Bowling Green, KY 
Hobson Grove Park Share
Uploaded By: SimonCarr  
Hobson House



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Fun loop around a historical mansion

2-4    3/1/2014   3/2/2014
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 163  Reviewed: 139  Exp: 3.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One of the tightly wooded courses at Bowling Green, Hobson Grove wends its way around the historical mansion hill overlooking the Riverview Golf Course on the west side of town. The 18 holes encompass straight, left-and right- turning lanes, and are generally shorter than average, but with an S-shaped 500 footer to keep players humble. Three holes (9, 10 & 10) have recently been shifted and slightly upgraded in challenge, but mostly to pull miss- and over-throws away from the small parking lots and driveways up on the hill.

With DGA baskets throughout, there are actually more than 18 holes here, because the local club has three other layouts for hole 13. But with 13 being a beautiful, tight downhill shot to a landing zone, followed by a guarded lane to the pin, tournaments usually drop the short hole 12 and add 13A, a tight 280 foot lane just beyond. The use of elevation throughout the course is really well done, but not brutal: shorter uphills (mostly), and rises and ravines adding challenge and the occasional blind pin position.

Tee pads are all concrete and level (though of varying age and size), signage is informative (if getting a little old), and there are benches and trash buckets where needed. The flow of the design is pretty good, though first timers might want to bring a map for the transitions from 3 to 4, 4 to 5, and 9 to 10. After you've played here once, you appreciate how the walks between tees are not too lengthy, especially when you realize you just made an interesting looping run around the hill.

In all, Hobson Grove is a very enjoyable experience for the Recreational to Intermediate player, because almost everything is 'par-able'. Bigger arms won't have as much fun, as there isn't a whole lot there to 'distance' themselves from the rest of the pack. Advanced and Open players are typically able to apply their improved technical skills and variety of throws to stay out of trouble and grab a handful more deuces, though.
Cons: Though the shorter tees remain on 9 & 10, and could be safely played by shorter arms, the old 18 tee pad should not be used (it's now in the fairway for hole ten). Personally, I don't mind, but there aren't any 'Big D' holes on this course, if that's an element you demand. Finally, some of the benches, tees, and signs are showing their age. They're not bad yet, but it might be an area the local club will have to tweak in the next decade, to keep this a 'must play' course for this area.
Other Thoughts: Used annually for the spring "Woods of Bowling Green" tune-up tournament, I've now played here twice, but haven't seen it in full summer bloom. I would assume the shots get tougher and tighter, and the rough fills in quite a bit. This course plays on the upper half of the nice selection of 8-10 courses in the area, as it is used for the upper divisions for the BG Amateur Championships annually.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Found our groove at the Grove

1    1/11/2014   1/11/2014
Review By: dad_of_dg_junkies
Played: 31  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 2.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/12/2014
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. The variety of shots were the trademark of this course for me. Not only did I get to play most of my discs, but the course required/allowed every type of shot.

2. I really enjoyed the layout of the course. The use of the terrain, elevation change, and the rocks provided a nice course. Some of the holes played close together, but we were alone on the course so it was very quiet.

3. Most of the holes have huge risk/reward feel to them. If you go for the baskets birdies can be had. It also can bring the big number in as well. I could see where the short arm or older player could play safely on this course and shot a good number.

4. The tee pad were mostly in pretty good shape and had good grip to them.

5. The baskets are mach 3's and were in decent shape.

6. The signage was pretty good on this course. Since it was our first time at this course, we had to depend on the signs for distance and layout. We had to walk down the fairway on a few holes to spot the baskets, but that was a product of the shape of the holes and not the accuracy of the signs.

6. I've seen people call this course short... it didn't play short to me. # 2 was 475 ft par 3 and #9 said it was 305 ft but played into a stiff wind and up a very steep slope. It played more like 405 ft.
Cons: 1. Some of the tee pads are cracked
2. A couple of holes play very close to each other
Other Thoughts: The family and I drive to BG quite often to enjoy the MANY good courses in and around the area. This one was a REALLY NICE place to play. Since we played it in the winter, the lines were wider than in the summer and some of the other listed problems (bugs, thorns and poison ivy) weren't problems. The rocks on the course gave it a different character for me. Didn't really know what to expect as we were driving into the park, but the experience exceeded my expectations. My family will definitely play here again.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

DG on a historic piece of land

1    10/14/2013   10/15/2013
Review By: gmoney1984
Played: 97  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 1.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. A lot of variety

2. Very Historic place with a beautiful large home/old school mansion. I enjoyed reading about the Hobson family near one of the tee pads on the front 9.

