Franklin, NC 
Macon Early College DGC Share
Uploaded By: bjreagh Hole #5 (Taken 7/2012)
3 / 325ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Needs work

1    5/18/2014   6/26/2014
Review By: LeeLK
Played: 43  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 6.2 Years
Pros: Baskets in good shape. One or two holes were pretty unique (big down/sidehill shot on #2, #4 was a cool sidehill shot through the woods).
Cons: The course just seems a bit hard to follow and not well planned out. There are a few good holes at first...but then you throw across an open field twice in a row. Most tees were natural and had no signage. Just needs a lot of work.
Other Thoughts: Looks like there's a decent bit of land here, just wish they could use it a little better.

 Looking good

5+    6/26/2013   6/26/2013
Review By: Lispunc
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course seems to have come a long way since the first few reviews. There have been long tees added for a majority of the holes and short tees too. I was pleased to see that course was in great shape and very playable(not one disc lost!). The local dg'ers have been doing most of the maintenance on the course and it looks like they are taking pride in their work.
Cons: By the looks of the layout there seems to be a large amount of room around the existing holes to put more holes. Some of the holes seem kinda bland and need more trees or obstacles.
Other Thoughts: If this course could draw more backing from the community I believe they could have something really special!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

5-17-13 Good Course

5+    5/17/2013   5/17/2013
Review By: Rudolph
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/26/2013
Pros: -That it is in Franklin, and has a friendly crowd.
-It has multiply tees (long and short).
-The course has a little bit of everything, woods, open, long, short, up/down hills.
-Lots of replay ability
Cons: -The long tees are a little harder to find sometimes.
-One bad hole #4 is more luck than anything.
-When it has not been mowed the long grass will eat discs.
Other Thoughts: It is a great little course with a friendly community.
If you need a guide feel free to hit me up.

It's a solid course...when Mowed

5+    8/18/2012   8/27/2012
Review By: das1330
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
This review was updated on 11/29/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - It's got a nice variety of shots that go from wide (Holes 1,5,6) open, to uphill (3), downhill (2), wooded (4) and it, short (7,8,9).
-It now has Long tees for most holes making some holes very challenging.
-Some holes favor righties, some favor lefties, so a variety of shots can help.
- It's a quick play, a group of 3 or 4 can plow through easily in an hour or less
Cons: - at times the rough can be overgrown, BUT the franklin community of disc golfers have done lots of leg work to improve the course adding in benches/steps/and keeping it mowed.

- Water is in play on 5 and 6, and even if you did get it in the creek, the creek can be tricky to get into and also discs tend to move away quickly in it.
Other Thoughts: This course has seen marked improvement from the community, sunday doubles and it's fairly well maintained all by the players, and it's gotten a lot better, i've moved it to a three star review simply because it's generally playable now.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not as Bad as I thought based on its disc score

