Nacogdoches, TX 
Lake Nacogdoches DGC Share
Uploaded By: notapro Hole #1 (Taken 12/2010)
3 / 216ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Scenic and Challenging with One Black-Eye

1    12/24/2013   12/24/2013
Review By: bluedodger
Played: 21  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - shot variety, you have to bring your A game to birdie almost any hole; anhyzer, hyzer bombs, tunnel shots, down hill, up hill, pure distance and on and on

- scenery, it is amazingly beautiful

- mostly new Discatcher baskets, marked with numbers

- bathroom and practice basket on site, benches and trash cans on most holes

- elevation changes so much that playing it feels much more like an athletic endeavor than a walk in the park

- not a whole lot of other people traffic on the course at all (I'm that is different in the summer though)
Cons: - Navigation is AWFUL!, its a shame that such an amazing course is so poorly marked. They could at least mark the tee pads with a wood post with tee number and distance painted on it. If the local club (Nac Crushers I believe) ever want to make this an elite course they need to do something about this. Someone has spray painted directions on various trees, but its not consistent.

- gravel/redsand tee pads instead of concrete

- decent amount of litter, which is probably more attributable to the lake park goers than the disc golfers
Other Thoughts: Nacogdoches could host a legitimate A-tier tournament if they would put concrete tee pads in and some kind, ANY kind of navigation on their three 18 hole courses (Pecan, Pioneer, and Lake Nac).

This course could be Delaveaga level if they would address these issues. I really enjoyed it otherwise. Some amazing holes are out there! Every birdie feels like a monumental achievement.

It would easily be 4.5 - 5 range with the tee pad and navigation issues fixed.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Got the Nac!

1    10/20/2011   10/21/2011
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 238  Reviewed: 129  Exp: 11.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lake Nacogdoches is a wild, fun course slicing through trees and bombing up and down hill sides. Level of difficulty is high on this one, but so is the fun factor. This unique terrain is the perfect place for a disc golf course, and the design is well thought out. The course doesn't get near the water at any point, and is mostly out of the way of other park goers. All tees are marked with a numbered post, and are dirt mounds that are consistently clean and well leveled. Many of them have benches, and also a few trash cans. Baskets are nice new Disccatchers placed in tricky spots on most holes. There is a practice basket near the first tee, as well as picnic tables and a clubhouse.
Cons: The only things that gave me trouble here was lack of familiarity. Many holes that are blind from the tee box, and I was guessing wrong on direction often. Also, finding the next tee required searching on a couple of occasions, despite some signs to guide throughout the course.
Other Thoughts: One of my favorites, in Texas, or anywhere. I can tell a lot of hard work went into installing this course, and it will only improve as it becomes more established. The rating would be even higher if concrete tee pads, and some additional signs were added. I had trouble making pars through much of the day, but it can be done if you are making good shots and maybe get a little lucky. Playing this course is highly advisable to any serious disc golfers in the vicinity.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the trip

5+    7/18/2011   7/20/2011
Review By: adamlamar
Played: 16  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The tightly wooded fairways and changing elevation make this a challenging course, but one you will want to play again and again.
You could play it with only a midrange if you wanted to, but it's got a shot for every disc you've got in your bag.
The new bridge on hole nine is a welcome improvement over the previous log bridge.
During the spring, a lot of work was one clearing out the fairways and paths.
Plenty of picnic/restroom facilities at the park if you want to bring the family or host an all day event. Easy access to fishing and swimming areas as well.
Cons: No signage, and there's a couple of holes without a bench at the tee box. Dirt teepads don't bother me, but this could be a con to some.
Other Thoughts: Bring water. If you're a big guy, bring 3 bottles and keep one in a cooler in the car for when you're done. Early mornings or after 6 p.m. are the smart tee times until the fall rolls back around.
If you can't throw lazers on command, laying up is super smart, unless your on the #11 teepad.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Potential, Potential, Potential

1    2/26/2011   2/27/2011
Review By: CTRobuck
Played: 45  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6.8 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If you like a good challenge this is your course. This ranks up there with Dogwood (Lindsey Gold) in Tyler. I don't feel it is as difficult as Dogwood but it is damn well near it. The course is still kinda new so it needs to be broke in a litttle more.

Elevation change out here is awesome. Huge throws off cliffs, down alley-ways, and even a nice Ace run on the first hole. (Me and a couple of friends played for the first time and the first throw of the day dinked right off the basket)

Set on a great piece of property, and has tons of replayable value. It's one of those courses you won't be able to get enough of. That is until your worn out from the hiking.

It is a woodsy serene place, so throw a few and then sit back and relax and enjoy nature!

I will definitely be back, this place will be awesome in the near future.
Cons: I don't mind the walking but some people won't like the up and down hiking through the hills.

I carry my bag but I have a few friends that use carts to save their backs, but be warned, this is not, I repeat IS NOT a cart friendly course.

Don't like the red clay tee pads, dirty and slippery. Also some of the tee pads don't seen to be long enough for the average run up.

A couple of the holes are a little unfair, but again, this course is still being shaped out and I am sure this will be addressed.
Other Thoughts: All in all this was a great experience. I can't wait until this place is in full swing with tee pads and all.

Don't be discouraged by any of my Cons, you have to go give this place a throw. I drove out from Tyler and it was worth every minute!!!!!

I will definitely be back!!!

