San Antonio, TX 
Nani Falcone Community Park Share
Uploaded By: philguard Hole #5 (Taken 10/2010)
3 / 110ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket to Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Simple but fun

5+    9/17/2016   9/19/2016
Review By: djsuisav1
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 0.4 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Big and open, great for beginners. Good practice for people just starting out.
Cons: Big and open sometimes works against you if you throw a crazy one.
Lately they haven't kept up with mowing.
Other Thoughts: I park in the neighborhood behind the course, to the left tee 5.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.


1    7/8/2015   8/13/2015
Review By: Bondobates
Played: 37  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 1.5 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: It is a good practice course. Found it easy as the trees are very few. It is in a city park so maintenance looks good. Baskets are easy to see.
Cons: Very open , so not much challenge beyond getting a good throw in.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Beginners Friendly....

1    7/20/2015   7/29/2015
Review By: hotstang
Played: 168  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 5.6 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice quite 9 hole course.
Baskets in good shape.
Nice Teepads.
Great for putter and midrange practice.
With just a couple of holes needing a driver.
Has room for a back nine.
Cons: Very short.
Very few trees.
Not much of a challenge.
Other Thoughts: Tee signs are not that bad.
Could easily be turned into a solid 18 hole course with a little love.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Ho Hum Recreational Course!

1    4/3/2015   4/3/2015
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1006  Reviewed: 956  Exp: 38.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/20/2016
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course basically plays in a clockwise direction around a large grassy field. There's only a few trees and not much in the way of elevation to contend with. The tee pads are nice sized concrete and the baskets are Discatcher models with the yellow bands. There is a course map at the beginning. The tee signs are a little strange. Thy don't give you any of the basic information par or distance. What they do say is: Goal 1 and then a little green map.
# 5 is less than 100 feet and some proud moron signed the basket for his ACE! Way to go Schmuck!
Cons: The course is way short on creativity. Every hole is wide open except # 8 which forces you to actually make a decision.
It's quite a hike from the parking lot out here to the course.
There's some kind of construction going on by # 2. Might actually make that hole more interesting.
Anyone above a rec player will quickly become bored with this course.
Other Thoughts: What Park's Department beaurocrat is resonsible for the tee signs? Has this person ever been to an actual golf course? Goal # 1???????

I played this course at sunrise one morning this week. It was still dark as I left the parking lot and I noticed this homeless guy sitting over by the playground. I was kind of worried about my car let there. When I returned to my car after my round, I noticed that the homless guy had turned into a bronze statue! At least the bronze statue guy wouldn't be messing with my car while I was playing golf!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner Friendly Course

5+    1/9/2014   1/27/2014
Review By: DPGRAY1962
Played: 13  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.5 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very open and therefore beginner friendly. Concrete tees with good signage. Ample parking at two different entrances.
Cons: This really isn't a challenging course and the only trees are along the outer edges of the course. A walking path around the course is often busy and therefore often one must wait for people to pass by. Being so open means wind is often an issue.
Other Thoughts: Easy course for beginners and with some par 4 holes one can practice their drives.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/21/2013   8/1/2013
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 197  Reviewed: 137  Exp: 4.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A good short wide open course with a little bit of elevation on a few holes. The baskets are old but still hold their structural integrity.

Navigation is easy. Even with the easy navigation there are tee signs with distances at each hole plus a big map at the beginning of the course. There are also big concrete tees, a perfect size.

When introducing new players to the game this would be the course to take them to. It is relatively short minus a few holes and is very wide open.
Cons: Being wide open is also a huge con. The layout of the course is very uninspiring besides the fact that it sits on a great piece of land, it just lacks the trees necessary to make this course even remotely challenging.

There was about a quarter of a mile walk from the parking lot to the first basket but aren't we here to walk anyways? Walking never killed anyone.

Hole 5 is just silly. It is literally a long putt to the basket. Talk about a very unfulfilling ace when it does happen and I am sure it happens often.
Other Thoughts: This course deserves a 2.25 rating. However, this course is not as good as some of the other courses I have ranked a 2.5 so that is why it is a 2.

There are virtually no courses over on the west side of San Antonio compared to the championship-rich east side. This course passes and can not be made much more difficult.

