Disc Golf Store
Purcellville, VA
Franklin Park Share
Uploaded By: CACOVA Hole #1
3 / 183ft.   3 / 243ft.   3 / 315ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Open course in beautiful park

5+    1/13/2013   11/11/2013
Review By: djros
Played: 29  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Three concrete tees and two permanent basket positions on every hole, means there is a layout here for pretty much any skill level. The course is nicely maintained, with mowed grass fairways, and in a park with nice amenities, including a swimming pool and baseball diamonds. The longer tees/baskets have water on the 18th hole. There are a couple of fairly large hills on this course with a couple nice downhill tee shots to let it rip, and a couple of tough uphill holes that challenge your distance. The 17th is a fun, but frustrating tunnel shot through a tight fairway with a low canopy. It's fun to try to get to the end of the tunnel, but I only got to an open shot a couple times.
Cons: Most of the holes are pretty open, at least to the short baskets. Only a couple holes that really force you to shape your shot. Most holes, you just throw your tee shot as far as you can, throw your approach, and then putt.
Other Thoughts: The 18th is a water hole from the long tees/baskets, but there are often people having picnics or fishing near the lake, so there could be a risk of these people being in the way of flying discs. I only played to the long basket once, but often saw people that would be in the flight path for that basket. Trees and long grass do come in to play on several holes, but it is mainly an open course, and is a nice course to practice driving. The longer baskets/tees do have more trees that come in to play, but I never played these layouts, so I can't offer much input on those other than that a couple of the long baskets looked significantly more difficult than the short baskets. This course is similar to Giles Run in terms of length, and relatively open shots on most holes, but without the thorns.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great for beginners

1    9/28/2013   9/28/2013
Review By: davedove
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 0.7 Years
This review was updated on 10/4/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wonderful course for those of us who are just starting out. Three tees and two baskets on each hole make for some variety, but none of it is difficult. Signs on all the holes and mostly on two of the tees at each, along with concret tee pads for almost all the tees.
Cons: Because the course is so well marked, it makes you notice when it's not.

The red tees don't have signs. Not a big deal except signs on the other two tee pads spoils you.

No tee pads on hole twelve. Again, normally not a big deal except all the other holes have them.

One biggie: since there are no tee pads on 12, the red tee doesn't seem to be marked. The other two tees have the signs, but nothing for red. You have to estimate where the tee should be.
Other Thoughts: Experienced players will likely find this course boring and unchallenging, but not everyone is experienced. Sometimes it's nice to have a simple course like this one when you're a beginner.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    3/11/2013   3/11/2013
Review By: KimBrennan
Played: 50  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 33.6 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Hole 17 is beautiful. Paved tees on most holes. Nice park.
Cons: Boring. I mean seriously, this course needs trees. Except for 11 and 17, there are no trees that are factor on any hole. And they're barely a factor on 11. Tee pads are concrete (except on 12, which has grass tees), but are too short. Distance on Hole 9 (by the sign on the course) is simply wrong (a claim of 312 feet for the White Tee to Red Basket is ludicrously off (closer to 156 feet). Other park users are a big factor on holes 2 and 3 (field hockey playing). Shipping pallets are used for the bridge across the stream on 18.
Other Thoughts: It is possible that 10 years from now this will be something other than a wide open course (I note tree seedlings planted on 15.) Outside of a little elevation changes, the only challenge to this course is the length of some of the holes.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Good Warm Up

1    7/28/2012   7/29/2012
Review By: cjrogus
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 3 tee's per hole, 2 baskets per hole, plenty of choices, no lost discs, decent flow
Cons: Wide open every single hole, not much of a change got lost once or twice
Other Thoughts: Great course for an ace race, red tees to yellow baskets usually under 300ft

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Meh...

1    5/18/2012   5/24/2012
Review By: Airubus
Played: 35  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 11 Years
This review was updated on 1/21/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Long Bomb Shots. 3 concrete tees per hole (except #12) and a long and short pin. beautiful park. Hole 17 is a beautiful tunnel shot. this hole is very ace-able. Hole 18 is a great long shot over the pond.
Cons: He who has the biggest arm, wins. There is nothing technical about this course, for the exception of hole 17. I found myself bored after 5 holes. "oh...another wide open shot." I would have rather them save the money from the added concrete pads an actually put in tee-signs, as there were only paper printouts in sleeve protectors. Sometimes the sign was gone altogether, and left you just throwing blind. Wonderful idea, but the wide open design left me yawning.
Other Thoughts: I played on a hot summer day. Bring sunscreen if the sun is out on a cloudless day. water too. there is NO SHADE because the trees are few, and far between. Hole #1 is all the way back the road, to the left parking lot. look for the pond, and a concrete slab. again...no teesigns...no maps. good luck navigating. it's frustrating as hell after the 3rd hole.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Will ruin your woods game

