Bowling Green, KY 
Hobson Grove Park Share
Uploaded By: sisyphus Hole #1
3 / 241ft. Par / Distance:
tee



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 The Grove

1    3/7/2012   3/8/2012
Review By: RustyStrings615
Played: 36  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 12.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pros: Very nice course. Surrounds a historic mansion...plays alongside a ball golf course for a country club kind of feel...which is different for me...I'm used to playing more "urban" course. The course goes in and out of fairly open but still technical "grove" holes...with mature hardwoods being the primary obstacles...moderate elevation change here and there. There are some cool rocky areas around too...which help give this course a distinct feel. The wooded holes are tight and technical...but fair. The rough is pretty cleared out in the woods too...again most of the trees are mature hardwoods...which is a nice change to many newer courses that are new-growth forests with lots of underbrush and cedars. Most holes on the course are in the 275-325ft range...a few are much shorter and a couple are quite a bit longer...especially Hole 2...which is a legit par 4 if you ask me. Tee pads are pretty good...GREAT signage...even though we had never played the course...we always new which way to go next and where the pin was even on blind holes..because the hole map on each sign was very well done.
Cons: Cons: Not too many for this course.... The tee pads were a little bit narrow...but I had no real issues with that personally...no need for a big run-up on most of the holes. A couple of tee boxes were dangerously close to the previous hole's basket.
Other Thoughts: Other thoughts: We played Kereiakes the same day...I thought this course was a great counterpart to it....both great courses...but very different. We really liked Hole 15...its a shorty...but cleverly designed....the teepad is a V shape...fairways on either side of the trees...giving you multiple lines to the pin. Definitely play this course if you go to BG! Lots of fun!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Pictuesque!

5+    11/6/2011   1/6/2012
Review By: brettricewku
Played: 62  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A great course to add to the BG collection. A good mix between heavly wooded and lightly holes. Good changes in distance so every drive is not the same. Some alternate routes on some shots. Very beautiful course.
Cons: Not many. Can be easy to lose a disc. You throw towards the parking lot at one of the holes. Hard to find if you don't know where it is.
Other Thoughts: Contains one of the hardest holes in BG in hole 2. You make it out with a 4 and are happy. I would rate this the second hardest in Bowling Green not counting Holler. Definately one to check out in BG.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fantastic Course

2-4    2/13/2010   2/25/2010
Review By: discgolphinmafaukner
Played: 28  Reviewed: 13
This review was updated on 10/16/2010
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Hobson Grove is a heavily wooded course circling the old Hobson House in Bowling Green, Ky. The course is heavily wooded; some of the holes are set in wooded areas while the rest run through bigger, mature trees. Elevation plays a big part in adding difficulty to this course. Hole 2 is a par 4 that doesn't really fit but adds a little variety. The new tee signs look great! Plenty of OB and mandos to keep you honest on the more open holes.
Cons: The tee pads could be improved. They are slick when wet and could be longer and wider.
Other Thoughts: If you're making a trip to bowling green, this course is to be included! The course is great and the Hobson House adds a historical feelilng.
Pictures cannot do this course justice in october! This course is a MUST PLAY in October!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and Challenginf Little Course

1    2/13/2010   2/15/2010
Review By: gkeberhart
Played: 36  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of tight woods. Very intricate shots, that make you utilize all of your shots. It isn't a course where a bomber can pull away from the guys that have normal distance. The layout is convenient so that you never really walk to far away from the parking lots in the event that you don't have the chance to complete the round. Concrete pads that are farily long so you dont feel like you are shorted.
Cons: The course wasnt taking well to moisture, it created a lot of mud holes. It also left you prone to slips and trips which could lead to injuries for some. On hole 17 there are piles of bricks right next to the tee box, if you aren't careful you can hit them essestially causing a 0' drive. While it was a pro to have concrete pads, some of them were in need of some repairs and were un-even. A lot of the pads were close to the previous hole's basket or another hole's fairway which meant you had to be on guard for flying objects from all angles.
Other Thoughts: Where did #2 come from, this hole really didn't fit with the rest of the holes. It was much longer and didn't quite match a lot of the shot styles as the rest of the course, regardless it was a fun hole and walking away with bogey is pretty good there. 13 and 14 were interesting holes and made you really work on distance as well as control. It was a great course to play and I would love to play it again.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Bowling Greens Legend

5+    11/22/2009   12/3/2009
Review By: skottyb
Played: 52  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 15.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I play this course every time I go to Bowling Green, I mean everytime. My lady goes to visit her sister so I beg to make a stop here. It plays fast and is very easy to navigate. The course is set around the Old Hobson House, which is a beautiful site to have for a backdrop to the course. The flow of the course is very nice, it starts off at the bottom of the hill with a short anhyzer and then sticks you in the belly of the beast. Hole 2 is a great par 4 esque hole that will test you, a 3 on this hole is doing well. Not that it's impossible but its a well rewarded 3 and happens to be my favorite hole on the course. The course then goes into more wooded shots on the front 9, mostly short but wooded at that. It is very easy to pick up some birdies through here but you have to hit your lines. The back 9 starts off back at the parking lot and gives you a few different looks but mostly its wood shots again. Not that this is a con because wood shots are my favorites. The last time I went there the tee signs were all redone and they look NICE!! Some of my favorites that I have ever seen, it surely knocked up my rating of this course.
Cons: Teepads, some are unlevel and cracked so you have to watch your footing coming off the box. The course is so old though that I can't really fault it for having subpar tee boxes, it kind of brings the whole old feeling too the course.
Other Thoughts: I have heard "rumors" that the local BG community wants to redo Hobson Grove, I beg you to leave it the same. I love the course with it and Keriekies I could play them ALL day. Thanks Bowling Green for your amazing courses, I just wish I could have the buffet of disc golf that you all enjoy.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  The Best in BG

5+    12/1/2008   2/18/2009
Review By: claydjordan
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Challenging wooded course with an excellent mix of back hand and forehand shots. A good variety in hole distances.
Cons: Very few. None that I would say takes away from teh character of the course.
Other Thoughts: There is a sewage treatment plant right next door, folks. I will say that this is rarely a problem, but there are days when you could easily make the decision to play somewhere else.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.