Linwood Township, MN 
The Ponds of Linwood Share
Uploaded By: adampietig   (Taken 3/2012)



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Lots of Water and Not Much Else

1    9/18/2011   3/27/2012
Review By: coolbrees15
Played: 601  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 9.7 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course plays on through a fairly marsh area with many small ponds and drainage ditches running through it. The holes for most part were very straight and only a two or three of them required a left or right break. The fairways themselves were fairly well defined and were mowed adequately. A few of the holes make creative use of the terrain. Hole 6 the signature hole on the course made very nice use of a pond and Hole 7 even though it was not very long distance wise made good use of the dense trees in the area.

Each hole had a tee sign at the long tee the short tees did not have any tee signs presents. While there were no next tee signs at the basket of each hole navigation was not really a problem.

The distances on the course fluctuate from hole to hole and presented many different distances. Some of the holes were less than 180 feet in length and there were holes around 400 feet in length. This provided a good balance of requiring different types of throws.

The baskets were in good shape and were generally clearly visible from the tee except for a couple holes.
Cons: While the course makes use of lots of water on the course not all of the water being used is fun to play through. There were several holes where the water seemed to be in play only because there was not enough space to put a hole anywhere else.

There were several design issues with the holes as well that just detracted from the overall enjoyably of the course. The hole 8 with the blind tee shot across a marsh with a wooded walkway I would imagine would be unplayable for parts of the year. Hole 9 also seemed a little dubious. It was narrow fairway with water running on the left side and a paved highway on the right. This would seem to be a safety issue because most RHBH players would take a hyzer line that would put their disc out over the road.

While hole 6 is the signature hole of the course there are multiple issues with it. I thought the hole was beautiful to look at with the pond and trees protecting the basket. The problems with the hole is that the tee area is not level and is sloped up part way than sloped back down to the tee line. The trees that protect the basket were only trimmed of branches for about the first four to five feet. This seemed a little unfair since the tee area was higher than the basket and a good shot could take unlucky bounce off a tree branch and end up in the pond.

Bugs were also an issue on the course though this is not a major issue it is still worth noting. The course also had grass tee areas which in my book is always negative.
Other Thoughts: This is the second course I have played that was designed by Fairway Flyerz and I am not a big fan of either of them though the Ponds of Lindwood clearly is a much worse course than Lochness. What would seem to be a beginners course because of the length of some of the holes really is not one because of the abundance of water which could eat up many many beginners discs. There really is not much of reason to play this course unless you are in the area and want to get a round in or are trying to bag as many courses as possible.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 It was OK...

1    7/30/2011   7/30/2011
Review By: zenn9
Played: 23  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.6 Years
Pros: Interesting use of hazards. Fun short course.
Cons: needs better t-pads as well as better fairways. Overall everything is too easy less the ponds.
Other Thoughts: If it was used more or mowed better there wouldn't be too much issue with this course.

 WET

1    5/3/2011   5/3/2011
Review By: timj5304
Played: 108  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 10.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: *Lots of water holes
*Unique course
*A quick 15 minute, 9 hole course
*Outhouse on site.
Cons: *No parking
*Lots of flooding from the rain
Other Thoughts: I would say this course is a very unique course. The main thing is water is a factor in 8 out of 9 holes. Being early in the year, no issue with bugs at all but there were wild turkeys as to be expected up this way. I would not drive up just for this course but if you happen to be up this way or looking to hit 2 courses up north of the metro, do North Branch and this one.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Stinkwater

5+    5/15/2010   2/9/2011
Review By: JoshEpoo
Played: 66  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/11/2011
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice Innova Discatcher baskets.

A good layout for the space available. You can run through this thing fast and bang out a quick 27 holes in less than an hour and be way under par to boot.
Cons: The course is ungroomed. It has an abundance of three things: grass, mosquitoes, and stinky pools of water. As the warm season progresses, it just gets worse on all fronts.

Each hole is basically just a hyzer or straight shot for a RHBH player. The only thing that changes is the distance, and even that doesn't change much. Despite that, it's not a great course for beginners because of all the hazards.

The main challenge this course presents is finding your disc in the grass or water, should you not park your drive on every hole (which is entirely possible for anyone who can throw 400').

The parking lot is just a small dirt area where you can park 4 or 5 cars. However, that is plenty of space for the amount of traffic this course usually gets.
Other Thoughts: It's a decent 9 hole considering it's location. It's way off the beaten path for most people. As a result, this place has just a small population of regular recreational players.

If you live within 15 minutes or plan on driving past it, consider playing it, but bring bug repellent. Otherwise, skip it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course......would be better if they mowed

2-4    9/15/2010   10/5/2010
Review By: dispatch1313
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/15/2010
Pros: This course was high on the fun factor for me. Some of the holes were long enough that you could really let 'r rip with the driver. I liked the hole were you had to throw over the pond. Its not that far, but if you miss you can kiss your disc goodbye.
Cons: I don't think they ever mow the fairways at this course. Searching for your disc can be difficult at times. Use bright colors! Also hole #8 is the stupidest hole I have ever played. You have to make a completely blind drive over some large bushes while missing marsh on either side and land your disc on a 10 ft wide fairway. You'll know what I mean when you see it. This could be fixed with a little brush clearing. Also hole #9 has a hidden water hazard before the basket. Make sure you take a look where it is before you throw.
Other Thoughts: With a little TLC (mowing and a little brush clearing) and some decent teepads this course would be a 3.5 for me.