2-4    5/12/2012   5/13/2012
Review By: PanamaJacks
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/26/2012
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: As many have said, this course is located in a beautiful part of the country. The course is well maintained and has two tees/baskets on all holes except for 12. It's free.
Cons: Almost no signage at holes. Navigation from hole to hole is dicey if you don't have a map or a local. I've never met a local out there though. Only lost first timers. The course is WIDE OPEN. Very little in the way of obstacles. The one 'alley' hole is WAY too narrow, straight and long, especially after playing 16 wide open holes. I don't think it was a DG pro who designed this course.
Other Thoughts: Warning: if you play in the woods a lot, this course will ruin your accuracy. I played here twice last week and now at my home course, I'm hitting trees left and right. There's just nothing to make you keep it tight. I don't think I'll play here again for a long time.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Nice Course

2-4    4/21/2012   5/1/2012
Review By: discgolf123
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course all the holes make you throw different kind of shots. No briar patches so it is harder to lose your disc. Different tee off spots and baskets to accomodate your skill level. Not very busy when I went.
Cons: Some of the holes are a bit boring. Hole 18 has a green house or something that you have to watch out for, if you mess up your shot it might break the glass. Kind of hard to locate the other holes. I suggest you print out a map and if you don't find a local who knows the course.
Other Thoughts: This course is the best I have played so far. My favorite hole is number six you get to throw off a massive decline. One of the holes has trees on either side ten feet apart for 100 feet and can make for a nice tunnel shot.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Wiiiiide Open

2-4    4/20/2012   4/23/2012
Review By: ibekent
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 7.8 Years
This review was updated on 7/30/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course was recently upgraded. The upgrades are a massive improvement. The course now has three tees and two pins per hole and some excellent tee signs. Played from the long tees to the dark pins, it has decent flow and offers significant challenges both in distance and angles. If you want a lark in the park, the short tees to the yellow pins are about as easy as a course gets (though you'll have long walks between holes).

The tees are concrete, the baskets are new, and the park is well maintained. The course worms through a large number of other fields and facilities which have plenty of water, benches, restrooms, and trashcans.

Played on a day when the park is not heavily used (or during a work day), it is a very enjoyable course with a variable level of challenge in a beautifully maintained park.
Cons: Played on the weekend, the park can get so crowded that the course will be frustrating; there are just too many people.

The course backtracks a little and crosses paved roads, but you can find your way around if you pay attention to the tee signs.

Though many of the individual fairways are quality (and fun) shots, they are not often demanding (unless you are playing the purple baskets from the long tees), but they do often border other facilities where the people (and children and horses and cars and picnics) don't like getting hity by flying discs. Also, a few fairways are gimmicky; #15 particularly has a tight, artificial OB designed to protect the horses.

Risk-reward decisions are sparse (though the last, long shot is a 400ft. shot across water) and the course is so well manicured that recovery shots are typically easy tosses from open, well-mowed fields. You aren't going to get into any major trouble or lose discs on this course (except for, perhaps, in the lake at the end).
Other Thoughts: The course is a single loop which starts and ends in the back-left of the park by the lake.

Walls of trees that act as wind screens are all around the course. As a result, the shifts in wind strength and direction on a single fairway can surprise you.

I can't emphasize enough how much the recent upgrades have improved this course. If you haven't played it since late in 2011, you should give it another try.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Scenic challenge

1    11/14/2011   11/14/2011
Review By: tmahan
Played: 86  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 30.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful pastoral setting, I think Dave242 would give this one an A for Appalachian beauty.

Three concrete tees per hole (except #12 where I could find none). I only found 2 tees on 18 but I easily could have missed one.

Two baskets per hole, normal yellow Discatchers in the short positions and purple Discatchers in the long (or nasty) position.

Nice elevation put to good use, including a couple big downhillers that everybody loves.

Mostly open but all except a few holes have some tree(s) that you have to consider. Decent distance allows you to air it out on a bunch of holes (from the white or blue tees).

My favorites were #6 (big downhill air), #10, #12 (air across a big bowl to a pin perched delicately atop a ridge) and #17 (cool tunnel shot lines with pines on either side)

Cons: Tough to follow, especially most of the front nine. Don't even consider playing it with printing out the map in the links section on this site. They have some maps up in the park office but they're not near as current as the linked map according to a local I ran into.

