Layout Extinct

Milford, MI 
Kensington Metro Park Share
Uploaded By: FoleyT Hole #4
3 / 239ft.   3 / 328ft. Par / Distance:
The famous 'tunnel' near the 4th basket



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Black Locust Complete

1    7/21/2009   7/21/2009
Review By: discin248
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The new layout is nice with hills and trees
Well maintained
worked some of the old holes into new course but moved baskets
Course has been marked as the old one was not
Cons: Pay to play $2 day $50 annual
No water hazards (might be one but was dried up when i played)
Often crowded
Other Thoughts: Got lucky showed up the day befor the new course opened so we did not have to pay
Bring bug spray
The new course has been designed very nicely I have played the old course plenty of times so its nice to have new holes it is also longer than the old couse it is now 27 holes
Aced hole number 4 on the old course but hole has been removed


1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Confusing...

1    6/27/2009   6/28/2009
Review By: DaPiCkEL
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 12.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/13/2009
Pros: -Variation Of Hole Layout
-Large Course
-Beach/Water Park
**Installing "Black Locust"

**
http://www.discgolfersr.us/fo...ust-dg-course
Cons: -No Signs Or Markers
-Large groups
Other Thoughts: There are already markings on the new tee posts.

 DO IT

1    5/31/2009   6/1/2009
Review By: bygwyllay
Played: 85  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 7.6 Years
Pros: Awesome layout takes you over and under (see the tunnel pic) one of the biggest parks I've ever been to.

Nice variety in the holes, especially in regards to elevation. Several holes' baskets were either up on a hill or cradled in a low-lying valley. There were also several "paths" to choose from on each hole let you play it safe or go for the sweet shot through the timber.

Twenty-four holes challenge your endurance. Bring some beer to refuel.
Cons: VERY crowded. It was the nicest Sunday of the year, but still. Man. I'm talking groups of fifteen, twenty people. I highly recommend playing this one on a weekday with a few friends.

No signs. Anywhere. This would have been cool if there had been only one path to follow as you wound your way through the woods. But after almost every basket, there were two paths you could take. We had to keep asking for directions, and no one really knew for sure. Some people were talking about "bonus holes" or something. A hole is a hole. Come on now. It was just really frustrating. Take some spray paint and mark the tee people! This would have earned at least a 4/5 if it weren't for the total lack of markings.

Some doucher behind us kept teeing off before our group had finished the hole. Bad form, guy.
Other Thoughts: Overall, a very enjoyable experience with different holes that will challenge both your drives and your short game. A nice outing to be had by all who play.


 

5+    5/20/2008   11/25/2008
Review By: DirtyMittenDG
Played: 108  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 10.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/7/2009
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Hole Variety/Course Layout--
Good variety (Moslty favors "accurate" big arms). Alot of holes are long and straight with thick woods on each side, but still has a decent amount of wooded tech holes. Also some decent elevation on a few holes.

Course Atmosphere--
Really nice!! In a huge metro park with alot of activites! Park is so big that it has its own highway running through it.
Cons:
Course Navigation--
No signs and very hard to navigate for 1st timers (accually impossible for 1st timers). Map is a MUST (print off here, no maps at course).

Amount to Play--
$4 park fee, and I heard there will be a playing fee on top of that as of 09' (not sure the amount yet).
Other Thoughts:
Course Maintenance--
The course itself could be in better condition, but the metropark is so big that its understandable. There are concrete tee pads on every hole.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A good place to have fun

4/10/2008   4/10/2008
Review By: Pastime
Played: 23  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.7 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Most of the holes are open fairways with trees on each side. The Pro and Am tees lets people of all skill levels pay and have fun.

Nice concrete pads!

The configuration lets you play 9, 18, or 24 holes, it may be confusing the fist few times out but if you check out the map on this site you should be able to figure it out. When you finish Hole 9 you can choose to go left to play 18 or go right to play 24.
Cons: The holes/tees could be marked better.... A nice map you be helpful. More trash cans would be nice to keep the litter down.
Other Thoughts: My first time out I didn't know about the pro and am tees and half the time I was playing from the Pro tees which I should have been doing.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.