Disc Golf Store
Chico, CA 
Peregrine Point Share
Uploaded By: JMONEY Hole #1 (Taken 11/2011)
3 / 250ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Check out the view!

1    4/3/2013   4/5/2013
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 184  Reviewed: 114  Exp: 22.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a gorgeous piece of land and is worth the visit alone! The view from holes 3 & 4 that look over the canyon and valley are the highlight, and the rest of the oaks among the grassy fields aren't bad either. The highlight was the shortest hole (#3) that has a scenic, but nasty drop off to the right, if you shank it from your elevated tee pad.

The course uses elevation and the oak trees to their full potential. It would be fun for beginners, and perfect for intermediate players. The challenges are present, but if you have a halfway decent drive, par is not too difficult to achieve.

The tees and the pretty blue baskets are top notch too. Flags on a few of the hidden baskets are most helpful. I would recommend using the map here to give you some reference point - but navigation is really fairly straight forward.
Cons: I wish that the tees were marked with distances somehow. It seems that from other reviews, that the city had limited what the course can do with signage, but it would help with some of the blind shots.
That said, the distances here are mostly between 270' and 320', from my guess. There was only one hole (#5) that seemed longer. Once again, the designers may have been limited by the city. Most of the course seemed like a longer version of pitch and putt - I was really yearning for more holes that required a technical approach even when making a stellar drive. Many of the holes were too open to fill this demand.

Other Thoughts: Watch for the Sierra Nevada "Adopt a Highway" sign on the road which indicates where the parking lot is.
And enjoy a pint there when finished with your round!

Lefty dominant course - on 7 or 8 holes. You may see this as a pro or con.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Technical Fun

1    3/28/2013   3/29/2013
Review By: getchofil
Played: 33  Reviewed: 8
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Most shots appeared blind until you take a second to locate off in the distance, over a hill, or across a cliff up onto another one. I loved this, opposed to the directly out in front with a few trees blocking. There was tons of elevation to make things more of a challenge. The terrain was awesome.
Cons: I can see this course in the Summer being a scorcher. Hearing that the park closes when rained on was a worry about its playability but wasn't an issue. Some signs to indicate both location and distance would make this even better.
Other Thoughts: Sherwood Forest was a fun nine hole to star the day but Peregrine is IT, nothin but top notch.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Love this place!

5+    2/18/2013   2/21/2013
Review By: flipphone
Played: 33  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.3 Years
0 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: Love my home course. This is the spot where I learned.
Long holes
Short holes
Technical holes
Good pin placement
Awesome views
and good people.
Cons: No tee sign or alternates
And thats because the city of chico is crap to deal with

0 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 The best Chico has to offer

2-4    7/9/2011   8/5/2012
Review By: humchris85
Played: 113  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 9.6 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Intense basket locations on a couple of holes where huge cliffs defiantly come into play
- Amazing views around the course
- Nice mixture of distances
- What elevation change is there is used well
- Holes vary from tightly wooded (but not impossibly tight) to wide open
- Blue powder coated baskets look great and help with basket visibility
- Holes have nice variety between them, lefts, rights, uphills, downhills, even out over cliffs.
- Concrete tees on every hole
- Trails are pretty easy to follow between holes, they have rocks and concrete blocks with arrows on them
- Benches on every tee
- Some baskets have flags to indicate wind on them
- Nice wood fences around, some to mark O.B.
- Friendly locals
- Amazing birds around including hawks, there are great chances for some bird watching out here
- There's a sign with a map of the course at the beginning, you might want to take a picture with your camera so you can use it for reference
Cons: - Tees get really slick when they are wet, like dangerously slick (I would recommend playing either behind or next to the tees when it's like this). They do close the course if it's been raining because of that.
- Tees are only marked with a concrete block with the hole # on it. They could use to have nice tee signs with maps of the holes and distance to pin
- You will need to walk up some of the holes to look for the pin if you have never played here before
- If your disc goes over the cliff you will probably never see it again
- Parking lot is really rocky and rough
- Poison Oak around the course
- Ticks around
- Course can get crazy hot in the summer
- I've heard that there are rattlesnakes around in the summer, but I've yet to see one myself
- Probably a high fire danger in the summer
- Rocks throughout the fairways will age discs much faster than usual
Other Thoughts: When you are making your way in you should make sure to keep your eyes out for the Sierra Nevada Adopt-A-Hwy sign, the parking lot for the course is directly across from it. The course has a great amount of variety, a couple of holes play right along cliffs (and you don't want to loose your disc down there, trust me). It gets hot out here in the summer so make sure to bring water as there is none on the course. This course has been well taken care of, the city of Chico and the local disc golfers have done a great job building a top notch course. Some nice tee signs on each hole would be a great thing to have, but hopefully in time they will get them.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 African Savannah Golf

1    7/31/2012   7/31/2012
Review By: Dieno
Played: 32  Reviewed: 16
2 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: The Point is something else. Fantastico views and vistas and shots. Played in 2008 and then again in 2011. Real Pleasure. Went to pick up my disk on hole 4 and heard the rattle and just missed a baby rattler looking to do me.
Cons: Not a one excepting the Park folk. Nice job doing the tee pads.

