Bowling Green, KY 
Hobson Grove Park Share
Uploaded By: SimonCarr Hole #12
3 / 224ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
  Update for 2009

2-4    2/6/2009   2/26/2009
Review By: dpennycuff
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: At the end of last year the signs (which were very bad), were replace with very nice DGA sponsor level signs. The maps are pretty decent if you have not played there before.

This is a very good course to work on your short game control and accuracy. There were only 2 holes that I pulled out a driver, and that was a monster for 2 hard left shots. In other words, the holes are of moderate to short distance, and the fairways are not too narrow for first year players.

If I was playing multiple courses for the day, I would pair this with the Lovers Lane course (for driving), or the Preston Miller course (for even tighter wooded fairways)
Cons: I played this course my third time ever playing disc golf, and obviously my game was no where near ready for this course. The course destroyed me so completely that it took me several months before I was ready to give this course another try. So, if you are very new, do yourself a favor and skip this course until you have a month or so of playing under your belt.

The low areas of the course take awhile to dry out, so if it has rained in the last couple of days, be prepared for some muddy areas.

In the summer the roughs do grow pretty thick with their fair share of briers, so wearing pants would not be unreasonable.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  The Best in BG

5+    12/1/2008   2/18/2009
Review By: claydjordan
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.9 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Challenging wooded course with an excellent mix of back hand and forehand shots. A good variety in hole distances.
Cons: Very few. None that I would say takes away from teh character of the course.
Other Thoughts: There is a sewage treatment plant right next door, folks. I will say that this is rarely a problem, but there are days when you could easily make the decision to play somewhere else.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Classic Course

2-4    10/4/2008   2/4/2009
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 17.9 Years
This review was updated on 2/26/2009
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It is a fine older course- shorter and more technical, but there is always a fairway. This course is one of the more challenging courses in Bowling Green. Excellent variety from hole to hole. Distinct setting as it plays around the historic mansion and next to the ball golf course (which also contains a separate longer 9 hole disc golf course).

This course seems to be much less crowded than others in the area like Keriakes which sees a lot of traffic.
Cons: There was one hole where a wayward disc and wayward golf ball might cross paths- some ballers in golf carts almost, unintentionally, ran over my friend's disc. But now with the new DG course at the ball golf course, golfers should be more aware of what discs are.
Other Thoughts: Older, but still in pretty good shape for an old course. This is one of the better courses in BG. I have played it a few times, and I look forward to playing it again!

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    6/28/2008   12/19/2008
Review By: tamahawk
Played: 50  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 7.9 Years
This review was updated on 1/1/2010
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hobson Grove is one of the more scenic and visually appealing courses in the Bowling Green area designed mainly for accuracy and control, and built around a magnificent historic centerpiece. The technical layout will provide ample challenge for any skill level.

General Course Info:
Hole Avg: 263ft
Length Variation: >200(2), 200-299(13),300-399(2), <400(1)
Elevation: Mostly Flat w/Minimal Elevations

Course Essentials:
-Baskets: MachIII, single position. Baskets in good shape.
-Tee Pads: Small (but adequate) concrete tee pads, single position.
-Tee Signs: Nice, new tee signs on all holes, recently updated.

Course Design & Layout:
Hobson Grove is built in/around the thick woods surrounding the Hobson House, a late 1800's home tied to the history of the civil war. The course is comprised of 2 9-hole loops (each returning to the parking area) which provide a smooth and uninterupted flow that is easy to navigate.

The hole average is just under 265ft/hole, but what the course lacks in length is easily compensated for with the tight (but fair), technical and semi-technical fairways. One of the greatest features of Hobson Grove is the creative combined use of open spaces and tree lines to create holes which force a player to have both distance control and line control off the box. By this I mean that several holes have tee boxes in the open that throw to baskets tucked into the woods with tight gaps to navigate, and vice versa, tee boxes that throw from the woods through a narrow tunnel and tight gap to baskets in the open.

Elevation changes are minimal throught the course, but used effectively in the design. There is good variety in the layout mixing it up between technical and semi-technical holes of varying length. Pin placements are strategic, but accessible. Many of the pins are located in/around tree clusters which provide adequate protection for the baskets, and even a well-placed drive can sometimes leave you in a situation that requires some creativity with the putter to get the deuce.