1    8/18/2012   8/19/2012
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 256  Reviewed: 130  Exp: 12.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- That it's There. Franklin is an extremely small town in an isolated portion of the state. Having an entry level course in the region is a great thing for a small community, especially when it's attached to the local high school (or Early College).
- Nature Trail Disc Golf Information. A few years ago, I created the Nature Trail Disc Golf Course concept where I added nature messaging to the tee-signs and scorecards on a course I designed. Thus, I was ecstatic to see that the tee-sign posts had nature information on them. It appears as though the school kids (presumably) painted animals and plants on the tee-sign posts (complete with their names and Latin names) so people could identify common species -- White Oak: Quercas alba, Red-Tailed Hawk: Buteo jamaicensis (which I saw plenty of both). Each tee sign had 4 species on it. Way to go Macon Early College!
- Great Use of Barren Land. The course was built on an unwanted piece of land which turns out to be great for disc golf. A lot more could be done with the land if they ever wanted to expand the course to a full 18, or redesign some of the holes.
- That it's NOT as Bad as it's Disc Score Indicates. Based on the course's DGCR disc score, I would have never driven all the way to Franklin to specifically bag this course. I just happened to be in town for a badminton tournament and, being a course bagger, I had to bag the course. Glad I did. Although not great, this course is way better that a disc or 1 disc.
Cons:
- Hole 4. Besides not really having a great "FAIRway", Hole 4 played on an extremely steep hillside with a small cliff / drop off at the right edge of it (potentially dangerous). I threw a decent shot and got a bad roll (kind of hard to prevent) and almost went off the cliff.
- Kiosk Placement. As you walk from the parking lot, you can clearly see the kiosk, with a tee-pad right behind it. However, that's Hole 2 Hole 1's tee-pad is back near the parking lot (along the dirt road that leads to the kiosk). Why didn't they put the kiosk near Hole 1?
Other Thoughts:
- Tall Grass. According to the park personnel, they had just mown the week before I arrived, so I did not have any troubles. However, if I had played here a week earlier, it might have been a different story. My enjoyment of the course would have been far less and my disc score reflected in that. I imagine that in the summer it gets overgrown and that during the rest of the year the course plays fine.
- Overall. I enjoyed Early Macon College's disc golf course a lot more than I expected (based on its disc score). A few of the holes were pretty decent, offering great risk reward opportunities and utilizing property features well (elevation and thick rough). I certainly wasn't mad at the course and would probably even play it again the next time I'm in Franklin for a Badminton Tourney.
- My Score: -4

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Old Siler Farm DGC

1    7/7/2012   7/23/2012
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 17.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is the only 9 hole course in the area spanning out a wide radius. There are 9 baskets here and 9 distinct holes. The individual holes themselves aren't horrible- they are not repetitive, offer challenges of tight fairways, open/woods, long/short. #4 was interesting as it is basically along the top of the cliff. #5 and #6 are along the greenway by the river, but the river is not in play- the rough will eat it first!

There was a map on the kiosk (turned out to be very useful.) Some of the baskets had faint arrows point to the next tee.

The holes are very spread out and you will probably have the course to yourself.
Cons: This course had too many: A quick summary of it is it was really difficult to navigate, without a map it would be impossible, super tall grass everywhere, no next tee signs, and more frustrating than fun.

The course is set on an unattractive piece of land that looked like a forgotten wasteland in places and sometimes smelled of sewage- a disappointment as you are surrounded by the Appalachian Mtns. everywhere you look.

Tall grass was everywhere, and the fairways, were very narrow and just mowed in a sea of tall thick grass- without a spotter I would have lost several discs and we still had trouble at times. The "paths" between holes also had tall grass- several times there were no paths- basically mowed fairway islands in the middle of a field of tall grass and there are long walks to each hole and the next hole is never in sight of the previous one.

The hole by the public garden and greenway by the river smelled like sewage.

There was a map on kiosk that I took a picture of and had to refer to it several times, there were a couple of spots where we felt lost in the middle of nowhere and if we had no map we would have been wondering around because there is greenway path and a couple dirt roads that added to the confusion as some times they are the path and sometimes they are not. There was no path to hole #4, too many choices after #6 looking for #7, and the path to #9 was a good rain away from disappearing.

Missing tee signs for #1? #6 was pointed the wrong way (towards #8 at the top of an overgrown mountain, so don't panic like I did and think the hole is impossible, the correct basket is the logical one you see on flat ground.

Hole #4, evan though the cliff is unique, is dangerous because the fairway just drops off ~20' on the right.
Other Thoughts: This was one of the worst courses and disc golf experiences I have ever had. It took a long time to play 9 short holes- tough to find the next hole, tough to get to the next hole, tough to find discs- uggghhh! If someone were to play this course as their first course, they would probably never play disc golf again as it is way more frustrating than it is fun. I have played run down or poorly designed courses that at least has some element of enjoyability, but this course offered very little.

