Garland, TX 
Audubon Park Share
Uploaded By: YoDesigner Hole #1 (Taken 4/2009)
4 / 385ft.   3 / 385ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket

Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Like to play more than three holes

1    7/5/2011   7/11/2011
Review By: pfluegel
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
This review was updated on 3/27/2012
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Decent Chinese food close. Read update under other thoughts.
Cons: Over Grown, could not follow lay out, Made it to what we believe is hole 3 and searched for hole 4 for about 30 minutes before going back. Terrible course.
Other Thoughts: I know this is a harsh review but as a new player having played Harry Meyers, B.B. Owens, Paschal, and Porter, this course was a huge turn off. No concrete tees, and no signage make playing this course a hassle. I will rereview it when I find someone to show me the course, but for now this sets the low bar standard.

UPDATE: I played it again after my brother painstakingly found what he believed were the tee pads and corresponding baskets. Since then they have put in new yellow post to indicate tees. Brother was just a little off on a couple of holes. Now I LOVE this course! It is certainly a course for big arms. High risk holes are like poker for money. They just make it better. Lots of fun.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 where's the next hole?

1    4/8/2011   4/8/2011
Review By: myoung
Played: 23  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 8.7 Years
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Flat terrain
Cons: No signs. confusing baskets for certain holes. I spent most of the round trying to figure out where to throw.
Other Thoughts: On hole three there were two baskets close to each other, i just threw at the closer one. I guess if i played with someone who knew the course it would have been a better experience. I think this is where courses have to get better. There needs to be better signage.

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Enjoyable, fun course.

5+    12/5/2010   12/7/2010
Review By: riffraffrasta
Played: 25  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Decent variety between righty, lefty and straights.
-Some long, some real long and a couple shorts.
-Multiple dirt tee's
-Good shade on the front nine.
Cons: -Not a fan of dirt tee's but there are quite a few different marked ones now so it's a give and a take I suppose. The creek.
-If you go in with the exception of a few spots, your gone.
-No Signage. Can be hard to navigate first time. Map at rec. center is old and hard to follow but better than nothing.
-Tree's and a few hazards could frustrate beginners and first timers.
-People/Park Dept. don't take great care of the place. Parks cut a few branches, not enough trash cans, trash and litter throughout. The creek is disgusting.
-Back nine can get hot.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I really like this course. It is close and less crowded than B.B. Owen. However, it is kind of dirty and I don't like dirt tee's. I will agree that sometimes there can be some shady types hanging around but I also have noticed it is patrolled somewhat regularly by Garland police. It is a fun course with good variety and at least to me a charm that keeps me wanting to come back. It has been BEAUTIFUL this fall except I did lose a disc in the leaves.

#6 is probably the funnest hole on the course, at least for me.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Much Better Now

5+    8/18/2010   8/30/2010
Review By: bumpspeed
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The work done on this course has made it so much more fun to play. The new pin placements make the lanes a lot of fun. Definitely a risk/reward course. Make the fairway and your up shot/birdie shot should be good. Get outside the line and your laying up.

Makes your game better. You can't come here and run and gun. Makes you play better.
Cons: Tee Pads. The dirt areas a worn and rutted. But I think this is being worked on.
Other Thoughts: Glad that I can put this course back into my rotation.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Such a great track,... truly!

5+    8/11/2010   8/25/2010
Review By: mattj
Played: 27  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The holes allow ( require ) creativity, finesse', and a great deal of power to effectively navigate this course. Birdies are tough, but very tempting, and the non-birdiable holes are fairly laid out to reward a three. The seductive power of this course is that par is a very goos score, but for a long chucker, 13 chances for 2 from the yellows is there ( like a dangling carrot). Typically, though, the course will take back the carrot, and stick you in the eye with it.
Cons: I have lost a bunch of nice discs , and a lot of pride, going for the basket, where the deep creek nearby represented the "risk" of an approach.
Other Thoughts: They have addressed this a bit (#4), but the risks remain real and present. The new baskets are a welcome sight! I remember the old ones ( and the memories are not fond ones). This course will improve your game.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


5+    8/8/2010   8/20/2010
Review By: adamb258
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a challenging course for players of all skill level. The holes range from short and technical too long and open. The course is well maintained by the PARD and is continuing to gain attention from local players. Multiple tees with single pin positions.
Cons: Still no signs, making first time navigation slightly more challenging but not impossible.
Other Thoughts: This course has recently gotten a lot of love from local players and at this rate could prove to be one of the finest courses in DFW in a short amount of time.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course, Not sure why the low rating

2-4    7/25/2010   8/19/2010
Review By: emook
Played: 46  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/20/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course will push any player to the limits. I play the wednesday minis here and to my knowledge or anyone elses, the course record is -3ish by a local pro. It is an over all great course, all kinds of different holes, long, short, left, right. I am not sure of why it has a low rating other than there are a lot of novice players who hate that it is too challenging.

