Pflugerville, TX 
North Town Share
Uploaded By: TejasKajun Hole #3 (Taken 2/2011)
3 / 330ft.   3 / 330ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Basket



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Fairly good. Still needs some work.

1    6/3/2014   6/3/2014
Review By: d-mar
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 13.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course has some really great, wide open spaces that are good for long drives. The trees are maturing nicely, and give additional shade and cover for some approaches. There was a good balance of longer, difficult holes ( hole seven was especially brutal), and shorter holes.
Cons: It was a pain to navigate. I'll make sure to bring a map next time. I would like to see the baskets marked with their respective number. Also, adding a neon sign or band to the tee marker would make it stand out a little. Some areas were in need of some TLC.
Other Thoughts: Some of the pads are getting new concrete. Once all of them are done, it'll be much nicer to throw from.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Print a map, bring lots of water, and wear cleats

1    9/1/2012   9/1/2012
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 161  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 16.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: North Town has a lot going for it. It's a solid, well-rounded challenge for white to gold level players. There is good variety to the look and feel of the holes and required shots. The power and technical elements are well-balanced and quite a few of the holes require good strategy. There are several multi-shot holes and quite a few of the baskets are located near drop-off's, making for dramatic putting situations.

The course is much prettier now than in the photos on this site. The course is located in the middle of a large subdivision, providing a good place to draw families and new players.

The first hole is easy to find. There's a practice basket and a large field to warm up in adjacent to the first tee.

Highlights include:

Hole 3 presents an interesting risk/reward decision choosing between a tight gap up the middle and throwing something huge over the top of everything, with a drop-off just left of the basket.

Hole 5 is a very difficult par 3 requiring either a tight left to right shot or a monster high flex shot, with the creek running all the way down the right side. It's 2-able, but there will be lots more 4's and 5's than 2's.

Hole 6 is a unique 300 footer uphill that calls for some creativity. There are roller options, laying the disc down early or a sky roller as well as a giant flex shot or overhand crusher.

Hole 7 is a nice 600 footer with an appropriately wide fairway and trouble on both sides.

Hole 9 is a short, tight par 4 which requires good strategy and execution.

Hole 11 is a unique, tight, short par 4/5. The tee shot gives the choice between a tight shot up the gut and a risky play over the top with the creek running down the right side. The second shot is very tight and the basket is perched high up on a knob, making for a dynamic approach and putt situation. (I was stoked to make a beagle 3).

Hole 16 is a short touch shot, requiring a slight left to right to left "S".

Hole 18 is a very challenging par 3 finishing hole. It can be played with a 200 footer and a 160 ft. upshot or being aggressive and going for the deuce.


Cons: The biggest draw-back that's holding North Town back from receiving a 3.0 or 3.5 is the rutted out dirt tee areas. The course has quite a few full power shots and the tees definitely diminish the quality of the experience.

There are several places which need "next tee" signs as the routing isn't entirely intuitive. PRINT A MAP BEFORE PLAYING.

The first hole is a wide-open 540 ft. tweener across the field. Holes like that are weak anywhere, but especially for the first hole.

The ideal line on hole 4 is a lefty hyzer thrown right over hole 5's tee that fades back right.

Shots thrown on hole 6 can wind up on hole 2 or hole 7's tee.

Hole 8 is thrown directly down the walking trail.

The 9th hole doesn't come back to the parking lot, even though it could.
Other Thoughts: Please help to keep North Town clean. For info on my review philosophy, check out the other info section on my profile.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Best Course In Pflugerville

1    5/24/2012   5/26/2012
Review By: bogeymanjr
Played: 27  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is easily the best one in the Pflugerville area. I liked the set-up overall with a few reservations which I will get to. The course flow will get you around holes 1 through 11 without a map. It is one tee following the last basket you played. I found myself playing lay-up on basket 5 to keep myself from overthrowing the basket and dropping in the creek. The two good ace/deuce holes on this course are 8 and 13, both less than 200 feet each. Watch out for the wind on hole 1, since that hole is mostly open with few trees to dodge. Hole 9 will have you trying to figure out a strategy as to where to throw your disc to try to get less than par 4. No fairway to speak of, unless you like to play ricochet among the trees. Hole 11 is a par 5 which is good, considering the elevated basket. Roll down discs on that hill are guaranteed unless your aim is dead-on. The best challenge holes here are 12 and 14 with their throws across separate ponds. Throw those discs good or they will be lost. These ponds look deep, but like I said, two great strategic holes to play. Hole 13 had the sign which originally said 198 feet, but someone had marked that out and put 162, which seemed closer to the mark. Hole 16 was still kind of muddy even after two solid weeks of dryness due to being in a sheltered tree area. All in all, I found this a good course to play, when dry. Like previous reviewers, though, not a good course to play when wet. Also on hole 7, save your longest throws for the open area. No more than two if you want to at least par that hole. You will definitely need two throws for the woods. I am taking the ricochet factor in again here. Good challenges to be had. Go play and enjoy.
Cons: Transition from hole 11 to 12 is confusing unless you have a map or meet someone that has played this course before. I had that advantage. Tee boxes are gravel. I do not use a run-up, so this was no problem for me. It could be for some others, though. The tee signs give no indication for the next tee, but does not seem to be a problem until the transition from holes 11 and 12. Unless you are a decent jumper, the creek crossings on hole 9 might be a tough obstacle. Tread lightly on hole 16. There is lots of soft dirt and/or mud even two or more weeks after a rain.
Other Thoughts: This is an interesting course both in layout and setup. Time and erosion will eventually take its toll here as those factors inevitably do on most courses of this type, but even faster here. I see some holes being abandoned eventually due to the problems that are already arising from flooding and nature factors. It remains to be seen what can and will be done here in the future. Until then, this is a course that is fun and a challenge to play.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Mistake?

