Garland, TX 
Audubon Park Share
Uploaded By: YoDesigner Hole #2 (Taken 4/2009)
4 / 372ft.   3 / 372ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Blue Tee: Slightly downhill to a semi-protected green.



Reviews: 34
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Good, fun course.

1    8/4/2014   8/10/2014
Review By: toph112
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Various difficultly holes
Various style of holes (short, long, open field, obstacles)
Good tee boxes with options of Long or Short
Hole 10 has a rope swing!
Cons: Easy to get lost if you don't map out the course ahead of time.
The flow of the course is awkward.
Other Thoughts: There's a really cool hole, maybe hole 8 or 9 that you have to shoot across the big creek and around a tree to land on the fairway. Fun hole!
There is also a rope swing for the adventurers that don't mind getting wet!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Awesome course!

1    4/25/2014   4/26/2014
Review By: diskritter
Played: 16  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: What a beautiful course! Coming from West Texas where there isn't anythjng taller than 8', this was a welcomed change. It has a great variety of line options and plays pretty long. There are several holes where you can let it rip down the fairway. It has lots of great trees as well as elevation and water hazards; several of the key ingredients that make a course great. There was ample parking despite a mini going on and a course map to greet you so you know where to go. Great teepads and teesigns too!
Cons: My only complaint is that the course is way too easy with the "posted pars". I literally shot -18 and felt like I only played decently. Many of the holes are one or two strokes higher par than they deserve. According to my buddy, tournament par is different and according I that I shot more like -2 or -3 down. As is though, it's a great morale booster round with the posted pars. Set myself a new record to beat elsewhere.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

the bon

2-4    2/24/2014   2/24/2014
Review By: guarenteedace
Played: 43  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: beautiful course with variety. that pretty much sums it up. the bon is neither too hard or easy. there are many long(er) holes and there are some shorties as well. there are also multiple lines to be had on most holes. i dont think this course favors one throwing style over another. the long holes are fair and the short holes are too easy to make them boring. there are only a few filler type holes here. the concrete teepads are huge and the sinage is pretty good. the park itself was very clean and trash cans are numerous.
Cons: no alternate tee placements. can be crowded on weekends. could have used the elevation in the park a bit better but there are still some cool elevation shots to be had. hard to say anything bad about this place
Other Thoughts: bb owen is a short drive from here and can be used as a warm up or a cool down as its no where near as challenging

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good park

5+    8/11/2013   8/3/2013
Review By: NickH80
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 8/12/2013
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This is a decent park in the Dallas Area

-Good mix of long, short, lefts, rights
-Well laid out from hole to hole
-Not usually crowded
-Newly added concrete pads
-Pretty clean and maintained
Cons: -No alternate basket positions
Other Thoughts: Good little park that usually isn't very crowded. On most days we are the only group out in the morning.

7/11/13 - It looks like they have gone through and done a major clearing of the brush and made the park much nicer.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 New Tees Installed!

5+    6/2/2013   6/3/2013
Review By: chad.daigle
Played: 154  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 14 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: New concrete tees installed! All of them are very large, and all are level. Kudos to Garland Parks and Recreation!
Cons: The burrs off of the fairways are already starting to rear their ugly heads so STAY IN THE FAIRWAYS!!! (and watch for snakes)
Other Thoughts: Tuesday night mini starts tomorrow night with an established ace pot (moving from another course). Random draw doubles. the disc golf traffic has already doubled since the tees were poured on Thursday/Friday of last week.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

New Signs!

2-4    1/7/2013   1/7/2013
Review By: Badger Dan
Played: 47  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/11/2013
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: ***New signs added today!*** Challenging course that has a great variety of shots, both distance and direction. Some fun and unique holes including one over the river. Longer holes challenge even the biggest arms and the trees are never too dense offering reasonable obstacles and thoughtful hole design. Good flow from hole to hole but it certainly helps having a guide because it can be difficult to spot the next tee if you have never played here before. The first time I played here, most of the signs were missing and without a local guide, It would have been difficult to know where to aim on many holes. This has been corrected and the new signs boost the rating of this course big time!
Cons: The tees are all dirt and some are quite worn down. While they are reasonably easy to spot, I could see traction being a problem with any weather. I have only played this course in the winter, when it's been dry, but have heard from locals that it can become flooded and nearly unplayable after heavy rains. Despite being a large spread out park, some holes are close to walking paths where pedestrians seem completely unaware of the hazard. Today, a fellow disc patron almost beefed two elderly ladies from 300 out and although we all yelled fore, they seemed totally oblivious to why we were yelling at them. Could definitely use more garbage bins (like 15 more!)
Other Thoughts: Overall, a really nice course. A few tweaks, including the addition of some concrete tee pads, would put this course up there with the elite Dallas area courses. The terrain and hole design are already there in my opinion.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Very Nice Course

