Disc Golf Center
Lisle, IL 
Molex - Lisle Campus DGC Share
Uploaded By: notapro Hole #5 (Taken 6/2012)
3 / 211ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Itís like trespassing, only with Frisbees

1    11/22/2012   12/1/2012
Review By: Three Putt
Played: 130  Reviewed: 83  Exp: 20 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Molex is a cool little course if you are open-minded about what it is. Set on company property, it appears to be an employee enhancement-type idea to provide a little extra for people to do on their lunch break. For that, it would be awesome. The course has no signs but the flow is pretty obvious once you get past #1. The site has a nice rolling hillside that provides some good elevation changes. The site is lightly wooded but the course manages to put the few trees to good use. The shared #3/#9 basket has a branch hanging down that forces you to take a low-line putt, # 5 is set amongst some decorative bushes and #7 forces you to pick a line. There is some variety in the distances, and matched with the elevation in play it keeps the course from feeling repetitive. The grounds were in incredible shape, the site itself was very pretty. The overall effect was really quite pleasant.
Cons: There really does not appear to be tees for holes 1-3. You just sorta make it up as you go. If you are the competitive-type, that will drive you insane. The tees that I did find were small and built up into a box, which made them awkward for me to throw off of. I was afraid I'd fall off the end. There are no tee signs, so I'm not sure how long the shots were. #4 (?) maybe was the longest and it was probably 300'-ish (?, I'm terrible at judging distances.) There are no real "let 'er rip" drives, as the whole course was set on a very small piece of land. I was there on a holiday, but if the company was open I can imagine that parking and conflicts with employees using the area would make it a "no play." The area wasn't marked "employes only" or anything, but it really felt like I was trespassing. I'm not 100% sure I was supposed to be there.
Other Thoughts: I went to Molex expecting not much. I left wishing I had a course like that in my backyard. It was a really nice use of the land available. In terms of rating it, I used the same criteria I'd use for a public park. That's not really fair since this isn't a public park, but it's all I can think to do. Because of that, it doesn't rate very well. You couldn't put a course with no tee signs, no tees for the first three holes and a shared basket in a public park and not have it be a joke. This course in this setting manages to pull it off. Play it with an open mind and you will have a good time.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 I Wish I Worked Here!

1    11/24/2012   11/26/2012
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 194  Reviewed: 153  Exp: 5.3 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Molex is an odd but fun course tucked neatly into the extremely well-manicured campus of global electronics giant Molex. Private, but playable by the general public.
- The design makes a heroic effort at squeezing out every last bit of potential awesomeness available on such a tiny bit of land. The course plays back and forth over the same stretches of land repeatedly, making this course a utter nightmare of a snarl if ever there were several groups playing simultaneously; however, this is necessary to get nine fairly decent holes and also probably rarely happens, as the course shows very few signs of play. The design even presses one basket into double-duty, serving as both #'s 3 and 9. The flow of the course is fairly obvious, and while tee signs don't exist, things are laid out in such a way that anyone who enjoys disc golf and has an imagination can add, expand, and alter holes as needed to get quite a few more interesting looks than just the intended course layout.
- Enough of the lazily-rolling grassy elevation comes into play to keep things from being two-dimensional. #1's basket sits on a small slope that drops off to a tiny drainage pool. #3's (which also serves as #9's) basket sits between two grassy "landscaping hills." #'s 6, 7, and 8 all have the gently rolling terrain come into play, creating some variety in the topography and instilling a bit of character.
- Great use of the available trees. The dual purpose basket has the branches of a large tree overhead, creating a very low ceiling and adding a nice touch. #5's basket is located by a small shaded sitting area (replete with decorative bushes), #6's fairway forces a shot around several mature trees to the left, and #7's basket sits between a triad of mature trees.
- Decent variety in hole lengths really help this course avoid pitch-and-putt mindlessness.
- Several tees are made of the same crushed red rock that comprises the pathways, kept meticulously in small wooden boxes. The tees were in great shape with the exception of #5's, which was tucked away under some trees and thus completely buried in autumn leaves. No ruts and hardly any signs of wear.
Cons: - #'s 1 and 2 do not have obviously recognizable tee areas. This was actually kinda cool once we decided to roll with it and make the first two tees up on our own. Several options exist with a bit of imagination.
- There are no signs. The flow seemed pretty obvious in most places, even with the basket that serves as two holes' pin. Those who absolutely need signs telling them where to go and what to do next should avoid this course at all costs.
- The course has to be pretty much unplayable if anyone else is using the park. I'm not sure how often employees use it for breaks and such, but I can imagine it's a major conflict. Might want to save this one for the weekend, a holiday, or another non-workday time frame.
Other Thoughts: - Considering Molex's employee-oriented approach to this private piece of land, it's obvious that the DGC is merely an enhancement to the land and not the main attraction. As such, I bent my typical grading scale a little bit on this one*. Molex is plain fun. I largely over-looked the lack of signage, the horrible over-lapping of holes, and the blatant disregard for anything resembling a safe layout. I think Molex actually succeeds in the design more than it fails. The design is ambitious considering the available space, the golf is decent enough, and it largely accomplishes what it sets out to do: provide
one or two lucky employees at Molex some of the sweetest lunch breaks available. Kudos.
- *Please note: if this course saw more traffic than it currently does, or was public in nature, I would have rated this course much more harshly, especially considering the hazards of over-lapping and crossing fairways and greens. In my normal rubric for course-grading, it would receive a half-disc rating.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner/Intermediate

