Chico, CA 
Peregrine Point Share
Uploaded By: JMONEY Hole #4 (Taken 11/2011)
3 / 250ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Basket



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Fantastic views

1    11/25/2013   1/13/2014
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 762  Exp: 12.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a unique and beautiful course. Many of the holes have a wonderful view out over the valley, and the terrain itself is fairly unique. The lava rocks sticking up all over the course make for a different feel than you get at most courses. The elevation available is limited, but used well. Outside of the obviously cool cliff shots where you have to choose the deuce route over open space or the tougher but safer route through the trees, there are also a handful of holes with enough uphill or downhill to add some variety.

The trees are limited and scattered, but they're used pretty well to try to make things as technical as possible. A few holes manage to make you hit a tighter gap or hit a specific line. The rest are pretty good tests of shot placement skills. There isn't really much skip or roll here with the omnipresent rough rock outcroppings, so if you want to get the deuce, you'll have to be pretty accurate.

The tees and baskets are in nice shape. The course was very clean and seemed well kept when I played. The flags on some of the hidden pins were helpful on knowing where to throw for a first time player here.
Cons: The amount of challenge and variety is limited by the lack of real elevation and the limited foliage. I think the design was creative, but it's just not possible to make a really technical course that forces players to use a variety of lines on this property. It would help to have a little more variation in hole length, it felt like I was throwing the same discs a lot. That was exacerbated by the option to throw a big hyzer over the small trees on a lot of shots to avoid the few challenges in the fairway.

Signage would be nice here. I understand the park won't allow it, but knowing where to throw and where to find the next tee would be helpful. There are a few transitions between holes that aren't obvious, bring a map or meet up with a local guide and you'll be fine.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find this course challenging but approachable. Other than the cliff shots, there isn't a whole lot of risk of losing discs, and the lengths and punishment for errant shots are limited. Experienced players won't find themselves fully tested, but it's a fun layout with great views that's certainly worth a stop.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Blue baskets on the edge

5+    12/28/2013   1/9/2014
Review By: Philbert
Played: 18  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Peregrine Point is the reincarnation of what was once two courses that where played on the current property. The "new" 18 hole course complete with concrete tee's and mach 5 baskets plays over much what was once the Long Course. Peregrine Point had several limitations imposed on its development that did not allow for a full use of the area as many other courses experience. With that being said, a mighty fine job was done with what was available. Oak trees and Buck Brush line the fairways through out the course and Poison Oak can be found in many places.

A person could give Peregrine Point a strong rating based solely on the ambiance. The place is beautiful (Especially in the Spring)

The concrete tees are in good shape, and a good length and width. Many are textured a bit so they are pretty stable in colder weather. There are also some nice home made wooden benches at almost all of the tee boxes.

The Mach 5 baskets are easy to see from most tee's, and those that are not have recently acquired flags for easier spotting.

The hole design at Peregrine Point is set to allow for a great variety of throws. You can use a good chunk of your bag. Left and Right lines are about even. Though some of the left to right ones can be a little less forgiving. There are a couple of slightly longer holes to allow for a little airing out.

The course uses the available terrain very well. The canyon holes, 3, 4, and 7 are quite awesome. There is just something about throwing a disc along the canyon that just feels good. A lot of the holes use elevation and buck brush to good effect. Hole 8 is considered a tougher hole due to the slope and the disc eating brush that guard the pin. Hole 10, a shorter hole actually plays up and over a smaller rise in the terrain. Peregrine Point is lacking a bit in the tight tunnel shots category. At the end of the day you will feel like your earned your under par scores.
Cons: During the Summer there is a severe lacking of shade. Peregrine Point is built on a shallow lava cap. It gets hot, then just turns into a giant radiator. You will need to pack a couple (read as "allot") of water bottles if you want to keep it together.

Again, the course is built on a lava cap. That means there is exposed lava rock. I would say quite a bit of it. It can season a disc pretty quick depending on where your landing.

The only restroom is a port-a-potty next to the parking lot.

There is no signage on the road leading to the course. I used to drive by the place all the time and didn't even know it existed.

No tee signs are currently in place. There is a course map at hole 1 that gives some good information though.

A few of the tee pads face slightly off directions then the pins and lead to some awkward run ups or altering of throws to work around it. Holes 6 and 18 come to mind. I would also not be me if I did not mention the giant rock just in front of hole 14s tee box. It likes to eat toes.

Poison Oak is scattered through out the course in all sorts of interesting places. If you are susceptible to it, then to the left on hole 14 is a place you never want to go. There are also a few spots in the fairways of 15 and 8. Remember, leaves of three, let it be.

The occasional rattle snake has been known to wander around on the course. Just leave them alone and they will return the favor. The buck brush is more dangerous then the snakes.
Other Thoughts: The course is set in Chico's Upper Bidwell Park. There is a set of park rules posted at the main entrance area that goes over them. They are a bit extensive. The park rangers are known to come through the area on occasion to cite people with fines for breaking the park rules. So please be mindful.

The course also gets closed for rain, but usually reopens rather quickly as it dries out.