2 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    2/6/2012   4/6/2012
Review By: SnowvsFire
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.2 Years
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: This is by far one of the best courses I've ever played. Good variety in range, technicality and pin position. Great place, great view, and good people. I love the pack it in pack it out rules. Chico Outsiders definately have there stuff together. Good work guys.
Cons: The city and the park really mess with this place. Constantly closing it for weeks cause of a little rain. Keep up the good work outsiders.
Other Thoughts: Play this course! Become an Outsider member!!

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    2/27/2012   2/27/2012
Review By: nelsofthewoods
Played: 30  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 3.6 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -Great baskets, cement teepads, excellent signage.
-Lots of varied holes, from the technical to the distance ones.
Cons: -If you lose a disc, you LOSE a disc!
-Lots of rocks age your discs quickly.
Other Thoughts: One of the most beautiful courses around. Holes 3 and 4 require some confident shots as you are on the side of the cliffs, but, are some of the most fun holes for the same reason. Only downside is the rocks and how they can tear up your discs. hopefully will attract more organized events in the future.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Stellar Course!

1    2/13/2012   2/14/2012
Review By: jhkovac
Played: 24  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 24.6 Years
This review was updated on 2/15/2012
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I have to admit, the course was technically "closed" yesterday, but I was traveling through town all the way from WA state & had some time on my hands, so I wanted to check this course out.....even if just to stop by and walk it a bit!
I could tell right away that the Outsiders have dropped some serious money & time on this course.
Great signage. Great concrete tee pads. The baskets were solid, numbered, and a couple of them had huge flags on top which helped with showing the current wind direction as well as the general location of the basket on the up-shots. Genius!
The scenery made me stop a couple of times just to take in the vast valley beyond the course. I loved the fact that if you mess up, your disc WILL be lost over the cliff. It just made me huck my DX Wraith that much harder & with confidence with my backhand toss on hole 3 & 6.
All of the hawks (I know why it's named Peregrine Point now!) & other avian were such a treat too.
Simply a great 18 hole course, worthy of traveling to play.
Cons: Hard to find the turnoff off Hwy 32. Just know that it is DIRECTLY across from Dean's Paintball Guns/Tailor Park & the Sierra Nevada Adopt-a-Hwy sign. Slow down considerably!
This course was technically closed at the time due to heavy, continual rains during this past week. While I understand why this is needed (heavy traffic on this erosion-happy cliff-sided course on a wet day would absolutely desecrate the beautiful landscape), it would still make me a bit sad if this was my local course. I'm sure that the non-peak rain seasons would more than make up for the few months that this would be a factor though. I'm not too sure what the weather is like in Chico, but it can't be nearly as bad as our weather up in the PNW!!
Other Thoughts: Just a beautiful, scenic course (period). This is one course that is a must play if you're in, around, or passing through Chico. My girlfriend & I decided that we'd never been to Chico, and given the choice to stay the night there or in Redding, we chose the former. Plus, I looked up the courses in each place and Chico won!
So happy that I was able to play this course!

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Good Discin in Chico

5+    11/8/2011   11/8/2011
Review By: DutchViking
Played: 46  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 8.7 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very fun 18 hole Course located in Upper Bidwell Park, just outside Chico, CA.
Great teepads and Baskets in a beautiful setting.
There are no filler holes, all teeshots are challenging and different. Big anhyzers and hyzers, wooded and technical as well as open holes.
Lots of elevation changes to keep you on ur toes.
Signature Hole is definitely #3. HUGE CANYON to the right with an amazing view.
#4 is also a very cool shot uphill with the same canyon in view to the right.
Some birdie and ace runs, very fun
Easy to navigate
Cons: Arrows pointing in the direction of the pin location, instead of teesigns or maps. Also no distances listed which would be very helpful.
Can get very hot in the afternoon, especially in the summer. bring water and wear sunscreen.
If the weather has been rainy, the course gets get closed by the park rangers.
Room for more holes, but Chico conservationists have fought against this course for a long time, and surely they would not take kindly to more holes.
Other Thoughts: This is a first rate and very fun course in a beautiful spot in NORCAL. Chalked full of fun shots and nice locals. Lots of good golf to be had here. Don't miss this course if you are nearby!

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 That's good DG!

1    10/17/2011   10/19/2011
Review By: Cavanator
Played: 37  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.4 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice tee pads.
Easy to navigate.
Great variety of shots - tight vs. open, lefty vs. righty, a couple of bluff shots to test your reaction to the "pucker factor".
Awesome views from tees on 3 & 4.
It's a fair course - challenging without being over-the-top dificult.
Cons: I could see this course being windy since it sits on top of a bluff. And I was glad I played in the morning before the heat of the day got out of control. Distance signs from the tee would be a nice addition, but everything else about this course is great.
Other Thoughts: Visiting this course as a non-local, and having played over 20 courses, I think this is a first-rate course. I would love to play it a couple times to really get the strategy for the different holes dialed in. And having the course located three miles outside of town probably helps keep the dog poop and tagging under control. All in all, a great asset for Chico.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center