San Antonio, TX 
Nani Falcone Community Park Share
Uploaded By: philguard Hole #1 (Taken 10/2010)
4 / 292ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Beginner Friendly Course

5+    1/9/2014   1/27/2014
Review By: DPGRAY1962
Played: 13  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very open and therefore beginner friendly. Concrete tees with good signage. Ample parking at two different entrances.
Cons: This really isn't a challenging course and the only trees are along the outer edges of the course. A walking path around the course is often busy and therefore often one must wait for people to pass by. Being so open means wind is often an issue.
Other Thoughts: Easy course for beginners and with some par 4 holes one can practice their drives.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    7/21/2013   8/1/2013
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 125  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 2.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A good short wide open course with a little bit of elevation on a few holes. The baskets are old but still hold their structural integrity.

Navigation is easy. Even with the easy navigation there are tee signs with distances at each hole plus a big map at the beginning of the course. There are also big concrete tees, a perfect size.

When introducing new players to the game this would be the course to take them to. It is relatively short minus a few holes and is very wide open.
Cons: Being wide open is also a huge con. The layout of the course is very uninspiring besides the fact that it sits on a great piece of land, it just lacks the trees necessary to make this course even remotely challenging.

There was about a quarter of a mile walk from the parking lot to the first basket but aren't we here to walk anyways? Walking never killed anyone.

Hole 5 is just silly. It is literally a long putt to the basket. Talk about a very unfulfilling ace when it does happen and I am sure it happens often.
Other Thoughts: This course deserves a 2.25 rating. However, this course is not as good as some of the other courses I have ranked a 2.5 so that is why it is a 2.

There are virtually no courses over on the west side of San Antonio compared to the championship-rich east side. This course passes and can not be made much more difficult.

It is a neighborhood course that is good to introduce players and I believe it does it's job well.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fun in the Devil's taint

2-4    6/6/2013   7/6/2013
Review By: Kursk
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/14/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: EXTREMELY beginner friendly. Given that there are pretty much zero trees, the course is wide open. This is the course beginners can secure their first birdies and even somewhat experienced players can have an ace race.
If you totally blow a shot, you aren't going to lose your disc. In fact, you can play hardcore military right/left and still make par.
Maybe 1 &/or 9 you can get it in the trees, otherwise it's wide open. 3&4 will punish you with a visit to the gulley. Not bad in hot weather but nasty when it rains. There is little elevation change, just sort of a mild bulge in the middle of the course that forms a dome. The "Prickly Pears of Par Denial" are gone.
Exceedingly well maintained. Trash or junk has never been an issue. Minor bits of used water bottles here and there but that's the exception rather than the rule. I've heard that the grass can get super deep at times but it's never been that bad for me.
Wind. The times I've played there was a nice but steady breeze. Not enough to seriously mess with your shots but adequate to help cool you down a little.
Pads - The pads are a nice addition to what a lot of people would consider a pitch and putt. Even there are a couple long holes, it's a realistic part three for mid players, par two for experienced players.
UTSA - It's close to UTSA so I see college students there frequently. This can sometimes be a good thing, sometimes a bad thing.
Wide open - When I say it's wide open, I mean wide open like the mouth of a lottery winner. Great place to try out shops and also really great place to teach someone.
Cons: It's hotter than the Devil's taint in the summer. While no trees means nothing to grab your discs mid flight there is also not a single stitch of leaf cover to even slow down the blistering heat from the sun for even a second. I'd gladly trade a few strokes for a millisecond of relief.
During the rainy days, the course can be rendered inaccessible due to the rain washing out the path to the course.
No restrooms on the course. It's a little bit of a hike to the park where the bathrooms are.
Rocks: it's the hill country so there are rocks everywhere. I made the mistake of wearing my Vibrams one day. Ouch. It's very Merrill friendly course.
Other Thoughts: I really do enjoy the course. When it's hot out, it's really really hot. When it's heavily rainy, the path to the course washes out/floods out. I enjoy how wide open it is even though it doesn't stretch my skills. It plays incredibly fast.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    3/16/2013   3/29/2013
Review By: tkmcdougal
Played: 153  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 6.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I actually did enjoy this course quite a bit. I realize it is not challenging but you could shoot good which made it fun. There is little elevation but they do try to incorporate it on a few holes like2 and 3. The tee signs were great and seemed to be accurate. The tee pads were nice and so were the DISCatcher( except 5 seemed to have been on fire at one point). The navigation is very easy because everything is in the open. I like how the course makes a nice little loop so if you wanted to play it twice you are right back by hole 1.
Cons: The walk from the parking lot was a little far and a little hidden. The course is completely open with vary little challenge; however, I still really enjoyed the course. Hole 5 was extremely short and about 100ft. Also, the basket on 5 seemed to be burnt.
Other Thoughts: This is a great beginner course. Even though it is wide open at least you can let a disc fly.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nani Pani Fo-Fani