It may be a whole lot better in the winter season when the tall stuff is gone or thinned out, but I would not recommend anybody playing this course in the summer. (the pics already uploaded were taken in winter, I added a few to show what it looks like in the summer.)

My immediate thought was to give this a 0.5, but playing a 2nd round would have eased a few frustrations and the course was probably at its worst condition during the time of year I played so I decided to go with a 1.0, but even at its best it would still be no better than a 2.0 if that.

For locals this course is all you have and navigation is not as big of an issue after the first round. Out-of-towners- this is NOT where you want to play in NC, there are too many excellent courses to waste your time here.

The kiosk called this course "Old Siler Farm Disc Golf". Hole 1 and the parking area is to the left and behind the Cecil L. Groves Center, which is the building on the left once you enter the complex. Also, Macon Early College is for advanced high school students, and not a multi-building complex you would expect with most colleges.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Updated Info

5+    6/15/2011   6/22/2011
Review By: REICHE
Played: 50  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 19.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: New tee boxes have been made on holes 3, 4, 8 and 9. Tee # 8 should be finished this weekend. Tees have been built by local disc golfers and we have also see that the course has been mowed and trails have been weed wacked to make finding everything easier.
Cons: The course is very short and many discs have ended up in the river. Not to worry, make sure your information is on your disc and you should get a call when its fished out of the river.
Other Thoughts: Come on over and see the new improvements the course is coming together and be on the look out for more upgrades to come. There has been a lot of talk about alternate tee boxes to have a full 18 holes.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 unplayable

5+    5/4/2011   5/4/2011
Review By: robbiepitzer
Played: 118  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 13.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Not much good to say but the two holes without four foot grass everywhere ( holes 4, 5,) were pretty good. Hole 4 is a fun short hole, with a nice left to right tight fairway.Hole 5 has a nice placement with the rushing river right behind it.
Cons: Holes 1,2,3,6,7,8,9 all have fairways that havent been touch since last year. They are unplayable, unless you enjoy finding your disc in four feet grass.
Other Thoughts: I loves this course last year but I guess that who ever was incharge of the course, is not in charge anymore.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  good potential

5+    8/1/2010   4/13/2011
Review By: noasparks
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Elevation change, scenery, location
Cons: We need to organize more support and get this course up to par!
Other Thoughts: I organized the implementation of these 9 baskets after over a year of designing and changing locations several times (due to different factors) . The college and county are into devoting more and adjacent land to a back 9, all we are really lacking are the baskets to claim the area. I moved to Denver just after getting the last of the 9 baskets and signs (except for 1) installed. I left the course in the hands of disc golf extraordinaire Joe Davis. If anyone is interested in helping Joe work on the tee pads, installing long tees, working on fairways or anything else, please contact FRiends Of the Greenway (FROG), Franklin, NC.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A work in progress

2-4    3/15/2011   3/22/2011
Review By: Sadjo
Played: 101  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 34.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The best part about the course is it is an area that is Disc Golf deprived. The nearest course to this community is more than 30 minutes away and there are a decent amount of players in the area. It's also located near to a small community college, which could grow the number of players in the area.

It's a short, technical course and you can get a round of nine in about a half hour. Nice views and you play close to the river but the river doesn't really come into play.

A few challenging holes and you can tell, when playing, that when the course 'grows up', it has the potential to become much nicer than it is right now.
Cons: It's very short and not well kept up...right now. The park itself is a work in progress. It appears that once funding and time allows, the park and the course will be really nice.

There's a few spots on the course where its not quite clear which direction the next tee is.
Other Thoughts: Franklin, NC is a great town for a weekend get away. There's a performing arts center that brings in great shows, a gigantic fun center that kids will love and lots of great restaurants.

Franklin is the Gem Capitol and there are a lot of gem mining for the kids (and adults too) and it you like hiking or kayaking, you'll love this part of Western NC

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.