West Chicago, IL
Kress Creek Farms Share
Uploaded By: Skunk Hole #6 (Taken 10/2011)
-- / --   3 / 308ft.   3 / 355ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Long Holes!

1    7/28/2012   8/2/2012
Review By: DocHaole
Played: 71  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 6.7 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Finally, a course in the area where you can really air it out. The course plays through some rolling hills and light to moderate woods and offeres a good mix of distances. The white tees are marked well with the post and the next tee arrows make navigation fairly easy. Although there are several wide open huge distance holes there are enough shorter wooded holes to give the accurate weaker arms a fighting chance.

Each hole has some sort of challenge. Whether is it trees elevation or shear distance the design makes you work for your score. I think this course is a good balance to the other new course in Geneva. Although it is not as manicured it offers a greater challenge in a more rugged setting. Having played both in the same day, I definitnely worked harder to save par at this course.
Cons:
Tee pads would be nice. . . I don't really care when the holes are short, but when you have these long open bombs, solid tee pads are a must.

The rough can be thick and full of ticks, I found 2 on my leg during my round, lyme disease is no fun. So be warned
Other Thoughts: This course is a great addition to the area that really needed an 18 holer with some good distance. As I said before it really is the ying to the yang of Geneva. When you want to throw shorter accurate throws on the freshly mowed grass go to Geneva. And when you want to take a hike through the tall grass and throw as far as you possibly can this is your place. With the addition of tee pads this will be an excellent course. The longer holes place more importance on making birdie when you get to the short ones.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Longest course around the area

5+    6/13/2012   7/2/2012
Review By: flashniggs3000
Played: 103  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 15 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Elevation - no course in the area has the amount of elevation that Kress Creek has. Up hill and down hill throws are visually deceiving.

- As of 6/12 - well groomed fairways. (8-12 now have mowed fairways. Grass will come in nicely over the next year or so).

- Length - play the whites and you will travel a great distance. There are only a few holes under 300 ft and many over 400ft. If you play the blues, some holes exceed 600ft. Nice to see a course keep up with the evolution of the game. (technology and players have increased the length of the game over the past 20 years, if you have an arm, this course is for you)

- Great Views - this is a quiet place. Although there are two private residences near the parking lot, non disc golfers are rarely seen. On hole 5 look west and see Fermi Lab (atomic research center). Hole 13 is by far my favorite. Mother nature gave a great gift by knocking down a tree right next to the basket. You have to climb it! Be a good neighbor and pick up after yourself. . . Keep it beautiful!
Cons: - Hole 9, 10, 16, and 17 all have very deep rough in the summertime. There is saw grass that will eat up your legs. I have spent many hours over the past year looking for friend's discs.

- Grass/Dirt tee pads. (be patient, concrete tees will be poured eventually, just need to wait for the funds).

- Meeting a friend on a hole?. . . You may have to walk a mile just to get to them. Course covers a large area.
Other Thoughts: Be aware of previous reviews of this course. Kress Creek Farms used to have a different layout (which was not very good). If the review does not mention elevation and was before 5/2011, they probably played the old layout.
Enjoy!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Sunny Day Real Estate

1    3/18/2012   3/18/2012
Review By: earth2sean
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good use of terrain and limited trees as well as a good variation between long and short holes. It was fun to air it out with little abandon on some of the more wide-open holes, as well as thread the needle in a tight row of trees.
Cons: A bit marshy on one of the mid-teen holes. If my socks would have gotten wet I would have been a sad, sad panda. Thankfully, nothing more than some mud on my shoe. Not really sure that there is any solution to the situation, just kind of one of those hazards that come from living in a swampy area.
Other Thoughts: I like the natural tees. I could see it being slippery when wet, but during dryer times, it allows for a more comfortable and forgiving follow-through on the opening drive. I really, really enjoyed this course and will definitely be going back soon.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 What's everyones deal?

2-4    11/11/2011   11/11/2011
Review By: wolf1616
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3
4 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: Lots of elevation changes, great variety of shots, mildly wooded-wide open, great scenery.
Cons: Whiney reviewers. Far from my home.
Other Thoughts: If you like courses like Lombard, Bartlett, and Streamwood you'll likely enjoy this course. I think it's better than Lombard and Bartlett. There's more variety. Big arms will like this course, as there are lot's of long shots. This isn't a deeply wooded short hole course like it seems the reviewers here love. Golf in general isn't about ace runs kids it's about playing a challenging course. While I'll agree that Osweego is a good mix as well, many of those holes are not as well designed as this. Keep in mind that I prefer a golf course to a walk in the heavy woods. Courses like Marengo, St. Charles and even Osweego simply annoy me. I like a fairway, trees in lieu of sand traps (DG Bunkers really), and a chance to open up my arm to a big throw more than 1 time in a game. Also, the distance between the targets and the tees are not that bad. Have you people been to Bloomingdale? If not don't go. Isn't this a form of exercise anyway? The tees could be nicer but let's give WC a chance, in this economy they just updated the course, be patient. Plenty of courses have grass tees. As for the whining about courses in IL not being that great remember these are park district courses, I've played in other states as well and seen similar and MUCH worse courses. Sorry, I'm sick of the whining. I'm done whining about the whining now.

4 of 16 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.