Garland, TX 
Audubon Park Share
Uploaded By: patfan74 Hole #11 (Taken 3/2011)
4 / 336ft.   3 / 336ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Approach



Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Good first impression!

1    6/29/2014   6/29/2014
Review By: xseption
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 0.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of variety: short. medium, length, and long holes. Some holes with open fields, some tree infested areas, and some holes with a tree or two strategically placed. Some holes hook left and some hook right. Most holes are flat, but a few throwing uphill and/or downhill. Concrete tees are in place and well done. Signs look to be new for each hole.
Cons: If you do not know the layout of the course then you may find yourself spending some time looking for the next hole, especially from hole 15 to tee 16. The creek was at a low level, yet we lost two to three discs in the water. I got wet going into the creek for mine which I later lost.
Other Thoughts: Take a picture on your phone for easy reference. The par count for these holes are a bit generous; some par 5s should be 4s, and some par 4s should be par 3s. Some areas are open with no tree cover so protection from the sun needs to be considered. Also, no access to drinking water so bring plenty. I met some people there through Facebook and they turned out to be very friendly and very helpful and encouraging.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Awesome course!

1    4/25/2014   4/26/2014
Review By: diskritter
Played: 16  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: What a beautiful course! Coming from West Texas where there isn't anythjng taller than 8', this was a welcomed change. It has a great variety of line options and plays pretty long. There are several holes where you can let it rip down the fairway. It has lots of great trees as well as elevation and water hazards; several of the key ingredients that make a course great. There was ample parking despite a mini going on and a course map to greet you so you know where to go. Great teepads and teesigns too!
Cons: My only complaint is that the course is way too easy with the "posted pars". I literally shot -18 and felt like I only played decently. Many of the holes are one or two strokes higher par than they deserve. According to my buddy, tournament par is different and according I that I shot more like -2 or -3 down. As is though, it's a great morale booster round with the posted pars. Set myself a new record to beat elsewhere.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

the bon

2-4    2/24/2014   2/24/2014
Review By: guarenteedace
Played: 43  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: beautiful course with variety. that pretty much sums it up. the bon is neither too hard or easy. there are many long(er) holes and there are some shorties as well. there are also multiple lines to be had on most holes. i dont think this course favors one throwing style over another. the long holes are fair and the short holes are too easy to make them boring. there are only a few filler type holes here. the concrete teepads are huge and the sinage is pretty good. the park itself was very clean and trash cans are numerous.
Cons: no alternate tee placements. can be crowded on weekends. could have used the elevation in the park a bit better but there are still some cool elevation shots to be had. hard to say anything bad about this place
Other Thoughts: bb owen is a short drive from here and can be used as a warm up or a cool down as its no where near as challenging

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    11/2/2013   12/2/2013
Review By: Notorious21
Played: 45  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 3.9 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
- Great park, mowed fairways, large, mature oak trees
- Decent variety of shot shapes required
- Concrete teepads and useful signage
- Good mix of distance and accuracy
Cons:
- Little to no elevation change on most holes
- Somewhat monotonous on the back 9
Other Thoughts:
This is a very solid, if not spectacular course. It is a very nice piece of property for a course and they made the most of it. I definitely would put this course in my rotation, especially if it were closer, but even still, worth a drive a few times a year perhaps.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Championship DG

5+    9/26/2013   9/26/2013
Review By: upshot87
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This is a championship course. Now that this course has concrete tee pads it is one of the most saught after courses in the metroplex. This course is a lengthy course with every variety of shot. The difficulty is that of a well laid out course that is achievable, yet difficult enough that you it keeps you on your toes from start to finish. If you want to see where you stand on an advanced level playing field of DG, this is a good course to do this on.
Cons: The only con to this course is the fact that if you are not familiar with the layout you may get thrown off track in a few places throughout the course.
Other Thoughts: If you havent played this course in a while you need to give it another chance. This course has improved over the past year tremendously.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Good park

5+    8/11/2013   8/3/2013
Review By: NickH80
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 8/12/2013
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This is a decent park in the Dallas Area

-Good mix of long, short, lefts, rights
-Well laid out from hole to hole
-Not usually crowded
-Newly added concrete pads
-Pretty clean and maintained
Cons: -No alternate basket positions
Other Thoughts: Good little park that usually isn't very crowded. On most days we are the only group out in the morning.

