's a nice confidence booster course.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Will's Thrills

1    6/30/2013   7/3/2013
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 197  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 11.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Will's Park in Alpharetta, GA is a fun course with low scoring possibilities throughout. The first hole is next to a pavilion with bathrooms and water fountains. Long and short concrete tees on some holes. Baskets are all in good shape. I liked the current layout, although I never played the old one.

I liked the level of playability here mostly. I finished with a 52, and as a good but far from great player, it is fun to go under par at a course that I have never played. Trees and creeks are the main obstacles, elevation changes are minimal. Not championship caliber, but should still be fun for many average players. Most holes require some shot shaping to get close to the pin. Mid range and putters can be thrown out of the box on several holes.
Cons: Many other people playing or walking the trails weaving through the park, so be careful. Signs indicate snakes in the water. BEWARE! The area has been getting a lot of rain, so muddy patches were scattered throughout. Dogs must remain on a leash. A couple of holes were kind of dinky (1, 17). Long walk after hole 17.
Other Thoughts: Will's park is not one of the best courses around Atlanta, but it is fun. I am glad I chose to give it a try. The layout is fast and easy to follow, and birdies are there for the taking. Similarities to Sugaw Creek in Charlotte.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

The first cuttttt is the deepeesttt

2-4    6/12/2012   11/12/2012
Review By: Connor Jones
Played: 71  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 4.2 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: An extremely fun little course. It has a very solid variety of shot shapes and quite a few holes have different routes you could try.

Nice teepads, the perfect size for a course of this style.

Extremely awesome bridges connecting some of the holes.

Discatchers are all in good shape.

There is a lot of other stuff going on in this park, I think there are some tennis courts, basketball courts, equestrian center, baseball fields, so if someone in your family is in to these sorts of things, you can drag them along and play some disc golf.

Nice bathrooms that as far as I remember were kept clean, including water fountains with water that is actually cold!
Cons: No real length out here, which isn't really what this course is all about, so it's all good.

Even with some of the safety improvements, there are still some holes that are kind of iffy. As long as you don't veer off too far, you should be okay, but as well all know this is not always the case in disc golf.
Other Thoughts: Wills park holds a special place in my heart. This was the very first disc golf course I ever played about four years ago, on the old layout. I didn't play again for a couple of years and I didn't even know wills was the first course I played, until I revisited it and had all the repressed memories of my horrible first throws brought back to me, haha.

This is an extremely fun course, it's not overly challenging for the most part, but there are enough holes out here that do provide some difficulty to not make it overly easy either. A perfect balance.

This is the type of course you want to play on a nice spring day, maybe bring a brew or two(although it's probably not legal in this park) and some food. An easy course to just relax at without getting overly frustrated.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Born Again DG Course!

5+    2/3/2011   2/3/2011
Review By: punahou80
Played: 24  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 31.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/22/2011
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Godfather of Wills Park DG - Keith Johnson has put in hundreds of man-hours redesigning, constructing and maintaining the course. Since the new layout and concrete tee pads were installed in December, this course gets better every day. KJ should get a Nobel Prize for DG.

Location - in the heart of Alpharetta.

Well thought-out layout and flow. Still a long walk from #16 to 17 but they wanted to keep #18 part of the course.

Although the course lacks length (this is almost entirely due to the growth of other facilities in this multi-use park), there is considerable variety of shot required. For instance, the first two holes require vastly different short to midrange anhys. Hole 7 begs for an accurate straight drive with a touch anhy landing. #15 requires a low, powerful anhy to clear the overhanging limbs in the fairway and penetrate deep enough into the woods to get near the basket. Off the #16 tee is a shortish midrange right bender for a birdie and you close on #18 needing a power drive low and over the creek to clear the trees and then bend it back right to stay in bounds.

Practice basket by the Restrooms. Many of the holes have water hazards but it is very shallow. You would have to get unlucky to get in deeper than your shoes. Some of the banks are steep but they don't call it a hazard for nothing...

Heated bathrooms by the tennis courts. IIRC, even had hot water to wash hands. Nice on those frigid winter days.