Even with the map, the tees and some of the baskets can be hard to find. No signs or directions anywhere on the course. Marking the hole number and color on the tees and adding some next tee signs near the pins would be worth at least a .5 bump.

Hole #11 doesn't have much of a fairway from the white or blue tees due to a wall of fairly tall white pines that leaves little to no gap. Big arms will go up and over, otherwise it's roll and pray for luck. It does make for a satisfying par if you're good/fortunate enough.

There are a number of picnic tables either in fairways or close enough to be in play, so portions of the course may not be playable on weekends or unseasonably nice weather days when pinic'ers and other park patrons are present.
Other Thoughts: I played white tees (at least what I thought were the white tees) to the yellow pins, so that was my perspective for this review. The purple baskets are significantly longer most of the time, but when they're not they're usually in a particularly diabolical location.

I tend to favor woodsey technical course but I really enjoyed this layout, so the designers really did a nice job with this property.

The previous reviewers have really been spot-on, especially HawaiiJack. I didn't find the finish on the tees to be as much of a problem, but then I don't have a very good pivot. I did catch my foot on #17 white.

Because the course is so open wind can be a significant factor on most holes.

Even though the tees seem to be missing on #12 it's really easy to imagine where they should be.

After the #17 purple pin you'll see what I'm guessing is the #18 blue tee. This is the one that requires a big carry over part of the lake (that I don't have). Whether you decide to play this or not, you have to take a non-intuitive long walk along the tree line to your left down to a bridge to clear a big bog between you and the hole/other tee. If it's been dry and/or you have good Goretex footwear you might be able to cut across sooner.

Add good signs, mark the tees and and add next tee signs and this course becomes a 4 easy.

The directions from the east on the main page are a little misleading as they suggest the exit is about 20 miles from Leesburg. I measured it at 14 miles from the beginning of the Leesburg bypass on Route 7, 12 miles from the intersection with Route 15, and 10 miles from the Roue 7 business exit just west of Leesburg. It's really not that big a deal as long as you look for the Route 7 Business exit marked for Round Hill/Purcellville, the rest is all perfect. I'll see if I can get this fixed on the main page.

This course should be on your itinerary if you're planning a trip anywhere nearby, it looks like it will only get better.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Pending exceptional?

1    7/23/2011   9/1/2011
Review By: HawaiiJack
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nicely maintained, wide open course. There seems to be a lot of effort being put in here and this moderate course could be on it's way to greatness. The finishing holes are superb and the scenery along the course is splendid. The multiple tees allow a lot of different experiences.
Cons: The rough cement tee pads in place now are HORRIBLE. They are an invitation to a knee or ankle injury if you attempt to drive off hard and pivot. Are there plans to place a better surface on these once they are all poured? When I played only hole #12 was still lacking tees and driving from grass was more enjoyable than from these rough tees. Course navigation is difficult particularly finding the start, some of the multiple tee placements, and working your way through #9 - #10 - #11 and the multiple road crossings. The course can be very wet and swampy but also blazingly hot with no shade or relief. The current #18 has wildly separated tees with a basket hidden behind a tree which was hard to locate even with a course map. I had no issues with sports teams or a ball golf driving range as some reviewers mentioned. In fact there is no driving range here now.
Other Thoughts: This course can be very punishing even though it is so wide open. By wide open I mean there is generally a clear flight line from the tee to the pin, hole #1 being a dramatic exception. I had no business being in the rough but kept finding myself there all day long as many fairways and basket placements are close to it. #12 requires a very precise and accurate drive to clear a large swampy drainage area and land on a narrow ridge before sailing out of bounds into disc devouring hip high weeds. #9 has potential trouble left and right and plasnetic (like magnetic only they attract plastic) fields all along this course seem to suck your disc to places you had no intention to be. I lost one disc, found three, and was inspired to bring coveralls in the future after tangllng with the briars, cutting grass, and sticker bushes. Hole #18 looks like it could become magnificent. It appears there is going to be an option to throw over a lake on the last drive and you will definitely risk losing your disc. There were picnickers present but no alternate basket visible when I played. You will get cheers or boos from the crowd if you decide to try to be a hero here. I hope they put in some of those disc retreivers tethered to a pole or train some dogs to go get your disc as wading in the lake is currently verbotten. Combined with #16 and #17 this will make for an awesome string of holes at the finis. I agree with the reviewer who says he is always inspired to empty the bag while teeing off on #6. It would be fine to bring friends and spend a day at ths park having a picnic, playing a round, then rewarding yourself with time in the pool/water park near the entrance.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.