Alpharetta, GA
Wills Park Share
Uploaded By: Lewis Hole #12 (Taken 12/2010)
3 / 185ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great Little Course

1    7/7/2013   7/7/2013
Review By: St0rmbringer
Played: 43  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: While there are no holes longer than 400', and there are a couple very easy holes, every hole provides you with a chance to be a hero or a zero.
The course is well-maintained and the signage is EXCELLENT with one exception: going from #16 to #17.
This course would remind you of Timmons Park in Greenville, SC or Sugaw Creek in Charlotte.
Cons: Being next to the creek means conditions could be soggy after rains.
Some holes could stand to have some smaller trees knocked out. Especially #15--I only saw one workable line for that hole and a strong LHBH player would hate it.
Other Thoughts: This might not be a professional-level course but I'd be tickled to have this course as my home course. This course compares favorably to some of my favorite courses in the Charlotte area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent Course

5+    2/12/2012   2/14/2012
Review By: vansmith
Played: 18  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Concrete tee pads
-Great baskets
-Challenging, but not impossible
-Great combination of open holes, tight holes, wooded holes, short holes, water hazards, and difficult holes
-Great location, close to 400 for easy access
Cons: The park sees a lot of action and can be very busy with many other activities on campus like basketball, tennis, baseball, and pool. There is also a trail that runs close to a couple holes, but this isn't that much of an issue. The park is a popular spot for disc golfers, so it can play slow some weekend days because of all the people playing. They also need to cut down several downed trees that have been there a while. Hole 11 is especially clogged with downed trees. These need to be removed.
Other Thoughts: Great course! The new design is fantastic and the tee pads are a great addition. There are water hazards which makes you play with more skill, rather than spray and pray throws.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Will's Park

5+    8/20/2011   8/20/2011
Review By: Disc Golf Dan
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 17.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Will's Park marked the beginning of my disc golf career nearly 15 years ago. It's been about 5 years since the last time played the course. I had no idea that the park underwent a redesign and added completely new holes to the back nine (11-14)! New baskets (Discatchers) and concrete pads have been installed on each hole. I also like that there is now a practice basket at the start of the course. The new design starts right by a set of bathrooms and water fountains. I always loved this course and I love it even more now! Lots of variety between holes, great surroundings/landscape, and East Roswell Park is only about 7 miles away! I highly recommend playing at Will's, it's pretty sweet!
Cons: Some say that it's muddy but I find there's typically only mud if you are in or near the creeks (bring a towel). Lots of surrounding sports; tennis, baseball, playgrounds, pavilions, equestrian and joggers but you usually don't come in close contact with many bystanders. #17 is a bit of a stretch, just stay to the left of the baseball fields and the pad is right in front of a green pavilion.
Other Thoughts: I recommend going early in the day due to the amount of activity the park gets.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Wills Park

5+    2/6/2011   2/7/2011
Review By: Crupie
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fantastic new layout. Begins next to the tennis courts and FINALLY has a practice basket. All baskets are brand new discatchers and all holes now have concrete pads. Great job handing the mud by putting gravel and mulch where it was needed. Cleared out alot of the brush and thorn bushes. The newly added holes (12-15) are good woods holes that are challenging and require a variety of different throws. Good tee Shots on most of the holes can lead to birdie opportunities.
Cons: Still alot of mud and I wish they had worked around having to make the long walkbetween 16 and 17. some of the bridges are just wooden planks and are wobbly. Very busy park so you may need to wait for people to pass before teeing off on some holes. Bad Tee shots can lead to high scores
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is one of my top courses. You need many different throws to be able to master this course, which adds a higher challenge. I live within 5 miles of East Roswell (Annual Atlanta Open Host), Wills Park, and Sequoyah Park....Wills Park is now my Home Course.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Wills Park

1    12/28/2010   12/28/2010
Review By: Tater
Played: 50  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very interesting course, player friendly (don't let water hazards scare you- it is just a creek running through the most of the course). I love what they have done with it.
Cons: The temporary signs are pretty good, but it will be better when they get the permanent ones in. It was kind of hard to figure out where to go after a couple of holes (especially 16 to 17), but we were able to figure it out.
Other Thoughts: Very cool course, and I like where they are going with it. Pads are nice, as are the baskets, and even the temp signs are good. I don't see how the other guys were losing discs, at least this time of year. I can see it being overgrown during the summer, and prickly bushes were definitely present even at the end of december, but there were no inaccessible spots (I threw it into the deepest spot of water I saw on the course, and that was only about 1.5 feet deep and I could get it back easily). But the course was fun, and not hard to choose decent shot selection. There are no "impossible" holes, and the wooded sections give you a good technical work out, and there are several very ace-able shots if you get the right line. Looking forward to some permanent signs and bridges for when I come back down here!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.