Getting to the course can be a little difficult if you have never been there. Heading up highway 32 from highway 99 you will need to look for a few things.
First: There is a litter pick up sponsor sign featuring Sierra Nevada. The course is to the left of this.

Secondly: There are a few solid white lines painted across the road as you get near the course. I have no idea how they got there, but they have been there for years.

Thirdly: There is a paintball park with a trailer and a old airplane on the left. If you reach this, you have just passed the entrance to the course.

I could have gone into a lot more detail on each hole, but that would defeat the purpose of having people come and play the course. Come out and see it for yourself. Peregrine Point is a great course. When and if the Outsiders are allowed to add in tee signs and alternate pin positions. It will only continue to improve.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Gorgeous Views + Dramatic Shots = A Memorable Outing

1    9/16/2013   9/21/2013
Review By: Qikly
Played: 66  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 2.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/5/2013
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Definitely have to mention the setting and the views. Holes 3-7 play alongside the edge of a steep, dramatic drop off, providing some breathtaking scenery and making for a few nerve-racking shots. As others have said, hole 3 is the signature here: avoiding the OB lining the fairway's left requires precision placement on a straight shot or hyzering out over the abyss. Taking the latter route definitely upped my pulse a few notches. 4 plays back uphill along the same cliffside. It's perfect for an overhand throw, as long as you don't kick too far to the right! 5 plays into a nicely-guarded basket, 6 is a huge blind anny that you'll want a spotter for, and 7 plays downward, once again moving along the cliff's edge, with an open fairway on the right side and a host of disc-snatching shrubs on the left. It's definitely an awesome stretch of holes: unique shots, gorgeous scenery, and lots of risk-versus-reward shot choices, which I love to face.

The remainder of the holes don't match the quality of this opening stretch, but they're still solid. Though the terrain is fairly open, there are enough elevation changes and obstacles here to provide engaging shots. Sometimes this involves hitting a definitive line (such as the tight anny on 15), elsewhere you're given the option of several paths (like hole 1, which allows for several routes as long as you clear the brush in approaching the pin). The flexibility in shot selection allows you to be creative and pick your poison, and I appreciate how Peregrine allows for such flexibility while still engaging your game.

Navigation is relatively easy here. There are a few spots requiring a bit of searching (such as after 11), but nothing too drastic. Arrows painted onto stones help direct you, and provide a nice touch that is appropriate to the surroundings. The course has a nice in and out.

The flags on top of the baskets are very welcome amidst the scraggly trees guarding baskets and the various elevation changes. Between these and the blue baskets, Peregrine sports some of the most visitor-friendly pins I've ever come across.

Given the relative lack of shade and the moderate intensity of the hiking, the numerous tee-side benches are a welcome touch.
Cons: The holes outside of 3-7 have a high floor but a modest ceiling: as I said before, "solid" is the operative word. This is partly due to the openness of the terrain: it limits the punishment on errant shots, reducing the danger of not getting your initial shot right. There's a bit of a deuce or die feel at times. I do feel as though the course designers maximized the terrain (except for the possibility of longer holes - I assume there was a limit imposed by park officials). It's just that the land's natural limitations restrict the course's ability to challenge your approach game. Smart pin placements mitigate this somewhat, but there's only so much that can be done.

No real amenities here, beyond the single portapotty. It gets hot, too, especially with all the hiking through some serious elevation changes; I was halfway through my water a third of the way into my round. I can see this being a real problem in the summer months. Again, the course designers aren't to blame, but it is a drawback.

Similarly, some sort of information as to line and pin placement would be welcome. I know the park restricts tee signs - maybe place them in the ground, the way the current directional arrows are?

I wish the tees were a bit longer in spots where the terrain doesn't allow me to begin my run up from off the tee. Not a big deal, though.

I wouldn't regularly throw base plastic discs on this course; the rocky terrain really chews them up.
Other Thoughts: This is a great, unique course that I would highly recommend. Having played mostly in the northeast and the south, Peregrine offered me a completely new experience. Do the locals ever tire of such beautiful surroundings? I certainly wouldn't!

As mentioned, the entrance to the course is located across from a Sierra Nevada adopt-a-highway sign. It's on your left, at the top of a cresting hill.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

A Very Unique Course with Some Wow Factors

1    9/16/2013   9/19/2013
Review By: BigAl724
Played: 70  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 2.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/3/2013
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Set in what is said to be one of the biggest state parks in the country, Peregrine Point offers unparalleled views of the surrounding mountains, valleys, and towns, and a completely unique experience. It is located in Bidwell Park - 3,700 acres in all - which offers an immense amount of activities, many using the various paved and dirt trails throughout the park. There are areas for mountain biking, horseback riding, jogging, hiking, and skating, as well as chances to bird watch and see other wildlife. The disc golf course, however, is conveniently located away from any other of the park's aspects - this part of the park is secluded for the course only.

