West Chicago, IL 
Kress Creek Farms Share
Uploaded By: jenco Hole #16 (Taken 10/2011)
-- / --   4 / 490ft.   4 / 572ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Basket



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Down on the Farm

2-4    6/1/2013   6/3/2013
Review By: #19325
Played: 316  Reviewed: 169  Exp: 13.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a very open course with minor rolling hills. Slight elevation comes into play. Scattered trees are all over the park and some tall grass in areas. Wind rips across this park.

Navigation is pretty easy.

Newer Innova Discatcher baskets.

Wood poles with the hole # on them.

You get a chance to throw some distance drivers.

Hole #7 is a nice tunnel hole.
Cons: Without proper tees and tee signs having multiple tees is not ideal.

The basket of hole #15 is right in line of the tunnel shot #7. It takes away from the hole.

There is no easy crossing on hole #10. There was ankle deep water that you had to walk thru.

There is some really nice land where holes 13, 14, & 15 are. I felt that area was underutilized.

With the amount of large open l thought there could have been another par 4 or a possible par 5. An example is #5. There is a long walk over to 5. It could have been a 2 shot hole.

It's been a wet spring. We played the course the day after it rained. The natural tee pads are terrible.

We caught a bad time but the course had not been mowed in a few weeks. The grass was pretty tall.

The tee posts had some laminated tee signs. Most had been weathered and some were missing.
Other Thoughts: With the installation of solid tee pads I'd bump this up to a rating of 3.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A little bit of everything

1    7/10/2012   7/11/2012
Review By: geognerd
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.1 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Rolling terrain. Red, white, and blue tees offer varying lengths and lines to the baskets. The different tees are marked. The wooded holes (#2, 3, 7, 14, 15) were the most enjoyable for me. These holes had a good length from the white tee and the right amount of trees posing an obstacle. There are posts pointing the way from one hole to the next. Colored tape wrapped around the basket points the way to the next tee. Navigation is pretty straightforward.
Cons: Several holes are wide open (#5, 8, 12, 17, 18); just throw as hard as you can. The terrain kept these holes from being totally boring, but there wasn't much to look at or throw around. I'd like to see some bushes planted. I threw about 6ft into some rough on the right side of #10. As I searched the tall grass, I found several ticks clinging to my pants. The red and blue tees would be easier to find if there was a stake or something sticking up. The markers sit below the grass and some were covered by dirt. The tee signs do give you a relative idea of where the alternate tees are, though.
Other Thoughts: Try your best to avoid throwing into the tall grass so you don't have to deal with the ticks. The white tees are easiest to find because they are right next to the tee signs. I'd like to see the fallen tree at #13 removed. The grass here grows in clumps, so my discs didn't get much skip after hitting the ground. I'd bump my rating up half a point if there was more to the long holes than just elevation changes.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Kress Creek Farms DGC

1    10/29/2011   11/1/2011
Review By: jasonc
Played: 130  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 11.5 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has recently been re-designed and re-named as of October, 2011.

Good signs on each hole with distance marked for red, white, and blue tees. We played the white layout. Some holes including #7 only have 1 tee pad.

Red, white, and blue "next tee" stickers have been installed on the top of each basket. If you know where to look for the stickers, this course is easy to navigate.

The brand new Innova Discatcher baskets are very nice.

While most holes are wide open, the trees have been incorporated well. #2, #3, #7 and #13--#15 are good examples. #10 and #16 are also fun. I suggest using a spotter on this hole if possible.

Plenty of opportunities to grip it and rip it here. Open level players will be challenged by the sheer length of the course using the blue tees.

Rec level and newer players will find enough of a challenge from the red tees.
Cons: There is no overall course map or any indication of where the first tee pad is located when you enter the parking lot.

The tees are natural grass.

Some holes appear to be long just for the sake of distance.
Other Thoughts: Considering the recent re-design, I am hoping that concrete tee pads will be installed in the near future. If/when that happens, this will certainly bump up my current 2.5 rating.

There is plenty of room for a practice basket.

I would go back to Kress Creek Farms for another round after tee pads are installed.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 nice

1    2/19/2011   2/20/2011
Review By: ratoon
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: man who ever built this thank first and formost. The pros to me start on the drive down the st. it starts to look country and i love that being that im in busy area.
-nice fairways
-post set to start hole
-fairly easy to navigate
-not crowded
-nice new baskets that catch well
-awsome views of a creek
-some elevation
-as soon as the course seems repetitive the
back 9 shows up and it becomes 2 different courses
Cons: well there is no concrete or rubber to throw off of which is ok.its short.parking lot is a little ways away from the first tee.when it rains i could see this course being a prob
Other Thoughts: although i did list a few cons i love this course.Maybe its because ive been waiting for a course in this area. its beautiful and seems as if there's room for many more holes.if ur looking for a course that's nice and short and not crowded this is it.However if i lived more than 35 to 40 min away i wouldn't go out of my way to come here.thanks again to whom it may concern

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Starts out boring, gets better in the end

1    1/23/2011   1/27/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 770  Exp: 12.7 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is split into two very different loops of 9. The front 9 plays through some gentle rolling hills in an open field with cut fairways through long grass rough. The fairways are cut in interesting shapes (it looked like a cross country trail that the course happens to follow), if you can't reach the pin on your drive you often have to decide how much of the hole you want to bite off if you want to stay out of the rough.

The back 9 is hillier and more wooded. Most shots play through mature trees with some lines to shape and several options off the tee. There are a couple open shots and one tunnel type shot on the back 9 as well. There is a decent mix of hole lengths overall, and an ok variety of left and right turning shots where the holes aren't wide open. The baskets are in good shape and catch well.
Cons: The course gets a little boring, especially the front 9. There aren't many different challenges, and the open field shots get pretty repetitive. There are lots of shorter shots, so it doesn't really challenge better players at all. The navigation is a little odd on the back 9 in a few spots where it's not at all obvious where the next hole is.
Other Thoughts: This isn't all that exciting of a course, and it doesn't have enough different challenges to bring you back on a regular basis. Beginners would likely find the long grass on the front 9 pretty frustrating in seasons where it was grown up, though the back 9 is pretty beginner friendly. More experienced players won't find many different parts of their game tested here.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.