2-4    7/29/2012   7/29/2012
Review By: dbx820
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Well Maintained. Long holes. Few trees. Good flow from hole to hole. Doesn't get or feel crowded given the amount of space. Bathroom facilities close by. Great Parking. About as close as you can get to playing on a Golf Course.
Cons: Not a lot of elevation changes. Not overly challenging with obstacles/basket placement. Concrete pads would be a nice addition but I would not down rate it for that.
Other Thoughts: I am surprised this course is not rated higher. I only started coming here in May 2012, so I don't know what it used to be. A great open course for those that don't want to loose their mind and scream expletives on a technical course like Cedar Hill.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Much improved course!

5+    7/7/2012   7/7/2012
Review By: cdadams1223
Played: 19  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 17.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Improved layout, lots of open space/long course, easily visible gold tee markers, big arm holes abounding
Cons: No concrete tees (I was okay with the dirt), tall grass/weeds, people not utilizing the trash cans, inadequate signage.
Other Thoughts: I was thoroughly impressed with this course today. I haven't played it in at least a few years because I grew tired of the ever-changing layout and poorly marked holes. Today, it was much different. Easy to see gold markers at each tee won me over. It's a very long course that plays well into the hands of big arm throwers and lots of anhyzer shots.

It would be nice to see some brush/weeds whacked at several holes as well as getting some concrete tee pads. Also, some additional trash cans would help keep the lazy slobs from dumping their bottles on the course. Overall I was well pleased with the course and I'll be playing it more often. :)

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Audubon Fun

2-4    5/2/2012   5/3/2012
Review By: Spookyspence
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15
This review was updated on 5/24/2012
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: HUGE course
Great for big drives.
Holes have great mix of left and right hand challenge.
Accurate map can be found in rec center.
Cons: Can have VERY tall grass, not mowed enough.
Poison Ivy EVERYWHERE, keep your eyes open.
Dirt tee pads.
Other Thoughts: I have played this course many many times now and I must so that over all it is a very good course and I would recommend it to intermediates as well as new players. The only real complaints I have about it are the dirt tees! I hate dirt tees, but I must say that this park is played enough that they are in good shape and have that "groove". I guess I really don't have much else to say so I will just give a short description of each hole!

1 Nice open straight shot with the basket dog legged to the left.

2 More or less straight shot with the basket down the hill to the left a bit.

3 The basket ( ITS NOT THE ONE TO LEFT IN THE OPEN) is FAR straight back in a little pocket in the tree line, has two routes to take... up the middle through the trees or you can go to the left where it is more clear. Behind the basket is a trail to basket 4, it can be hard to see.

4 This is the shortest hole on the course, but that doesn't make it easy...you have to throw through a couple of openings in the tree to get to the basket that is just to the left once out of the brush.

5 This can frighten first time players of the course....you have to hyzer through a tree/brush window over a river to get to the the basket. There is a small trail to the left of the tee to get to the basket.

6 Brush on the left and right can smack a disc down with those less accurate, and once you get to the open you have to shoot under a tree canopy.

7 Nice straight shot will get you to the basket

8 Straight shot with only a few trees to worry about

9 Straight shot with a few trees

10 can be a tough shot, from the tee you have to throw a line through a BUNCH of tree then it turns into a big open shot up until you get to the basket which is tucked away in the tree line straight ahead.

11 Big open straight shot with the basket tucked into the tree line around the big power pole.

12 Big open hole with a hard dog leg right for the basket.

13 Basket is straight ahead, big anhyzer hole.

14 BIG arm hole, basket is straight ahead, avoid the tree in the middle of the field.

15 Shoot under the trees straight ahead.

16 Straight ahead mid range hole, easy.

17 Basket is straight behind a few trees, throw out to the left or right for easy putt.

18 Straight shot just be sure not to throw too high because of the trees.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  A tier worthy

2-4    10/16/2011   10/17/2011
Review By: Duffmyster
Played: 15  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.1 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Challenging without using the creek to eat your disc.
Great combination of open and narrow shots.
Lots of Distance.
Multiple Tees.
Beautiful, giant trees.
Cons: You need a guide to show you this course.
Only 3-4 trash cans over the whole course.
Other Thoughts: The size of this course is shocking, worthy of hosting an A tier tournament.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.