Disc Golf Store
Purcellville, VA 
Franklin Park Share
Uploaded By: thanxmikey Hole #7 (Taken 2/2011)
3 / 240ft.   3 / 264ft.   3 / 333ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  Nice Course

2-4    4/21/2012   5/1/2012
Review By: discgolf123
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course all the holes make you throw different kind of shots. No briar patches so it is harder to lose your disc. Different tee off spots and baskets to accomodate your skill level. Not very busy when I went.
Cons: Some of the holes are a bit boring. Hole 18 has a green house or something that you have to watch out for, if you mess up your shot it might break the glass. Kind of hard to locate the other holes. I suggest you print out a map and if you don't find a local who knows the course.
Other Thoughts: This course is the best I have played so far. My favorite hole is number six you get to throw off a massive decline. One of the holes has trees on either side ten feet apart for 100 feet and can make for a nice tunnel shot.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Up and Coming

1    5/24/2011   5/24/2011
Review By: Notorious21
Played: 46  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 3.9 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
- Beautiful pastoral scenery
- Multiple tee pads for each hole
- Good use of elevation
Cons:
- Tee pads still a work in progress, some still just flags or spray paint
- Several just long, open holes
- Tall grass
- Poor drainage after a rain, very muddy
- Dangerous proximity to road on holes 16 and 17
Other Thoughts: I played this course on a business trip with just a Roc I got from Play-It-Again Sports in nearby Leesburg. I wish I could play it again with my whole bag, A very pretty course with rolling hills and great scenery.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Franklin Park December 2011 Update

5+    12/22/2011   1/18/2011
Review By: thanxmikey
Played: 48  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 21.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/23/2011
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very open course. The course does a great job of using what trees they do have.

Two water holes (#'s 17 and 18). The 18 b pin is a challening shot over the lake.

This park is one of the most beautiful parks here in Loudoun County, VA. Franklin Park is a mutli use park featuringa large community pool, multiple soccer and baseball fields, tennis courts, inline hockey rink, a stocked pond, a performing arts center and equestrian riding facilites.

The layout of the course does not overlap any ball fields, or other areas where people might be recreating. However watch out in the fall with peewee football. the place is ridiculous. it is jam packed.

Trash cans at almost every hole.

Temporary tee signs have now been posted at each hole. These signs have tournament OB on them. I placed an up to date course map at hole #1 white tee bulletin board as well as a bunch of club info.

Restrooms are available at parking lot and a portojohn is at #10.

Bulleting board for infomation is also at parking lot.

Beautiful views.

Very close to terminus of W&OD Trail which runs from Purcellville to DC.

I do not think many people came out to play when it was a temp 9 hole. This is a good place to air it out and have few people around.
Cons: The newly installed tee pads are not entirely bad. There are three tees at every hole except hole #12, these will be installed in 2012. Some of the conrete mix on a few holes namely 2, 6, 14 was poor so those tee pads are questionable. The rest of the tee pads although short in some areas are fine and not slippery at all. We have placed flags red, white and blue at each tee. They all extend 6 feet to one side of each tee so there is an optional natural tee to use if the thrower desires that.

The course gets has very high grass in the fariways and even a well placed drive can get lost in the poorly maintained grass. Even when mowed the fairways are thick with grass, ticks and bugs.

The short tee boxes are a waste of time and money. I do not see anyone wanting to play the short tees at this course.

Basically, this course is falling into the too much too soon category. No time was given to allow the course to develp and mature. Instead, plans are being rushed and the course has taken a step backwards. The tee pads are the main provocateur in that regard.

Also half the baskets are not installed correctly, or are crooked. The latches were buried so they cant be moved.
Other Thoughts: To get to the course drive to the dead end in the park and take a left turn into the parking lot next to the small pond. The first hole is directly to your left as you are facing the pond.


Two sets of DISCatcher PRO Baskets were installed on course yellow and purple.

County park.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.