The course in my opinion is easy to navigate, I've played way harder than this.
Cons: The only con I can think of and I wouldn't say is a big deal is there are no tee pads. Not all drives are from cement, so you gotta get used to it at some point.
Other Thoughts: Wed Night Draw Dub Minis, $5 play, $1 ace pot and a CTP Prize.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Compass, Field Glasses, and a Map…Not Enough.

1    5/19/2010   5/20/2010
Review By: Donovan
Played: 223  Reviewed: 186  Exp: 28.7 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very long course with lots of trees, wide-open holes, and some slight elevation. There are 2 tee positions on many of the holes. The holes with trees are well designed with multiple routes and accuracy shots needed. The long wide-open holes are long enough to air out your drives. This is a tough course and for me that is a plus. There are a few tough pin placements to add to the difficulty. This place also has bathrooms on site.
Cons: Navigation is horrible here even with the map. You should really get a guide your first time here. Even the map has some mistakes on it. Not all the hole posts are there and some of the dirt/grass tee pads are in bad shape. Tee signs are really needed here to help with the navigation. Some of the walks between holes is quite extensive. Hole #15 to #16 was the longest one by far. The grounds are not well maintained. There needs to be some serious grass cutting and cleaning up going on. They do need trashcans out on the course.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor here is really mixed for me. There are some really great driving holes with trees in just the right spot to make you navigate your drives. I like that, but then there are some holes that are just obvious fillers. The navigation is bad, but after you play here once, you should be good to go. This course is tough and that is the long and short of it. It is a good long hike for exercise, so stop by here if you have time.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Audubon finally getting much needed face-lift

5+    8/18/2010   7/18/2009
Review By: RustyP
Played: 52  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 11.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/19/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Challenging layout, even for big arms. Many of the holes on this course require not only good distance, but accuracy and smart disc placement in order to score well. Not very many easy birdies to be found've really got to work for them. There are only 2 holes that are long (over 450') and wide-open...most have ample trees, elevation and/or water to contend with. There aren't any that I would consider a true par 4+, but there are several that play like very difficult par 3s.

-Unique layout. With the exception of a few shorter holes, most on this course are different from anything else in the DFW. Holes 2-7 are probably the best example of this, with hole 3 being what I would consider the "signature" hole.

-The course has undergone a great deal of improvement over the last year. All new baskets (which is a big plus if you ever played on the previous homemade baskets), several new pin / tee placements, and looks nice overall. The city of Garland must have noticed the surge of new players at the park, because they have been mowing regularly (another big improvement from a few years ago)

-2 sets of tees on many holes (1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 7, 10, 13, 14, 16, 17)...the yellow tees are the "original" layout (dating back 6-7 years) and the blue tees are the most recent. The blue tees are generally shorter, though a few are longer.
Cons: -Biggest con, in my opinion, is the lack of quality or even remotely level tee areas on the majority of holes. The tees are all dirt with painted landscape posts marking them. Some of the newer tees (the blue ones) are fairly level, but 75% of the older ones (yellow) have moderate to deep ruts in them. Not only are they annoying, but many of them border on being dangerous (especially Hole 2 Yellow, since it's on the side of a fairly steep hill). When it rains, the tees are all covered in mud; when it hasn't rained for a few week, they're all covered with loose sand...either way, the footing isn't very solid.

-Lack of signage. Looking for the distance for this one? No such luck. The lack of signs also makes navigation pretty tough the first time through...but after that first time, it's easy to remember.
Other Thoughts: Audubon was once THE premier course in Dallas, but fell into a state of disrepair for several years...during which time it got a bad reputation among many locals. Recently, however, there has been a huge surge in new players at the course, many who are serious about improving the course and its reputation. The Wednesday night mini averages 30 people, which tells you just how good of a course Audubon is. Keep an eye out for new tees and signs in the near future...we, the locals, plan on putting "The Bon" back on the map!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Encouraging improvements!

5+    8/14/2010   7/11/2009
Review By: eegor
Played: 107  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 19.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/7/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 brand new DGA baskets! You'll have to make a lot of different shots. It's a great course for practicing placement of the big drive. Great shade in the summer on all of the holes. One of the best layouts in the area, not like other area courses. High fun factor. There are options on how to approach baskets on most of the holes. Great course for learning course management. Not crowded. The city has been mowing the course regularly... it makes a big difference in a positive way.
Cons: Natural tee pads are in really bad shape. Some crushed rock at the tees would really help. The course has a lot of wet areas that require a long time to dry out.

No signs. First timers will need a guide.
Other Thoughts: Audubon is a nice park. The course has improved a lot lately. It would be one of the best courses in the area if the City of Garland would do something about the tees. The "very good" rating is due to the fun you will have playing the course. It's worth the trip if you like a challenging course. The work the city of Garland has recently put into this course have really improved the playability and my rating.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.