Purcellville, VA 
Franklin Park Share
Uploaded By: CACOVA Hole #6 (Taken 1/2011)
3 / 169ft.   3 / 263ft.   3 / 454ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Bring your own horse cart?

1    2/21/2016   8/21/2016
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 166  Reviewed: 147  Exp: 10.2 Years
Pros: Beautiful setting in the Blue Ridge Mountains. Multiple concrete tees with two permanent Discatcher baskets per hole. Good use of the available elevation, few trees, and the pond on 18. You get to watch some discs seriously fly and be exposed to the wind. You could probably bring your own horse and cart and play and ride around if you wanted.
Cons: Bring sunblock! This course seriously lacks in the tree and shade and diversity department. Only one big loop of 18 holes back to main parking lot. Frost and thaw conditions appear to be slanting some of the baskets. Holes 8 and 9 play a little close to the pool and courts. Police station in the middle of the course - beware of speed traps on highway coming in or going out. Horses and horse people.
Other Thoughts: I try to be somewhat object in my reviews however all course reviews are by nature subjective and this course is certainly no exception, especially given it's raw lack of diversity. I'm not a huge fan of open courses and this one may take the cake of the most wide open and long course I've played. I'm not sure if the whole course gets mowed in the summer- which would be a massive undertaking, or if there are tall grass hazards which I so loath, however I'm unlikely to ever find out in person because you would have to pay me to play here in the summer. Likewise on the flip-side of the coin, if you really love wide open courses, then Franklin Park is for you my friend. Thus my rating reflects the love/hate average value people will likely have with this course.

Solid Course in Loudoun County

2-4    12/11/2015   12/13/2015
Review By: cecilthelionfan
Played: 22  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - A great tester for big arms!
- Good change-ups for elevation.
- Excellent tee pads (3 skill levels).
- Two baskets on each hole!
- Very easy to navigate the course.
** Favorite Hole - #12 - Cool tee shot over the big water retention area.
Cons: - Several holes were very swampy (and it hadn't rained in days).
- Very crowded for a Friday.
- A little more variety would be nice.
Other Thoughts: I've seen several negative reviews about all the open holes on this course, but that really didn't bother me. I enjoyed being able to air out some distance drivers! Anytime I am near Purcellville, I really enjoy getting to play this course.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Open, Open ,Open

2-4    11/28/2015   12/4/2015
Review By: iri01001
Played: 18  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Open spaces, good for first timers

As others have said, 3 tee boxes and 2 baskets on each hole gives lots of playing options.

Beautiful setting and an enjoyable park
Cons: Start of course not clearly marked. We ended up starting on 10 and working our way around
Other Thoughts: If you are looking for a technical course, this is not it.

If you want a nice open course in a great setting, this course is for you.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Bring Sunscreen

5+    9/5/2015   9/5/2015
Review By: BAH618
Played: 16  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good use of elevation changes to very the feel of holes and to help shape fairways, the course is also very well maintained. Being that the course is largely in fields you shouldn't have to worry about fighting through weeds and underbrush to find a lost disc. Signage is good and navigation is easy.
Cons: The course is almost exclusively wide open holes with very few trees or underbrush to punish bad shots.
Other Thoughts: While the course is largely wide open, the placement of the course was designed well in order to very the feel of each hole. The distance also provides for a descent challenge. I think this is a great "change-up" course, for this course you can worry less about accuracy and more about distance.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Open course in beautiful park

5+    1/13/2013   11/11/2013
Review By: djros
Played: 31  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.4 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Three concrete tees and two permanent basket positions on every hole, means there is a layout here for pretty much any skill level. The course is nicely maintained, with mowed grass fairways, and in a park with nice amenities, including a swimming pool and baseball diamonds. The longer tees/baskets have water on the 18th hole. There are a couple of fairly large hills on this course with a couple nice downhill tee shots to let it rip, and a couple of tough uphill holes that challenge your distance. The 17th is a fun, but frustrating tunnel shot through a tight fairway with a low canopy. It's fun to try to get to the end of the tunnel, but I only got to an open shot a couple times.
Cons: Most of the holes are pretty open, at least to the short baskets. Only a couple holes that really force you to shape your shot. Most holes, you just throw your tee shot as far as you can, throw your approach, and then putt.
Other Thoughts: The 18th is a water hole from the long tees/baskets, but there are often people having picnics or fishing near the lake, so there could be a risk of these people being in the way of flying discs. I only played to the long basket once, but often saw people that would be in the flight path for that basket. Trees and long grass do come in to play on several holes, but it is mainly an open course, and is a nice course to practice driving. The longer baskets/tees do have more trees that come in to play, but I never played these layouts, so I can't offer much input on those other than that a couple of the long baskets looked significantly more difficult than the short baskets. This course is similar to Giles Run in terms of length, and relatively open shots on most holes, but without the thorns.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Great for beginners