This is a multi-use park and DGers should be courteous to other park users (including the horses and dog walkers). A little courtesy and patience with others would go a long way towards improving our sport's image and increasing participation. I have found the other park users to be courteous and friendly when treated with respect.
Cons: Can be muddy - this old park was probably never graded. Although there are plenty of drainage creeks, the park just has a bunch of low spots that don't drain so the course can be muddy during rainy periods. This has improved vastly in the last month as mulch and gravel has been placed in trouble spots.

New hole 11 is going through an "adolescent rebellion". Several huge trees are down and the bridge needs improvement.
Other Thoughts: I started playing disc golf at Wills (and the old Chastain Park course) back in the 80s. Pretty sure this course is older than 1989. After a 20 year hiatus from DG, it's great to come back to where I started.

For what it's worth, here is an idiot's hole by hole assessment of the new layout (that is a right-handed idiot to be precise).
1) A shortish, blind BH anhy off the tee gets you in birdie position. FH hyzer would do it, too. Ace run, anyone?
2) A strong, low anhy drive (or "S" shot) is needed to get within 25 ft of the cage. Fairway pinches down and there is trouble to the left and beyond the basket (short configuration - haven't played the long yet). Probably the easiest hole to get a penalty. Leftys get a break here.
3) Non-pros can huck a flat drive down the narrow fairway (~300 ft). A little hyzer tail at the end of the flight gets you in birdie position.
4) See the basket, hit the basket. Trees/Creek/OB to the right. If you can turnover your driver with any degree of control, you can avoid all the hazards on the right.
5) Slightly uphill (300+ ft?) basket guarded by a row of very mature hardwoods but plenty of openings to hyzer in to the pin.
6) Looks far but it's downhill - easy to overcook your drive the first couple times. Sometimes horse trailers are overhanging the edge of the parking lot and ruin a nice RHBH hyzer run. OUCH!
7) Short and straight but the basket is tightly positioned. Trouble to the left (creek, brush) and behind the cage. Can't tell you how many times I've been rejected by the stairs in front and to the right of the basket.
8) Tricky hole. Kinda like #3 but the fairway necks down farther from the tee. A drive short and to the left can get you into trouble (barbled under brush and a bunch of trees). Requires a precise drive to birdie and easy to get into trouble.
9) Another 300+ ft drive with the basket tucked into the woods and across a narrow creek (but my disc found it today). Haven't seen it during the warm season but this hole could be much tougher with the leaves on. Probably a fun hole for a pro to make an ace run. I'm happy if I can get across the creek with a line on the basket.
10) Plays longer than it looks from the pad. Big tree on the left of the fairway guards the basket. Get past it and finish left and you could ring the chains!
11) Short and downhill. Big trees guard the basket. Throw a putter, dude. Stay out of the ravine.
12) Got an anhy FH? Bust it out on 12 - ace or birdie for the taking. Most RH'ers throw a hyzer down the right side of the fairway but a power anhy FH does the job, too.
13) Hard to see the line here. Update - Throw a flat midrange to the right of the "lying down tree" w/ 3 sucker trunks. Shot should finish left cutting in front of the pine tree in the middle of the "fairway." Bit of poke and hope here...
14) First time out you're like, "WTF is this, Gus?". Just huck it through the opening on the right and fly it down the creek line to finish back into the fairway (hyzer). It's a bit of a hike to 15 follow the signs.
15) Either RHFH or anhy BH. Throw it low and hard. A lot of hook at the end will leave it short with lots of trees between you and the dish. another difficult birdie.
16) Short hole. Any decent throw off the tee will give you a chance to bird. RHBH anhy or a flick hyzer will do. Leftys will like this hole.
17) After a 1000' walk from 16 to the teepad, you have a short (maybe 175 ft), straight hole. Easiest ace on the course but the basket is tightly placed with OB on right (path) and behind plus the creek on the left.
18) Good finisher. 300+ ft but plays longer b/c you have to power a drive up the left side, clear the opening between the trees and bend back to the right. Too far left and you're OB. Too far right - lumberjack city.