1    8/23/2012   8/23/2012
Review By: TheBearcat
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.2 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Open and easy. Take your girlfriend or grandmother... or a newbie whos never played. The location is pretty easy to get to and not very busy with through traffic. has bags for doggy doo-doo available.
Cons: not very challenging for someone who know what theyre doing. no bathrooms.
Other Thoughts: its a little walk away from the play ground at the parking lot but its by no means horrendous or a deterrent.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Twiced played

1    6/21/2012   6/29/2012
Review By: larryth
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.5 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: beginner and warm up design
Cons: Course maintenance, state of the course, no challenge, and weathered signage.
Other Thoughts: I played her twice. The first time back in the spring and last week. The spring game lasted 3 holes before I quit due the uncut, waist high grass.
Last week, gave it another shot because its around the corner. The grass had recently been cut. The actual grass is dead and plenty of sticks bottoms.
I would have to be pretty bored to again try this course or teaching someone.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nani Falcone

5+    4/30/2011   5/1/2011
Review By: jamesmcgowan
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.3 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Difficult to lose a disc. This course is very open, you can throw a terrible shot, however it's very unlikely that you'll lose a disc from it. There's only 2 holes (1 and 9) where you can put it deep into trees. Otherwise you may just have a long seconds shot, but I'd take that anyday over having to throw down for a new disc.
- Clean. Never have I played here and really had a issue with trash. Maybe the occasional bottle cap, but that's it. There's 2 trash cans one at hole one and one at hole five, which for a 9 hole course isn't bad at all.
- Good if you want a quick 9. Due to factors such as difficulty of losing a disc, rounds are quick. The course isn't particularly long either. My longest round here was 37 minutes (phone scorecard app keeps track of time), and that's only because I had a 1st time playing family in front of me for the last 4 holes who didn't let me play through. Rounds are usually about 25 minutes.
- Opportunities for your 1st ace (or more aces). Hole 2 I've hit the basket once. Hole 5 I've hit the basket 3 times and actually had one ace on. Hole 8 I imagine not being terribly difficult to hit a ace on either. If you have good range on your drives you could hit some on the Par 4s. The longest par 4 here is 370 feet if I'm not mistaken, which a lot of people can potentially drive.
- Closest course to UTSA campus. A lot of people here are college students, if you're wanting that study break and enjoy disc golf this is a plenty good course for you.
- Good for lower level players. If I was to being a low level player out to play, from the courses I've played this would be the ideal place. Since there's little hazards and no very long holes (longest is 544 or close to that). Along with a generous Par (a lot of holes would be lower par at other courses). This means the course won't be a discouraging experience for those level players.
- Cement pads. Makes it easy to know where to start on holes. Specially great since the occasional hole may lack a sign to properly show you length, and direction of a hole.
- Course map. It doesn't give actual distances on it, however it is nice because it gives you direction, and a tough idea of approximate length hole to hole.
- Well maintained. The course is fairly commonly mowed. Never has the grass been terribly long when I have played. Best part is it's mowed early in the morning (around 10AM based off the one time I've been there). This is usually before most people play so they won't get in the way.
- Parking is nice. If you park at the actual park entrance (where child's playground is) there's a parking lot, there's usually no difficulty getting a parking spot (I've never parked on the street at the main entrance). Also the unofficial disc golf entrance (neighborhood at hole 5) always has parking since it is a neighborhood (just be courteous if you do decide to park there.

