West Chicago, IL 
Kress Creek Farms Share
Uploaded By: jenco Hole #15 (Taken 10/2011)
3 / 232ft.   3 / 232ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Longest course around the area

5+    6/13/2012   7/2/2012
Review By: flashniggs3000
Played: 103  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 15.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Elevation - no course in the area has the amount of elevation that Kress Creek has. Up hill and down hill throws are visually deceiving.

- As of 6/12 - well groomed fairways. (8-12 now have mowed fairways. Grass will come in nicely over the next year or so).

- Length - play the whites and you will travel a great distance. There are only a few holes under 300 ft and many over 400ft. If you play the blues, some holes exceed 600ft. Nice to see a course keep up with the evolution of the game. (technology and players have increased the length of the game over the past 20 years, if you have an arm, this course is for you)

- Great Views - this is a quiet place. Although there are two private residences near the parking lot, non disc golfers are rarely seen. On hole 5 look west and see Fermi Lab (atomic research center). Hole 13 is by far my favorite. Mother nature gave a great gift by knocking down a tree right next to the basket. You have to climb it! Be a good neighbor and pick up after yourself. . . Keep it beautiful!
Cons: - Hole 9, 10, 16, and 17 all have very deep rough in the summertime. There is saw grass that will eat up your legs. I have spent many hours over the past year looking for friend's discs.

- Grass/Dirt tee pads. (be patient, concrete tees will be poured eventually, just need to wait for the funds).

- Meeting a friend on a hole?. . . You may have to walk a mile just to get to them. Course covers a large area.
Other Thoughts: Be aware of previous reviews of this course. Kress Creek Farms used to have a different layout (which was not very good). If the review does not mention elevation and was before 5/2011, they probably played the old layout.
Enjoy!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  The West Sheezy Classic

5+    4/25/2012   4/26/2012
Review By: TheForehandFlickster
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is one of the better courses that I have ever played. I thoroughly enjoy the creative use of the landscape. The rolling hills allows for fun elevation shots, whether you're shooting uphill or downhill. The forestry allows for some tight shots, and because the forest is NOT very thick, it is easy to find your disc if you miss your target. Yet, what I have found to be the best feature of this course is that virtually every hole, except (8,12,16,17), is an ace-able shot with average distances of 250-375 feet.
Cons: Overall, I believe that it is difficult to find any true cons with this course; especially since the more I've played it, the more I've come to appreciate all the subtleties that the course has to offer. However, there are some important factors to note before one may partake in playing this course. First, all the tee's on this course are made out of dirt, which means that if there is any rain, the tee's practically become sloppy mud pits. Second, the wind will play a factor in your throws especially if you are NOT a power-thrower. Since there are several wide-open holes (1,4-6,8,12,16-18) if there is any high velocity wind, you will have a difficult time controlling your disc. Third, some of the holes in the back of this course (9-11) utilize marshy swamps as hazards that can easily swallow your disc if thrown improperly. *Warning, if you lose your disc on hole 9 to the left of the tee and it lands in the swamp, the depth of the water can reach as high as 2-1/2 to 3 feet deep. Forth, be aware of the wildlife, while you may see a deer, there are also plenty of garden snakes and ticks that run rampant on this course.
Other Thoughts: Having visited many different courses in several different states, I have found Kress Creek Farms to be one of the most elite courses that I have ever played. The different and creative holes throughout the course allow you to test all the different throws that a disc golf enthusiast will encounter. This ranges from power-throws, finesse -throws, hyzer-throws, and anhyzer-throws. I truly recommend this course to any and all disc golfers, from the novice to experts, I believe everyone will find something to enjoy with this great course. *I recommend playing this course in the spring and early summer; because during the late summer and fall, the tall grass can grow quite high, which in turn will act as more potential hazards to lose your disc.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Sunny Day Real Estate

1    3/18/2012   3/18/2012
Review By: earth2sean
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good use of terrain and limited trees as well as a good variation between long and short holes. It was fun to air it out with little abandon on some of the more wide-open holes, as well as thread the needle in a tight row of trees.
Cons: A bit marshy on one of the mid-teen holes. If my socks would have gotten wet I would have been a sad, sad panda. Thankfully, nothing more than some mud on my shoe. Not really sure that there is any solution to the situation, just kind of one of those hazards that come from living in a swampy area.
Other Thoughts: I like the natural tees. I could see it being slippery when wet, but during dryer times, it allows for a more comfortable and forgiving follow-through on the opening drive. I really, really enjoyed this course and will definitely be going back soon.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 What's everyones deal?

