Thunder Bay, ON 
Birch Point Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: whitechocolate Hole #12 (Taken 9/2010)
3 / 236ft.   3 / 302ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Basket



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Awesome!!!

5+    8/4/2014   8/4/2014
Review By: dethyr
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I play this course daily, I have nothing to compare it to as it's the only course I have played but having looked at many other courses online, I would say this course is great. It's a challenging course, lots of trees and some differing terrain. Absolutely gorgeous area and always another group of friendly people playing a round nearby.
Cons: The 5th hole is a serious water hazard. I wouldn't call this a con, I would just take care when driving on 5 as the lake loves to eat discs.
Other Thoughts: I would strongly suggest that anyone in the area, play this course.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/10/2014   7/10/2014
Review By: Hyzer sosay
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great location, quality signs and map, nice mix of dog leg rights and lefts. 5 and 12 are sweet water holes with a nice opportunity to really let loose. First 9 holes have some nice rolling hills and valleys and challenging lines. Back 9 low canopies create a challenge with tight lines. Lots of trees everywhere.locals are very cool and always willing to play with anyone. Course is always well groomed and tons of eye candy all over the path.
Cons: Could be some benches on the holes you have to wait for people to clear the path, but the candy makes it tolerable
Other Thoughts: Once of the nicer courses I've played don't pass through Thunder Bay and not play birch point!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not bad for the first in the city

5+    8/23/2014   9/23/2013
Review By: Gu5To
Played: 38  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/24/2014
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I've been playing this course since they first installed it, before tee-pads and signs. Although I was familiar with the course already before the signs went up, the tee-pads were a welcome addition. The signs definitely help new players to familiarize themselves with the course. The park is generally well groomed by the city and the people in the park are always friendly.
Cons: The course is very LHBH or RHFH focused and lacks elevation change. It is also split by a walking path, which is often busy causing delays in your round. The slightest bit of moisture makes the pads very slick.
Other Thoughts: It's great to have a course up there!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful location and course

1    8/28/2013   8/28/2013
Review By: ricklev
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great walking course with nice grass and attractive landscape. Some challenging holes due to location of baskets.
Cons: A little hard to find for someone from out of town. I came from the south end of the lake, thinking I could get to the course by coming up the eastern side of the lake from the south. That didn't work. Instead, I had to go clear around the lake. That worked fine.
Other Thoughts: I was on vacation, so I was just looking for a fun course to take a walk and enjoy the sites and disc golf. I knew it was probably a nice park, but it was a really nice park. Good job Thunder Bay!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great Course

5+    6/27/2013   2/11/2011
Review By: CarsonWebber
Played: 37  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/21/2013
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good balanced course. Some long bombs and some tech short stuff. The course has signs now so its easier to navigate.
Cons: Well used park with a walking trail, so you have to wait to shoot sometimes.
Other Thoughts: I liked this course. It has a beautiful setting and the people are really nice. Not a lot of people have heard of disc golf before in Thunder Bay, but people are getting into it. This leads to a lot of beginners out on the course, which can slow play.

The only real hazard is on 5, but there is plenty of OB if you know the layout. Overall could be a bit more challenging, but great for a town that has a lot of beginners and the only disc golf course for 350 km around.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.