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Going to be great

1    1/15/2011   1/16/2011
Review By: chalos13
Played: 33  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 7.4 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Definitely a pro level course in my opinion, very difficult. Another reviewer said if you can hang with 18 over you're doing well your first time out, I was 25 over and my brother in law was 17, so it was a good day.  Excellent use of the terrain, pretty much every hole has an elevation change, many of them drastic. Hole 11 is one of my favorite holes of all the courses I've played.
Cons: The elevation changes make for a great course, but at least half the holes can't be seen from their tee boxes. No concrete tee pads, the last third of the holes had a post by the pad, but no number on the post like the first 10 or so. No signs to help with navigation, got lost after hole 3, three of us walked just past the pad and didn't see it.  Like the other Nac courses it gets really muddy, and the tee pads seem to be redish clay/mud.  Many of the cons are due to it being a new course, but the other two courses in town do not have concrete, and the signs are missing in several cases. I'm afraid that the tee pads will erode if not built up with cross ties, I hope they just get concrete here.
Other Thoughts: This is not a beginner friendly course, nor is it easy to play without having a guide. We got lost after hole 3, hardly ever knew where the basket was when we were teeing off, and played in this order by accident 1-13, 16-18, 15 then 14.  This flow seemed to work better and we were 2 shots into hole 16 before we knew we weren't on 14.  Good course, my rating will be higher when it's done.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Lake Nac, one of the best in ETX

5+    12/18/2010   12/24/2010
Review By: pablo.diablo
Played: 54  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.7 Years
This review was updated on 12/15/2011
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Super challenging, plenty of big-time elevation shots, best scenery around with lake in the background, secluded hidden gem, trails and features are improving all the time now.

2 of the baddest elevation holes I've ever played, the one where you throw towards the Lake is supreme...take flight!

Nice practice basket at the start of the course to play warmups.

This may be my favorite course. Austin Bible Ridge is very similar in terms of difficulty/hole length, terrain, and elevation changes. No pretty lake in the background there, though!
Cons: Take food and plenty of water, nowhere close to eat!

Need to get the concrete teepads and hole signs up BAAAD. My friend pointed out that there is not a single concrete teepad in the City of Nacogdoches. I hope they go up here first b/c this course SMOKES the other 2 main ones, Pecan and Pioneer.

At least 3 of the holes are DEFINITELY Par 4's (in this golfer's opinion) but not labelled that way. People that throw 450'+ may not agree but most people would. Mentally, I play Holes 9, 13, and 18 as Par 4 so I don't get too frustrated. I don't understand the aversion to marking something a Par 4 in Disc Golf. You should be rewarded with a Birdie if you get a '3' on those holes without a doubt. 99.99% of golfers cannot get even remotely close to putting range on them after their most perfect drive ever thrown. If so, then you are probably an Immortal.

No really good ace opportunities after Hole #1, just an observation not a complaint. The 1st two holes are the easiest by the way. It's almost like it's intentional to not have any easy Ace runs.

Most baskets are blind to the teepad. You need to have played the course before to know where several of the baskets are located so you can throw the right line. Or they need to put signs on the holes.

Only 2 of the holes are remotely threatened by the lake itself. Also, the water level is very low so there's virtually no threat now. That's due to this insane 2011 drought we're having in Texas, though.

It's already my favorite course in East Texas but needs the teepads for you to have better consistency out there. You know you're foot slips out a little and you're in the woods for 3 throws.
Other Thoughts: This course is physically punishing, it is pretty tough to play 2 full rounds here unless you have some way to replenish your energy between rounds. If you play in the Summer then you better take 2 waters per round! It's very long with some brutal climbs and can sometimes take 2.5 - 3 hours to play if you're with a group. No joke.

First time out I would HIGHLY recommend you play teams/doubles, it is a FANTASTIC doubles course and you'll be glad to have a 2nd shot with a lot of the difficult holes here. If you break even then you guys are on fire!

Not recommended for playing alone unless you like spending large chunks of time searching for throws, the more eyes the better as it is heavily wooded! Leave your tye dye discs at home and bring bright orange, yellow, and pink.

Once this course gets finished and played more it will be hands down the best in East Texas in my opinion.

4.5-stars with concrete teepads, then it would be 5-stars if there was more water involved.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 The West Side

5+    12/12/2010   12/24/2010
Review By: XxInnovaxX
Played: 46  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6.2 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The technicallity, the variation, the elevation...Whats not to love?!?! This course is by far one of the best in east Texas. from the thread the needle holes, to the wide open scenic overlook hole, no matter how short or long, theres always a fight to save par. No extra love for righties or lefties, its pretty much even throughout.

The diffulculty level of this course is hard to come by in this area. DEF a pro in my book. some say it is comparable to the dogwood course in Tyler, i have yet to play there, but i say it compares to DFW'S Gateway Park or Z-Boaz

-The ElEvAtiOn changes!!! nearly every hole has at least a little bit. whether its a slight up or downhill slope like holes 4 or 8 or throwing off a hillside, just check out the pics for hole 11.

-Brand new Discatcher Baskets!! with a big thanks going out to Mr. Grayson Middlebrook for donating a big chunk of change to help out with the funds
Cons: -not for beginners.
-temporarily no signs(in the works)
-still needs some breaking in, but that will come over time(i.e. rough fairways, tee boxes, trimming, trash cans etc..)
-hard to navigate for first-timers
Other Thoughts: Secluded in the woods right on Lake Nacogdoches, the scenery is just as nice as the course. Holes range from 216'- 555'. most holes are heavily wooded, with a few wide open holes to really let loose. watchout for the wildlife!!! deer everywhere and BEWARE several snakes were spotted this last summer.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.