Disc Golf Store
San Antonio, TX 
Nani Falcone Community Park Share
Uploaded By: philguard Hole #2 (Taken 10/2010)
3 / 188ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Beginner Course

1    7/31/2010   8/2/2010
Review By: bigghigg
Played: 40  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course was easy to follow and seemed to be well maintained. There was a nice mix of long and short holes for a little variety.
Cons: There isn't much in the way of obstacles or technical shots. You can get in a little trouble along the perimeter, but it's hard to get into too much trouble anywhere else. Probably won't hold your attention for very long.
Other Thoughts: This is nice course to take someone new to disc golf, but would probably get boring in a hurry for more experienced players. Was pleasantly surprised by the course conditions when we played after reading several warnings about high grass and mud. I'm not from the area so I don't really know how the weather had been, but it was dry and well maintained when we played.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  nice practice course

2-4    7/12/2010   7/12/2010
Review By: ttustellarkid
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
Pros: There is a good mix of decently long holes (350-500+ ft) and pitch 'n putt (200 ft or less) holes on this course. There are just enough trees in strategic spots that it makes for some interesting throws sometimes, but the course is otherwise wide open enough that you can really try to practice some of the other techniques and different types of throws. I would definitely take someone here for their first round of disc golf. The course area is dedicated to disc golf, so there are not many situations that you would have to avoid pedestrians or other park-goers.
Cons: When I played, it was after two tropical storms (rather, their remnants) had come through in the past 3 weeks, so the grass was pretty tall (halfway to my knees in some spots). I had to go hunting a couple times through the tall grass, but did not lose any discs in the mess. There is a pretty big lack of shade actually on the course, but there is a hiking/jogging trail that surrounds the course that is pretty shaded that would provide relief if needed. Like other reviews pointed out, there is a bit of a hike to the first tee and restrooms are next to parking, but keep in mind that a vast majority of courses puts you more than 5 minutes from the restrooms by the second hole anyway.
Other Thoughts: I played at 930-1100 on a monday, so there were not many people at the park. Trees on the course are pretty young, so they don't prove to be huge obstacles. Dense treelines along the left side of holes 1, 2, 8, and 9 may prove to be a headache if you get caught up in there.

Course right now (7-12-10) gets bumped down to a 3.5 rating just because it is nearly overgrown...the rating I gave the course is considering shorter grass.

 Great beginner's course

2-4    2/19/2010   2/21/2010
Review By: Froztfx
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Excellent beginner's course. Wide open course not many trees at all.
Cons: One small Con need some trees. A little of the road, just follow the sidewalk and you will find the #1 tee. If you are playing in the summer you will need some water cause it will be HOT.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Great for Beginners

5+    9/12/2009   9/18/2009
Review By: thermos14
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 10/30/2009
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is a wide open course with relatively short holes. An excellent course for beginners to learn on. Very few places you can lose a disc. Very forgiving holes for a misguided drive.
Cons: Only 9 holes. Half of the hole maps are missing.
Other Thoughts: I love this course. It is where i learned how to play disc golf. Highly recommended for beginners and anyone who wants to practice the fundamentals.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Simplicity itself

5+    5/9/2009   5/20/2009
Review By: shawn_l
Played: 29  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/25/2009
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is as straight forward a course as there is. Concrete teepads are nice, and it flows very well. 9 ends where 1 tees off.

Great course for beginners, with just enough distance on 3 holes to really let it rip.

An experienced player should throw 21 or so on here. Amateurs can hit par with not much trouble.

Parking is good, but there's a bit of a walk to get to the course. It's easy to find though, and the walk is paid off by an open course which is ONLY for DG, so no pedestrians, kids with kites, soccer practice, or anything else.
Cons: Most of the signs are ripped down, but there's a map at the beginning.

The complete lack of shade and bad parking can make for a very hot round.
Other Thoughts: Poke around the SA Disc Club site and find an alternate route which makes this course much longer and more challenging.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Another notch in the belt

1    10/26/2008   2/20/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Its an ok course, good tees and good baskets. This is a great beginner course and a place to learn new shots and tweek your game. Pretty easy for a pro/adv player. It open and doesnt have many challenging shot. You can throw big hyzers or putters at everything(RHBH)
Cons: About 1/4 to 1/2 walk from parking lot to hole 1. Cant see course from parking lot, have to look and have a little common sense. Very open with young trees so its hot!!! Hard to follow. Long drive for the quality only would go if you want to add a course to your played list or your close by!
Other Thoughts: Very clean course, bring suntan lotion and lots of drinks. The walk to the course seems longer then the walk of the course.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good for a "first-timer"

6/29/2008   6/29/2008
Review By: Profesor Bato
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good concrete tees, and good condition baskets; Course is looped back to start, with fairways marked fairly well; plenty of trees and bushes surround the course, which makes for some interesting problems when throws are errant
Cons: Had some trouble figuring out the course--not clearly marked for this first-timer; course about a 5 minute walk from parking; water and restrooms are about five minutes away as well; not uncommon seeing doggie doo around the course
Other Thoughts: It was hot today as we played this course, and so we had it all to ourselves; I imagine that a dawn or dusk play would add nicely to the ambiance of this course.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.