5+    3/24/2012   3/29/2012
Review By: pablo.diablo
Played: 54  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/9/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: UPDATE: I have lost 2 merlot Champion PD's here on Hole #16, one had a gold Asia Open stamp, and one had a blue Iron Lion stamp. If you found either disc please send me a PM and I will give you a cash reward!

Another course on the Eastside with good baskets.

A longer/tougher course to play near the much shorter Wells Branch course.

Not too tough for beginners, especially the back 9.

Two decent holes to throw over ponds.

Pavilion at parking lot with restrooms for a shady place to relax/eat/rest.

Nice dogpark at entrance.
Cons: I think the designers made a mistake installing this course during the drought. The wet weather has brought considerable damage to the course and I'm not sure that anything can even be done to rectify some of the issues.

I used to like this course very, very much and thought it had so much potential. However, after playing it since the rains started back in TX this place is not so fantastic as I once thought.

First off, everybody knows these are possibly the worst teepads ever conceived, filled with pea gravel...why? We always throw beside/behind the teepads as constructed, it's really the only safe way to get footing. Legal? I dunno.

Also, the course flow is beyond subpar. My friend Josh pointed out that it makes more sense to play the first seven holes in this order: 3, 4, 5, 6, 2, 1, 7. Try it sometime, you will like it.

The Par 4 Hole #9 doesn't really have fairways. It has "unfair"ways. Second shot requires a massive thumber or perhaps an anny-bomb if you have a huge arm. It's really just a silly hole that is basically a crapshoot off the tee to your landing zone for the 2nd nonsensical shot in a row. This hole needs at least two bridges to cross the creek, one right after the teepad and one when you get closer to the basket.

The following issues are mainly after wet conditions:

Since it rains again here in TX, there are a couple of spots you cannot cross the creek without getting yourself crazy muddy or soaked shoes even.

No good place to cross after #9 teepad. (UPDATE: we dropped a bridge in here on 04/01/12, far right of the teepad).

#15 has a mud run to get across that sucks.

No good place to cross to the super muddy and ultimately destroyed fairway for #16 if you don't throw all the way to the basket on your drive.

#17 basket is basically surrounded by water now, it's absurd.

My friend and I will probably go drop some boards or makeshift bridges out there in the places you cannot cross.

STAY AWAY if it has rained within the last few days, it is NOT worth it. My biggest point is that you should be able to play a well-designed course within a day or two of rain, when it is nice and sunny again, and not face some of these heinous mud and standing water issues.

It will surely be better in Summer when it doesn't rain so much, but I think long-term this place is gonna suffer some major damage from erosion. Several bridges are definitely in order at a minimum.
Other Thoughts: When the course is completely dry of mud I would give it a 3.0 rating. It is perfect when the water is full in the creeks but the course itself does not have standing water and mud everywhere. Unfortunately, this has become a real problem here. If you go play in Summertime you may be thinking of my review like what is he even talking about? You would just have to play the same week as some rain to understand how bad it gets.

If they install concrete tees, add a few much needed foot bridges, and dig some well-placed drainage canals this place will regain some respectability.

Once Roy Guerrero opens I don't know if I will go back to Northtown very often.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Tee boxes really need some help

2-4    4/16/2011   4/21/2011
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 187  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 6.7 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
This course has potential. The multi-chain baskets are all still new and in great condition. The holes themselves are pretty good: they're challenging for INT-ADV players and well balanced as to not favor righties or lefties. The distances are a nice mix of long, short, and mid-range holes. There's water in play on several holes which is usually a fun hazard for most players. Other than one or maybe two spots the course flows pretty well, if you print a map you'll have no problems. The course loops back near the pavilion/parking lot after hole #11 to allow you to restock or use the restrooms (which are nice for a public park). The parking is ample. There's a practice basket between the parking lot and tee #1. Several of the harder holes have shorter tee boxes to accommodate lower level players. The young trees on #1 will eventually grow up to provide a nice challenge to the upshot on that hole. Nice multi-use park with dog park, play ground, and picnic pavilion.
Cons:
The tee boxes are easily the worst part of this course. Sad to see a new course with boxes in such sad shape. The dirt base is rutted and the gravel is loose which combine for horrible footing for any player with a run-up release. There are poles for the tees signs, but no actual signs on them. The poles are too close to the tee boxes. The transition from #11 to #12 isn't obvious when you're on the course, check a map to help you there.

Hole #9 needs some work to create a fairway. I understand not wanting to take out too many trees too soon because you can't really put them back if you're wrong... but a reasonable tee shot can still leave you with no second shot to reach the basket. Some people are complaining about #11, in my opinion that hole actually has a tough but fair line to get to the basket.
Other Thoughts:
A local players informed me of a few things: The P&R Department ran out of money for the park/course and that's why there are no tee signs on the posts. There are two tee boxes for #6 and the back one on the slope is supposed to be removed. Also the course is intended to be played with gravel paths and beyond as OB. Be careful trying to retrieve sunk discs on #5 as the water can be up to chest deep there.

Reviewing this course is easy, rating it is hard. As I said at the start: this course has potential. The hole design is generally good, but the conditions of the tee boxes really limit the enjoyment of play on the course. Unless you're a stand-and-deliver driver you're either slipping or paranoid about slipping on every tee shot... and that just takes the fun factor down a couple notches. With solid tee boxes this course probably jumps up to ~3.5 stars, but as is it just doesn't feel like you can play your game.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.