Purcellville, VA 
Franklin Park Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #8 (Taken 1/2011)
3 / 258ft.   3 / 312ft.   3 / 393ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Nice Change From Most VA Courses

5+    7/6/2011   7/6/2011
Review By: brian j
Played: 72  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great course to air it out and watch your disc fly which is a nice change from most courses in the area. Each hole has three concrete tee pads (some still need to be poured but the frames are in place) and will eventually have two baskets per hole.

Pin placements make excellent use of the elevation change in the park and wind is often in play as this park sits close to Snickers Gap in the Blue Ridge Mountains.

The senery is beautiful at Franklin Park and hole 6 to me is the signature hole of the park (some will argue it's 17) and I have emptied my bag many times standing at the top of the hill.
Cons: Download the course map before you start. There are no signs yet and the course crosses over the park roads a bunch of times.

Football and lacrosse practices will take holes 2, 3, 4, and maybe 6 out of play when they're in season.

Holes 13, 14, and 15 are redundant and could use some trees to make them more interesting.
Other Thoughts: Franklin Park is the only disc golf course in Loudoun County and the park manager is really trying to create a great course. He's close and once signs are in place and completes the concrete tees this course will deserve four discs.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Up and Coming

1    5/24/2011   5/24/2011
Review By: Notorious21
Played: 46  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
- Beautiful pastoral scenery
- Multiple tee pads for each hole
- Good use of elevation
Cons:
- Tee pads still a work in progress, some still just flags or spray paint
- Several just long, open holes
- Tall grass
- Poor drainage after a rain, very muddy
- Dangerous proximity to road on holes 16 and 17
Other Thoughts: I played this course on a business trip with just a Roc I got from Play-It-Again Sports in nearby Leesburg. I wish I could play it again with my whole bag, A very pretty course with rolling hills and great scenery.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Predator and Prey Potential

2-4    2/20/2011   2/22/2011
Review By: swatso
Played: 359  Reviewed: 346  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 12/31/2011
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Two tee locations per hole. New, top quality baskets. Online map made the course easy for a first-time visitor to navigate. Located in a very large and beautiful park with many non-disc golf options available.
Cons:
Natural tees currently marked by small coloured flags. A couple of the long tee locations (10, 11) seemed a bit harsh, as there is a treeline immediately in front of them.

Potential negative interactions with other park users:
#9 - long, downslope shot, but too far right and land in the outdoor in-line hockey rink
#13 - plays along the leftside of a ball golf driving range
#14 - plays along the leftside of a ball golf driving range - long tee-14 is practically in the middle of the range, at the 175-yard mark!
#15 - plays across the top of a ball golf driving range. Isolated picnic table located near basket.

Update 2/22/11: A snippet from the course designer "... the driving range is actually not in use and not even technically supposed to be there ..." which hopefully means that dgers shouldn't have to worry about being drilled in the back of the head with a golf ball.
Other Thoughts:
This fairly open course offers plenty of chances to admire the flight of your discs. After short (don't be too far, or you'll find water), right-turning #1, you'll find flat and wide open 2-4. Number-5 is also open but uphill, while number-6 is a major downhill - stop and admire the views for awhile. Numbers 7-8 are uphill, and begin to bring trees into play, although a wide hyzer route can be used to avoid them on #8. Number-9 is long, open, and downslope, while number-10 is uphill to a basket surrounded by trees. Number-11 is a short, upslope shot, while #12 is slightly downhill across a retention basin. Numbers 13-15 go steadily up a slope, with trees along the leftside. Number-16 has a tight, tree-lined path, but a wide hyzer option is also available. Number-17 is a hallway shot, and finally to tee-18, at the edge of the pond, across a valley to a basket at about the same elevation.

Word has it that concrete teepads will be installed soon, but will only be 3'x2'?! Hopefully longer teepads, and signage, will be coming soon, to complement this up-n-coming course.

Fun course to play for a wide range of skill types, as there will be some ace runs, birdy opportunities, obtainable pars, and bogeys to struggle to avoid.

Update 12/31/11: Now has two baskets per hole, and three 5'x10' concrete tees per hole, providing lots different length options.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  So Much Potential

5+    1/25/2011   1/25/2011
Review By: steveganz
Played: 117  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 11.9 Years
This review was updated on 4/17/2011
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: An 18 hole course in Loudoun County.

Brand new Discatcher baskets.

Challenging. Much more than I thought it would be. Get your birdies when you have the chance if you want to shoot under par.

