Stokesdale, NC 
Stokesdale Community Park Share
Uploaded By: whowan Hole #9 (Taken 2/2011)
3 / 300ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Open, but a bit boring

1    4/5/2014   4/7/2014
Review By: LeeLK
Played: 48  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wide open, so you can air it out. Baskets are in good shape.
Cons: Dirt pads can be uneven (not fun!). Not a ton of variety. Lots of backtracking/hard to find next hole. Plays near some fields/walkways so could be dangerous or annoying if it's more crowded.
Other Thoughts: It's a nice thought to use this land for a course, but it's poorly executed. Might work out if someone with a good eye were to come in and redesign it. Worth it if you want to just practice throwing out in the open, but not a lot of fun otherwise.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

I Love This Little Course

5+    5/1/2013   5/24/2013
Review By: BuzzSharpe
Played: 50  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 44.1 Years
This review was updated on 10/12/2013
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: In the vein of ball golf, this is a grandly wide open layout on which to let them fly. Pros and advanced players may find it dull and boring, but for committed, not so talented recreational or intermediate players, this is a fun course with challenge without heartbreak. There is variety in lengths, elevations and foliage.
Cons: The dirt tees can be and are often mud. There are spots on every hole where a second tee position (mostly shorter) could easily and cheaply be installed, as the tees consist only of small boards spiked into the ground.
The tee and especially the basket on #3 are precariously close to the sidewalk, though not technically a design flaw. Tee(s) should be moved back and to the right and the basket should be moved back 80 to 100 feet to that wide open area to the right of the playground. That would make for a legitimate par 4 and shorten the walk to the next tee. The intended windows on holes 5 and 9 are obscured by leaning trees and branches that should be removed. #6's basket should be moved to the left to get it out of the rocks and away from 7's fairway. #8's tee should be moved up a few feet to the base of the little hill to get it out of the road.
With those corrections, especially the installation of some sort of real tees, even if they are just gravel or mulch, to eliminate the mud problem, I'd re-rate this fine nine higher.
Other Thoughts: If you've played here lately and wondered about the newly installed signs throughout the park warning of animals, they were hurriedly put up after my playing partner was attacked by a rabid fox at the #1 tee area.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A solid basic course

2-4    2/18/2012   2/21/2012
Review By: kvillegreek
Played: 18  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.7 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great for beginners. Good use of space/land. Never crowded.
Cons: It can be tricky locating tee boxes first time thru. Hole yardage seems off on most holes. Walking path beside most holes so there is a a lot of waiting for walkers to be safely out of your way.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 A quick round

2-4    7/18/2011   7/18/2011
Review By: avillion23
Played: 27  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12.3 Years
Pros: New park, great amenities (bathrooms, water). New baskets. Straight forward course, fairly easy to follow. All holes are potential birdies for experienced players, with most being straight shots off of the tee pad. I had the park all to myself at noon during the week, which made for a quick 18 holes.
Cons: New park....soccer fields and walking trail could be annoying if they are in use. Some of the tee box signs seem to be a bit off in distance. You have you to backtrack from hole #4 to Teebox #5. Teebox #7 is uneven. Long weeds and shin-high brush between teepad and many of the baskets.
Other Thoughts: In about twenty years when the small, newly planted trees mature a bit, it may provide for more of a challenge. As it plays right now, an experienced player can go out and shoot -5 to -7 in their first round.

 

2-4    7/8/2011   7/6/2011
Review By: JLKeip
Played: 25  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 7/8/2011
Pros: Good beginner level course
Fairly easy to follow
Despite its youth, the course is quite playable
Little to no chance of losing a disc
Easy to find
Cons: I prefer tougher courses, typically,
I prefer courses with multiple tees
tees could stand improvement, but hey, it is a very young course
I don't like the rock filled water runoffs that can come into play.
Other Thoughts: non-golfers could easily be a factor (the park has
holes 4 and 5 run parallel to each other, but in the same direction, which can be a little confusing your first round. The park has been deserted when I played.

