San Antonio, TX 
Nani Falcone Community Park Share
Uploaded By: philguard Hole #5 (Taken 10/2010)
3 / 110ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Beginner Friendly Course

5+    1/9/2014   1/27/2014
Review By: DPGRAY1962
Played: 13  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very open and therefore beginner friendly. Concrete tees with good signage. Ample parking at two different entrances.
Cons: This really isn't a challenging course and the only trees are along the outer edges of the course. A walking path around the course is often busy and therefore often one must wait for people to pass by. Being so open means wind is often an issue.
Other Thoughts: Easy course for beginners and with some par 4 holes one can practice their drives.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nani Falcone

5+    4/30/2011   5/1/2011
Review By: jamesmcgowan
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.6 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Difficult to lose a disc. This course is very open, you can throw a terrible shot, however it's very unlikely that you'll lose a disc from it. There's only 2 holes (1 and 9) where you can put it deep into trees. Otherwise you may just have a long seconds shot, but I'd take that anyday over having to throw down for a new disc.
- Clean. Never have I played here and really had a issue with trash. Maybe the occasional bottle cap, but that's it. There's 2 trash cans one at hole one and one at hole five, which for a 9 hole course isn't bad at all.
- Good if you want a quick 9. Due to factors such as difficulty of losing a disc, rounds are quick. The course isn't particularly long either. My longest round here was 37 minutes (phone scorecard app keeps track of time), and that's only because I had a 1st time playing family in front of me for the last 4 holes who didn't let me play through. Rounds are usually about 25 minutes.
- Opportunities for your 1st ace (or more aces). Hole 2 I've hit the basket once. Hole 5 I've hit the basket 3 times and actually had one ace on. Hole 8 I imagine not being terribly difficult to hit a ace on either. If you have good range on your drives you could hit some on the Par 4s. The longest par 4 here is 370 feet if I'm not mistaken, which a lot of people can potentially drive.
- Closest course to UTSA campus. A lot of people here are college students, if you're wanting that study break and enjoy disc golf this is a plenty good course for you.
- Good for lower level players. If I was to being a low level player out to play, from the courses I've played this would be the ideal place. Since there's little hazards and no very long holes (longest is 544 or close to that). Along with a generous Par (a lot of holes would be lower par at other courses). This means the course won't be a discouraging experience for those level players.
- Cement pads. Makes it easy to know where to start on holes. Specially great since the occasional hole may lack a sign to properly show you length, and direction of a hole.
- Course map. It doesn't give actual distances on it, however it is nice because it gives you direction, and a tough idea of approximate length hole to hole.
- Well maintained. The course is fairly commonly mowed. Never has the grass been terribly long when I have played. Best part is it's mowed early in the morning (around 10AM based off the one time I've been there). This is usually before most people play so they won't get in the way.
- Parking is nice. If you park at the actual park entrance (where child's playground is) there's a parking lot, there's usually no difficulty getting a parking spot (I've never parked on the street at the main entrance). Also the unofficial disc golf entrance (neighborhood at hole 5) always has parking since it is a neighborhood (just be courteous if you do decide to park there.

