Milton, GA 
Northwestern Middle School DGC Share
Uploaded By: craigd Hole #4 (Taken 1/2011)
3 / 132ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Great for Kids and good warmup for Wills or Sequoyah Parks

2-4    7/31/2011   8/25/2011
Review By: Jeffrey2636
Played: 39  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 3.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great introduction to Disc Golf. Holes are short and reasonable. The entire round can be played with a an approach/putter.
Great course for youngsters who can't throw far.
The course is within 10 minutes of Wills park and provides a great quick warm up for Wills park. (Kind of like an extended putting grreen;-))
Innova Discatcher baskerts are new and shiny!
Cons: The pros above could be considered cons as well. It is a very short 9 holes course. Most of the shots are straight away with a few upshots.
The course cannot be played during school hours so plan accordingly.
Other Thoughts: We stop by this course on the way to Will Park. My 8 year old loves this course because he can par some holes and even birdied one so it is a great confidence builder for youngsters. I like to think of this course as an extended putting green. A place where I can leave all my discs in the car and take my putters only and practice longer range putting. Don't go out of your way just to play this course but if it's along your route either to play Wills Park or Sequoyah Park, I'd stop by and get a putting round in here first.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun fun fun 'til the teacher took my teebird away

2-4    1/8/2011   1/9/2011
Review By: billnchristy
Played: 64  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 5.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun, made for kids and kids can play and have fun. Our 8 year old actually got a couple 4s and the wind was blowing 20+mph so its safe to say she could par a couple on a calm day.
New baskets, always a plus.
Some decent variety and mild challenge, even for the big kids.
Aces can be had on all holes with a good shot.
Cons: No amenities.
6 holes.
Other Thoughts: This little school course is a blast.
Hole one has a nice path and hillside basket placement for challenge.
Hole 2 plays to a shelved hill slightly into the woods, easy upshot distance but you could have some danger.
Hole 3 is the longest hole and its uphill. I couldn't reach it with my banshee but the wind was evil that day, normally a gazelle would probably park it. There is a large goal post kind of structure in between the basket and tee.
Hole 4 made me want to bank off the tree and see if I could deflect into the basket. Its a short upshot/putt with a slight uphill.
Hole 5 is a tight shot for either type of approach. There are large bushes on the left cutting off a wide lefty approach and trees to the right of the basket choking off your right hand approach. This is a fun hole.
Hole 6 is the nemesis hole. Another short upshot, this one downhill with the same big bushes in play as on 5. These are very thick and when you overshoot the basket you add a stroke.

We used this course as a warm up and as a way to get our daughter to play a round. She used her pegasus which worked so well on the windy day.

This is a great place to shoot for aces and to practice your upshot game.

On a normal day I would bring a putter and maybe a cobra or fuse for the long shot.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Course for the PE Department

5+    5/1/2011   1/5/2011
Review By: keith johnson
Played: 168  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 18.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/1/2011
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A very good beginner disc golf course / and upshot practice course for the more experienced players as the course offers elevation changes of varying types on each hole [uphill, downhill, basket on slope, basket on ridge, up and over a rise, and sidehill] with trees coming into play on the sides or behind the baskets on 5 of the 6 holes. Being the first course on a school campus that isn't a College or University will hopefully get the kids in the middle school and High School across the road (both schools share a main drive) the access to play the sport. The course is also visible to over 2000 students and parents each day as they drive or are bused by the course twice a day!

Adeed on 5/1/2011 - Tee marker 4X4 Posts with numbers on 3 sides and distances on the tee side have made it easy to navigate the course and to know what tee flags are for which hole.
Cons: Now that the tee markers are in there are no cons for who the course was designed for.
Short upshot / putter course for experienced players.
Other Thoughts: This course was designed to be able to be played by 30 students in PE class at one time while also allowing the 2 teachers to be on each side of the tennis courts to keep an eye on the students from one location which is what gives the course the little bit of walk between holes 2-3 as you must walk down the length of 2 tennis courts to reach tee 3.
If you park close to the gym and walk down the stairs, it is a short 300 ft walk to tee #1.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 The Perfect Kids Course

1    1/2/2011   1/2/2011
Review By: craigd
Played: 92  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 6.2 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One thing Atlanta's disc golf scene was missing was a true kids course. Sure, there's Chamblee Church's relatively short 9 hole course but even it has holes that can be too much for a kid who has never thrown a disc or hasn't developed a longer range drive yet. Northwestern Middle School's course fills that gap perfectly. Holes ranging from 130 to 210 feet are just right for the intended players. The holes aren't quite long enough to be frustrating and with only six holes, the course is not long enough to be overwhelming either. It's also got just the right amount of trees and elevation changes to introduce disc golf to these kids effectively. Between hole three's "long" uphill shot to six's short and lazy, slightly downhill shot there's a fair mix of hole types. It really is a perfect representation of the larger scale courses these kids will hopefully be playing in the future. Also, the more experienced players are sure to notice and appreciate the brand new Innova DISCatchers as well. Might as well get the kids used to the bogey band early!
Cons: The pads are only marked with flags at this point. If the flags are removed for whatever reason it would be very difficult to tell the intended course layout. Hopefully a more permanent way of marking them is in the works. It's also a little marshy in spots after a good rain.
Other Thoughts: The first time you play you might get a little confused on the layout. As I pulled in the parking lot I saw baskets so I parked near where the baskets were. That is where you'll find three through six. To find holes one and two, walk behind the tennis courts near the walking track. From then on it's easy to navigate.

I am not sure how to rate a course like this. For the purpose of the course, and for its intended users, I would give it a four. After all, it's only lacking some permanent pad markers. But for the users of this site, I guess they would be misled if I were to rate it that way. Given what most serious golfers are looking for it could be as low as a one. I'll just give it a two for now.

Being that the course is only minutes from Will's Park, it could be a good place to warm up if Will's is crowded. There's enough room in the area that houses holes three through six to take some drives, play a little safari golf, or work on those upshots. Actually, you could make up a few cool holes in the area if you get creative. If you're playing at Will's then you might as well come play the course if for nothing else just to pad your "played courses" list. It is actually kind of fun going for all the ace runs, enjoy!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.