2-4    11/11/2011   11/11/2011
Review By: wolf1616
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3
4 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: Lots of elevation changes, great variety of shots, mildly wooded-wide open, great scenery.
Cons: Whiney reviewers. Far from my home.
Other Thoughts: If you like courses like Lombard, Bartlett, and Streamwood you'll likely enjoy this course. I think it's better than Lombard and Bartlett. There's more variety. Big arms will like this course, as there are lot's of long shots. This isn't a deeply wooded short hole course like it seems the reviewers here love. Golf in general isn't about ace runs kids it's about playing a challenging course. While I'll agree that Osweego is a good mix as well, many of those holes are not as well designed as this. Keep in mind that I prefer a golf course to a walk in the heavy woods. Courses like Marengo, St. Charles and even Osweego simply annoy me. I like a fairway, trees in lieu of sand traps (DG Bunkers really), and a chance to open up my arm to a big throw more than 1 time in a game. Also, the distance between the targets and the tees are not that bad. Have you people been to Bloomingdale? If not don't go. Isn't this a form of exercise anyway? The tees could be nicer but let's give WC a chance, in this economy they just updated the course, be patient. Plenty of courses have grass tees. As for the whining about courses in IL not being that great remember these are park district courses, I've played in other states as well and seen similar and MUCH worse courses. Sorry, I'm sick of the whining. I'm done whining about the whining now.

4 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    10/30/2011   11/1/2011
Review By: Three Putt
Played: 130  Reviewed: 83  Exp: 19.9 Years
This review was updated on 11/12/2011
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: When I pulled into the parking lot I could see the baskets for #5, #17 & #18 sitting out in the wide open and thought "Oh, God...somebody made Fairfield South!" It's not exactly a fair comparison, as I found this to be better course overall. Holes #4, 5, 6, 8, 9, 12,17 & 18 are pretty wide open. The rest of the holes varied from lightly to moderately wooded. There are three tees on most holes with the tee posts at the white tees and most of the red and blue tees had stakes sticking up so they could be found. There were small hole maps on the tee posts. The site had good elevation changes for the area. There were some holes that had healthy distances for you to air one out. There was a nice combination of distances on the shots. The baskets had tape directing you to the next basket, and the course was fairly easy to follow. Two tees that had a long distance from the last basket had directional signs to help you find your way.
Cons: The major downside was the dirt tees. It rained the day before I played there, and I slipped and slid all over. They were in very poor shape after a rain.

There were at least two tees on every hole and three tees on most holes, but other than hole #11 they didn't really do much other than make the hole longer.

The tee for hole #5 was a long, long way from the basket for # 4, and there wasn't anything over there that would force the long walk. That could have been re-worked to reduce that long walk.

Not really a con, but a huge tree fell down around the basket for #13. The first time I played it I couldn't find the basket, and the rest of the time the hole seemed pretty gimmicky. I'm not sure if the tree fell before or after the basket was placed there, so the tree might be removed.

Because so much of the course is open, the course design doesn't really force you to use a variety of shots. It's a cool place to air out a long drive, but it's not going to be huge test of your skills.

I have not been in the area during a wet spring, but the area between #16 and #17 looked like it might hold water and be swampy during a rainy period. I can't call it a con, just a guess that it might be a problem.
Other Thoughts: All in all, West Chicago is a very good option if you are in the area. I would rate it as slightly better than Shady Oaks in that general area, and Oswego would be the closest course I would say is clearly better IMO. It's not a destination course by any means, but it's a fun course and a step above what you usually get in Chicagoland.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Kress Creek Farms DGC

1    10/29/2011   11/1/2011
Review By: jasonc
Played: 133  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 11.6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has recently been re-designed and re-named as of October, 2011.

Good signs on each hole with distance marked for red, white, and blue tees. We played the white layout. Some holes including #7 only have 1 tee pad.

Red, white, and blue "next tee" stickers have been installed on the top of each basket. If you know where to look for the stickers, this course is easy to navigate.

The brand new Innova Discatcher baskets are very nice.

While most holes are wide open, the trees have been incorporated well. #2, #3, #7 and #13--#15 are good examples. #10 and #16 are also fun. I suggest using a spotter on this hole if possible.

Plenty of opportunities to grip it and rip it here. Open level players will be challenged by the sheer length of the course using the blue tees.

Rec level and newer players will find enough of a challenge from the red tees.
Cons: There is no overall course map or any indication of where the first tee pad is located when you enter the parking lot.

The tees are natural grass.

Some holes appear to be long just for the sake of distance.
Other Thoughts: Considering the recent re-design, I am hoping that concrete tee pads will be installed in the near future. If/when that happens, this will certainly bump up my current 2.5 rating.

There is plenty of room for a practice basket.

I would go back to Kress Creek Farms for another round after tee pads are installed.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  New Course Layout as of Fall '11

5+    9/23/2011   9/27/2011
Review By: ckoslow
Played: 20  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 15.5 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Having some of the best elevation in the area, this course now deserves high marks. Numerous holes of varying elevation bring on an element to the course that is not generally found around the Western suburbs.

Good mixture of very long holes (600+) that take you along the prairie and technical shots through the wooded areas.

Beautiful bending farways and sloping shots make for a great round.
Cons: A couple shots are in the open, but they have done a solid job keeping them difficult, through length and elevation.