Good use of the available space. There is a ton of room to really air it out in this layout with room to grow as the course matures.

Some great elevation changes.

The potential here is amazing. I can see multiple pin and tee postions extending the length of this course to championship length.

Fun!
Cons: No tee boxes yet. The temporary markers were hard to find on my first visit. I played from the Pro markers and I have a feeling a couple were moved from their intended postion due to the rather peculiar locations they were in.

I didn't see another soul actually in the park while I was there on a cold Tuesday morning but I can imagine it might be a problem on a warm weekend day with other users of the park. A lot of holes have picnic tables in the middle of the fairways and some are even located next to the baskets.

I would love to see the water come into play on this course. I can think of some long tee positions on at least three holes that would provide more intensity to a round. It would really raise the caliber of this course significantly.
Other Thoughts: I just moved to Leesburg, VA from San Jose, CA where my home course was world famous De Laveaga in Santa Cruz. I was resigned to driving all the way out to Seneca to get some quality golf. Imagine my surprise when I discovered this little gem just 20 minutes from door-to-tee. I look forward to getting out to Franklin Park at least a couple times a week.


8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Second Time for Franklin Park

2-4    1/22/2011   1/22/2011
Review By: CACOVA
Played: 14  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.8 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The first half of the course is nice and open with a good flow. The second part of the course has some tricker shots with trees, etc.

The holes are long!

There are a couple of holes that have significant elevation changes - fun!

Brand spanking new Innova DISCatcher Pro baskets.

Bathrooms are available.

Trashcans at some holes.

Parking is easy and plentiful.
Cons: No tee boxes yet. Small flags mark the tee locations and are easy to find, but could easily be kicked out - some where missing already!

No signs of any kind - you would not know there was a course there if you did not see the baskets (or read about it here!)

The course goes around the perimeter of the park - no out nine and back here!

Other Thoughts: Beautiful scenery with lots of amenities - fishing pond, gazebos, BBQ pits, pool, etc.

There were no crowds when we played. Of course we went on the coldest day of the year and not many people wanted to be out in the sub 20-degree weather. During the summer there might be some more people.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Franklin Park December 2011 Update

5+    12/22/2011   1/18/2011
Review By: thanxmikey
Played: 48  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 21.4 Years
This review was updated on 12/23/2011
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very open course. The course does a great job of using what trees they do have.

Two water holes (#'s 17 and 18). The 18 b pin is a challening shot over the lake.

This park is one of the most beautiful parks here in Loudoun County, VA. Franklin Park is a mutli use park featuringa large community pool, multiple soccer and baseball fields, tennis courts, inline hockey rink, a stocked pond, a performing arts center and equestrian riding facilites.

The layout of the course does not overlap any ball fields, or other areas where people might be recreating. However watch out in the fall with peewee football. the place is ridiculous. it is jam packed.

Trash cans at almost every hole.

Temporary tee signs have now been posted at each hole. These signs have tournament OB on them. I placed an up to date course map at hole #1 white tee bulletin board as well as a bunch of club info.

Restrooms are available at parking lot and a portojohn is at #10.

Bulleting board for infomation is also at parking lot.

Beautiful views.

Very close to terminus of W&OD Trail which runs from Purcellville to DC.

I do not think many people came out to play when it was a temp 9 hole. This is a good place to air it out and have few people around.
Cons: The newly installed tee pads are not entirely bad. There are three tees at every hole except hole #12, these will be installed in 2012. Some of the conrete mix on a few holes namely 2, 6, 14 was poor so those tee pads are questionable. The rest of the tee pads although short in some areas are fine and not slippery at all. We have placed flags red, white and blue at each tee. They all extend 6 feet to one side of each tee so there is an optional natural tee to use if the thrower desires that.

The course gets has very high grass in the fariways and even a well placed drive can get lost in the poorly maintained grass. Even when mowed the fairways are thick with grass, ticks and bugs.

The short tee boxes are a waste of time and money. I do not see anyone wanting to play the short tees at this course.

Basically, this course is falling into the too much too soon category. No time was given to allow the course to develp and mature. Instead, plans are being rushed and the course has taken a step backwards. The tee pads are the main provocateur in that regard.

Also half the baskets are not installed correctly, or are crooked. The latches were buried so they cant be moved.
Other Thoughts: To get to the course drive to the dead end in the park and take a left turn into the parking lot next to the small pond. The first hole is directly to your left as you are facing the pond.


Two sets of DISCatcher PRO Baskets were installed on course yellow and purple.

County park.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.