It is a neighborhood course that is good to introduce players and I believe it does it's job well.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun in the Devil's taint

2-4    6/6/2013   7/6/2013
Review By: Kursk
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/14/2013
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: EXTREMELY beginner friendly. Given that there are pretty much zero trees, the course is wide open. This is the course beginners can secure their first birdies and even somewhat experienced players can have an ace race.
If you totally blow a shot, you aren't going to lose your disc. In fact, you can play hardcore military right/left and still make par.
Maybe 1 &/or 9 you can get it in the trees, otherwise it's wide open. 3&4 will punish you with a visit to the gulley. Not bad in hot weather but nasty when it rains. There is little elevation change, just sort of a mild bulge in the middle of the course that forms a dome. The "Prickly Pears of Par Denial" are gone.
Exceedingly well maintained. Trash or junk has never been an issue. Minor bits of used water bottles here and there but that's the exception rather than the rule. I've heard that the grass can get super deep at times but it's never been that bad for me.
Wind. The times I've played there was a nice but steady breeze. Not enough to seriously mess with your shots but adequate to help cool you down a little.
Pads - The pads are a nice addition to what a lot of people would consider a pitch and putt. Even there are a couple long holes, it's a realistic part three for mid players, par two for experienced players.
UTSA - It's close to UTSA so I see college students there frequently. This can sometimes be a good thing, sometimes a bad thing.
Wide open - When I say it's wide open, I mean wide open like the mouth of a lottery winner. Great place to try out shops and also really great place to teach someone.
Cons: It's hotter than the Devil's taint in the summer. While no trees means nothing to grab your discs mid flight there is also not a single stitch of leaf cover to even slow down the blistering heat from the sun for even a second. I'd gladly trade a few strokes for a millisecond of relief.
During the rainy days, the course can be rendered inaccessible due to the rain washing out the path to the course.
No restrooms on the course. It's a little bit of a hike to the park where the bathrooms are.
Rocks: it's the hill country so there are rocks everywhere. I made the mistake of wearing my Vibrams one day. Ouch. It's very Merrill friendly course.
Other Thoughts: I really do enjoy the course. When it's hot out, it's really really hot. When it's heavily rainy, the path to the course washes out/floods out. I enjoy how wide open it is even though it doesn't stretch my skills. It plays incredibly fast.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/16/2013   3/29/2013
Review By: tkmcdougal
Played: 165  Reviewed: 72  Exp: 8.8 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I actually did enjoy this course quite a bit. I realize it is not challenging but you could shoot good which made it fun. There is little elevation but they do try to incorporate it on a few holes like2 and 3. The tee signs were great and seemed to be accurate. The tee pads were nice and so were the DISCatcher( except 5 seemed to have been on fire at one point). The navigation is very easy because everything is in the open. I like how the course makes a nice little loop so if you wanted to play it twice you are right back by hole 1.
Cons: The walk from the parking lot was a little far and a little hidden. The course is completely open with vary little challenge; however, I still really enjoyed the course. Hole 5 was extremely short and about 100ft. Also, the basket on 5 seemed to be burnt.
Other Thoughts: This is a great beginner course. Even though it is wide open at least you can let a disc fly.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nani Pani Fo-Fani

1    8/23/2012   8/23/2012
Review By: TheBearcat
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.4 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Open and easy. Take your girlfriend or grandmother... or a newbie whos never played. The location is pretty easy to get to and not very busy with through traffic. has bags for doggy doo-doo available.
Cons: not very challenging for someone who know what theyre doing. no bathrooms.
Other Thoughts: its a little walk away from the play ground at the parking lot but its by no means horrendous or a deterrent.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Twiced played

1    6/21/2012   6/29/2012
Review By: larryth
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.7 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: beginner and warm up design
Cons: Course maintenance, state of the course, no challenge, and weathered signage.
Other Thoughts: I played her twice. The first time back in the spring and last week. The spring game lasted 3 holes before I quit due the uncut, waist high grass.
Last week, gave it another shot because its around the corner. The grass had recently been cut. The actual grass is dead and plenty of sticks bottoms.
I would have to be pretty bored to again try this course or teaching someone.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.