Favorite holes:
6) Slight uphill, about 325 feet. The basket has a ring of trees around it (each tree is about 10-30 feet out) (about 6 or 7 trees total). I like this cause if the drive hits one on the fade it can add a nice challenge to attempting to hit par for the hole.
2) This is actually a nice par 3. The hazard are pretty well set up here. You need to throw some curve and get it between 2 trees if you use a backhand throw. Which I've found pretty fun thus far.
1) There's a good amount of hazards, which can add to the difficulty of the hole. This is a forest on the left side. Disc fades may put a decent amount of players into the trees.
Cons: - Not very challenging for more experienced players. I realize I also included this as a benefit for lower level players. However, it's definitely a for those with more experience. Holes such as 5 are almost like a practice basket to more experienced players. Largely due to it being a straight line very short distance. Unless you play tournament par (everything is par 3), instead of course par (lots of things that are par 4) you'll not be really challenging yourself.
- Some holes lack signs. Fortunately there's the cement pads. This is especially frustrating due to the fact some holes such have the wooden posts of where a sign used to be.
- Lacks uniqueness. Nothing really sets this course apart from others. Everything is just a very wide open hole, with the occasional tree. The only true variance is the minimal differences in distance.
- A track. Right by many holes there's a track for joggers at times this is very frustrating, due to the fact you can hit them if you misthrow. Walkers especially, since often times they're unaware of the fact you're trying to play, and thus you have to wait for them to be at a safe zone.
- Doesn't have a nature feel to it. One of my favorite things about disc golf courses is the nature feel to it. Example going through a lot of trees, lakes, etc. This course really doesn't have any of that. The trees really just feel like they're there you it isn't too boring. Hopefully the course will add more, and what is there will grow too where it adds a nicer feel.
- Lack of shade. It's Texas, it's hot. There's nothing you want more than shade, but there's really none to be had, unless you throw a bad throw on hole 1 or 9.
- The "back 9" really needs to be mapped out, or have some sort of sign that tell you what they are. Though this could cause some problems of people playing across from each other (due to it being say tee 1 to basket 8). From what I hear this "course" is more difficult.

Least favorite holes:
5) It's just kinda boring. I got my first ace here, but it felt mildly empty due to it feeling like I just was using a practice basket, or a long putt. This hole could be made significantly better if there was some sort of hazards, just to add some sort of challenge.
3) Primarily due to it having the frustration of if you miss a putt, there's a hill behind the basket. Very often this means your disc will roll down and you can easily end up further than you were before.
8) Another par 3, with what seems like very little effort put into it. I think it's 200 feet maybe a little more. Very similar to hole 5, however it has a tree in the middle. This just seemed like very little effort in adding a hazard.
Other Thoughts: I really do enjoy this course due to it's localness. Also the low risk of losing a disc is great, other place I play such as McClain is annoying at times due to having to search for discs. Also due to being close for UTSA (for me), it means I don't have to deal with the rush hour traffic that I would maybe have to deal with after driving back from a course such as Live Oak, or McClain.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great For Beginners and Those Looking to Improve

1    3/12/2011   3/22/2011
Review By: Von Roll
Played: 13  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: New course map at beginning.
Some new signs on holes.
If you follow the mandatory arrows, some holes can be fun.
Holes have cement tee pads.
Is very challenging on a windy day.
Cons: Not many trees (or any obstacle for that matter)
Small elevation changes.
Signs tend to be often damaged at this course.
Nothing to challenge intermediate to advanced players.

Other Thoughts: Overall, this course is one to bring your beginner friends to learn the basics of the game and/or improve your game.
Check it out if you're in the immediate area. Nothing to travel far for though.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great for casual or beginners

5+    10/16/2010   10/16/2010
Review By: philguard
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a perfect course for a beginner to learn on. Take it from a beginner who has spent his first month learning here. There's almost no way to lose a disc here. It's a nice open area with a few young trees that might give you the chance to practice a technical shot or two. Hole #4 gives you the opportunity to boom it. It's always been clean and the people who play out here have all been exceptionally nice.
Cons: I can imagine that an experienced player would find this course the be boring. There's very little elevation change, almost no trees. There is a long walk from the parking lot to the first tee. And the nearest bathroom and water are all the way back at the parking lot. Almost no shade and only one "bench" near tee #2 provided so it can start to take a toll in the south Texas heat.
Other Thoughts: This course is perfect for people to just go out and play around causally or learn the game on. There has been an issue of the course needing to be mowed about a month back which made playing much less enjoyable.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 A feel-good course.

1    8/24/2010   9/20/2010
Review By: ATXdiscgolfer
Played: 18  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/5/2010
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A very well maintained course.
Each tee is very easy to find and baskets are in plain sight so you're not blindly throwing in a general direction.
Very wide and open so tree hazards are practically nonexistent.
Good practice for a beginner and a good place for a more experienced player with some time to kill.
Not a very skill demanding course but certain holes were well placed and allow you to practice your trickier throws.
Cons: The course is in a large, open park so the wind tends to pick up pretty quickly. Headwind drivers are helpful.
The pars for each hole were ridiculously easy. For example, hole number 4 was about 500 feet, straight ahead, completely open, and it was a par 5.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I thought it was a fun little course and worth the visit if you're in the area and want to finish a game way under par. ;)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.