2-4    6/29/2012   7/1/2012
Review By: notapro
Played: 420  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 11.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set on a small piece of property on the grounds of a large private company. I could see possible interference with employees strolling the grounds, but that's about it.
- Some interesting features here, there is a large number of trees, and the ground is full of rolling hills. #1 and #2 play by a long valley with woods on one side, holes #6-#9 play over the rolling terrain with plenty of hills, and #3-#5 play next to some thick rough.
- Decent mix of shots; #4 and #5 are hyzers around/into the woods, #6 is a spike hyzer around some big pines, #7 is a straight shot, almost a tunnel, over some hills, #8 is a LHBH hyzer, and #9 is a downhill hyzer. Definitely plenty of places to get snagged by the trees.
- Tricky basket placements; #4 is by the woods, #5 is through a gap in the woods, #7 is under some trees on a slope, and #3/#9 is under a tree between to small hills. #1 and #2 are also on the sloping ends of the valley.
- Great baskets, teepads for half of the holes are tiny and almost useless. No signage, navigation can be a bear. Good luck!
Cons: - The biggest con, as of right now, is the lack of any designated tee areas for the first four holes. Where to start the course is a mystery to me, maybe shoot from #2 to #1, then back from #1 to #2? I am very curious what the 'locals' do.
- Layout is pretty jacked up, a lot of crossing/abutting fairways, baskets next to teepads, teepads next to teepads. Thankfully, the course must be mostly deserted.
Other Thoughts: - A lot of good parts to the course, there are fun holes, interesting holes, long holes, good basket placements, minor elevation changes. There are also a lot of bad parts, like mystery navigation and some overlapping. Not sure if the lack of tees is on purpose, to discourage outside players from coming, it is effective! A beginner/intermediate level course, but patience is necessary.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 What a shame

1    5/28/2011   6/2/2011
Review By: Andy in Lisle
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Very well keep
-Nice scenery
-Would be a good practice course if it was close for you
Cons: -It's technically private property
-Apparently hired survellance persons circle by occasionally and run people off
-Course layout it odd
-No signs or teepad but the basket are numbered
-I wasn't able to find all of the baskets
Other Thoughts: I went for the first time last saturday and had walked through looking for all the baskets and I had just finished playing hole 2 when a lady-rent-a-cop drove by and told me to leave because it was private property. I didn't argue and walked away but even though I knew it was private property (from this site) I never saw a sign so I may go back in a few weeks and play stupid if someone stops me again

Also, it would seem that the cop would ask everyone on the course if they worked at Molex this would get really annoying if you really did work there and this course seems like a waste, I mean how many people at Molex actually play.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/16/2011   5/17/2011
Review By: mykeg44
Played: 63  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 5.6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The biggest draw here is the actual land itself. The course is located in a hilly, lightly wooded park-type area, so there is some elevation and line shaping to contend with due to the landscape.

