San Antonio, TX 
Nani Falcone Community Park Share
Uploaded By: philguard Hole #1 (Taken 10/2010)
4 / 292ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Ho Hum Recreational Course!

1    4/3/2015   4/3/2015
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 712  Reviewed: 663  Exp: 36.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The ciurse basically plays in a clockwise direction around a large grassy field. There's only a few trees and not much in the way of elevation to contend with. The tee pads are nice sized concrete and the baskets are Discatcher models with the yellow bands. There is a course map at the beginning. The tee signs are a little strange. Thy don't give you any of the basic information par or distance. What they do say is: Goal 1 and then a little green map.
# 5 is less than 100 feet and some proud moron signed the basket for his ACE! What to go Schmuck!
Cons: The course is way short on creativity. Every hole is wide open except # 8 which forces you to actually make a decision.
It's quite a hike from the parking lot out here to the course.
There's some kind of construction going on by # 2. Might actually make that hole more interesting.
Anyone above a rec player will quickly become bored with this course.
Other Thoughts: What Park's Department beaurocrat is resonsible for the tee signs? Has this person ever been to an actual golf course? Goal # 1???????

I played this course at sunrise one morning this week. It was still dark as I left the parking lot and I noticed this homeless guy sitting over by the playground. I was kind of worried about my car let there. When I returned to my car after my round, I noticed that the homless guy had turned into a bronze statue! At least the bronze statue guy wouldn't be messing with my car while I was playing golf!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    7/21/2013   8/1/2013
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 146  Reviewed: 119  Exp: 3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A good short wide open course with a little bit of elevation on a few holes. The baskets are old but still hold their structural integrity.

Navigation is easy. Even with the easy navigation there are tee signs with distances at each hole plus a big map at the beginning of the course. There are also big concrete tees, a perfect size.

When introducing new players to the game this would be the course to take them to. It is relatively short minus a few holes and is very wide open.
Cons: Being wide open is also a huge con. The layout of the course is very uninspiring besides the fact that it sits on a great piece of land, it just lacks the trees necessary to make this course even remotely challenging.

There was about a quarter of a mile walk from the parking lot to the first basket but aren't we here to walk anyways? Walking never killed anyone.

Hole 5 is just silly. It is literally a long putt to the basket. Talk about a very unfulfilling ace when it does happen and I am sure it happens often.
Other Thoughts: This course deserves a 2.25 rating. However, this course is not as good as some of the other courses I have ranked a 2.5 so that is why it is a 2.

There are virtually no courses over on the west side of San Antonio compared to the championship-rich east side. This course passes and can not be made much more difficult.

It is a neighborhood course that is good to introduce players and I believe it does it's job well.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nani Pani Fo-Fani

1    8/23/2012   8/23/2012
Review By: TheBearcat
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.8 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Open and easy. Take your girlfriend or grandmother... or a newbie whos never played. The location is pretty easy to get to and not very busy with through traffic. has bags for doggy doo-doo available.
Cons: not very challenging for someone who know what theyre doing. no bathrooms.
Other Thoughts: its a little walk away from the play ground at the parking lot but its by no means horrendous or a deterrent.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner Course

1    7/31/2010   8/2/2010
Review By: bigghigg
Played: 40  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course was easy to follow and seemed to be well maintained. There was a nice mix of long and short holes for a little variety.
Cons: There isn't much in the way of obstacles or technical shots. You can get in a little trouble along the perimeter, but it's hard to get into too much trouble anywhere else. Probably won't hold your attention for very long.
Other Thoughts: This is nice course to take someone new to disc golf, but would probably get boring in a hurry for more experienced players. Was pleasantly surprised by the course conditions when we played after reading several warnings about high grass and mud. I'm not from the area so I don't really know how the weather had been, but it was dry and well maintained when we played.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.