Pflugerville, TX 
North Town Share
Uploaded By: TejasKajun Hole #13 (Taken 2/2011)
3 / 198ft.   3 / 198ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 

1    3/10/2011   3/22/2011
Review By: coolpooky7
Played: 32  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 4.1 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Great course. It has a nice mix of long and short tees with a lot of woods. You have to pick your shots carefully and you can end up in great positions. A couple of fun water holes too. Just throw right over some ponds.
Cons: Hole 9 does not have a fairway from what I could find. But the trees are short enough to go over. Hole 11 has a great spot for a fun tee except the huge tree fallen over pretty much covering the basket and making it almost impossible to sink a putt.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great Start to a Fun Course

1    3/20/2011   3/21/2011
Review By: gek76
Played: 38  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 11.8 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fun and challenging course. Each hole offered something a little different. Didn't feel like I was just throwing the same hole over and over. Challenging enough for seasoned players but not intimidating to beginners. Appreciated the baskets having arrows to next tee since this was our first time at this course. Local were friendly. Park offers a lot, dog park, play ground, picnic area, and of course a nice disc golf course. I can see bring the whole family here on our next visit to Austin.
Cons: Course still feels very new. Like they are still playing with the lay out and stuff. Tee signs are done with a black marker on a metal plate, my guess is so they can change the hole layout as they see what works the best before investing in more permanent signs. Trees and brush looked like it had just been cut back. Tees were rough and rutted badly. I don't have a big run up but I do take a few steps but was afraid to cause of the ruts on most tees. I wouldn't want to play here after a big rain cause the ruts in the tees would be full of water. A few of the tee signs where broken off the posts. Hole 7 seems excessively long (600+) then hole 8 was really short(200+). Basket for hole 6 felt close to the tees for hole 2 and 7. An over throw on 6 could easily hit people at 2 or 7.
Other Thoughts: This course had some problems, but I think they are all part of the growing process and I am sure they will be worked out. I will be back to play here on my next visit to the in-laws. It is the nicest course I have played in North Austin so far and I look forward to watching it grow. There where plenty of people out playing but I never felt rushed. I can see the water hazards coming into play even more if there had been any rain recently.
The park has its own fenced in dog park so I would say the disc golf course is leashed dog friendly though I did see some people with their dogs off leash on the course. Except for a couple of stream crossing the course is stroller/cart friendly.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 already a great course with potential for awesomeness

5+    2/13/2011   3/3/2011
Review By: discgolf512
Played: 23  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 19.5 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is rapidly becoming one of the top courses in the Austin area. Course has a very nice mix of long/short/tight/wide open shots.
Not sure why so many are complaining about hole 11 (it is NOT a par 5). That is my favorite on the course. the basket on top of the hill with trees crossing in front of it... beautiful signiture hole (and as such, should be tough).
front 9 has some long holes and tight fairways that will run-up your score.
The back 9 opens up to a nice "birdy run" with a couple of shot that go over ponds.
Cons: After hole 8 there needs to be a bridge put in to cross the creek.
the tee boxes are crushed gravel, but that gravel has already been scattered... leaving ruts in the boxes.
Other Thoughts: A great park, family friendly with many amenities. The course is still in development: tee signs will be coming soon, and hopefully trashcans as well.
Rumor is there will also be 2 other course added to this park as well (a 9 hole and another 18 hole)

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A Destination for the whole Family

5+    2/21/2011   2/27/2011
Review By: TejasKajun
Played: 36  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 14.4 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: For a "Northside" Austin course this place provides you the lines and variations that you need to teach yourself with.
It is a sample of the Steeplechase and WIlco courses combined. There is a great risk/reward system here, If you go for it precisely, you get good pay offs to gaining strokes.
Cons: Still developing, so the minor issues are very minor....
Tee Signs = meh. In my opinion, just judge your distance and throw as you know.
Hole #11 = It truly needs erosion control. Great hole, but really needs timbers, railroad beams, etc to keep it from washing away over time or possibly 3 heavy rains. Contact me, I am willing to volunteer and help out with it.
Trash cans = though the park is not "officially" opened. There are some DG'ers that still leave trash around. Please put some out on the course soon.
Other Thoughts: This community needs a great park, and this is it. They have great exercise paths, a dog park, playgrounds, and facilities (still being built as fast as they can)... so the park and area will be a destination for the whole family. It already is for disc golfers. Good job, and the future seems great for the location and community.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great Potential

5+    2/26/2011   2/27/2011
Review By: slicemaster
Played: 24  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/9/2012
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 1. Great variation of shots and good degree of difficulty.
2. Finally a challenging 18 hole course in Pflugerville/North Austin.
3. Good course layout and has massive potential to become one of the top spots in town
Cons: 1. Trees are a bit bit much on the course and will prove much more difficult when everything turns green.
2. Creek is shocking deep in some areas, discs most certainly can be lost to the depths.
3. It is in the beginning stages so work is still being done so watch out for the stumps.
Other Thoughts: I can't wait to see this course when it reaches its full potential. I can definitely say this will be my new home course as Falcon Pointe is not good and Wells Branch is too short. Thanks for the great new course, I know I will appreciate it. Watch out for 11 it is a bastard but a great signature hole.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  latest addition to Austin

5+    1/29/2011   2/9/2011
Review By: Dump Truck
Played: 48  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good mix of holes and moderate degree of difficulty. Natural tee boxes that are currently in good shape. The park has potential for additional courses as long as things go well. Practice basket by hole one and decent amount of open area to practice/warm up before starting hole one. Nice pavillion.
Cons: Poor tee sign placement that gets in your way on a few holes. Hole 11 is stupid hard. Really long with tons of trees then the basket is on top of a 10ft hill partially surrounded by water.
Other Thoughts: It's a good course addition to the austin area. Not even officially open yet so they may fix/change a few things.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Give it a few years

2-4    2/5/2011   2/9/2011
Review By: kette_master
Played: 89  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.4 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good mix of tight/technical and open holes.
Many water hazards.
Good use of what land has to offer in elevation, trees, and water.
Many risk/reward shots.
Cons: No foot bridges to cross the creek.
Course is still in its infancy stage.
Hole 11 basket placement is questionable. It's on top of a pile of dirt that will soon give-way to erosion from foot traffic.
Other Thoughts: This course has SO much potential. It will take a few years to finalize on a finished product. There are trees that will need to be removed in order to make some better fairways. This will take time, and should because it is much harder to plant trees where you want them.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 ehhhhh

1    2/5/2011   2/5/2011
Review By: MattyIce
Played: 39  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 3/31/2011
2 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: a pro would be that the course has lots of hole variation. quite a few right turning holes (if ur a lefty that will be nice)
Tee boxes were decent
Cons: a good number of the holes felt like you were just throwing straight through woods and hoping that somehow miraculously you would get through, there didnt seem to be any defined path ways (even if they are super narrow).
Signage was horrible, usually just a sharpie on a pole
Other Thoughts: lots of water, Creeks and ponds

2 of 11 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center