2. Good use of elevation with the tee pads and pin placement

3. Next to a ball golf course which I thought was kinda cool.

4. Plenty of obstacles

5. Really old awesome trees
Cons: 1. A few spots in the woods where your lines are kinda crappy with too many trees in the way.

2. Hole #2 I believe it was is really tough. Its about 500 feet and a par 3 thru a really tight wooded area that finally opens up.

3. Sticker bushes in a few different spots

Other Thoughts: The disc golf course was solid but just knowing there was a lot of history on that land and the fact there is now a disc golf course on it I just thought was really awesome. It does appear to be slightly run down though in what looks to be the bad side of town but we didn't run into any trouble at all and I would def come back. This was stop #5 of our 111 hole day and took two people 1:54 minutes to play

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

love this coarse

1    5/20/2012   5/5/2013
Review By: KeepRaving
Played: 11  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.6 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: challenging hole, narrow tree ways, calls for a lot of different shots, good tee pads and baskets.
Cons: next to a golf coarse watch out for golf balls, sometimes crowded
Other Thoughts: nice coarse i got my first ace here.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Fun course

2-4    4/12/2013   4/17/2013
Review By: wake911
Played: 44  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 13.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -variety of hyzer/anhyzer shots
-elevation changes
-true par 4. easy 3 if you throw a good layup drive, but tough 4 if you make an errant throw
-not muddy, even during rain and the day after big rain the ground wasn't bad at all, very impressive.
Cons: -all short holes, never used more than a midrange on the whole course.
-parking lot behind #9 and next to #10 can be a bit nerve racking.
Other Thoughts: Fun course, i bet the difficulty level is MUCH tougher once the leaves come on the trees and a few of the lines get tighter. So for easier play, do it in spring. I bet the fall is tough with all the leaves off the trees.
I really enjoyed the course (not so much my playing though). It is a nice match to some of the longer courses in Bowling Green.
Slow turnovers (rhbh) are a HUGE asset to have in your arsenal for Hobson Grove.
My favorite hole was #4. Downhill slow turnover. I nearly aced it in practice, and failed miserably in my 2 tourney rounds, haha.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and Technical

2-4    3/30/2012   4/5/2012
Review By: asjzn6
Played: 109  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 9.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tee Signs-Good
Course Flow-Alright
This course is fun with some good scenery. Most of the holes are reachable with mid-range or putter. A putter is a very smart choice on this course. Lots of different options for routes as you play through the course. Hole 2 is a lot of fun
Cons: Tee Pads in need of repair. I noticed some baskets not being used down by 13 and 14 I guess they could be used someone kind of a waste. Some fairways are poke and hope holes which do not reward golf shots.
Other Thoughts: Course is good course to be hot at then it would be easy to shoot 6-7 down. Hole 2 is sweet its not my shot but a forehand roller i think would be the shot to get to second level on that hole to get easy 3

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 The Grove

1    3/7/2012   3/8/2012
Review By: RustyStrings615
Played: 36  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 12.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pros: Very nice course. Surrounds a historic mansion...plays alongside a ball golf course for a country club kind of feel...which is different for me...I'm used to playing more "urban" course. The course goes in and out of fairly open but still technical "grove" holes...with mature hardwoods being the primary obstacles...moderate elevation change here and there. There are some cool rocky areas around too...which help give this course a distinct feel. The wooded holes are tight and technical...but fair. The rough is pretty cleared out in the woods too...again most of the trees are mature hardwoods...which is a nice change to many newer courses that are new-growth forests with lots of underbrush and cedars. Most holes on the course are in the 275-325ft range...a few are much shorter and a couple are quite a bit longer...especially Hole 2...which is a legit par 4 if you ask me. Tee pads are pretty good...GREAT signage...even though we had never played the course...we always new which way to go next and where the pin was even on blind holes..because the hole map on each sign was very well done.
Cons: Cons: Not too many for this course.... The tee pads were a little bit narrow...but I had no real issues with that personally...no need for a big run-up on most of the holes. A couple of tee boxes were dangerously close to the previous hole's basket.
Other Thoughts: Other thoughts: We played Kereiakes the same day...I thought this course was a great counterpart to it....both great courses...but very different. We really liked Hole 15...its a shorty...but cleverly designed....the teepad is a V shape...fairways on either side of the trees...giving you multiple lines to the pin. Definitely play this course if you go to BG! Lots of fun!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Pictuesque!