Favorite holes:
6) Slight uphill, about 325 feet. The basket has a ring of trees around it (each tree is about 10-30 feet out) (about 6 or 7 trees total). I like this cause if the drive hits one on the fade it can add a nice challenge to attempting to hit par for the hole.
2) This is actually a nice par 3. The hazard are pretty well set up here. You need to throw some curve and get it between 2 trees if you use a backhand throw. Which I've found pretty fun thus far.
1) There's a good amount of hazards, which can add to the difficulty of the hole. This is a forest on the left side. Disc fades may put a decent amount of players into the trees.
Cons: - Not very challenging for more experienced players. I realize I also included this as a benefit for lower level players. However, it's definitely a for those with more experience. Holes such as 5 are almost like a practice basket to more experienced players. Largely due to it being a straight line very short distance. Unless you play tournament par (everything is par 3), instead of course par (lots of things that are par 4) you'll not be really challenging yourself.
- Some holes lack signs. Fortunately there's the cement pads. This is especially frustrating due to the fact some holes such have the wooden posts of where a sign used to be.
- Lacks uniqueness. Nothing really sets this course apart from others. Everything is just a very wide open hole, with the occasional tree. The only true variance is the minimal differences in distance.
- A track. Right by many holes there's a track for joggers at times this is very frustrating, due to the fact you can hit them if you misthrow. Walkers especially, since often times they're unaware of the fact you're trying to play, and thus you have to wait for them to be at a safe zone.
- Doesn't have a nature feel to it. One of my favorite things about disc golf courses is the nature feel to it. Example going through a lot of trees, lakes, etc. This course really doesn't have any of that. The trees really just feel like they're there you it isn't too boring. Hopefully the course will add more, and what is there will grow too where it adds a nicer feel.
- Lack of shade. It's Texas, it's hot. There's nothing you want more than shade, but there's really none to be had, unless you throw a bad throw on hole 1 or 9.
- The "back 9" really needs to be mapped out, or have some sort of sign that tell you what they are. Though this could cause some problems of people playing across from each other (due to it being say tee 1 to basket 8). From what I hear this "course" is more difficult.

Least favorite holes:
5) It's just kinda boring. I got my first ace here, but it felt mildly empty due to it feeling like I just was using a practice basket, or a long putt. This hole could be made significantly better if there was some sort of hazards, just to add some sort of challenge.
3) Primarily due to it having the frustration of if you miss a putt, there's a hill behind the basket. Very often this means your disc will roll down and you can easily end up further than you were before.
8) Another par 3, with what seems like very little effort put into it. I think it's 200 feet maybe a little more. Very similar to hole 5, however it has a tree in the middle. This just seemed like very little effort in adding a hazard.
Other Thoughts: I really do enjoy this course due to it's localness. Also the low risk of losing a disc is great, other place I play such as McClain is annoying at times due to having to search for discs. Also due to being close for UTSA (for me), it means I don't have to deal with the rush hour traffic that I would maybe have to deal with after driving back from a course such as Live Oak, or McClain.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great For Beginners and Those Looking to Improve

1    3/12/2011   3/22/2011
Review By: Von Roll
Played: 14  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: New course map at beginning.
Some new signs on holes.
If you follow the mandatory arrows, some holes can be fun.
Holes have cement tee pads.
Is very challenging on a windy day.
Cons: Not many trees (or any obstacle for that matter)
Small elevation changes.
Signs tend to be often damaged at this course.
Nothing to challenge intermediate to advanced players.

Other Thoughts: Overall, this course is one to bring your beginner friends to learn the basics of the game and/or improve your game.
Check it out if you're in the immediate area. Nothing to travel far for though.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Simplicity itself

5+    5/9/2009   5/20/2009
Review By: shawn_l
Played: 29  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 5.8 Years
This review was updated on 5/25/2009
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is as straight forward a course as there is. Concrete teepads are nice, and it flows very well. 9 ends where 1 tees off.

Great course for beginners, with just enough distance on 3 holes to really let it rip.

An experienced player should throw 21 or so on here. Amateurs can hit par with not much trouble.

Parking is good, but there's a bit of a walk to get to the course. It's easy to find though, and the walk is paid off by an open course which is ONLY for DG, so no pedestrians, kids with kites, soccer practice, or anything else.
Cons: Most of the signs are ripped down, but there's a map at the beginning.

The complete lack of shade and bad parking can make for a very hot round.
Other Thoughts: Poke around the SA Disc Club site and find an alternate route which makes this course much longer and more challenging.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Another notch in the belt

1    10/26/2008   2/20/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Its an ok course, good tees and good baskets. This is a great beginner course and a place to learn new shots and tweek your game. Pretty easy for a pro/adv player. It open and doesnt have many challenging shot. You can throw big hyzers or putters at everything(RHBH)
Cons: About 1/4 to 1/2 walk from parking lot to hole 1. Cant see course from parking lot, have to look and have a little common sense. Very open with young trees so its hot!!! Hard to follow. Long drive for the quality only would go if you want to add a course to your played list or your close by!
Other Thoughts: Very clean course, bring suntan lotion and lots of drinks. The walk to the course seems longer then the walk of the course.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.