Wills Park is back and will continue to improve this year. Step aside East Roswell, Wills is the new Home Course. Schweeet!

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Great Renovation

2-4    12/31/2010   1/4/2011
Review By: Atrain
Played: 65  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 21.2 Years
This review was updated on 2/3/2011
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tee Signs, Nice wide concrete Tees, New Innova DiscCatcher Baskets, Good assortment of varied control shots
Cons: 1's Tee area is not a good 1st impression of the course.

Confusing course flow @ 9-10, 14-15, 16 (a 10 sign on the right handrail of bridge and a 15 sign on the left handrail would help.)
Other Thoughts: To all who worked on this renovation, THANK YOU. It is now a joy to go back to the course I learned to play on.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Major Course Redesign

1    1/2/2011   1/3/2011
Review By: WAS1
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Wills DGC has had a major renovation. The course now has new Innova baskets and concrete tees. Several of the old holes have been relocated into the woods, making some fun and challenging wooded holes. Some of the holes have been reconfigured away from the walking track, tennis courts and ball fields. Most of the non disc golf interference has been worked out of the course design. The holes have been renumbered, a practice basket has been added and the longest walk between holes has been significantly reduced.
Cons: The course has a thousand foot walk between holes 16 and 17 and hole 18 is uncomfortably close to a picnic pavilion. Course navigation can be a little tricky in a couple of places at this time.
Other Thoughts: Wills DGC redesign has made significant improvements to the course. The course should now be put back on your metro Atlanta's must play list. Wills is Georgia's oldest surviving disc golf course and the redesign is a welcome upgrade to Georgia's disc golf course collection.



4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Major Improvement

1    12/26/2010   12/26/2010
Review By: Longace
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Doesn't cross the walking path anymore so traffic is less of an issue.
Has a practice pin at the start.
crosses the creek at multiple places for an added challenge
Several deceiving holes that give anyone who pays attention a huge advantage.
LITTLE TO NO BRIERS on the fairway.
Legitimate bridges in some parts of the course
The new concrete pads make drives less dangerous in wet conditions
Cons: Loads of briers off the fairway.
Still a lot of cut up brush that needs to be trampled.
One hole has a few vines hanging down that will stop your disc directly above the creek.
Lost discs have a tendency to not be returned.
Other Thoughts: Be careful about losing discs on on of the back holes.(still haven't trained my brain to the new hole numbers) but on one of the new holes that cross the river i have seen 3 discs lost in the space of 30 minutes.
Pesonal Message: if you found a brand new orange star groove with a green stamp on old 1 that was mine and i would love to have it back.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Like new Coke without all the suck

1    12/24/2010   12/24/2010
Review By: billnchristy
Played: 64  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 5.4 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I suppose one could say that the course is completely playable even on a weekend. I never played the old layout but was always warned to play during the week if you wanted to get a round in.
New baskets, usually I am not picky about brand but I was glad to see discatchers since there are many blind or semi blind positions and the yellow band is easily spotted in the woods.
The temporary signs are more informative than a lot of permanent signs. The distances to next tees are on there which is a plus because there are several with 200+ foot walks. The baskets also have next tee arrows on the base which were probably the most accurate we had seen.
Line shaping and accuracy is put to a premium here which is a great thing, if you played here often you would certainly be a force in the woods.
The creek adds challenge without adding fear as it is pretty easily accessed for disc retrieval.
Cons: Still pretty tight confines, especially when you cross the artfully crafted bridge from 9-10.
Lots of briars to get into off the very tight fairways (I know, keep it on the fairway).
Some roughness but no more than you would expect for a "new" course.
The transition from 14 to 15 is odd and we watched several people skip 15 because they couldn't find the tee (signs will fix this).
Some 'poke and pray' holes on the back 9...but they were fun so its not a huge negative.
Lots of muddy areas.
Other Thoughts: There are several fun holes on this course, in fact I would say there are more fun holes than not fun holes.
Hole 5 was one of my favorites, I enjoyed that huge line of guardian trees.
Hole 12 just had an epic look to it as well.
Hole 17 and 18 were fun and hole 6 was a blast with practically the only elevation on the course. (15 has a slight downhill)).