 

1    9/4/2010   9/5/2010
Review By: E_Rock25
Played: 74  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 4.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good hole placement, this course could be really nice if someone took care of it. The placement of some of the holes is really challenging and makes shot selection hard. I like the fact that there is water that comes into play on 4 of the 9 holes.
Cons: The upkeep on this course sucks really bad. It's overgrown full of sand burs and has bad trails through tall grass that will eat your disks alive. There are no cement pads and if you dont know where the pins are it can be hard to figure out. Hole 4 is over a thick swamp with tall bushes and some trees no lane to the pin. I would not recommend this course to anyone who can't handle bugs and sand burs.
Other Thoughts: I do think this course would be more playable in the spring before the grass gets tall.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A bunch of good holes here.

1    9/11/2009   9/18/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 740  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Course uses a variety or terrain and foliage. It starts out down a road with rows of evergreens on both sides of the 30' fairway. Then it opens up into a prairie with mowed fairways. Then over a pond and wetland area set amongst the prairie. Then it heads back towards the wooded area with a long left to right holes over a wetland and around a dense buckthorn infested wooded area. Then you head back into the tighter woods. A short throw over a pond, another throw over a wetland (in spring I could imagine it being very wet) and then one more partially open hole with woods and a hidden pond by the basket. All in all great features on this course.

2) Ponds and wetlands are used very well without being too punishing. Beginners should play the forward tees to avoid losing discs, but even from the pro tees most of the water isn't too punishing.

3) #6 is just a great hole the ultimate risk/reward playing only 155' with 140' of it being water carry. There really is no way around the pond without risk of losing a disc in the tall grass, but you can throw deep and hope you hit something.

4) 2 sets of tees are helpful to allow the beginner to have an easier course while allowing the better players to play the bask tees.

5) Course is very well designed to take advantage of a lot of the properties features. There are 2-3 wetlands, 4-5 different ponds in play, wooded holes, prairie holes, and some pretty cool holes.
Cons: 1) No concrete tees. Grass on some, dirt on others, and soem gravel on a few more. Inconsistancy is worse than just being bad!

2) Tee signs aren't great.

3) Gravel road on #1 leaves a little to be desired because you are almost certain to land on the road and damage your discs. If you miss the road well good luck putting out of the woods!!!

4) Hidden pond on #9 could grab some discs because of the need to hyzer out around the big cedar tree before the basket. I guess a walk up the hole for a first timer is important, I just don't like to see hidden penalties!

5) Signage is horrible, if you didn't see th ebig yellow ribbon around the discatcher baskets you might not find this course. No sign for the park, no directions on how you should park although I doubt it is used very often.

6) I was there when it obviously hadn't rained in a while, I guess I would like to see a little bit more of the prairie holes mowed . . . especially in the dry season, I can see why you may not be able to mow some of those areas if it is wet but when it is dry a little bit wider and more of a fairway would be helpful on #2, 3, 4 (but especially on #3). Miss that fairway and you are in wetland like 2-3' grass that is tough to find your disc in!
Other Thoughts: What the heck are the big churchlike concrete tables all about?????

I came here after there was only one review and it was ranked a 4 disc. It is not a 4 discer, I did enjoy some of the holes but it cannot be ranked that high in my opinion. I see someone else has ranked it since and gave it a 3 which is where I am going with my rating. It is missing a few key components to be a 4 disc course as I mentioned above.

This course could be better with a little more maintenance and some decent consistant tee pads. I like the design and I think there are 4-5 really good holes on this course (4, 5, 6, 7, 9). 8 could also be better if they cleared a little of the stuff in front of the tee it is too high to allow for a fair shot at the basket. Anything thrown over the shrub will hyzer and stall out and end up in the woods left. I also think #3 could be a better hole with a better defined fairway.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not for beginners

2-4    9/6/2009   9/6/2009
Review By: Guurn
Played: 82  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 28.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/18/2009
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a good 9 hole course on a mostly flat area of field, woods and water with alternate teepads on 6 of the holes.

I titled this not for beginners because many of the holes use water hazards as out of bounds, anyone that doesn't have pretty good control of their drives will lose discs. That being said it is a good course that flows well, and has reasonable signage. Teepad placement was well thought out. If you didn't want to hazard the water you could avoid it by playing the shorts. Even though water was in play on 5 and 6 it isn't a real issue unless you are a beginner and can't reliably throw 120 feet.
Cons: The teepads were just grass. On hole 9 the road was used as an out of bounds area. If you are going to have any real chance at parking the long tee you will most likely hyzer over the road. Not a really well thought out design. There is also water just left of the basket (on hole 9) that you can't see until you get very near it.
Other Thoughts: The parking area isn't really marked at all and neither is the course. I found it by simply using my gps to get to the area and then looking for baskets. They are Innova discatchers btw. All in all it is a good course and if you are traveling from the east or north heading for Blue Ribbon you may want to make a quick stop and play 9.

Surprisingly, even though there was water everywhere I didn't have any issues with bugs.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Overall great course

2-4    6/19/2009   6/19/2009
Review By: galbrecht08
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very fun and challenging course.
Not too many hills.
Cons: Only 9 holes
Hidden Water; Walking the hole out might be smart
Other Thoughts: This course is tucked in a small part of the woods for the latter half of the holes. The first couple holes are in the open somewhat. It is well worth going to for only nine holes. Some holes can be surprising because water may be there when you dont expect it.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center