1    9/28/2013   9/28/2013
Review By: davedove
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/4/2013
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wonderful course for those of us who are just starting out. Three tees and two baskets on each hole make for some variety, but none of it is difficult. Signs on all the holes and mostly on two of the tees at each, along with concret tee pads for almost all the tees.
Cons: Because the course is so well marked, it makes you notice when it's not.

The red tees don't have signs. Not a big deal except signs on the other two tee pads spoils you.

No tee pads on hole twelve. Again, normally not a big deal except all the other holes have them.

One biggie: since there are no tee pads on 12, the red tee doesn't seem to be marked. The other two tees have the signs, but nothing for red. You have to estimate where the tee should be.
Other Thoughts: Experienced players will likely find this course boring and unchallenging, but not everyone is experienced. Sometimes it's nice to have a simple course like this one when you're a beginner.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/11/2013   3/11/2013
Review By: KimBrennan
Played: 86  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 36 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Hole 17 is beautiful. Paved tees on most holes. Nice park.
Cons: Boring. I mean seriously, this course needs trees. Except for 11 and 17, there are no trees that are factor on any hole. And they're barely a factor on 11. Tee pads are concrete (except on 12, which has grass tees), but are too short. Distance on Hole 9 (by the sign on the course) is simply wrong (a claim of 312 feet for the White Tee to Red Basket is ludicrously off (closer to 156 feet). Other park users are a big factor on holes 2 and 3 (field hockey playing). Shipping pallets are used for the bridge across the stream on 18.
Other Thoughts: It is possible that 10 years from now this will be something other than a wide open course (I note tree seedlings planted on 15.) Outside of a little elevation changes, the only challenge to this course is the length of some of the holes.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Good Warm Up

1    7/28/2012   7/29/2012
Review By: cjrogus
Played: 13  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.5 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: 3 tee's per hole, 2 baskets per hole, plenty of choices, no lost discs, decent flow
Cons: Wide open every single hole, not much of a change got lost once or twice
Other Thoughts: Great course for an ace race, red tees to yellow baskets usually under 300ft

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Meh...

1    5/18/2012   5/24/2012
Review By: Airubus
Played: 43  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 13.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/21/2013
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Long Bomb Shots. 3 concrete tees per hole (except #12) and a long and short pin. beautiful park. Hole 17 is a beautiful tunnel shot. this hole is very ace-able. Hole 18 is a great long shot over the pond.
Cons: He who has the biggest arm, wins. There is nothing technical about this course, for the exception of hole 17. I found myself bored after 5 holes. "oh...another wide open shot." I would have rather them save the money from the added concrete pads an actually put in tee-signs, as there were only paper printouts in sleeve protectors. Sometimes the sign was gone altogether, and left you just throwing blind. Wonderful idea, but the wide open design left me yawning.
Other Thoughts: I played on a hot summer day. Bring sunscreen if the sun is out on a cloudless day. water too. there is NO SHADE because the trees are few, and far between. Hole #1 is all the way back the road, to the left parking lot. look for the pond, and a concrete slab. again...no teesigns...no maps. good luck navigating. it's frustrating as hell after the 3rd hole.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Will ruin your woods game

2-4    5/12/2012   5/13/2012
Review By: PanamaJacks
Played: 13  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.8 Years
This review was updated on 5/26/2012
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: As many have said, this course is located in a beautiful part of the country. The course is well maintained and has two tees/baskets on all holes except for 12. It's free.
Cons: Almost no signage at holes. Navigation from hole to hole is dicey if you don't have a map or a local. I've never met a local out there though. Only lost first timers. The course is WIDE OPEN. Very little in the way of obstacles. The one 'alley' hole is WAY too narrow, straight and long, especially after playing 16 wide open holes. I don't think it was a DG pro who designed this course.
Other Thoughts: Warning: if you play in the woods a lot, this course will ruin your accuracy. I played here twice last week and now at my home course, I'm hitting trees left and right. There's just nothing to make you keep it tight. I don't think I'll play here again for a long time.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center