5+    11/6/2011   1/6/2012
Review By: brettricewku
Played: 62  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A great course to add to the BG collection. A good mix between heavly wooded and lightly holes. Good changes in distance so every drive is not the same. Some alternate routes on some shots. Very beautiful course.
Cons: Not many. Can be easy to lose a disc. You throw towards the parking lot at one of the holes. Hard to find if you don't know where it is.
Other Thoughts: Contains one of the hardest holes in BG in hole 2. You make it out with a 4 and are happy. I would rate this the second hardest in Bowling Green not counting Holler. Definately one to check out in BG.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun in the Woods

5+    10/31/2010   12/4/2010
Review By: sengenberger
Played: 25  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is built around the Historic Hobson House. Most of the holes are reachable for most skill levels, the only one being out of place is hole 2. Most holes have very narrow gaps or barely a gap at all. That being said, you have to hit your lines pretty much perfectly on almost all the wooded holes or else you will be fighting for a par. There is a good combination of wooded and open holes along with some elevation changes that keep the course interesting.
Most of the tee pads are in good condition, and some (8 and 9 are the two I remember) have the line of the fairway in the tee pad's concrete (I thought that was neat). This course also requires a good mix of backhand, sidearm, (and sometimes) overhand shots in order to navigate its tricky fairways. The course is absolutely beautiful when played in the fall and all the leaves have changed color.
This is the course in Bowling Green that you go to if you want to learn how to throw a midrange properly. Shooting well here in practice will really improve your technical game. No two holes throw the same, which is something I love about the course.
Cons: The course is very messy due to the lack of trash cans, and some of the tee pads are cracked. Some of the tee pads are not level, so watch your footing. Bugs can be an issue in the summer, as can poison ivy, so bring bug spray and watch your step. If you are there when the wind is blowing the wrong way, you will catch a whiff of the sewage treatment plant right next door.
Other Thoughts: There are a few ace run holes, mainly being 4, 15, and 17. I love to empty my bag each of those because they are fun to throw at. The elevation changes at 9 and 17 are great, being uphill and downhill respectively. Do not be alarmed if you see police cars rolling in and out of the park, as there is a police shooting range behind the park. This course and Preston Miller are both great wooded courses, but this one is definitely the best.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Old school course for everyone

5+    7/26/2010   7/27/2010
Review By: weeman
Played: 227  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 10.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/6/2012
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course traverses the land around the Historic Hobson House which dates back to pre-Civil War times. Seventeen of the eighteen holes are reachable in one throw by players of most skill levels. With that being said, you have to hit your lines as this is a very technical course that can be very punishing with errant throws. Slight to moderate elevation changes on almost every hole. I find a good balance of hyzer and anhyzer shots throughout the course. Some open holes with the rest being heavily wooded. New tee signs have been installed within the year and several new tee pads have been put in in place of old cracked pads. The course is easy to navigate with the front nine being on one side of the Hobson House and the back nine being on the other.
Cons: I didn't think the rough was too overbearing but there is quite a bit of poison ivy and such out there. Also, the bugs can be quite annoying so don't forget your bug spray. There aren't many trash cans available on the course so the trash build up can be unsightly and unnecessary.
Other Thoughts: There's not a lot that can be done about it other than don't be out there with the wind blowing the wrong direction, but there's a waste treatment facility directly adjacent to the course. It is visible from holes 5 and 6 and can stink up the course if you're unlucky. Also, a new entrance road to the police shooting range has been built right near number 5 so don't freak out if you see anywhere from one to eight cop cars rolling in or out during your round. The firing range is also audible on the back side of the course around numbers 12 and 13 from time to time.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.