 Work in progress

5+    5/13/2011   5/13/2011
Review By: Tyson
Played: 61  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 13.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is another course in Guilford County
Located near local elementary school and designed for a beginner
Some longer holes offer nice practice areas
Innova Disccathers
New park with walking trial that travels along the course
Cons: The course was designed prior to finalization of park, therefore some holes and pads are in weird places, tee pads are going to be improved
Other Thoughts: There are plans to move a few baskets into different areas, tee pads are going to be improved and 9 more holes could be in the near future, volunteers are always needed, as I live 3 miles from there and try to work on the course when I can. Definitely a work in progress, but will get better (I made/planned many of the improvements at Reidsville's Lake's Edge course)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/16/2011   4/16/2011
Review By: buddy
Played: 39  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 17.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Other Thoughts: Definitely not a course I will play again unless it's significantly improved. I understand there's not much land available for the course but some of the hole designs aren't that great. For example, the tee shot on #3 has a good chance of landing in the soccer field so I would avoid that hole all together if people were using the field. On #4, you have to backtrack to the #5 tee. Also on #4, the sign says its 365' which is probably over 100' off on the correct distance. On #6, the basket is placed immediately in front of a line of drainage rocks which can give you pretty uneven footing on your putt. Maybe this is supposed to add to the difficulty of the hole but I don't like it. There are several nice big trees immediately behind the #7 tee that would be cool to see incorporated into the course.

Overall, the park is new and a number of trees/grass have recently been planted. So over time once the landscaping improves and if some of the holes were redesigned and concrete tee pads installed, I think it has the potential to be a decent beginner course. Until then I wouldn't recommend unless you're just hanging out in Stokesdale and its a nice day.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Stoke-Stale

1    4/14/2011   4/14/2011
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 99  Reviewed: 97  Exp: 7.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's 9 baskets! All viewable from the tee! There's bathrooms, a volleyball court, and an athletic/soccer field! A playground too, I think. Ugh. There are tee signs for every hole and they are easy enough to spot. It's basically 9 discatchers out in the open around the perimeter of this new community park. Mostly short although a couple of holes stretch past 300' or so. A couple of holes have a small grove of trees to throw around. Yep.
Cons: No tees. The tee signs are easy to spot but they seem wildly inaccurate (both hole layout and especially distances) but the natural tees are marked only by a small wooden board lying flush in the ground. I couldn't locate this board on a few holes.

It's wide open and that's it. No variety at all really. Some holes do have minor obstacles but even beginners shouldn't have much problem clearing them.

Upkeep: It looks like they're trying to grow grass all over the park but for some reason most of the course was either in a little bit of scrub land or unmowed. Not that big of a problem though b/c what grass is around the course is not dense at all.

This course flows like a dry riverbed. #4-#5 are really bad, b/c the holes are more or less right beside each other, so after you finish hole #4 you have to walk all the way back to play #5.

Patrons in play: Hole #3 is the biggest culprit, there is a soccer field very clearly in play, a drive that strays too far left can easily take out a goalkeeper. You're never too far away from a sidewalk or park road of some sort. I managed to hit the side of the townhall with a turned over Meteor on hole #7. At least there are no windows on that side.
Other Thoughts: Definitely a beginner course and not as bad as I thought, since some of the holes had some decent length. Unless there's a good wind blowing, the course is easily played with a putter and mid. It's most definitely a bird-or-die course, all pars feel like massive failures if you've been playing for a while.

If they added tees or at least made them all easy to locate it would be a little better but there's not much polishing you can do for this turd. N00bs and rec players will enjoy it but unless some trees grow and give this wide open, mostly flat course some actual challenge, it should be avoided unless you are in the immediate area.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  

1    2/11/2011   2/20/2011
Review By: King Griplock
Played: 95  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It's another disc golf course in Guilford County. This will be an excellent beginner course once it gets some more foot traffic. It also serves as a nice warm up for either Lake's Edge or Johnson St. depending on which way you go. It's set in a brand new park in a nice, quiet neighborhood. There are restrooms and a water fountain right in front of the main parking lot. Brand new DiscCatchers. Nice tee signs. All holes are open and are very aceable/birdable. I foresee many an Ace Race here.
Cons: It's fun to play in Feb. but it may not be quite as fun during the summer. Course is wide open. The terrain is quite rough between holes 6-9. It would be very easy to twist an ankle in there. Also, it's not entirely intuitive as to where the first tee is. The course does not flow well either. There's a backwards walk to a few of the next holes once you hole out on the previous hole. However, it's only 9 holes so it's not TOO much of a hassle. Short, natural tees.
Other Thoughts: The first tee is located at the right of the main parking lot on that little hill. It's a lovely forehand flick. My favorite hole was #6. It's a nice downhill run beside the town hall. I also like #9. It reminds me of hole 9 (I think) at Ashe co. because of the wall of trees in front of the basket. Sometimes, the gate to the main lot will be closed. If that's the case, just park at the town hall parking lot and start on hole 6 immediately to your left. I gave this course a 3 solely for the fact it's in Guilford Co. Hallelujah!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.