I can't imagine this ever being crowded unless the people at Molex come out and play skins at lunch time or something.

The baskets are better than I've seen on some 4-star courses. Awesome customized DisCatchers with a red Molex stripe on top of the basket.
Cons: Let's call this place what it is... it's 8 baskets around some hills next to a parking lot at something called Molex. It's awesome they put a course in here for the employees, and you can probably play a nice safari round here, but courses aren't rated based on their safari potential.

There are no tee pads, and if you throw from basket to basket you're going to be throwing on sloped ground most of the time. There's no signage and it's somewhat unclear where to start, refer to the course info to help out on this.
Other Thoughts: Unless you live within a couple miles of this place, work at Molex, or are a hard core bagger, this is one to skip.

With that said, props to Molex for installing a course for their employees. If every company did this, the world would be a better place.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

If you're in the area...

2-4    10/12/2010   4/18/2011
Review By: chillis
Played: 91  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 14.6 Years
This review was updated on 3/27/2014
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The possibility of variety here is high! There's a freestyle element here, you can choose lines and create here. I really appreciate this approach! Add in a portable basket, and this area is prime for some freestyle disc golf. Because of these points, I feel there can be a good deal of challenge here!
I like the feeling of seclusion, too. You're only a hundred feet away from busy Ogden, and it's nice and quiet back there.
Mostly tight shots to make, the ceiling isn't open at all. Shot-shaping in effect here. (deff +)
Small, clean park with hills to provide a little environment tweak.
Cons: No t-pads to speak of. So, grip can be an issue here. This irks me because I utilize a lengthy wind-up, and the possibility of slipping on the grass is ever-present.
No signs either.
The travel lines on the course are goofy, and cross each other frequently. I've never seen another group here, so traffic is unlikely to be a problem.
Other Thoughts: This is handy to have in the area. My crew brings their portable basket here and creates a new 9 each time. Can be fun!

Park in the back (near 1st tee)
&
Respect the area, please!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great lunch break course

1    1/23/2011   1/23/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 817  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 12.8 Years
This review was updated on 12/1/2012
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a hilly area of the Molex campus with scattered trees and some nice elevation changes. Most of the holes utilize the rolling hills to add difficulty and variety without having too long of holes. Nearly all of the holes have some trees in play, the ones that don't have trees on the fairway have some woods on one or both sides to punish errant shots.

The property is nicely maintained, and the baskets are nice discatchers with custom red Molex top bands that have the hole number. Once you find the first basket the course is pretty easy to follow. I would love having a course like this at work that's short enough to fit in a round on a lunch break but still has some interesting challenges, it's perfect for one or two disc rounds.
Cons: There are no tees, and no signs. I'm still not entirely sure how the first hole is designed to be played, I played from basket 2 to basket 1 as the first hole. Holes 3 and 9 share a basket, not a huge deal as long as there aren't multiple groups on the course. There are some crossing and overlapping fairways, again not a big deal if it's just a couple people playing but it could be a safety issue if people aren't paying attention. A couple holes play pretty close to the parking lot as well.
Other Thoughts: There are some nice holes here, enough to keep it interesting. There are also some nice safari options, so without any marked tees you could be a little creative. Beginners won't find it too long or too tough, so it's a good course for employees looking to try out the sport. More experienced players won't find it a real test, but there's enough variety to make you try some different lines, and enough challenge to make putter rounds interesting.

I'm not sure what the parking/playing situation is during business hours, it was no problem with an empty parking lot and nobody around to mind us using the course. There weren't any signs that indicated that it was closed to the public, but I would be respectful of the property if it's going to stay that way.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 nice

1    1/12/2011   1/12/2011
Review By: ratoon
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: well it is brand new the baskets are really nice. the layout is the best you can do with the space.
Cons: just the obvious like no signs tee pads or really any direction on where to go.Even though the baskets are numbered which helps.
Other Thoughts: this course has a lot of potential. I am personally happy because there really isnt to much around this area in the way of disc golf. So thank you for another good course.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.