-Peregrine Point is only a few minutes away from downtown Chico and is located right off 32 E, coming from Chico. The parking lot is right when you turn in, and the course starts very close to the parking lot. There are 3 or 4 signs that are nicely posted near the first tee, providing a course map, local club information, discussing the course and disc golf rules, and giving you pointers on how to handle the wildlife that you may encounter. Amenities aren't in abundance here, apparently the park made the course designers take away the tee signs and garbage cans. However, it is obvious that the designers have put a lot of time and care into maintaining the course, providing benches of most of the holes. While there aren't any garbage cans, there was no trash on the course. It is very, very nicely landscaped, with wooden barriers and mulch around each of the tees. There are also pathways lined with rocks to clearly take you to the next tee (I'm thinking of 14-15 here specifically but there are other points in the course) and aesthetically pleasing greens lined with rocks and covered with mulch. There were many wooden poles throughout that may have indicated mando's. We played them as such, but they may have simply been there to protect the trees.

-The tees are concrete and in great shape and are very wide. They could be a foot or so longer IMO but are certainly sufficient. There are no tee signs, but there is a stone with the number carved out for each corresponding tee. The pins are Mach 5 and are very sturdy, in great shape, and blue which makes them a little easier to find. Flags on top of the pins are much appreciated and make them much easier to see from the tee. Navigation is pretty easy here, and there are multiple points in the course with rocks with arrows painted on them to point you in the right direction. The course flows very well, using different kinds of trails to guide you in the right direction and it makes uses of much of the land provided. The course is rough and rocky, but I enjoyed the hiking aspect of it.

-There are a nice variety of shots, with many anhyzer and hyzer lines, and great use of elevation of about 2/3's of the holes. You even get extreme elevation shots on 3 and 4. Also, a good variety between open and tight lines. Another plus to Peregrine Point is that most of the holes have multiple routes that you can choose, giving most holes a good variety. O.B. adds to the technicality of the course, and is on 3 and 14 that I can remember.
Cons: -Only single tees and pin positions, which is a con if you play here often
-Pretty rough and rocky terrain, so pay attention to where you step. This wasn't much of a con to me, but is a warning to others.
-There were some holes that I could do without. A few didn't have much variety to them and only required one type of shot. Simple throw off the tee, easy lay-up, to an unguarded tee. There weren't many holes like this, but I few in the middle and a few toward the end.
-There wasn't a great variety in distances as most were around 300 ft. None of them were throw-away lengths, but it'd be nice to have a few more long distance holes (longest being 425 ft)
-Lack of amenities hurts the course a little bit with no tee signs, garbage cans or bathrooms, but you can say it also adds to it's exotic appeal. I believe there was one porta-john near the parking lot, but I didn't like how there was no where to go on the course. Weren't many secluded spots to go during the course.
-I didn't have any trouble, but there is apparently poison oak in multiple spots
-Apparently, the park closes due to rain
-Although the tees are in good shape, they look like they would be slick in the rain
-It can be a little tough to find off 32. As mentioned before, if coming from Chico, make sure you look for the Sierra Nevada Adopt-A-Hwy sign on the right. As soon as you see it, look to turn left into the unmarked parking lot. The lot is a little before the sign, so slow down once you see a sign and a house.
Other Thoughts: Peregrine Point offers a very unique experience with some very unique holes. Holes 3 and 4 are the highlight IMO, and I have never felt the adrenaline pumping feeling before throwing from a tee like I did from these. Hole 3 is an extreme downhill then uphill shot. If you throw your disc on a hyzer line, it will most likely come back and land on the ground. However, an arrant throw could literally send this disc a mile away. O.B. on this hole also adds to it's technicality (and danger). Hole 4 throws over a very deep gap and then plays uphill threw a lot of bushes and onto a green close enough to the edge of the cliff to make you nervous. These were definitely two of the most fun holes I've ever played.

Some other highlights:
6- Plays on a sharp anhyzer line throw some tall trees and bushes. A long hole that slightly plays uphill
10- Uphill anhyzer shot. Short hole but fun tee position; big rock to the right off the tee challenges your shot
13- Somewhat of a different hole; plays through two distinct lines and uphill to the pin

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Disc golf returns to Bidwell Park!

2-4    2/12/2011   2/13/2011
Review By: jimbosprint
Played: 68  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 13.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/4/2013
15 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: New Mach 5 baskets and nice concrete tees. Trails are well defined and have markers to help people navigate the course. And there are flags on the top of a few baskets that are hard to see from the tee.

The scenery is amazing. Nothing else I have ever played compares to the tee shot on hole three - shooting off the cliff toward a target 400ft away.

This is a challenging course for amatuer players, while remaining fun for most skill levels. Good variety of shots.
Cons: Course closes when it rains. Layout was designed by environmental wackos, not by disc golfers. Large groups of yelling, inconsiderate college kids are out there at times.

No trash cans, so pack in - pack out. No tee signs, just tee numbers. Watch out for poison oak! Tall grass that can make finding discs tough at times.
Other Thoughts: The old Chico Long Course with tone-poles and dirt tees is reborn as a new disc golf course with baskets and concrete tees!

Hot in the summer, so bring plenty of water and sunblock.

15 of 16 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.