San Antonio, TX 
Nani Falcone Community Park Share
Uploaded By: philguard Hole #5 (Taken 10/2010)
3 / 110ft.   2 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Fun in the Devil's taint

2-4    6/6/2013   7/6/2013
Review By: Kursk
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/14/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: EXTREMELY beginner friendly. Given that there are pretty much zero trees, the course is wide open. This is the course beginners can secure their first birdies and even somewhat experienced players can have an ace race.
If you totally blow a shot, you aren't going to lose your disc. In fact, you can play hardcore military right/left and still make par.
Maybe 1 &/or 9 you can get it in the trees, otherwise it's wide open. 3&4 will punish you with a visit to the gulley. Not bad in hot weather but nasty when it rains. There is little elevation change, just sort of a mild bulge in the middle of the course that forms a dome. The "Prickly Pears of Par Denial" are gone.
Exceedingly well maintained. Trash or junk has never been an issue. Minor bits of used water bottles here and there but that's the exception rather than the rule. I've heard that the grass can get super deep at times but it's never been that bad for me.
Wind. The times I've played there was a nice but steady breeze. Not enough to seriously mess with your shots but adequate to help cool you down a little.
Pads - The pads are a nice addition to what a lot of people would consider a pitch and putt. Even there are a couple long holes, it's a realistic part three for mid players, par two for experienced players.
UTSA - It's close to UTSA so I see college students there frequently. This can sometimes be a good thing, sometimes a bad thing.
Wide open - When I say it's wide open, I mean wide open like the mouth of a lottery winner. Great place to try out shops and also really great place to teach someone.
Cons: It's hotter than the Devil's taint in the summer. While no trees means nothing to grab your discs mid flight there is also not a single stitch of leaf cover to even slow down the blistering heat from the sun for even a second. I'd gladly trade a few strokes for a millisecond of relief.
During the rainy days, the course can be rendered inaccessible due to the rain washing out the path to the course.
No restrooms on the course. It's a little bit of a hike to the park where the bathrooms are.
Rocks: it's the hill country so there are rocks everywhere. I made the mistake of wearing my Vibrams one day. Ouch. It's very Merrill friendly course.
Other Thoughts: I really do enjoy the course. When it's hot out, it's really really hot. When it's heavily rainy, the path to the course washes out/floods out. I enjoy how wide open it is even though it doesn't stretch my skills. It plays incredibly fast.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    3/16/2013   3/29/2013
Review By: tkmcdougal
Played: 153  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 6.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I actually did enjoy this course quite a bit. I realize it is not challenging but you could shoot good which made it fun. There is little elevation but they do try to incorporate it on a few holes like2 and 3. The tee signs were great and seemed to be accurate. The tee pads were nice and so were the DISCatcher( except 5 seemed to have been on fire at one point). The navigation is very easy because everything is in the open. I like how the course makes a nice little loop so if you wanted to play it twice you are right back by hole 1.
Cons: The walk from the parking lot was a little far and a little hidden. The course is completely open with vary little challenge; however, I still really enjoyed the course. Hole 5 was extremely short and about 100ft. Also, the basket on 5 seemed to be burnt.
Other Thoughts: This is a great beginner course. Even though it is wide open at least you can let a disc fly.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great for casual or beginners

5+    10/16/2010   10/16/2010
Review By: philguard
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a perfect course for a beginner to learn on. Take it from a beginner who has spent his first month learning here. There's almost no way to lose a disc here. It's a nice open area with a few young trees that might give you the chance to practice a technical shot or two. Hole #4 gives you the opportunity to boom it. It's always been clean and the people who play out here have all been exceptionally nice.
Cons: I can imagine that an experienced player would find this course the be boring. There's very little elevation change, almost no trees. There is a long walk from the parking lot to the first tee. And the nearest bathroom and water are all the way back at the parking lot. Almost no shade and only one "bench" near tee #2 provided so it can start to take a toll in the south Texas heat.
Other Thoughts: This course is perfect for people to just go out and play around causally or learn the game on. There has been an issue of the course needing to be mowed about a month back which made playing much less enjoyable.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 A feel-good course.

1    8/24/2010   9/20/2010
Review By: ATXdiscgolfer
Played: 18  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/5/2010
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A very well maintained course.
Each tee is very easy to find and baskets are in plain sight so you're not blindly throwing in a general direction.
Very wide and open so tree hazards are practically nonexistent.
Good practice for a beginner and a good place for a more experienced player with some time to kill.
Not a very skill demanding course but certain holes were well placed and allow you to practice your trickier throws.
Cons: The course is in a large, open park so the wind tends to pick up pretty quickly. Headwind drivers are helpful.
The pars for each hole were ridiculously easy. For example, hole number 4 was about 500 feet, straight ahead, completely open, and it was a par 5.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I thought it was a fun little course and worth the visit if you're in the area and want to finish a game way under par. ;)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good for a "first-timer"

6/29/2008   6/29/2008
Review By: Profesor Bato
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good concrete tees, and good condition baskets; Course is looped back to start, with fairways marked fairly well; plenty of trees and bushes surround the course, which makes for some interesting problems when throws are errant
Cons: Had some trouble figuring out the course--not clearly marked for this first-timer; course about a 5 minute walk from parking; water and restrooms are about five minutes away as well; not uncommon seeing doggie doo around the course
Other Thoughts: It was hot today as we played this course, and so we had it all to ourselves; I imagine that a dawn or dusk play would add nicely to the ambiance of this course.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.