If you get caught up in the prairie grasses, it can be pretty miserable finding discs. #16 is rough, play it safe or be ready to search for your disc.
Other Thoughts: The new course design uses the entirety of the prairie and forested areas South of Wilson St. It is easily one of the longest courses in the area; playing the white tee's will still have you walking over 2 miles for 18 holes. Beautiful layout and scenery with a decent level of difficulty make this a very enjoyable round of disc.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Intermediate

2-4    6/22/2011   6/29/2011
Review By: notapro
Played: 420  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 11.3 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Course is divided between a large field and a small forested area. A general use park, so there might be some dog walkers, but it shouldn't be common.
- Front nine holes are located in a slightly hilly field, with fairways mowed through tall grass. There are some patches of forest that come into play near some of the baskets, otherwise it is just throwing as far as you can without ending up in the dense grass. Elevation changes provide some slight uphill and downhill shots.
- Back nine holes play through and around a forest, so there are some definitive lines to hit back here. Highlights include some long blind RHBH hyzers, with #15 at the end of a tunnel. Three holes do have mature trees in play as well, which forces some line shaping.
- Parts of the course are pretty hilly, which helps to mix things up a bit.
- A creek is present, and could be reached by a poor shot. Probably not an issue for most players.
- Baskets are good.
Cons: - A lot of the holes here, including the enitre front nine, are completely open and offer little to no excitement. Slight elevation changes don't make that big a difference.
- There is a ton of walking here, from the parking lot to hole 1, the parking lot to hole 10, and the walk from 17 to 18 is painful. Also seems to go directly through at least one fairway. Some holes are close to each other as well.
Other Thoughts: - There are some interesting shots here in the forest, with some trees to avoid and some hilliness to factor in. The two hyzers and the anny are pretty good as well. Most everything else is bland. Some of the grass here swallows discs, so beginners might easily lose some plastic.
- This course is definitely still a work in progress, as there are no teepads, signs, or anything at all to designate anything. It is possible to navigate, as the baskets are numbered, but it's no fun. Even if there were teepads and signs, it would still be a pain to play.
- When I went, it looked like holes 1-4 were removed for construction. Enjoy the walk to five, yeesh.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Eh.

1    5/23/2011   5/23/2011
Review By: Arocep
Played: 45  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 11.6 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Could be a decent 9 hole course.
Cons: The front 9 is gone, taken out. There are no kinds of tees or signs or anything indicating anything. Most of it is in a valley that stays pretty mushy in parts and mosquitos/bugs are everywhere.

The hole layouts from where you might think the tee would go are awkward.
Other Thoughts: If you like picking where to choose from then u might like this course. Not my style as I prefer to keep track of how well i do at a set couse.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Work in progress

1    3/14/2011   3/14/2011
Review By: brettowen
Played: 27  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 28.5 Years
This review was updated on 3/16/2011
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This has the potential to be a very fun 18 hole course however when I played the course in March of 2011 there was no signage what so ever and no tee pads or even a tee areas marked on any of the holes. This forces you to make up your tee point as you go along. The front nine (just north of Wilson Street) is a wide open field and plays through some gently rolling hills with the only hazard being tall grass bordering the narrow dog leg fairways. The grass has yet to grow up this early in the year but I could see spending a lot of time looking for errant drives later in the season. There is a good mix of long and short holes (judging from the distance between pins) but again with a lack of signs or tee boxes it's hard to tell what the final course will look like. Example: The 1st hole has the potential to be a 650+ foot monster depending on where you decide to tee from but the fairway is only about 20 feet wide all the way to the pin and only opens up to about 35 feet around the pin. This requires a degree of accuracy which will frustrate most beginners and even experienced players on windy days. The back nine is located about a ¼ mile to the southeast from the front nine on the other side of Wilson Street. Here the course is more wooded with only one open field shot and some slight elevation change that comes into play. This makes for a totally different feel between the front and back 9.
Cons: This has to be considered a work in progress. (Hence the 2 star rating) No signs and no tee boxes mean its Safari golf all the time. Just make it up each time you play. This can be fun but I also enjoy the 4th or 5th time playing a new course and seeing my score improve as I figure out lines and distances. This is impossible until permanent tees or at least markers are in place. This may be a personal peeve but I'm not a big fan of tall grass as the only hazard (as it is on the front nine). Your penalty for a wayward shot is not a get out of trouble shot (which can be fun) but the much less desirable outcome of spending 5 or 10 minutes looking for your disc, or not finding it at all (not so fun).
Other Thoughts: The front nine is rather straight forward to navigate once you know that it plays clockwise around the field north of the parking lot. The back 9 has some serious navigation challenges with no signage. First time players should print this out and take it with you. Be aware that the 10th hole is the northern most basket you can see when looking east from the small parking lot south of Wilson Street. You will also see the 18th basket very near and just south of the 10th basket so don't be confused. Just aim at the basket on the left. Continue east for 11 and southwest for 12. After the 12th hole DON'T be tempted to go left (south) up the hill into the trees as I was. (That's 15, 16 and 17 up there) Instead the 13th pin is a blind dog leg left located almost due west and just a little south behind some trees. After 13 the 14th is the open field shot to the southwest, then back east toward the trees for 15, southeast to 16 & back north for 17. The line from 17 back to 18 is not at all obvious (could be creative or awkward depending on your attatude). Where the 18th is supposed to tee from I have no idea. But hey… it's Safari golf.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.