Garland, TX 
Audubon Park Share
Uploaded By: YoDesigner Hole #1 (Taken 4/2009)
4 / 385ft.   3 / 385ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Fun Course

1    10/6/2014   10/12/2014
Review By: Joe6Pack
Played: 31  Reviewed: 18
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Well maintained
- Challenging enough for a skill levels
- Good parking and trash cans
- Great shot variety
Cons: - Little difficult to navigate
Other Thoughts: Enjoyed this course. While not a destination course, I would play it again if near the area.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good first impression!

1    6/29/2014   6/29/2014
Review By: xseption
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 0.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of variety: short. medium, length, and long holes. Some holes with open fields, some tree infested areas, and some holes with a tree or two strategically placed. Some holes hook left and some hook right. Most holes are flat, but a few throwing uphill and/or downhill. Concrete tees are in place and well done. Signs look to be new for each hole.
Cons: If you do not know the layout of the course then you may find yourself spending some time looking for the next hole, especially from hole 15 to tee 16. The creek was at a low level, yet we lost two to three discs in the water. I got wet going into the creek for mine which I later lost.
Other Thoughts: Take a picture on your phone for easy reference. The par count for these holes are a bit generous; some par 5s should be 4s, and some par 4s should be par 3s. Some areas are open with no tree cover so protection from the sun needs to be considered. Also, no access to drinking water so bring plenty. I met some people there through Facebook and they turned out to be very friendly and very helpful and encouraging.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    11/2/2013   12/2/2013
Review By: Notorious21
Played: 48  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 4.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
- Great park, mowed fairways, large, mature oak trees
- Decent variety of shot shapes required
- Concrete teepads and useful signage
- Good mix of distance and accuracy
Cons:
- Little to no elevation change on most holes
- Somewhat monotonous on the back 9
Other Thoughts:
This is a very solid, if not spectacular course. It is a very nice piece of property for a course and they made the most of it. I definitely would put this course in my rotation, especially if it were closer, but even still, worth a drive a few times a year perhaps.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging yet Fun

2-4    11/9/2012   11/9/2012
Review By: ericscho1980
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has long defined, mowed fairways, surrounded by large trees. The distance and tight shots can be intimidating, but the lanes are open enough to make, creating a very fun round. Course was very well maintained (today), and easily navigated.
Cons: Dirt tees and small signs. Most of the posts were painted yellow for visibility, but a couple were not. Pins were not labeled numerically, so as a gazed down the fairway and saw 2 baskets I had to use reason as to which one I was throwing to. This course would get another .5 stars if it had concrete tees and better markings with distances. But the flow is obvious.
Other Thoughts: It's been several years since I played this course, and I don't know why! I thought the course is laid out well overall and had a nice flow. There are several holes with very similar distances, maybe a little more variation would be nice? And possibly move hole 10 to the right, closer to the bridge and make it shorter...this would avoid walking in the fairway back from 15 to 16. I really like this course and will be back more often.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice

1    5/5/2012   5/5/2012
Review By: btroberts011
Played: 16  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 2.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Lots of blind throws that are very challenging. Very nice flow from one hole to the next (excluding 16 to 17). Very nice baskets and good location with lots of challenging shots. Nice open drive or accuracy needed on each hole. Fun
Cons: Lots of ways to loose a disc. Lots of vegetation including poison ivy. Some concrete pads would be nice too.
Other Thoughts: Had a great time and am definitely going to play it again. The amount of blind shots are very challenging. Once i play a few more times this should not be a problem though

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Enjoyable, fun course.

5+    12/5/2010   12/7/2010
Review By: riffraffrasta
Played: 25  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Decent variety between righty, lefty and straights.
-Some long, some real long and a couple shorts.
-Multiple dirt tee's
-Good shade on the front nine.
Cons: -Not a fan of dirt tee's but there are quite a few different marked ones now so it's a give and a take I suppose. The creek.
-If you go in with the exception of a few spots, your gone.
-No Signage. Can be hard to navigate first time. Map at rec. center is old and hard to follow but better than nothing.
-Tree's and a few hazards could frustrate beginners and first timers.
-People/Park Dept. don't take great care of the place. Parks cut a few branches, not enough trash cans, trash and litter throughout. The creek is disgusting.
-Back nine can get hot.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I really like this course. It is close and less crowded than B.B. Owen. However, it is kind of dirty and I don't like dirt tee's. I will agree that sometimes there can be some shady types hanging around but I also have noticed it is patrolled somewhat regularly by Garland police. It is a fun course with good variety and at least to me a charm that keeps me wanting to come back. It has been BEAUTIFUL this fall except I did lose a disc in the leaves.



#6 is probably the funnest hole on the course, at least for me.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Audubon finally getting much needed face-lift

5+    8/18/2010   7/18/2009
Review By: RustyP
Played: 52  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 10.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/19/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Challenging layout, even for big arms. Many of the holes on this course require not only good distance, but accuracy and smart disc placement in order to score well. Not very many easy birdies to be found here...you've really got to work for them. There are only 2 holes that are long (over 450') and wide-open...most have ample trees, elevation and/or water to contend with. There aren't any that I would consider a true par 4+, but there are several that play like very difficult par 3s.

-Unique layout. With the exception of a few shorter holes, most on this course are different from anything else in the DFW. Holes 2-7 are probably the best example of this, with hole 3 being what I would consider the "signature" hole.

-The course has undergone a great deal of improvement over the last year. All new baskets (which is a big plus if you ever played on the previous homemade baskets), several new pin / tee placements, and looks nice overall. The city of Garland must have noticed the surge of new players at the park, because they have been mowing regularly (another big improvement from a few years ago)

-2 sets of tees on many holes (1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 7, 10, 13, 14, 16, 17)...the yellow tees are the "original" layout (dating back 6-7 years) and the blue tees are the most recent. The blue tees are generally shorter, though a few are longer.
Cons: -Biggest con, in my opinion, is the lack of quality or even remotely level tee areas on the majority of holes. The tees are all dirt with painted landscape posts marking them. Some of the newer tees (the blue ones) are fairly level, but 75% of the older ones (yellow) have moderate to deep ruts in them. Not only are they annoying, but many of them border on being dangerous (especially Hole 2 Yellow, since it's on the side of a fairly steep hill). When it rains, the tees are all covered in mud; when it hasn't rained for a few week, they're all covered with loose sand...either way, the footing isn't very solid.

-Lack of signage. Looking for the distance for this one? No such luck. The lack of signs also makes navigation pretty tough the first time through...but after that first time, it's easy to remember.
Other Thoughts: Audubon was once THE premier course in Dallas, but fell into a state of disrepair for several years...during which time it got a bad reputation among many locals. Recently, however, there has been a huge surge in new players at the course, many who are serious about improving the course and its reputation. The Wednesday night mini averages 30 people, which tells you just how good of a course Audubon is. Keep an eye out for new tees and signs in the near future...we, the locals, plan on putting "The Bon" back on the map!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.