Stokesdale, NC 
Stokesdale Community Park Share
Uploaded By: whowan Hole #6 (Taken 2/2011)
3 / 325ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee

Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Quick Run-Around

1    9/21/2015   9/21/2015
Review By: nevets4433
Played: 52  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 3.8 Years
This review was updated on 10/18/2015
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: For the community of Stokesdale, this is a pretty nice multipurpose park that has running trails, soccer/football fields, and sits right behind the town hall. Disc golf is one of the newer ameneties to be added to the facilities here.

The course is in the form of 9 nice Innova discatchers that are placed around the periphery of the park. Most of the holes are wide open and without much trouble, but I can say that the few trees out there and the dried stone drainage creek were used about as best as possible here. Hole five is an interesting tunnel shot between the trees (see below), and six plays just across the previously noted drainiage creek to give the golfer a putt that is at least worth thinking about.

Signage here is adequate
Cons: The first few holes play around the periphery of the soccer fields and running paths, and I can definitely see where this could set up for interference or cause times when the course simply is not playable.

Tees are dirt, and are very slick and clumpy. The teeing area is marked by a wooden board, and on a few holes - especially #3 - they are pointed off in a random direction.

There are some navigational issues between 4-6. You play hole four, then basically turn around to play the same area again as hole five, the basket is only about 60 feet away. Then you walk forwards to hole 6. Five was actually a cleverly thought out tunnel shot through a natural gap in a small copse of trees, but unfortunately it has not been trimmed or maintained so that alley is almost lost to time. That leaves a tomahawk here as the main option.

Hole 8's tee ground, whose ground marker has been lost to time, seems to be on a significant upslope. Fifteen feet forward is nice, flat ground. I think moving that tee slightly would have made for a better driving situation and not significantly changed the hole.

The distances on the tee signs seem to be pretty inaccurate on some holes.
Other Thoughts: I can't really figure this little course out. It was ok. I did have fun playing it. At times, I can see where some really nice thought went into it. Other holes seemed forced, and it overall seemed crowded out by the other attractions in the park. I appreciate the park land being used for a course, but as with "fit-in" courses like these where disc golf is a secondary or tertiary priority, making a great course is very difficult.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

1    8/22/2015   8/25/2015
Review By: reposado
Played: 268  Reviewed: 266  Exp: 4.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wide open beginner-level course with just enough design to be worth a play. It plays around the athletic fields of a park with a little bit of elevation here and there and tees neatly placed to avoid cross-hole interference. It's clearly designed for beginners and the holes are well suited for that. NO chance of disc loss. Holes easily reachable in a few throws. Baskets visible from the tee. Experienced players would only want to play as a warm up or to run aces but rookies should have fun.
Cons: There is a couple times where the fairway parallels a walking path. There is also the danger of a reckless throwing sailing onto a soccer field. The map is required as there are places where navigation is not obvious. These three factors limit the course's ability to offer a safe and frustration free round to the new players that will use it.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    4/16/2011   4/16/2011
Review By: buddy
Played: 39  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 18.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Other Thoughts: Definitely not a course I will play again unless it's significantly improved. I understand there's not much land available for the course but some of the hole designs aren't that great. For example, the tee shot on #3 has a good chance of landing in the soccer field so I would avoid that hole all together if people were using the field. On #4, you have to backtrack to the #5 tee. Also on #4, the sign says its 365' which is probably over 100' off on the correct distance. On #6, the basket is placed immediately in front of a line of drainage rocks which can give you pretty uneven footing on your putt. Maybe this is supposed to add to the difficulty of the hole but I don't like it. There are several nice big trees immediately behind the #7 tee that would be cool to see incorporated into the course.

Overall, the park is new and a number of trees/grass have recently been planted. So over time once the landscaping improves and if some of the holes were redesigned and concrete tee pads installed, I think it has the potential to be a decent beginner course. Until then I wouldn't recommend unless you're just hanging out in Stokesdale and its a nice day.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    4/14/2011   4/14/2011
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 112  Reviewed: 109  Exp: 8.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's 9 baskets! All viewable from the tee! There's bathrooms, a volleyball court, and an athletic/soccer field! A playground too, I think. Ugh. There are tee signs for every hole and they are easy enough to spot. It's basically 9 discatchers out in the open around the perimeter of this new community park. Mostly short although a couple of holes stretch past 300' or so. A couple of holes have a small grove of trees to throw around. Yep.
Cons: No tees. The tee signs are easy to spot but they seem wildly inaccurate (both hole layout and especially distances) but the natural tees are marked only by a small wooden board lying flush in the ground. I couldn't locate this board on a few holes.

It's wide open and that's it. No variety at all really. Some holes do have minor obstacles but even beginners shouldn't have much problem clearing them.

Upkeep: It looks like they're trying to grow grass all over the park but for some reason most of the course was either in a little bit of scrub land or unmowed. Not that big of a problem though b/c what grass is around the course is not dense at all.

This course flows like a dry riverbed. #4-#5 are really bad, b/c the holes are more or less right beside each other, so after you finish hole #4 you have to walk all the way back to play #5.

Patrons in play: Hole #3 is the biggest culprit, there is a soccer field very clearly in play, a drive that strays too far left can easily take out a goalkeeper. You're never too far away from a sidewalk or park road of some sort. I managed to hit the side of the townhall with a turned over Meteor on hole #7. At least there are no windows on that side.
Other Thoughts: Definitely a beginner course and not as bad as I thought, since some of the holes had some decent length. Unless there's a good wind blowing, the course is easily played with a putter and mid. It's most definitely a bird-or-die course, all pars feel like massive failures if you've been playing for a while.

If they added tees or at least made them all easy to locate it would be a little better but there's not much polishing you can do for this turd. N00bs and rec players will enjoy it but unless some trees grow and give this wide open, mostly flat course some actual challenge, it should be avoided unless you are in the immediate area.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.