If you live in the area and have not played this course get out there! I can totally see why this course has spawned so many world champions and excellent players. You really have to be able to shoot accurately to shoot well.

This course will easily be a 4 once it is broke in and all the signs are installed.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 The New Wills

2-4    12/17/2010   12/24/2010
Review By: craigd
Played: 92  Reviewed: 90  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 1/7/2011
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Most people who remember the old Will's Park layout will certainly enjoy this new design. Although I'm nowhere near a venerable "Will's Dog", I can probably and reverently speak for them when I say that this new layout is a welcomed improvement. The first things you'll notice are the concrete tees pads. They are roomy and have been backfilled so if you need a little extra room you won't have to worry about tripping over a big lip. Secondly you'll notice the old worn baskets have been replaced with new Innova Discatchers complete with next tee indicators pointing the way to the next tee. Look for them down at the bottom of the pole near the collar. Tee signs with updated info are being installed soon. There are multiple pin placements on holes two, nine, twelve, and thirteen. They're on an organized schedule to be moved frequently so look for consistent changes there as well.

Hole one begins near the tennis courts and that means there's plenty of parking at the tennis lot for disc golfers. As you walk down the bridge you'll notice the very clean bathrooms and water fountain. Once you're ready to start the round the soon to be installed kiosk and course map will give you an idea of how the course is laid out. Beyond that you'll find the practice basket for a quick brush up on your putting before you start your round.

The course itself is a really great layout. Even though this park is heavily crowded with non-disc golf users the layout pretty much eliminates any of the old pedestrian problems. No more fairways dubbing as walking trails! It incorporates a small creek on about eleven of the eighteen holes. There's a good mix of lightly to moderately wooded holes with plenty of opportunities to get birdies. Lefty and righty players are both represented but the right hand, back handed players may find an advantage on the new wooded holes. One of the new woods holes even rings up at as par four, something the old layout was missing. In my opinion three of four new woods holes offer a degree of difficulty that previously was missing at Wills. There are lots of trees and plenty of opportunities to get into trouble if you get off the fairways, especially in the creeks and ditches.

Of course there is still plenty of the "Old Wills" here too. Lots of holes asking for controlled drives with careful approaches, staying dry, and plenty of those finesse shots. Plenty of ace opportunities and several "must get" birdie holes if you're competing. One important thing that didn't change, the course is still lots of fun!

Oh, I almost forgot, the course is now tournament ready!
Cons: The layout still has a long walk but now it's between new sixteen and seventeen. The consolation is that it's much more relaxing and pleasant than the trek from old eleven and twelve. There is also a weird flow at one point at the ten, fourteen, fifteen, sixteen interchange. After one walkthrough you're fine but you might want to note the layout on a map on your first visit. Some of the creek banks and ditches in the back make for some punishing retrievals if you find yourself off the fairways.

I went back and read the cons on the reviews of the old layout and, not surprisingly, everyone agreed that the biggest problem with the old layout was the non disc golfers all over the course. Now that this is fixed, along with some of the other issues that were pointed out, I think most cons will just be some minor pet peeves of the individual players.
Other Thoughts: This is now a great course with all the amenities. It went from a course that I really liked but avoided because of some major pedestrian issues to a course that I look forward to playing. Thanks you Keith, Chris and the Wills crew for all of you hours of hard work to make this happen.

This course is well worth the drive to play when you're in town. There are a couple of other courses within a 30 minute drive so making a day trip to the area is now worth it too.

To get to the parking lot near hole one, turn off Old Milton Parkway onto Wills Road and turn left into the lot to the left of the big gym. Walk down the bridge and you'll see the practice basket. Continue past the practice basket and you'll see the rec pad for hole one. Continue past the rec tee to the opening in the woods to the right for the main pad. Enjoy!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.