Maintenance & Amenities:
-Course is well-maintained year round.
-Benches and trash receptacles are located around the course.
-Large wooden sign w/course map near first tee.
-Parking lot with easy access to holes 1,9,10, and 18.
Cons: -Some tee pads worn, cracked, and uneven.
-Thick foliage outside some fairways in the summer months.
-Lower elevation areas have a tendency to retain water.
Other Thoughts: Hobson Grove is one of the top courses in the Bowling Green area. New players may find the narrow fairways a bit frustrating, and more experienced players will have to rely on control and creative shot-making to score low here, length offers no advantage. Overall, a fun course with a great layout. The more I play this course, the more I appreciate it's design and challenge. Hobson Grove is a classic, must play course in the Bowling Green region.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best in BG

5+    9/1/2008   12/1/2008
Review By: SimonCarr
Played: 60  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 10.2 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I lived in Bowling Green for several years and this course quickly became one of my favorites. Many of the holes are very technical and require extreme accuracy. The holes are short, but since they are so technical it can be easy to shoot over par here. Players that have a good midrange game will likely do well here.

The course is picturesque, well maintained. It is usually not nearly as busy as Keriakas or Lovers Lane. In the extremely hot and humid summer days, this course is cool and shaded.
Cons: Could be a longer course, but is short given the fact that it was installed 30 years ago.

Can be frustrating when a drive ricochettes into the thick underbrush.
Other Thoughts: My best round ever was -6, a couple days later I shot +4. It is not an unfair course at all, but is very demanding. People playing this course for the first time will have difficulty. It takes several rounds to find the best routes on some of these shots.

I would rate this in between 3.5 and 4.0.. It is a favorite of mine, and one of the best in BG.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Short and technical

5+    7/6/2008   11/18/2008
Review By: CStaples
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 14.2 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Hobson offers a good variety of shots and is set on a very attractive property.
Cons: The signs are poor but the course is still navigable. Some of the schule is a bit thick.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course to play as a warm up for the neighboring Riverview course.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Toughie/Goodie

1    10/25/2008   10/30/2008
Review By: tdortch
Played: 59  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 8.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A lot of folks seem to gripe about the technical aspects of this course, but this is the kind of course that will make you better! This course has a lot of very tight fairways and if you miss your shot, you're in the woods on most holes. I played it for the first and only time (I'm from Paducah, 120 miles away) in the Nat's Halloween Tournament and was hating my day as I shot a +6, but I've been thinking about the lines I found, the shots I missed and so forth since I got home. That's usually the sign of a good course to me. I will play it again the next time I'm in BG. There are a few holes where you can air it out, but even the "long" ones aren't that long.
Cons: The signage is bad, as has been mentioned. I played with some local guys, so that helped, and since it was a tournament, I had time to hike up and look at a lot of the baskets. Big arm guys will hate it because there just won't be any shots for them. Some of the holes just seem literally impossible, but again, I was playing in a tourney and that always ups the pressure and all.
Other Thoughts: A great course to learn/practice your approach game. Some uphill and downhill shots, tunnel shots, doglegs in each direction, blind shots, flick, BH, etc. This course will definitely test you. Someone mentioned the other nine also. This is where the open division played their final round. At its longest, it's over 17000 feet (if you play the 9 twice at the long pads), but you play with a cart on a ball golf course. I think it would be pretty cool. It's called Riverview.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Bring your axe

2-4    10/18/2008   10/20/2008
Review By: buzzinb
Played: 19  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 6.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Extremely challenging course that will make you cry "Uncle" if you don't keep your shots straight. Very scenic park with many of the holes winding through heavily wooded areas. Good use of the available land and good variety of holes that dogleg in either direction. This is a "thinking mans" course where weenie arms can showcase their control game.
Cons: Many of the t-pads are short and uneven. Can feel monotonous durring the mid stretch where you are constantly fighting to get out of the woods with no break.
Other Thoughts: Not the best course in BG but worth playing if you really like a challenge.
It looks like they are planning on putting new T-signs in but as of yet there are only new, empty frames.
There are an additional 9 holes with available cart rental built into the adjacent ball golf course for a fee.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad, not great.

1    7/26/2008   9/11/2008
Review By: upfromtheashes
Played: 39  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 9.9 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Shady, uses elevation change in some place. Sits on a beautiful piece of land.

One really cool tee pad is shaped like a V, and you can either play it to the left or to the right.
Cons: It's an old course and is showing it's age. Signs are lacking, teepads are old and small. This surprises me because every other course I've played in Bowling Green has fantastic signs.

Like most old courses, it has a lot of short holes. I'm sure this course would play a lot differently if it was 1978 and we were using Wham-Os.
Other Thoughts: Not a bad course, but there are much better courses just a few miles away.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Tight course with nice elevation

3/30/2007   2/1/2008
Review By: dscglfgeo
Played: 42  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Nice course with some sweet elevation changes. You can shoot under here just as easly as shooting over. Roads come into play on more than one hole
Cons: Lack of tee signs is the main cause to the lower rating on this course easily a 4 if they put in some nice signage.
Other Thoughts: They added some distance to a couple of holes the last time I played it, making it a little more tougher.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.