7/11/13 - It looks like they have gone through and done a major clearing of the brush and made the park much nicer.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 New Tees Installed!

5+    6/2/2013   6/3/2013
Review By: chad.daigle
Played: 154  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 13.9 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: New concrete tees installed! All of them are very large, and all are level. Kudos to Garland Parks and Recreation!
Cons: The burrs off of the fairways are already starting to rear their ugly heads so STAY IN THE FAIRWAYS!!! (and watch for snakes)
Other Thoughts: Tuesday night mini starts tomorrow night with an established ace pot (moving from another course). Random draw doubles. the disc golf traffic has already doubled since the tees were poured on Thursday/Friday of last week.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

New Signs!

2-4    1/7/2013   1/7/2013
Review By: Badger Dan
Played: 47  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/11/2013
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: ***New signs added today!*** Challenging course that has a great variety of shots, both distance and direction. Some fun and unique holes including one over the river. Longer holes challenge even the biggest arms and the trees are never too dense offering reasonable obstacles and thoughtful hole design. Good flow from hole to hole but it certainly helps having a guide because it can be difficult to spot the next tee if you have never played here before. The first time I played here, most of the signs were missing and without a local guide, It would have been difficult to know where to aim on many holes. This has been corrected and the new signs boost the rating of this course big time!
Cons: The tees are all dirt and some are quite worn down. While they are reasonably easy to spot, I could see traction being a problem with any weather. I have only played this course in the winter, when it's been dry, but have heard from locals that it can become flooded and nearly unplayable after heavy rains. Despite being a large spread out park, some holes are close to walking paths where pedestrians seem completely unaware of the hazard. Today, a fellow disc patron almost beefed two elderly ladies from 300 out and although we all yelled fore, they seemed totally oblivious to why we were yelling at them. Could definitely use more garbage bins (like 15 more!)
Other Thoughts: Overall, a really nice course. A few tweaks, including the addition of some concrete tee pads, would put this course up there with the elite Dallas area courses. The terrain and hole design are already there in my opinion.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Fun course for in-town players

1    1/7/2011   1/7/2013
Review By: windsurf17
Played: 15  Reviewed: 10
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Fun course if you are in the middle of Dallas. Not sure I'd travel all the way here just for this course, but it's probably a fun league-night course, and worth a commute if you are in town for a few days, too. There are enough challenges to make this fun, for both an intermediate level player and for a beginner. The beginner can get a few pars and play the other holes safe while a more experienced player can go for it on most holes and probably get a few down.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging yet Fun

2-4    11/9/2012   11/9/2012
Review By: ericscho1980
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has long defined, mowed fairways, surrounded by large trees. The distance and tight shots can be intimidating, but the lanes are open enough to make, creating a very fun round. Course was very well maintained (today), and easily navigated.
Cons: Dirt tees and small signs. Most of the posts were painted yellow for visibility, but a couple were not. Pins were not labeled numerically, so as a gazed down the fairway and saw 2 baskets I had to use reason as to which one I was throwing to. This course would get another .5 stars if it had concrete tees and better markings with distances. But the flow is obvious.
Other Thoughts: It's been several years since I played this course, and I don't know why! I thought the course is laid out well overall and had a nice flow. There are several holes with very similar distances, maybe a little more variation would be nice? And possibly move hole 10 to the right, closer to the bridge and make it shorter...this would avoid walking in the fairway back from 15 to 16. I really like this course and will be back more often.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.